Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 265 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Absolutely loved this episode, watching it again makes me realize just how brilliant Martha Hackett was in this role.

Such a shame that they didn't keep her - even after her betrayal, they could have made her sabotage the kazon when she got tired of them in Season 2 (who wouldn't) and subsequently claim that she planned this all along to gather intelligence and protect Voyager.

Her coming along for the journey in the brig, always manipulating Chakotay and the viewers, always staying grey.. she could have been awesome.

Instead they wrote her out. What an absolute waste of a brilliant character :(

Solid four stars
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 31, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

{{ My biggest problem with this episode is, and always has been Robert's advice to Jean-Luc, which was tantamount to just deal with it. We wouldnt tell a returning soldier suffering PTSD to just "deal with it" }}

I can see how it would look that way, although what I took (and what I *think* they were going for) is more "You'll have to face it one way or the other - you can't just run from it."
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Troi making comments about how human father-son relationships are unique because of [stereotypes that apply to 20th century US father-son relationships] was so dumb. Not only because those stereotypes are still true in 400 years and are planet-wide, or because we're supposed to believe no other alien species has anything like that, but because Troi and her mother are an even better example of her own observation than Will and his father are!
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

{{ Sure, the premise is silly, but no sillier than the notion from the previous episode ("Contagion") that reading the log from an infected ship would infect your own ship. }}

That's actually believable. "Log file appears to be in .rtf format, I'll just double click and it should open my word processor...."
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

OMG!!! I love the series but get mad at some of the things the writers do. Just does not make any sense. Why would they kill Trip off at the end of the show, so dumb. Why not have them all go to the big speech and trip is sitting with T'Pol hold there cute little elf ear baby and our blue friend with his baby and the Captain gives an amazing speech and end it like that.

But no, they have to get the aliens that can travel past warp 4 and somehow beam on the ship, it just feels forced and unreal. It’s sad really; this series was great and had so much more potential. With all that said I really enjoyed the series and sad to see it end. The ending was good with the 3 captains talking about going where no man has been before.

If you get time stop by and say hi to me on YouTube, (dot com forward slash johndaniels) my fellow Star Trek enthusiast I am going to be doing a video at some point on Star Trek Holacracy. Take care, it was awesome getting to read Allan's reviews and all of your comments, I wish you all the best.

Live long and prosper,

-John
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Finally Archer grew a pair :)) I like it when he shot that reptile who tried to kill him and blow uf the ship. I wish the regular show was more like that. In the other universe the reptile could kill half his crew and destroyed half his ship he would have given him a little peep speech and took him home, lol.

I like this universe, but they need to not make them seem so evil just more balls and less PC correctness. If a ship is trying to kill you feel free to kill them, because if you don't they are going to kills other innocents people and that will be on your weak hands.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

Good episode besides Shran girlfriend dying of a superficial wound, how dumb can you get, the best doctor in the universe and all of sudden she dies, it just seems so unrealistic that you get pulled out of the story.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Here is another great episode, loving this series but some of the episodes piss me off :)
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

What I was trying to say in my last reply is that you want to have likeable characters, who you can get attached to and keep watching the show. How can you get attached to someone who is flaky like T'Pol.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Trip and T'Pol, and of course the writers had to mess that up. This is what I am talking exactly, the show is good and then it sucks, the show is bipolar.

T'Pol did not want to be with her ex and then when he releases her she then has feelings for him and starts to cry and now she has no feelings for Trip. Just stupid writing no wonder the show was canceled with writing like this.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

As a whole I like this series but some episodes I just do not like. I feel like the writers can just make up stuff, like the escape pod on the Klingons ship. It seem like whenever Enterprise meets up with a Klingon ship they always get their butts kicked, but now all of a sudden they are so much stronger. When I first started watching I could already tell how it was going to play out, like watching a trainwreck in slow motion.

The Klingons are A$$ Holes, I would not mind seeing them get blasted out of the sky along with the other people who abducted t-Pole :)

They should have mixed it up and had the Augments outsmart Enterprise and then leave without being able to catch them. That way they could come back later in the series.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

A couple of things I've gleaned from the post-finale run of interviews

- The final crane shot that showed Seven and Raffi throw back shots and hold hands in front of a game of Kal-Toh was an improvised choice for one of the takes. In one of the previous interviews it was also suggested (I think it was Goldsman) that the Starfleet Captain (Emmy) that Raffi pressured into issuing diplomatic credentials possibly had a more-than-friends relationship in the past. (Nothing in the scene suggests that, but then again, nothing in the scene precludes it).

