Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 300 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

Yeah this one was really creepy. Two women are kidnapped and stripped naked and then their captor takes them to a room with pretty much nothing but a bed, and the show thinks we're supposed to just be amused? The line in DS9 where Lwaxana basically says "Well, it was coerced - at first" didn't help either.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

re: {{ Troi's reaction to Ral was more like some kind of mind control think rather than any kind of attraction. Of course that might be how Betazoids work. }}

I wish they had made that more clear. I couldn't tell if we were supposed to think his full-Betazoid powers were mentally overcoming her half-Betazoid powers and inducing her to fall for him, or if we were supposed to think that Troi just had really crappy taste in men to fall so quickly for someone so transparently sleazy.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Watched it for the second time today (first time was a few years back). Liked it less this time. It's got a few funny moments but most of it is pretty dumb, and now that I knew the funny stuff it wasn't as good ... similar to Qpid in that regard.

* re: My fave is when Sisko is arguing with Odo and says to him "what were you doing, regenerating?" - yeah that's my favorite line too. Also, Sisko was right, Odo completely blew that call.

* Several have commented about Avery Brooks acting in this episode being good, but I didn't like it. It's too much of a forced "stereotypical angry sports coach" stuff (Paul Douglas and Danny Glover did it much better), and I never liked his raised-voice ov-er en-un-ci-at-ing when he's trying to portray Sisko as stern/angry anyway.

* Just interesting to note, Worf bats right but throws left. I know Rom is left-handed in this episode b/c Max Grodenchik couldn't convincing pretend to be bad enough at baseball without using his off hand, but I'm not sure if Dorn was throwing with his off-hand for the same reason or not.

* The show creators apparently forgot the way Bajoran names work, since the Major's jersey says "Nerys" for most of the episode (there is one brief moment where she's wearing a jersey that says "Kira" though).

* Is it just me, or did they do something subtly different with the Vulcan makeup in this episode than in all the others where Vulcans appear, to try and make them look more stuck up and smug?

* I get that with the DS9 crew they were stuck with the people they already had, regardless of whether the athleticism or lack thereof of the actor matched that of the character or not. But with the Vulcans, why not find 9 folks who all looked like they were decent athletes? The dude who gets up from the dugout to head back to home plate because he never touched it looks like he never had jogged or run a day in his life before.

* Kira may not have baseball instincts, sure, but given who else they had to work with, she should have been one of the team's better players. But Nana Visitor just can't even make it look like the feared warrior and freedom fighter has moved around outdoors much in her life. But then, she was always good at the "emotionally torn" stuff and not at the "look like she could assassinate you" stuff - her fight scenes have always looked unconvincing to me.

* Alexander Siddig seems decently athletic enough that I'm not sure why they never had his (genetically enhanced) character do much of anything in the game. Although maybe he really wasn't, which would have explained why they didn't want to show much of Bashir? Seems like his character would have been a little more convincing in the backflip-catch than Ezri's obvious stunt double was, although really they should have left that out altogether.

* I can buy the Federation having an Official Anthem ... but one that they play before sporting events where people hold their hats over their heart/shoulder, and that sounds so much like a generic western national anthem?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

One other -
Who Mourns for Adonais is from "Adonais" by Percy Bysshe Shelley (maybe not super obscure, but at least much more so than a shakespearian or biblical allusion title)
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

The ending of this episode had me nearly dead from laughter.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

The last line of this is dumb, but so are most of the series' last lines.

TOS - "Her life could have been as rich as any woman's. If only, if only." - lousy
TNG - "Five-card stud, nothing wild - and the sky's the limit" - good
DS9 - "The more things change, the more they stay the stay" - dumb cliche plus wrong character
VOY - "Set a course - for home" - good call-back
ENT - "To boldly go where no man has gone before" - was nice before this, but already used too many times
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

The episode title made no sense to me until I found out that the full quote is "Whom Gods destroy, they first drive mad."
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

That scene in the staff meeting was so silly. I expected Torres and Janeway to yell "THIRD BASE!" at the end.

{{ I'm not saying B'Elanna isn't more talented, she might be. But LT Carey really got the shaft. What could and probably should have happened, is Carey should have got the job, then HE should have realized that he was in over his head over a few episodes, or half a season or something, then he should have surrendered the position much to B'Elanna's surprise. }}

This would have been so much better than what they actually did. Not that what they actually did was *bad*, it just wasn't great.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

{{ The notion of an "exact duplicate of the Earth" is put to absolutely no interesting use, and exists, apparently, for no other reason than so the plot could have a setting of "Earth, 1960." }}

I guess they saved money by not having to pay someone to draw new continents on a fake globe?

