Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 175 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

"Makes you wonder ... if she has Q's powers, why doesn't she use them?"

I got the sense that maybe Guinan is somehow capable of thwarting Q (at least if he does something directly to her, she can't seem to stop him from sending the ship vast distances away), but doesn't have any active powers similar to his. But yeah it was weird how they introduced that and then never developed it.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

"Whenever it happened, it was a fundamental change in Star Trek, and it kind of went unnoticed. The only thing that's comparable is the decision in early-VOY/mid-DS9 to change the nature of time travel, where effect no longer needs cause (this is most notable in 'Visonary' and 'Time and Again' -- but it pops up in 'First Contact').

Anyway, I've always wondered if the ST creators had discussions about this kind of stuff -- where they knew they were fundamentally altering an unspoken premise."

Oddly enough, there was another even bigger changed premise, that impacts stories much more, from this episode (and really all of TOS including the movies, even some made after TNG had clearly changed the premise drastically: Here and elsewhere in TOS the assumption is that nearly the entire Milky Way galaxy has been explored, that warp-capable ships can get anywhere in the galaxy in a matter of days or weeks, but that travel outside the local galaxy is next to impossible.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

"Witness how Kirk cannot articulate to Charlie why he shouldn't slap a woman on the rear end."

I can get why people would find that problematic. Personally I felt like it was a combination of

* Kirk is good at being the particular type of authority figure that his job requires of him. He's completely out of his element at being the authority figure for a lonely 14 year old kid who wants to look up to him and wants to feel that Kirk admires/respects him. Thus why the talk starts out really awkward.

* Charlie feels out of place and wants to fit in, and has no idea of what normal social interaction is like. So he sees two people having fun and sees one of them give the other a "good game" pat on the rear end, and he thinks "ok, doing that is part of how I fit in". So Kirk is having trouble about the butt-slap because he doesn't know how to explain why it was ok for that other guy but not for Charlie (especially since Charlie is going to instantly default to whining about how it's unfair that other people can do things he can't, without waiting for the full explanation).

* And I liked how Kirk finally quits talking about the social interactions of physical contact and just tells him basically "This is how life is: if you like someone, then you put what they want ahead of what you want. Sometimes that means you don't get what you hope for, and it hurts, but you keep on living and you'll be ok." which he delivers a bit stilted, but it's a good message.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

This episode is really really bad. Saved from being 0-star only by the fact that much of it is so awful it's hilarious.

Also, the 1st non-pilot of the series is a really dumb to have an "everybody is forced to act out of character" episode, since we don't know what anybody is like IN character at this point.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

"It's another payoff that seems underwhelming, boiling down to the fact that Picard has done his homework and Tallera has not."

The payoff was underwhelming, mostly due to the fact that "act like you are not having violent thoughts" doesn't portray well on screen. It's just people standing there expressionless. But I figured Tallera is probably too arrogant to think anyone but a Vulcan could truly purge themselves of violent thoughts that easily. And it's nice character moment that even Worf is able to do this.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

"Riker's arm was reattached 0.2 microns off...so a kazillionth of an inch...just how sensitive are their scanners?"

If they weren't that sensitive and more, the transporter could never work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

[[ even if the "Data learns humour" plot is botched by the bizarre writing (and performances from Piscopo) choices. ]]

The scary part is that Piscopo and Spiner apparently ad-libbed most of that stuff because what they were given to work with was somehow *even worse*
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

"Of course you're right that this show was written by Americans with America in mind, but wouldn't this message be a message for all the allies of WWII? "

It's not just a message for the victors. It could have been a message for Imperial Japan as well (something the Klingon Empire resembles many times but I rarely see that comparison drawn).

"I really enjoyed the episode, but these security measures are ridiculous. "

Not to mention that they could have just beamed the guy with a phaser out of the vicinity of the warp core.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 30, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

I agree with Matt:

Best part of this episode is when Picard tells Tam, "stand back and learn..."

Learn what?

"That being first at all costs is not always the point!"
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Ken Jenkins did a great job as Dr. Stubbs.

{{ some hippy dippy morality }}

Dumb way to describe not wanting to risk a course of action that might be murder.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

An average episode. Good general story brought down by some dumb moments and huge obvious plotholes like "why can't you beam the guy out of engineering?" but it was one of the first episodes that really showed that TNG could become a good show and go somewhere useful that TOS had not gone before.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Another lame attempt at a modern political insult on another JR comment....
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 17, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

{{ i totally disagree with this review. i've been a star trek fan for 30+ years now, and when i think of "worst episode ever," this is the one that always comes to mind }}

Agreed. This was irredeemably awful in every way. It looked like they mashed a bunch of awful elements together from some of the worst of TOS. It's not the worst ever, but it's HORRENDOUS. Half a star at most.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Dixie. Biggest pile of crap I'd seen in a long time. Overly americanized humour in most films just doesn't work either. Modern day cinema may just as well be a permanent swarm of brainless comic book superhero films. That's usually the film fodder these days.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

It's funny that many episodes have alien species that happen to look virtually identical to human beings. Highly unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Easily one of the best Enterprise episodes of them all. At least a 3 star rating, if not 3.5 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

L'rell: I HAVE A BOMB THAT WILL DETSROY Q'ONOS! SO I'M NOW THE LEADER OF THE EMPRE!