- The reprise of Blue Skies playing as Data prepared to shuffle off the mortal coil was sung by Isa Briones (Dahj/Soji/Sutra/Jana), who, prior to her stint on Picard, was a cast member of Hamilton. It's more poignant, considering it's Data's daughter singing her father off. (https://io9.gizmodo.com/the-picard-finales-most-emotional-moment-hid-a-heartbre-1842512711) (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QTKxGG3-4o) Here's the Behind-the-Scenes featurette on it (https://www.startrek.com/videos/star-trek-picard-and-the-return-of-blue-skies)

- There is precedence in Trek for forgiving manslaughter when under some kind of external influence, like Jurati had with the Admonition-amped mind meld. In DS9 (Empok Nor), Garak kills fellow members of an away team on Empok Nor while under the influence of a psychoactive agent permeating the derilect station. He expresses remorse, but isn't charged with the deaths. (Nog keeps a wide berth from then on, though). Jurati will always have to contend with the knowledge that she killed someone, but considering that the Admonition was traumatic enough that it caused most organics who experienced it to kill themselves, I think some slack could be given.

- The nature of being, and being human/not human, in a biosynthetic body is one of the themes that will be explored in Picard Season 2, according to the showrunners. Just because they copy-pasted the engrams, doesn't mean that the experience will be exactly the same.

Finally, I was thinking a lot about the Raffi and Seven thing. There's something called the Overton Window--applied in sociological situations, it's the notion that there's a range of ideas/behaviors that are considered acceptable at any given time; the window will inevitably shift over time, as well as the corresponding range of ideas. When TOS was on the air, an interracial kiss between Kirk and Uhura was considered both ground-breaking and controversial. The only way it was justifiable to the censors was that it happened because Kirk was under telekinetic influence. (He didn't do it voluntarily). DS9's Rejoined depicted the first same-sex kiss, and that was only justified by the producers because it was Dax kissing the successor host of a symbiont from when "she" was a "he". They got a torrent of hate mail and some stations pulled the episode. Garrett Wang (Harry Kim) tells of the story that the day after Voyager premiered, Paramount got hate mail and death threats because they deigned to depict a story where a 24th Century Starfleet ship is captained by a female.

Decades later, the depiction of normal things that normal people do are more familiar to the population. Several main Trek cast members are themselves multi-racial, we now have female four-star generals and admirals in the armed forces. The head of the most valuable tech company (or 2nd most, depending on the stock market) is a gay man. We even had an openly gay presidential candidate who made considerable headway in the early primaries--and the main reason why he didn't make it wasn't because of his sexuality. I think we look back at these depictions in Trek, and aside from noting the historical aspect, the acts themselves aren't shocking or controversial. (Whoever gets angry today at the fact that DS9 had a black commander and Voyager had a female captain isn't a Trek fan and should GTFO)

Raffi and Seven holding hands isn't a big, shocking thing. It isn't "in your face". In a series (and franchise) where people have hooked up with members of the other species--often only shortly after meeting, this is an extremely tame expression of affaction. What it is, is a possible avenue for character development and story building. I'm all for normal, and even subtle depictions instead of showpiece "in-your-face" or "to make a point" kind of depictions. Personally, I'm tickled at the thought of a former Starfleet officer who revels in conspiracy theories compare notes with a former borg drone who inadvertently wrapped herself into a web of theories (VOY: The Conspiracy Theory).
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

That quick lifting of the ban was indeed a weak part of the plot. Felt like they just wanted to get it off the table so that Soji can walk around the galaxy next season unrestricted. A bit lazy. In fact, a slow, bureocratic, procedure-heavy lift of the ban could be a good arch for next season. Guess they have something better in mind.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Lebovic
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I like the comment to the effect that “screaming This is Not Star Trek sounds like a child not being given his cereal.”

I believe there was no substantive response.

I think there is also an issue as to what constitutes “science fiction.” Once we accept (as people implicitly have) the existence of warp drive, inertial dampeners, and other “fiction” in science fiction, where can the line be drawn, beyond which one must conclude, “This is too silly!”

