Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,260 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 91
Set Bookmark
dave
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

PS - in addition to my comment, Jurati getting essentially a pass for cold blooded murder was kind of the nail in the coffin for me of this being anything that I can call Star Trek.

She wasnt programmed to kill him or even told to. She was told there was going to be a destruction of life if AI was able to reach a certain level so she took it upon herself to murder an AI scientist. That is murder, and at the very least should get a trial. But is just all happy go lucky at the end of the finale. Trek did have consequences at the very least in that one episode.
Set Bookmark
dave
Thu, May 21, 2020, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The Plinkett review was fun, i skipped around because it was so long, but well done and funny

Here is where I see the difference with ST Picard versus what Trek is/was

Trek was about humanity having evolved past a lot of our historical problems (war, racism, environmental issues, discrimination, income equality, religious dogma, etc) . Humans were still plenty flawed but were all striving for a much different ideal that what we strive for currently (material things, power over overs, and so on).

THat was bent around during DS9 but that was a backdrop of WAR , but those core Trek ideals were still reached for by humans even if war forced a lot of compromise or outright perversion of ideals

It was all what Trek should be.

2009 Nu Trek was turning it into an action adventure franchise. Fine, it was an alternate timeline and I found the movies fun in that context, I didnt look at them as a continuation of Trek

But something happened along the way. Discovery was part of it, but Picard went full blown. Instead of having humanity advanced to new ideals, they protrayed everyone as 20th and 21st century humans (us) with the same swear words and drug problems and debauchery with the backdrop of future tech. So you get all the grime and smudge and not the ideals of what Star Trek was supposed to be.

If I try to make ST Picard a continuation of Star Trek, its garbage. If I just take it in a vacuum as our contemporary selves going on hi tech future adventures, I can relax and enjoy the show.

Make sense? It isn't Star Trek any more other than the name and the lineage of races and organizations. And I think if a fan can make peace with that, maybe they like it more or just not bother watching it and are at peace.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 24, 2020, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Am I the only one who watched those god awful animated Short Treks? I wish I could delete those from my memory (especially the Moana rip-off with young Michael Burnham).

I had a bad feeling about STP after watching those: it's obvious the franchise is adrift due to mismanagement.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Ps... I think the kid who plays Ty is a good actor, but again, just my opinion.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I personally don't find it that difficult to believe Dr. Finn would like Isaac, especially when he has such an appealingly curious and innocent nature. Doubly so when you count his handsome avatar on the simulator. 400 years from now, it wouldn't surprise me if humans and artificial intelligences have relationships.

But again, it's a mileage may vary thing with how much credence the viewer gives that plot thread. I don't find that it conflicts with what we know of Dr. Finn. She likes a challenge and she's very intelligent: I can see why she would find Isaac appealing .... but that's just my opinion.

I might not agree with all your criticisms, but I'm glad you are keeping an open mind and enjoying yourself, Booming.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 17, 2020, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I just rewatched this and it's as funny, fresh and insightful as my first viewing.

Without a doubt, this is a 4 star episode (for me).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

It was Colonel Mustard in the library with the candlestick.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I'm not saying reviews should be in a hermetically sealed box, divorced from our reality.

My issue is that, when current events are mentioned, it's usually irrelevant to the episode being critiqued. There's hundreds of Trek episodes: in the least, people (who post here) could find the episodes that actually deal with their present day concern.

Let's be real, the season finale of STP has very little allegorical resonance with anything hapoening today. It's a grab bag of Deus Ex Machina, cringe and cliches
... nothing more.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Tango Rad

You're right, of course. Coronaboredom got me.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh, and I forgot the cherry on top.

Elinor, our main cast refugee, is a mass murderer.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Jan ....

Ok, I'll bite.

What did this show present to us?

The "refugees" we actually saw seemed to live in a pretty idyllic place without much current reason to complain.

The Romulan Empire obviously have tons of ships (if the Tsl Shiar can have their own squadron) Why didn't their own leaders get it done? Couldn't they have called the Ferengi?

Everyone we saw in a position of Romulan power were moustache-twirling villians or murderous spies or terrorists.

STP is saying that they don't know how good they have it, they blame other people for their own problems and others have a right to fear them due to their duplicitous ways.

