Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 162 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Sat, Jan 16, 2016, 8:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

I hope they remember that the philosophy and the heart is what makes Star Trek work best.

Other wishes for the new series: find a way to make the CGI not look fake if they aren't going to use any models. Respect for the continuity. Hire real composers who can truly make you feel like you are in an epic adventure (no "sonic wallpaper"). Try to get modern/famous sci-fi writers interested in writing for the show again . . . Harlan Ellison could do a script for the Anniversary. No time travel or time-running-out-for-radiation-exposure episodes for the first two seasons (or hopefully ever). Finally include a gay character.

Also, make sure the title music is orchestral, NOT a pop song. Maybe they could honor James Horner by using his theme from The Wrath of Khan?

Just some ideas.

Nice to be back on the site. Been awhile.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Mon, Mar 9, 2015, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I had no idea who the actor who played the captain was until I rewatched this last night and checked imdb. Talk about escaping into your role!

I literally had no idea it was THAT guy playing the alien captain. Talk about acting range!!!!

I do enjoy the episode a lot, although the premise of the Tamar language is really really distracting. For the umpteenth time watching this, I wondered how it could be possible for the Tamarians to speak in metaphor, yet still have myths that were told in a straight-forward manner. (Data and Troi had no problem reading the historical legends of the Tamarians).

Shouldn't all their myths be written the same way they speak?

And furthermore, even if they use metaphor, they still construct the phrases in those metaphors with nouns and verbs.

But yeah, if you ignore the linguistic rabbit hole, there's a lot here to be enjoyed. Picard and the alien captain bonding is a masterclass in understated portrayal. Data and Troi using logic and reason to investigate the issue is nice to see.

Really, the only negative to this episode (other than the language) is the boring musical underscore. So underwhelming it almost detracts from what is onscreen.

*** three stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 8:56am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@ Jonn Walsh

The producers' decision to go for incredibly bland atonal background music was the wrong choice. Imagine if Ron Jones had scored Gambit I and II!

Honestly, I think the change in soundtrack style is when TNG went from being cinematic to just another TV show.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 7:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

@ Holographic Andrew

I just can't help myself. :)

The episode is so ludicrous and over-the-top I have to sit back and smile. Yes, it is cheesy and badly written, but it is NOT boring.

I, mean, Picard walks in on Beverly masturbating!!! How can that NOT make you laugh?
Set Bookmark
dave in nc
Mon, Mar 2, 2015, 1:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

What about BOBW Parts I & II and Family?
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Sun, Mar 1, 2015, 11:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

@ dlpb

What precisely did I say in my post that isn't factual? I await your answer with bated breath.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Thu, Feb 26, 2015, 9:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

@ DLPB

Hollywood is like any other industry: make a public enough stink about not getting work and eventually you for sure won't get any. Ask Victoria Rowell or the lady who played Aunt Viv on Fresh Prince.

The truth is no one wants to hear a poor-me story about how the world is keeping someone down.

Seriously, man, not everything should be viewed through a socio-political lens. You REALLY need to reevaluate your thought processes.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Thu, Feb 26, 2015, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Every problem people have with this episode could have been resolved by saying they were genetic MUTATIONS, not evolutionary throwbacks. It's a lot easier to enjoy if you just pretend that's the actual plot.

Oh, and Gates McFadden did a GREAT job directing this episode. Lots of interesting camera angles and the atmospheric mood of dread is well-developed.

My only complaint is the Barclay spider surprise in Engineering has gotten me single every time. :)

*** 3 stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Mon, Feb 16, 2015, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

This entire episode can be boiled down to this question:

When faced with complete and total annihilation, do the ends justify the means?

The answer is obvious: if you are interested in protecting your loved ones and your very way of life, you don't really have an option.

Besides, do any of us believe that if the Dominion HAD defeated the Federation, they would have left the Romulans alone? From everything we know about the Founders and their motivations, the Romulans would have ended up fighting that war anyways.

Sisko's choice was the correct one.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Thu, Feb 12, 2015, 9:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

By the way, apologies to Jammer and casual readers.

I got a little hot under the collar . . . I really should be jaded and cynical enough not to let some troll get under my skin.

I'll try to keep it classy in the future, I promise. :)
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Thu, Feb 12, 2015, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@ dlpb

Are you smoking crack?

Let me make this plain for you: the federal government is on a collision course with bankruptcy. Congress and the President are unwilling to take corrective action. All of our spending is out of control, both social and military.

