Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 165 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Ken Jenkins did a great job as Dr. Stubbs.

{{ some hippy dippy morality }}

Dumb way to describe not wanting to risk a course of action that might be murder.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

An average episode. Good general story brought down by some dumb moments and huge obvious plotholes like "why can't you beam the guy out of engineering?" but it was one of the first episodes that really showed that TNG could become a good show and go somewhere useful that TOS had not gone before.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Another lame attempt at a modern political insult on another JR comment....
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 17, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

{{ i totally disagree with this review. i've been a star trek fan for 30+ years now, and when i think of "worst episode ever," this is the one that always comes to mind }}

Agreed. This was irredeemably awful in every way. It looked like they mashed a bunch of awful elements together from some of the worst of TOS. It's not the worst ever, but it's HORRENDOUS. Half a star at most.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Dixie. Biggest pile of crap I'd seen in a long time. Overly americanized humour in most films just doesn't work either. Modern day cinema may just as well be a permanent swarm of brainless comic book superhero films. That's usually the film fodder these days.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

It's funny that many episodes have alien species that happen to look virtually identical to human beings. Highly unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Easily one of the best Enterprise episodes of them all. At least a 3 star rating, if not 3.5 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

L'rell: I HAVE A BOMB THAT WILL DETSROY Q'ONOS! SO I'M NOW THE LEADER OF THE EMPRE!

Klingons: Nope. *shoots L'rell*

God this whole resolution the war is just complete and utter garbage. LIke the new Klingon designs so I guess it's fitting that way.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Still one of my absolute favourites in Voyager's run. There's something about this episode that you just can't help and let yourself be dragged into the drama that unfolds for the alternate crew. Every single time, despite knowing what's going to happen, I root for this crew to survive, I hope that at least the time capsule makes it. I still hate the writers for destroying that thing. Couldn't they just destroy or garble any logs about the details of the enhanced warp drive?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

The first episode of Discovery that I thought truly amazing. All the others before this I have thought were either just ok or just downright bad. Johnathan Frakes amazing direction helps and the new designs for the mirror universe are sublime.

Love live the empire.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Loved the first half of the episode, as it was so well-played by the O'briens that I got misty-eyed more than a few times. Losing Molly and then getting back this scared girl who slowly makes a connection with them again hit me right in the heart.

Hated HATED HATED the second half. Having Molly sent back all alone was so out of character, especially for Keiko. She's a b* most of the time, but she deeply cares about her family. I was so shocked that neither she nor Miles even thought about going with Molly to the special care center to help her reintegrate into society.
I was even more shocked that they were both sending her back in time, without coming with her. Every parent I can imagine would follow her daughter into the past. I was literally shouting at the screen when put their plan into action.

Granted, Miles has a duty because of the war, but I would have expected to have at least go Keiko with her. They could still have retrieved young Molly, because even having young Molly interact with her mother again would have probably erased wild Molly. Alternatively, the writers could have used this chance to finally get rid of Keiko :p
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Tue, Jan 2, 2018, 7:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I agree mostl with T’Paul, I’m really surprised everyone else is ok with this one. I found the narrative very concerning.

In this story, an oppressed people (the Kyrians) are to blame for their oppression by starting the underlying conflict. The oppressed people are almost universally presented as terrorists, war instigators, and rioters. The oppressors (the Vaskans) are presented as mostly nice, friendly people who never do anything wrong visibly in the story. One Kyrian is presented as good, the one who accepts his own blame for his people’s oppression (the “Uncle Tom” as it were). And once the oppressed people accept their blame, magically the oppression disappears? Really?

Look, I get it’s fiction and in this particular example “the truth” is that the Kyrians WERE a primary instigator of the conflict. And I’m not saying you can’t present a complex story story where the oppressed people are unreasonable and partially to blame along with their oppressors. DS9 did that with Bajorans all the time.

But that isn’t this story. In DS9, Bajorans were reactionary jerks and often violent but the Cardassians were duplicitous violent thugs clearly shown to oppress them. Unlike that, this story presents a one-sided narrative - oppressed people are violent and lying to themselves about the facts, oppressors are nice guys and peaceful and right about the facts. Even one scene showing Vaskan former concentration camps, or separate water fountains, or oppressing voting, or spitting on a Kyrian or whatever, might have balanced it. But no.

Again, it’s subtle and so not SUPER offensive per say but it’s got it’s weight on the scale, and I find that disturbing and can’t really enjoy the story completely because of it...
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

I agree that the episode had some very awkward execution.

In terms of those suggesting Kovin is innocent, I more or less took the "nanoprobes" evidence at the end of somehow proving definitively that the weapon fired accidentally. It is very poorly explained, but that is the only reason the Doctor and Janeway would act so convinced that Kovin was innocent - if there was strong evidence he was.

Regarding the rape accusations, I am somewhat appalled as are others that so many on this thread are arguing that the majority of rape accuasations are false.

A few things I would hope most of us could agree on:
* The standard for criminal court cases, such as this, is always innocent until proven guilty and requres hard evidence. Kovin couldn't be convicted without evidence.
* There are other, lesser, standards of evidence required for other situations (e.g. keeping a job, staying at a university, etc.) - most people can be fired without cause in this country, and maybe that sucks but it's true for all crimes
* The vast majority of historical rape cases have been ignored, stifled, or shrugged off by authorities, families, or others and not taken seriously or investigated. That is the horrible history we are trying to resolve.

Jammer, again, I enjoy your reviews even years after so thanks again for all your hard work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S Williams
Fri, Dec 15, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Absolutely loved this movie but it wasn't without it's problems. The biggest one being the whole side plot with Rose and Finn on that casino world. It just felt like needless filler that in the end accomplished bugger all.

