Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 24 (Showing 1-24)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 1:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

Absolutely nothing in this show I've watched .. and I haven't watched a whole lot of it I'll admit, has made me laugh.

Why is this show so intent on this ridiculous hyperactive character play? There IS a good series in here but it's sabotaged by its own producers who are seemingly fixated on one so called gag after another, and it comes across as lame and boring to me.

I'll say it like I've said elsewhere.
Star Wars has done animation so, so much better than this for the last ten years now.
Star Wars is far more geared to comedy and children than Star Trek and yet 'Trek is being reduced here to a very awkward and unnatural comedy-drama and it doesn't work for me, at least not so far. And then comes the matter of who this show is for .. children I can't imagine would even really enjoy ot appreciate any of the 'gags' .. so .. it's it is for adults? .. I'm not even sure who this show is really aimed at?
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 1:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

*DS9 and VOY

(Sorry*)
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 1:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Jason# I've recently been binging DS9 and DS9 on Netflix (I'm in the UK) and it's really eye opening to me, how well that part of trek holds up today. Its an easier watch, and compared with modern trek its so much breezier, lighter to take in.

At one point I gave Discovery another look (the pilot) and I was just cold. I really dislike how they use the camera, the chemistry is not there, the characters are not well defined apart from perhaps Saru, Burnham and Michelle Yeohs character. The CGI is OK I guess but somehow it seems way over the top and needlessly so. I think I watcher a couple of episodes but then I just zoned out altogether with it.

I understand there are those who obviously like Discovery for it now to have a fourth season and a fifth on the way, but I'm befuddled by its attraction.

I actually find Discovery quite boring.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 8:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

Just seems stupid this series, the hyper humour does turn me off. Kind of seems strange that Star Wars does Trek better in animation than actual Trek does.

Prodigy might hopefully be my cup of tea so hope ring's eternal I guess.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 8:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

#Bob

Mulgrew was convincingly charismatic though.
Avery Brooks had his moments to shine but for my taste he was down the bottom of my favourites as captain, except for Bakula who is just last based on my disinterest in Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 7:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I'm obviously in a minority but found this episode more than watchable and at times I had a chuckle so it's all good. Certainly don't rate it 1 star. I'd give it 2 or even 2.5 at a stretch. This episode is no where near bad enough to be just 1 star.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 3:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Silly - - I always just thought Admiral Janeway created an alternate reality. The timeline she came from was still in existence as well as the 'new timeline'.
J.J. trek has already now established in this universe that alternate timelines exist so its plausible.

Having just watched this episode, I think it's pretty decent enough and has aged OK for the most part considering it's now 20 years old. I didn't like the way this series just 'ended' with a really lame shot of the entire fleet, Voyager centre, going straight at Earth - cut to black.
We needed a final scene, some kind of epilogue, to give a more intimate closure for the crew and the audience. Something akin how TNG ended.
It's so frustrating because TNG had such a perfect ending. It almost felt like a goodbye even though they still had a good 9 hours of screentime to come over the next 8 years after that episode aired. Voyager had nothing like this sort of closure.
Set Bookmark
Datamat
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 1:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

The characters are so well realized in this first film that it just works. All of it.
EMPIRE is a better film without question but A NEW HOPE is pure character building. Its absolutely timeless.
Set Bookmark
Datamat
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

One day left of meteorological summer.. no review..

But good news is you have another 22 days of astrological summer!

Still time (lol)
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 1:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

I must be a bit strange to enjoy pretty much all the ferengi centred episodes mainly because I find Quark to be such a great character. This one is no exception.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Aug 22, 2021, 2:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Balbo#

One thing is for sure Communism is not good for anyone.
Capitalism is far from perfect but I'd say its better than most alternatives I've heard of. There is maybe a day when a system that somehow allows for the whole world to enjoy base level prosperity but until then Capitalism is the best bet I guess.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 1:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

#Skater 777

Best episode is Star Trek history?
That's where you'd lose all credibility

Most fun... sure.
I'll accept this is a fun and unique episode and very clever and it is well made (especially for the time it was made) but it is not anywhere near the best episode in Trek history, not even close.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Aug 18, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

I enjoyed this one to be honest!

Anything with Sloan and S31 is good to me though!
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 9:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

A couple of comments saying it doesn't look like they are in 2024.. they had to make a tv episode in 1994 depicting a year set 30 years into the future. That's a long time and nobody really knew what was going to happen in those 30 years. No one had envisioned social media, smartphones, smart devices etc. It was all a long way off still.

We now have tech in our hands that looks far more modern than what Picard and Crew had on the Enterprise D lol - tech that is supposedly from 345 years in the future.
Only a extreme hih concept things such as holodecks, replicators and warp drives will remain out of reach for a long time to come. Most everything else is either already here or is nearly here as depicted and realised in the TNG era shows.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 8:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Q2

I enjoyed this episode. Tbh I like all the Q episodes to date and hopefully Star Trek Picard will continue that trend. DeLancie is a great actor and nails Q every time and his own son playing his own characters son (genius) actually works really well as the chemistry is all their on screen and the (then) young actor pulls off a pretty good performance IMO.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 7:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

It's said Strange New Worlds is going to be more in the traditional trekkie format let's all hope the writing backs it up.