That is not a very positive presentation.

If you want to equate illegal immigration in North Americs with the illlogical Romulan reality presented on this show, then you'll have to square that circle.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

This is a science fiction review website. If you wish to attack someone personally, there's Yahoo and Reddit and Twitter etc.

Stay healthy everyone!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Imperfection

I couldn't believe it when I realized I hadn't seen this episode before!

This was very well done (this is how you do flashbacks, Kurtzman!)

Kind of a missed opportunity with the Bajoran Starfleet officer: it would've been nice if they'd kept her around as a foil/contrast for 7.

PS The 2-moon planet matte painting looks really cheesy, even by 90's standards.

3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ James White

I'm not really sure what political allegory Romulan incest siblings and space flowers are supposed to represent, but sure, if you see a connection between this misfire of a season and current events, I can't prevent you from expressing that.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 12:39am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Janeway abrat

This is not the place to discuss politics or current events.

Back to discussing the actual episode .....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Garth

It's hilarious to me that you think a few comments here swung an election. They had literally no effect one way or the other.

In another 10 or 20 years, those politicians will have as much name recognition as Tip O'Neill, George McGovern or Adlai Stevenson. I don't see the point in putting a shelf life on an opinion, but that's just me. Carry on.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ Janeway labrat

I'm a regular user of this site and current American politics are often invoked. The outrage-of-the-week just dates the commentary .... while it also threatens to derail the conversation into unrelated arguments.

(Case in pont: the dozens of comments from 2000-2012 about John McCain and Mitt Romney. Future readers of this forum likely won't even know who they are. )

This is a science fiction review website, not TheHill or HuffPo or what-have-you.

Surely you have another touchstone for comparison and contrast (other than the political axe you wish to grind).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Just my personal musing, but must everything be focused on the American President? The older comments on this site referring to politics are already hopelessly dated and partisan.

If you don't like who holds the office, why do you let thoughts of this person infect every aspect of your life?

I'd love to see the day where people can comment on the various arts and humanities without turning it into a soapbox to grandstand on current events.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Unimatrix Zero, Part I

^

That's also how I viewed her: she's literally a central processing unit (Unimstrix Zero) functioning as a mouthpiece.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

@ Trent

I agree with his assessment on the rest of the season. Episode 6 kind of hinges on how much you can accept the premise (which I actually found believable, considering how much culture will change in the next few centuries), but everything after that is pretty much gold.

Even the few middling episodes have their own charm, in a sort of Voyager-esque pseudo-misfire way. The constant world building, character growth and mini-plot-arcs make them still worth watching.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 1:43am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

In current English, how many colloquialisms, metaphors and slang terms come from Shakespeare?

How about Ben Franklin?

Mark Twain?

I'm assuming English won't be the same in 400 years, but I imagine that some modern phrases will still be in usage.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@ Booming

To me, The Mandalorian has the same feel to it that The Goonies and Indiana Jones have: it's pure adventure with a likeable cast. I can't imagine a kid under 13 that wouldn't find it appealing.

No spoilers of course, but having seen the whole thing, my opinion is that there's not much by way of intellectual depth to the show, the characters are perhaps too broadly sketched and the nostalgia-baiting is sometimes too obvious.

Still, The Mandalorian generally succeeds at what it attempts and not many shows nowadays can say that.

PS: I can't wait to see your review of the next Orville episode! I think you'll like it (he said hopefully).
Set Bookmark
dave
Fri, Apr 3, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Anyone agree or disagree with this...

I would have preferred if the big reveal of this super advanced AI that is awaiting a call was more like Lorien from B5 ; a cerebral answer of someone who has evolved beyond even the most advanced beings; than a faceless action figure bent on destroying the universe through a summoning portal.

I think it would have been much more satisfying for it to be misunderstood and actually some advanced lifeform that can teach something and is not an actual threat (that was made from myth and fear).

It ended up making the entire plot worthless to be something so faceless and just shut down so quickly like that.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

@ Booming

Those are fair criticisms.

I'm happy that you're giving this a chance.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I always assumed 1701-D had depleted their photon torpedoes.
Next ►Page 1 of 91
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.