Klingons: Nope. *shoots L'rell*

God this whole resolution the war is just complete and utter garbage. LIke the new Klingon designs so I guess it's fitting that way.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Still one of my absolute favourites in Voyager's run. There's something about this episode that you just can't help and let yourself be dragged into the drama that unfolds for the alternate crew. Every single time, despite knowing what's going to happen, I root for this crew to survive, I hope that at least the time capsule makes it. I still hate the writers for destroying that thing. Couldn't they just destroy or garble any logs about the details of the enhanced warp drive?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The first episode of Discovery that I thought truly amazing. All the others before this I have thought were either just ok or just downright bad. Johnathan Frakes amazing direction helps and the new designs for the mirror universe are sublime.

Love live the empire.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 6:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Loved the first half of the episode, as it was so well-played by the O'briens that I got misty-eyed more than a few times. Losing Molly and then getting back this scared girl who slowly makes a connection with them again hit me right in the heart.

Hated HATED HATED the second half. Having Molly sent back all alone was so out of character, especially for Keiko. She's a b* most of the time, but she deeply cares about her family. I was so shocked that neither she nor Miles even thought about going with Molly to the special care center to help her reintegrate into society.
I was even more shocked that they were both sending her back in time, without coming with her. Every parent I can imagine would follow her daughter into the past. I was literally shouting at the screen when put their plan into action.

Granted, Miles has a duty because of the war, but I would have expected to have at least go Keiko with her. They could still have retrieved young Molly, because even having young Molly interact with her mother again would have probably erased wild Molly. Alternatively, the writers could have used this chance to finally get rid of Keiko :p
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 7:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I agree mostl with T’Paul, I’m really surprised everyone else is ok with this one. I found the narrative very concerning.

In this story, an oppressed people (the Kyrians) are to blame for their oppression by starting the underlying conflict. The oppressed people are almost universally presented as terrorists, war instigators, and rioters. The oppressors (the Vaskans) are presented as mostly nice, friendly people who never do anything wrong visibly in the story. One Kyrian is presented as good, the one who accepts his own blame for his people’s oppression (the “Uncle Tom” as it were). And once the oppressed people accept their blame, magically the oppression disappears? Really?

Look, I get it’s fiction and in this particular example “the truth” is that the Kyrians WERE a primary instigator of the conflict. And I’m not saying you can’t present a complex story story where the oppressed people are unreasonable and partially to blame along with their oppressors. DS9 did that with Bajorans all the time.

But that isn’t this story. In DS9, Bajorans were reactionary jerks and often violent but the Cardassians were duplicitous violent thugs clearly shown to oppress them. Unlike that, this story presents a one-sided narrative - oppressed people are violent and lying to themselves about the facts, oppressors are nice guys and peaceful and right about the facts. Even one scene showing Vaskan former concentration camps, or separate water fountains, or oppressing voting, or spitting on a Kyrian or whatever, might have balanced it. But no.

Again, it’s subtle and so not SUPER offensive per say but it’s got it’s weight on the scale, and I find that disturbing and can’t really enjoy the story completely because of it...
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I agree that the episode had some very awkward execution.

In terms of those suggesting Kovin is innocent, I more or less took the "nanoprobes" evidence at the end of somehow proving definitively that the weapon fired accidentally. It is very poorly explained, but that is the only reason the Doctor and Janeway would act so convinced that Kovin was innocent - if there was strong evidence he was.

Regarding the rape accusations, I am somewhat appalled as are others that so many on this thread are arguing that the majority of rape accuasations are false.

A few things I would hope most of us could agree on:
* The standard for criminal court cases, such as this, is always innocent until proven guilty and requres hard evidence. Kovin couldn't be convicted without evidence.
* There are other, lesser, standards of evidence required for other situations (e.g. keeping a job, staying at a university, etc.) - most people can be fired without cause in this country, and maybe that sucks but it's true for all crimes
* The vast majority of historical rape cases have been ignored, stifled, or shrugged off by authorities, families, or others and not taken seriously or investigated. That is the horrible history we are trying to resolve.

Jammer, again, I enjoy your reviews even years after so thanks again for all your hard work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S Williams
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Absolutely loved this movie but it wasn't without it's problems. The biggest one being the whole side plot with Rose and Finn on that casino world. It just felt like needless filler that in the end accomplished bugger all.

Rose herself was ok right until the ending battle when she more or less screws the whole Resistence by saving Finn for her own selfish crushing on him, which came right the hell outy of nowhere. Ugh...

I really like the idea of Rey being a random nobody chosen by the Force to rise up against the mounting darkness. This more or less proves that there is no one single Chosen One. The Force brings about a Chosen One at any time when one is needed to restore balance unto itself. Anakin, Luke and Rey have all done this (although Rey's job is unfinished currently). It's a never ending cycle and unless the whole galaxy suddenly embraces the Grey Jedi philosophy by Episode IX I don't see it ever ending. This whole galactic conflict is eternal with a permanant peace being a pipe dream.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Could you also review the pilot episode that preceded this? 'The Cage'. The pre Shatner debut episode with Jeffrey Hunter in. I don't particularly rate it but I'd be interested as to your overall review thoughts.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.