Discovery could and should be better than this IMO. For me the damage is more or less done. For me it's become a mess and it's a show that's ended up completely lost. If the show was always meant to be about Burnham then call it Star Trek Burnham lol. Where is the ensemble with this show?
And it's all too dark for it's own good. They need to at least allow for some fun and lighter episodes/themes.
The writing is the biggest issue. Has there been a single classic episode produced for the ages yet under the current 'era' of trek? The era 1987-05 is choke full of classics and the very first two seasons of that era produced absolute classics...
Set Bookmark
Datamat
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 6:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

#MsV

Jeri Ryan was IMO terrific in that role, one of the stand out actors of Voyager.
She developed a great camaraderie with Robert Picardo for example, and she hardly ever had a bad episode I can recall that focused on her character.
She had good looks, and she happened to be a great fit for the character. So if the producers cast he purely on looks, they obviously created a happy accident because she was just as well a solid actor perfect for Seven.

For me Beltran, Lien, and guy who played Neelix were the weak links on that series.
Set Bookmark
Datamat
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 6:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

#Tomalak

Q liked to keep moving around too, I thought.
DS9 is always in the same place.

The real reason is probably just the writers never found a good story to base around Q character after this one. He popped up a couple of times on Voyager while DS9 was still airing and De-Lancie was always busy doing his thing so hardly was that demanding of appearances on Star Trek. Q was a big TNG thing just as the Borg were and both those 'adversaries' were steered well clear of on DS9 after S1. Q-Less was not that good, not terrible, but good. It was clear that Q didn't really click in this setting with these characters like he did with TNG or even VOY.
Set Bookmark
Datamat
Mon, Aug 16, 2021, 6:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

Got to say, I wasn't that impressed with this episode really.
It's in the bottom rung of episodes this season for me.
The hunters were lame lol, and Tosk was characterised in a way that felt somewhat artificial for me. Didn't hold me attention this one for some reason.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

One the better Season 2 episodes and the real season finale as frankly Shades of Grey just shouldn't have existed and only exists because the studio mandated one more episode despite there being no scripts readily developed and available at the end of the season.

Peak Performance is a great episode.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Jan 29, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The Romulans were referenced in ST FIRST CONTACT when Picard informs the bridge crew of his orders to stay away from the battle with the Borg cube and go to patrol the Neutral Zone, in-case the 'Romulans decide to take advantage of the situation'. Now at face value this can be taken as simply a random excuse to keep Picard away from the battle, but perhaps there is a little more to it than simply just that.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 1:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

"the anticlimax of ending the story before the would-be dramatic payoff is just flat-out wrong."

They should have simply ended "Season 4" with the episode "Terra Nova" and then marketed "These Are The Voyages" as a Special Episode which essentially serves as a Goodbye To The Fans. The reality is that the show was cancelled and that also meant Star Trek as a franchise was going away for a long time (On Television at least) after 18 years of continuous production (that's obviously a very long time, the amount of time it takes to reach adulthood!)
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Voyager just wasn't scoring enough in the ratings. It's as factual as it gets as to the reasons why Voyager abruptly ends like it does here. But it's not that simple.

I'd argue that the writers have to take a lot of the blame for all this.
The Voyager writers, producers, whoever, they didn't plan for Voyager getting home at all, clearly. They tried to simply do a two-part episode that really should have been more like a six-part epic that leads to Voyager returning 'home'.
I feel that this episode should have at least been the Season 6 finale.
Season 7 could have been an opportunity to explore the aftermath and to explore ideas relating to what returning home actually means for all these characters.
I see no reason why that would have been boring. I think it would have been an exciting change of pace, and would have allowed for more resolute ending.
Hell, the Borg could still be a feature for this hypothetical season back in the Alpha Quadrant. Don't think the Borg would be going quietly for sure.

Season 7 had some good episodes in the TNG spirit but to be absolutely honest Voyager was totally squandered as a premise by this point.
The writers had given up even trying. "Endgame" plays like a rerun of "All Good Things" to just tee-up the TNG honor worship this series has been.

Also, the Borg in this episode now resemble nothing of what they originally appeared to be back in TNG. The Queen even refers to herself as "I" and seems to literally be a ruler that is guiding the Borg collective rather than speaking with it.
That wasn't even explored really. Is the Queen some sort of Individual separate from the Borg Drones, or what? It's all just not answered.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Thia episode has what I believe is one of the best scenes in the whole series. The scene I'm talking about is the one where Q quotes Hamlet and then Picard gives one of his trademark Shakespearean speeches.
Even here in Season 1 there are sprinklings ofgreatness that hint at how good TNG would eventually become.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.