Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 580 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 24
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I love Golden Age Sci-Fi and I also like accurate period pieces and I like thoughtful character studies that let the viewer walk a mile in someone else's shoes and I like seeing the cast stretch their acting muscles and I like seeing them without makeup (because some of the cast look so different in their human state that they might as well be guest actors) and I like that I'm not being preached at but I'm still being invited to contemplate a dark chapter in history and in human beings in general.

What's not to like?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Actually, all he had to do was say " Computer, reset physical parameters of Holo-Leah. Make her hideously unattractive and smelly. Resume program. "
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Gerontius

Actually, all he had to say was "Holo-Leah, we only have a few hours until the ship is destroyed and all of us die. Could we focus on the crisis at hand?"

If holo-Leah balked, he could've easily instructed the computer to reset her personality subroutines back to their original state and told the computer to keep her interest firmly platonic.

It sure would've wasted less time than talking about her favorite pasta.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

You might be right, Josh.

I'm hoping you're not though, because you being correct means the creators of this new Trek show know so little about the franchise that they don't even know how a starship is supposed to function.

Are people supposed to take a turbolift through dense superheated nacelle plasma just to service the deflector? It's a moronic design.

PS ... they can't even get the angles right in that drawing. It looks like the ship was left in the sun too long and it started to warp (no pun intended)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Peter G.

It's hilarious you said that because I think of this as TNG's "Tuvix".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

If you find a wallet on the ground and keep it, it's a crime of opportunity. You didn't set out to rob anyone, but you're still taking advantage of the situation for your own benefit.

This is literally no different.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

It doesn't matter if Geordi intentionally created her or not.

Over a thousand lives were at risk and Geordi allowed the program to distract him with needless personal asides that ate up precious time. Any Starfleet officer wirth their salt would've told the computer to knock off the romantic stuff. But Geordi didn't .... and he even made sure to go back (once the emergency was done) to see her holo-duplicate once again and kiss her.

And once the emergency had passed? Did Geordi delete the program?

Just because he didn't create the program doesn't mean he didn't take advantage of it (and her).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Also, are we supposed to believe that Geordi remembered she loves fungili a year and a half later?

Obviously Geordi reran the program to brush up on her personal details.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Geordi had a facsimile of her saved in the computer: a copy that was made without her consent in which Geordi engaged romantically. He didn't just "delve into her personal history".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

* Geordi
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

I can tell you that I personally was annoyed that they felt the need to pair off Troi and Worf (who have no sexual chemistry) in the very last season instead of giving the audience some payoff with Troi and Riker.

Since I'm admitting things, in retrospect I dislike how (over the course of TNG and DS9) the writers toned down Worf's different nature and portrayed him more like a prissy human samurai than a truly alien being. I personally prefer TNG Season 1-4 Worf over his later incarnation.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Also, WHY did they put lens flare in that teaser art?!?! It looks completely incongruous with the way it's drawn.

They're literally trolling the fandom at this point.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I think the arrow is supposed to represent movement, i.e. the ship in flight ... but it's really not animated very well, is it?

Looks like something done with Flash animation, to be honest.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Link to the new starship design:

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/star-trek-lower-decks-gets-164500233.html

@ Josh

The lower section doesn't just exist for the deflector dish ... that's where engineering and the "lower deck" crew quarters are located.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Did anyone see the publicity stills for the new animated series?

The ship design is WORSE than the Oberth class. It's basically a Galaxy class ship with no way to get from the saucer to the stardrive section. Doesn't anyone running Trek think about why such designs are impractical?!

(Don't even get me started on the cavernously empty Discovery with its roller coaster turbolifts).

This Orville-esque toon already looks not very promising.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

I think it's interesting that Lien complained about the script after the fact .... when she was the one who forced them to change the original script so she could show a bigger "acting range" and use the episode as a demo reel to get other gigs.

The irony in her torpedoing her own future job prospects is hard to overlook.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Thanks for the thoughtful reply, Nolan.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

It's funny to see people angry that the geometry of the technical solution wasn't 100% accurate .... while ignoring the fact this show actually went with a scientific solution.

DSC and PIC are notorious for tech that makes no sense, even within the internal logic of the story. Shoot, the last episode of Picard featured a problem-solving morphing device powered by IMAGINATION.