Our rights are trampled upon by the Patriot Act and laws lagging behind scientific advancement (such as drones and that can see through walls). Laws can now be used to force me to buy a private product (health insurance) whether I want to or not.

The free enterprise system is burdened by an overly complex tax code/tariff system.

Eminent domain can now be used by foreign companies to force people to leave their homes.

I could go on and on, but there is little that would connect me to a classic "liberal" agenda other than an interpretation of individual freedoms that happens to include such "leftist" ideas as the right to marry who one chooses and ending the ridiculous "War on Pot".

Seriously, dlpb, you straight up talk out of your ass. Stick to trashing Star Trek: that's about the only subject that you seem halfway knowledgeable about.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 4:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

@ Robert

I think it'll take at least one more beating in the general election (and another few liberals appointed to the Supreme Court) before the Republicans realize how ridiculous it is to hand over the reins of power to a ever-shrinking close-minded subset of the population.

I'm hoping that in ten years a lot of this religious bigotry will be in the rear-view mirror and we can get focused on our atrocious deficits before it's too late.

*fingers crossed*
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 11:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

The first four states in the 2016 GOP primaries are New Hampshire, Iowa, South Carolina and Nevada. Other than New Hampshire, that doesn't bode well for any candidate that won't pander to the Evangelical wing.

Sigh . . . I hope Hillary has already decided on how she's going to decorate the Oval Office. Now's the time to get that kind of stuff out of the way.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Feb 11, 2015, 8:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

^

You aren't the only one. I'm a gay guy who mostly votes Libertarian with the occasional vote for a non-bigoted Republican. I'd say politically I'm very much fiscal conservative, but socially I'm pretty liberal.

Anyways, I'm not sure that I'd agree with that assessment about Ds9. In retrospect, the way the war was presented wasn't too different from the American Sniper portrayal of the Gulf War: The reasoning for the war evaporates when the realities of it are brought to light.

I came away from that movie with much the same conclusion as DS9 brought: the people who make the decisions to go to war are idiots, and the people who have to go to battle (for the most part) are respectably giving their all. Winning a war comes down to success of a million individuals (sometimes bending the rules), rather than a "army of one".

DS9 also did a great job of showing how the motivations behind war are generally petty and based on the attacker's fears more than anything. Did anyone really think that the Changelings basing their military decisions on the type of biology someone has to be anything other than a childish form of bigotry?

I guess my point is that while I'm pretty conservative, I didn't find DS9 to be "too liberal" or whatever.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Mon, Feb 9, 2015, 9:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spock's Brain

This episode is supposed to be funny, right? It has to be . . . the produces sand actors could not possibly be naive enough to expect viewers to take this tripe seriously.

A diverting amusement, only marred by the almost glacial speed which the such-as-it-is plot unfolds and bland-for-TOS musical score.

As a comedy, I give it

** ½
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Sun, Feb 8, 2015, 5:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Grumpy: "You think Berman watched enough TOS to have a favorite episode. That's cute."

OK, that was funny.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Sun, Feb 1, 2015, 3:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Jammer said:

Sports (even soccer!) are no different -- and I'd go even further and say that sports are even less valid as something you can defend outside of personal preference because they are not a form of artistic expression the way a good TV show or film can be.


My two cents:

Absolutely 100% correct!

Besides giving bored kids & gymrats something productive to do, the ancillary societal benefits of spectator sports is pretty laughable.

I do understand the mind's need for useless drivel. After all, I have seen Voyager's Threshold three times.

There is literally nothing deep or profound about these activities themselves. Yes, there might be some interesting "human interest" stories there for the press to exploit, but you could achieve that end with a incisive profile of the first stranger you pass on the sidewalk.

Spectator sports really are the distillation of the human tendency to put undue importance on competition that has no productive end result.
Pointlessly throwing/kicking a ball around year after year doesn't say anything about the human condition, unless you're a pessimistic existentialist.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Fri, Jan 30, 2015, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Disclaimer: I grew up in New England, so I was basically weaned on the Red Sox. My team allegiance dissipated with adulthood. I haven't watched a big league game in I-don't-know-how-long but I still read the stats in the paper when I can. Old habits die hard.

That admission made, I must admit I've never had one passionate argument/debate about spectator sports because that whole world doesn't really speak to me on any level.

I've never really understand the vicarious connection people seem to have with people they don't know succeeding at something trivial.

The "hometown team" people are rooting for? They are made up of overpaid people with no roots or ties to the hometown other than a giant paycheck.

That merchandise and those stadium tickets they sell? By design the pricing gouges people (especially children).