Rose herself was ok right until the ending battle when she more or less screws the whole Resistence by saving Finn for her own selfish crushing on him, which came right the hell outy of nowhere. Ugh...

I really like the idea of Rey being a random nobody chosen by the Force to rise up against the mounting darkness. This more or less proves that there is no one single Chosen One. The Force brings about a Chosen One at any time when one is needed to restore balance unto itself. Anakin, Luke and Rey have all done this (although Rey's job is unfinished currently). It's a never ending cycle and unless the whole galaxy suddenly embraces the Grey Jedi philosophy by Episode IX I don't see it ever ending. This whole galactic conflict is eternal with a permanant peace being a pipe dream.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Could you also review the pilot episode that preceded this? 'The Cage'. The pre Shatner debut episode with Jeffrey Hunter in. I don't particularly rate it but I'd be interested as to your overall review thoughts.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

So Harry Mudd is now a psychotic murdering nutcase (time travel reset be damned).

Fuck me Discovery what the actual hell is wrong with you?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Williams
Fri, Oct 20, 2017, 7:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I think what grated me more than anything in this episode was calling that monstrosity of a ship a D7.

The D7 is one of the most iconic ships in Star trek and they jusy go and butcher like everything else Klingon related.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

{ his manipulation is effective and enlightening concerning a set of various characters' motives and philosophies, }

I disagree. Sloan manipulates Bashir by basically being godlike omnipotent and Bashir just blunders along in a way uncharacteristic of him. It's boring when the villain is so magically unstoppable that he succeed at everything, no matter how improbable, usually with no explanation given.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

{ I'm extremely disappointed, though I shouldn't be surprised, at all the comments complaining about Sisko's mention of racism in the 1960's. }

Why? For comparison, it would be like if a person today who was a Protestant Christian refused to go to a Renaissance Faire because it was set in England at a time when Queen Mary was executing non-Catholics.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

{ I should probably admit a personal bias up front: I'm a sucker for a good homicide investigation. }

Me too, but this episode wasn't it.

{ re: detective fiction, we shouldn't be surprised that detective fiction appeals to Odo as a genre -- he is, after all, the de facto crime-solving-head on DS9. }

Sure but the way it happened was just ludicrous.

Odo: I just instantly made a perfectly correct observation about a piece of technology I've never encountered.
Others: But how?
Odo: I suddenly have always been interested in reading Raymond Chandler stories.
Others: Well, naturally, as part of the cast you must be an expert in something that was well-known in the time period of the show's viewership.

And the idea that you "need a killer to catch a killer" was so bad. Joran murdered, therefore he automatically knows how every murderer thinks, even though this murderer was nothing like Joran in any way, and oh look at the convenience that Ezri runs into said Vulcan right about the time she makes the Adam-West-Batman-style wild deductions that are all perfect and right as he has decided to kill her for some reason even though this doesn't fit the pattern and he doesn't know she's accessing Joran to find him.

This episode was simply awful. Better than the Emperor's New Cloak, but other than that, it's at the bottom of season 7.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

IMO, they should just never have tried to make DS9 sequels to Mirror Mirror at all, ever.

{ Say what you want about DS9, it's the least heteronormative of all Trek }

1. The episode Rejoined
2. In the alternate universe, evil woman = lesbian or bisexual

So ... I guess?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

This episode tried to hard. There was no subtlety. WE GET IT! The brother is dissatisfied with his life but feels trapped. WE GET IT. The mom is a micromanaging control-freak who treats her adult children like they are still little kids. WE GET IT. You can show us this stuff without pounding it into our heads with a sledgehammer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

{ Even a hologram is better than Ezri in her job! What was the point for bringing her to the show? }

The hologram wasn't doing Ezri's job. He was just being a housemate who happened to be older and wiser. The key was that he happened to exist in Not Real Life.

{ Unless he's forgotten why the African American community was upset with Disney's lack of willingness to put the princess in The Princess and the Frog with a black man. }

This is very biased wording. If X doesn't happen, it doesn't mean there must have been a "lack of willingness" for it to happen.

{ There could be numerous explanations for same race coupling. Maybe Brooks and Lofton just preferred black women in real life and the showrunners ran with the actors' taste. }

That's possible, but it certainly seemed like the show's creators were very reluctant to portray any hint of a stable relationship between two humans of different races/ethnicities.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Sep 9, 2017, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

With the sheer number of people on the Bajoran world (surely in the billions) the idea that 50 or so would think "the prophets abandoned us, maybe these other prophetlike spirits are the True Gods" isn't unbelievable.

{ The problem for me is that Dukat has no real credibility, so too much of the episode is just listening to him talk rubbish while Kira makes boring and obvious responses that do nothing really to develop her character. }

This is why the episode sucked in a nutshell (even though it eventually got slightly interesting). Pretty much the entirety of the first 50% of the episode is either Kira arguing with Dukat or Kira arguing with Fala. And repetitive arguments between Obviously Wrong Person and Obviously Right Person are a crap thing to base an episode around, especially since none of them lead us anywhere. We don't learn anything new about Kira or Dukat's personalities, nor Fala's (not that it matters since we are given 0 reason to care about his). Neither of them wins or loses any arguments. It doesn't even feel like a verbal or intellectual chess match between them. It's just 25 straight freaking minutes of watching people go "yes it is" "no it isn't" "yes it is" "no it isn't"
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

{ With regard to acting, I always thought Lofton was a better actor than Brooks. How old was he again? That's saying quite a lot, isn't it? }

He was 16 or so. I think Lofton was one of the better actors on the show. I don't think Brooks is all that good, but the two of them work VERY well together as an on-screen father & son pair.

Not a great episode, but it did have some great lines

So honor the valiant who died neath your sword
But pity the warrior who slays all his foes
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.