{{ I immediately thought of this episode, where Pollard's baby face couldn't quite disguise the fact that he was 28 and not prepubescent. }}

Yeah, Kim Darby really did look 14 or so, but Pollard was so obviously an adult.

{{ Kirk flirting relentlessly with Miri. That's not creepy. (come on I do know these crushes happen but the adult reciprocating and calling them pretty? I'm pretty darn sure they didn't intend it to come across this way, but eww }}

Even worse is how he ends up ripping her shirt, and then later holding her by the hair while she screams "NOO!" ... I mean yeah it's all not like that in context (she's yelling in denial about having the disease, not saying don't assault me), but still - *shudders*
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

{{ How can you say this is worse than Voyager's "Twisted" or "Threshold"? }}

How can you say Twisted is on the level of Threshold?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Hollow Pursuits

"But I do like the way the engineering team swiftly deconstructs the problem with simple logic to find the solution. These are smart people working a problem intelligently."

Yes (although it was weird for a show like Star Trek that the engineering team was 6 white dudes) - it makes sense to have a highly-qualified staff working together to solve a problem.

Unfortunately it makes all the other times when Geordi and/or Data has to work out a difficult technical solution all on his own. Where did all the other engineers and scientists go when Geordi had to call up Holobrahms for assistance instead?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, Mar 26, 2021, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

For all the "lol they didn't even think to just reboot" stuff, the dialogue seems to indicate that what they did would be more comparable to a system restore or even a factory reset. So that makes it a little more reasonable that it wasn't the first thing they wanted to try.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Wed, Mar 24, 2021, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

This was an odd episode title. There is no daughter in this episode who could be described as "prodigal". The only character that label would apply to would be Norvo.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S.
Tue, Mar 23, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

This was an excellent episode, should be a 3.5 on the scale here. The only issue is it wasn't long enough and had to wrap up by hour's end. On this I agree--I wish this had been a longer episode. But what we got was beautiful. One of the more emotional episodes of Voyager, and entirely successful. It totally works, even the actual ending. The last scene in the cafeteria/mess hall seems to take place some time after the scene of Tuvok lying on the Doctor's table. At least 24hrs goes by before the Dr clears him for duty. I'd like to have gotten one more scene of Tuvok and Neelix, as Tuvok is transitioning back before that final scene of Neelix and totally-back-to-normal Tuvok. But otherwise this was still a great episode! Even the dumb joke about calendar dates that Tuvok offers the alternate punchline for at the end is legit kinda clever. This deserves a higher rating. It stands entirely on its own. Nice directing by B'lanna too!
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Yeah, O'Brien was written with inconsistent rank on TNG. He often wore Lieutenant pips, and is directly addressed as "Lieutenant" in Where Silence Has Lease, but the few times he refers to his own status, he's a Chief Petty Officer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

{{ I cannot stand how the writers of this show can't seem to give us a character who is nuanced. }}

I think they finally got it right with Ro.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

{{ The title appears to be a reference to a poem by John Quincy Adams:

http://www.theotherpages.org/poems/adams02.html [The Wants Of Man] }}

Only a few episodes in any Trek series I can think of took their titles from lines of somewhat obscure poems:
The Ensigns of Command (from The Wants of Man, by John Quincy Adams)
Where Silence Has Lease (from The Spell of the Yukon, by Robert W Service)
Is There in Truth No Beauty (from Jordan (1), by George Herbert)

Any others I missed?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 2:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

I didn't get the O'Brien family feud. I can't believe they were just supposed to be that cranky and have that crappy of a marriage based on the rest of the series, so it must have been intended to be because of Lwaxana's unintentional emotional projections. But nothing in the episode actually supports this, since she's spreading her passionate feelings for Odo to everyone. There's nothing that would give us any reason to believe that the way it works is "Everyone not in a relationship is forced to involuntarily fall in lust with someone else, but everyone already in a relationship is forced to involuntarily hate their partner" especially since it doesn't work the latter way for Kira and Bareil.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Something I just noticed - it's too bad that this subpar episode is one of the few non-Troi-centric episodes where they still found a way to do something useful with her telepathic senses (rather than dozens of variants on "He's hiding something" or "There's deceit there" when we already know this other character is clearly un-trustworthy), as she's able to give Picard regular updates on the mental/emotional status of the guys stuck down on the planet.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