Most of their stadiums are built on the taxpayer dime and are never paid off. It's only a couple of decades before the owners start crying for ANOTHER newer, flashier arena. They tout economic benefits that never seem to materialize. They threaten to move the team. The sports-fan voting bloc freaks out and the government folds. Repeat cycle.

The reason I said sports doesn't matter in the grand scheme? That's because pro-sports usually involve doing things TO A BALL.

The final irony? Most of those fans would be better off to get off the couch and join an amateur league.

Yeah, I don't get the passion.

PS- Is there anything more irritating than listening to a bunch of people talk about a sport (players, management, refs) when you don't watch it and don't care about it? I know it's just my personal bias, but talk about a colossal waste of time & energy.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Jan 14, 2015, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

"Liberal" people are NOT silent on the treatment of gays in the Mideast. GLAAD talks sbout this constantly to bring attention to the issue.

What Christian blog forcefeeds you this crap?
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Wed, Jan 14, 2015, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

DLPB said:
I live in a 30% immigrant town, and it gets worse and worse the more Islam is about.

reply:

How do you define "worse and worse?"

Are there terrorist bombings where you live?

What do you think they have "done" to your community to make you feel this way about them?

I worked door-to-door in the Detroit area for months and I lived in Minneapolis (two areas with very large populations of Muslim immigrants.) While I'm not going to deny there is a very very tiny subset of people who are into the "evil" intepretation if Islam, 99.9% don't believe in mass murder of civilians.

The more you type, the more ignorant you sound.

PS- Maybe it's a personal weakness, but it is a big pet peeve of mine when someone says "Watch this YouTube video (from some partisan think tank) because I can't explain my point in my own words". My feeling on the matter is that if you feel this passionate about it, you should be able to explain your point in YOUR OWN WORDS.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

I am the furthest thing from a liberal, you dope. I've never voted for a Democrat in my life.

You (and Michael) live in an ignorant fantasyland, cherrypicking your facts to support your obtuse conclusions. You refuse to acknowledge that not everything is black and white.

Honestly, you both sound like a couple of hate-mongers (and nothing like Star Trek fans).
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 2:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Don't you just love trolls? They decide the conversation is done (when it isn't going the way they wanted), but only after they get to make their parting shot.

Enjoy putting your fingers in your ears, Mike. I'm sure it's something you've got a LOT of practice with.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

That should read:

"no where did I say that I think terrorism "isn't a problem""

Type in haste, repent at leisure.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 2:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Michael said: "Because they were disparate, temporary occurrences, strongly delimited by the geographical area and cause."

reply:

VERY interesting. So you agree terrorism CAN and DOES frequently happen without Islam being the root cause? That's comforting, because otherwise you would look like you were in complete denial of the realities of this world.

However, it is troubling that you are incapable of making the deductive leap that many Islamic terrorists are the way they are because of "disparate, temporary occurrences, strongly delimited by the geographical area and cause."


Michael said:

"But, then, someone doesn't have his head stuck up his ass seriously thinking that the Moslem terrorists' motivation is something other than sick religious ideology. They're not interested in getting rich or being free. They're interested in turning the world Islamic, period."

reply:

If my head's up my ass, it's because it's preferable to being in your presence.

Anyways, no where did I not say that I think terrorism "isn't a problem". The events of the last ten years make it plainly evident it IS an issue. For the record, I think the decentralized nature of Islam may be a barrier to a "Islamic Reformation". It IS a problem that needs to be addressed, and not just by turning America into a police state.

However, I don't believe in a world of cartoon-villainy motivations. NOTHING is as simple as "the Holy Book made me do it". Every human being has a complex story about why they are the way they are, and terrorists are NO different.


Michael said:
If you, "Dave in NC," are unable to distinguish that from the Mexican, Lankan, Colombian, Angolan, Sahrawi, etc. terrorism, then you are really too dumb to be doing anything other than sitting in your armchair drooling into a cup.

reply:
So murder because of religion is worse than murder because of ethnic hatreds or drug cartels? I don't know how one can make that judgment because I'm reasonably certain they are ALL EQUALLY HORRIBLE.

I will say this . . . I do appreciate the fact that your hypothetical version of me is at least thoughtful enough to have a receptacle for his drool. My hypothetical doppelganger's roommate thanks you.
Set Bookmark
Dave in NC
Tue, Jan 13, 2015, 1:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Random musing:

why does someone ignore the realities of Irish terrorism, Columbian terrorism, Sri Lankan terrorism, Puerto Rican terrorism, Mexican terrorism etc etc because it doesn't fit their narrow-minded world-view?
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.