At least the writers were trying to use ACTUAL SCIENCE....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

What a waste of an episode.

I kind of liked the B-story with Worf as a babysitter, but why can't they write him consistently .... or, in the least, have Jadzia call him out? He didn't "raise Alexander" ... he was an absentee father who pawned his child off on his parents when things got complicated! (Yes, he wasn't around for the first few years of Alexander's life, but Worf was aware of Alexander right at the point when a distinct personality was just beginning to form.)

Yes, it's undeniably cute to see the big tough burly Klingon coping with a fussy human baby, but I was actually annoyed that Worf seemed to get more pure joy from playing with Yoshi than he ever did with his own son. Poor Alexander.

As far as the main story goes, there was no reason for ANY of this.

Why the O'Briens didn't IMMEDIATELY re-extract young Molly is beyond me. Bashir's point about them erasing Old Molly's decade of experiences makes ZERO sense because Young Molly was transported back in time 300 years and would already be long dead by this episode. They "changed" her life trajectory just by pulling her back to the present.

The whole thing is just stupid.

I have a bunch of other nitpicks I could mention, but since the whole sequence is manufactured meaningless drama, what's the point?

Well, there is one plotpoint I think is just glaringly implausible: Molly shouldn't have reverted to completely feral behavior. Even without human contact, a person doesn't just "lose" their internal narrator and language skills, 8 years old or not.

The showrunners should've been focused on the main arc instead of this predictable trope-soap.... maybe then they could've found 30 seconds before the series finished to tell us if Bajor actually joined the Federation.

This was a complete misfire.

1 star
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:46am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

I know that's a nitpick, but you're absolutely right.

If Elon Musk can get a reusable rocket to land on a tiny pad in the ocean in our time, the entire docking process should be completely automated.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Nolan

Thanks for saying that.

He'd had several strokes over the last couple years and his quality of life was terrible.

Personally, I'm mad at myself that Chris Cornell's death devastated me for days, but I've yet to shed tears about my father. I mean, I've thought about him everyday since his passing, but nothing seems to be able to provoke the waterworks or emotional turmoil. Why does a total stranger's death effect me more than his?

I know I'd be a bawling basket case if I watch this .... so maybe I should?

I'll think about it: maybe that'll make me grieve like a normal person.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

BTW, I'm rewatching DS9 and I had to skip this episode. My father died in November and I know it'll make me cry and mess up my contact lenses.

A 4 star episode for sure.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Elliott

Setting aside the fact that you're drawing a conclusion that isn't really supported by photographic evidence of previous protests, you are drawing a very broad-based conclusion based on .... well, I'm not sure what.

The ones that ARE wearing masks at the riots do so becauset hey can get away with crime, not for altruistic reasons. If they cared in a rational way about strangers's well-being, they wouldn't be breaking into homes, stealing and murdering people.

Besides, didn't the media already establish masks aren't good enough of a disease deterrent to reopen the country? Why is it good enough for rioters but not for a Trump rally or a Corona protest?

You are doing what the media does: using a personal value judgement of someone's motivation to apply a different standard.

You seem like a logical guy, Elliot. I'm kind of surprised you'd let your own personal prejudices blind you to the kind of black-and- white/all-or- nothing thought process you're espousing.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I think what some of you aren't seeing is how many of those on the right are seeing a double standard with Covid Shaming.

Apparently, a pandemic doesn't matter when people are looting and burning businesses whilst calling it a protest, but it's totally fine to shame people for protesting peacefully about teopening the country or for wanting to attend a political rally that isn't about leftist politics.

Why isn't "you're killing grandma" being used by the media, politicans and the talking heads in reference to the rioters? Just because the cause is viewed as noble by some is apparently enough for them to get a free Get-Out-Of-Covid-Shaming Pass.

To me, it's an egregious double standard.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Feinstein also had a Chinese foreign national spy as her personal valet for decades and she was so clueless, she never suspected a thing (or did and just didn't say anything in the hopes of her foolishness not coming to light). She's incompetent.

She's also one of the last of the Blue Dog Democrats left in Congress: she's a political fossil and I wouldn't use her as a baseline for evaluating liberalism.
Next ►Page 1 of 24
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.