One thing that bugs me about this one I haven't seen mentioned yet: the Federation's tractor beam technology is supposedly only able to pull, not push, at this point. When did it take a step backwards and become unidirectional? It could both push and pull in the original Star Trek!
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I must agree with everyone who said this is what Voyager should have been all along. Instead of an episodic show it should have been a story arc, more like DS9. Decisions should have had long running consequences and traversing territories should have mattered. We could have seen allies that stuck with the ship much longer or even permanently. Instead we got reset buttons over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This is the kind of story that Star Trek lives to tell. It's what makes science fiction so great. Coupling the science side of the story's equation (genetic alteration) with the human side (fear of rejection and loss). I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that it was not the potential social rejection her daughter would face, but the loss of her daughter's father, Tom, that truly drove B'Elanna to such extremes.

It was storytelling at its finest. There was just enough misdirection where you can think "yeah, we know B'Elanna doesn't like her Klingon side, but would she really remove genes just to have her daughter be fully human? That seems a bit petty, even for B'Elanna." Where her motives seem somewhat plausible while still outrageous. Until you finally discover the true thing she fears, losing Tom and her child losing Tom.

B'Elanna was the first one to tell Tom she loved him. B'Elanna was the one who thought she was losing Tom during the spaceship race, even though she openly admitted she loved him. She has always been the vulnerable one who knows she will always love Tom, but is often unsure she will be loved in return, or is even deserving of love in return.

So seeing B'Elanna go to the extremes she does is entirely believable. She is terrified and she believes she has no other choice. Everyone's acting in this episode was spectacular and made the story truly compelling. And the writers did a fantastic job of setting up a story that reveals things as it goes along and ends with a big payoff. When Harry tells Tom to "just listen" we think it's sound advice, but mostly just a way for Tom to reach B'Elanna. It's not until the very end that we all understand that Tom just needed to discover what B'Elanna's true fears really were all along.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first 8 Episodes on Amazon so far and I am absolutely loving every minute of it. I enjoy the references and find the humor great most of the time.
My favourite animated series right now and one of my favourite Star Treks shows. Also, it gets better and better.

You are missing out, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

I really enjoy Jammers reviews because they aren't filled with the crap you see in current day reviews. Maybe they would be if they were written today.

Sadly, most people don't seem to understand what they are talking about when they make comparisons to modern healthcare. Especially all the comparisons to the United States system are especially dead-wrong.

Don't get me wrong, it's not because the US system amazing or terrible, it's because the comparison is just plain wrong. This episode actually does a great job of posing a classic Trek sci-fi conundrum: "The leaders of a devastating planet are trying to recover but have limited resources. So they assign medical care based on which people provide the most to the rebuilding of their society."

And this is where almost everyone here doesn't have a clue what they are talking about. This is obviously a government-controlled and government-distributed health care system. The patients in this hospital are not paying for anything, they are being "assigned" and "allotted" care based on their status. Clearly, a government-issued status. It doesn't matter if the "Allocator" is the one assigning value because the Allocator is just fulfilling the contract the planetary government has with the hospital ship.

The story in the episode is quite good. It asks the question "What is moral: to infect one man to save 12? To give care to the important at the cost of the unimportant in order to save society?" Those are actually interesting questions. BUT you have to realize that they involve a very important condition... "to GIVE care" which begs the question, who is the one "giving" the care? And the answer is the planetary government.

Back to Earth-bound reality, in the United States healthcare is not "given" to anyone. It's paid for by the patient, the person receiving it. The patient is the customer, he isn't "given" anything. Now the argument on whether that is good or bad is an entirely different thing, but what isn't accurate is that this episode is about US health care.

The best comparison likely is with an entirely government-controlled healthcare system. In those cases, healthcare still costs something (doctors are still paid, medical still costs money) but the allotment of money is decided by the government (the Allocator). And in all governments that run healthcare, they do indeed establish charts and "values" to patients, exactly like the TC.

When you pay for healthcare yourself, then you are your own "Allocator" when you don't pay anything for healthcare then your government is your "Allocator."
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

When the prefect went from perfectly normal to utterly furious "take them" at the mentioning of a birthday, I rolled my eyes so hard that I feared they would be stuck. Had to turn off this implausible nonsense a few minutes later.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.