The whole premise of Star Trek requires dollops of suspension of disbelief. To nitpick a scene for not being scientifically accurate when the entire premise is, is one some level a futile task.

As far as the issue of What Is Star Trek, the Potter Stewart “I know what isn’t Star Trel when I see it” crowd will never give an answer. That would prevent them from changing the goalposts whenever it suited them. Funny how many complaints about the show’s “dubious” cohesiveness themselves are incohesive or bereft of reasoning.

Part of reaction depends upon the predisposition of the viewer. To paraphrase Guinan, someone who hated episodes 1-9 will probably go in to episode 10 with a jaundiced view and come out of it with confirmation bias. I don’t know when it became Scripture to automatically “know” all post-2005 (2001? 2009?) Trek is terrible, so I don’t go in with that bias.

I try to watch episodes, seasons, etc., without preconceived beliefs to the effect they will be good or bad. And I try to look for what a Star Trek episode gives me in terms of entertainment value, because Trek is first and foremost entertainment. The last episode of Season 1 of Picard had problems galore but on balance It was entertaining given the constraints I mentioned above. Trek at its best is MORE than entertainment. But, to savage someone simply because that person got some entertainment from the show, or the show brightened that person’s day a little bit...
It is unfortunate that some are so certain in their opinions that they resort to doing this.

One person observed that if Michael Chabon can’t make Trek work, no one can. It takes a a small inferential leap to realize that some people will never be satisfied with anything - or will never admit to it , lest they be thought to be part of the lumpen masses - those vulgar, inferior Philistines! - that get enjoyment from entertainment.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Very fitting and dignified how they ended Data's overall story arch - specially so, that there is now no way that a future season becomes a "in search for a way to bring back Data" kinda of story. And it was more enjoyable and touching than Picard's own death, which was a given ever since that "golem" appeared.

Is Data drinking cognac or something as he awaits his death? Weird and cool.

So Jurati can indeed get away with murder then! Not only nobody seems to mind anymore, she now appears to be a regular on next's season motley crew. Maybe there was not enough time, but the fact that everybody understood she was under Oh's influence shoukd have been more played out, so that it felt more real.

Curious how the borg cube landed catastrophicly on a hard surface, cracked right open, and the internal floor and the outside dirt are perfectly level! No step, no nothing! How convenient.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Brent Spiner had story credit in Nemesis, namely his involvement was the part in Data's death. His main concern is that as an android that wasn't necessarily designed to age, it was becoming more and more difficult to portray him into his 50's when he was in his mid 30's when he originated the role. The fact that they made him look as good as they did in the finale given the fact that he's 71, was no small feat.

I think the way that Nemesis finally came together kinda cheated the impact and effectiveness of that death, so part of the intent in Picard was to "fix" the death. They could have left well enough alone and not have Picard haunted by the death, but they made a literary decision to use Data as a "device" to reopen Picard's story.

Part of the problem with bringing Data back is that he's too major a character to not do anything with if he was brought back. It would eclipse all the new main characters we'd been introduced to all season. The writers are going to have enough to not keep being tempted to bring back Riker and Deanna for Season 2, and too much fan service would, in my humble opinion, rob the opportunity to tell new stories with the new cast.

Yes, since Nemesis, the Marvel movies have shown us that de-aging CGI is very feasible today, albeit a bit expensive, and this is Star Trek, so never say never.

Re: the Borg, in one of the interviews, one of the creators said that the directive was that if a people/species/creature was to be brought back, they needed to show them in a different context. Not changed, like TOS Klingons vs TNG+ Klingons, but another dimension. That's why the Romulans were more fleshed out and made a dynamic race with diverse subcultures.

With the Borg, the theme was that the individual drones, not the collective per se, were actually victims. Victims of their own assimilation, victims of being tainted with the association of being evil assimilators and destroyers of mass populations, stateless victims--used by Romulans, unwanted by the Federation, marked with the scars of the implants for the rest of their lives. To bring them back to power would have instantly made them the terrifying power without any agency. That's why they didn't go any farther with Borg Queen Annika than they did.

@Startrekwatcher--I'm not trying to discount anything that you've been saying--I had fan tendencies like yours, but I'm working off of the the interviews of the showrunners and writers to try to fill in the intent and missing details. (Look at today's Hollywood Reporter for an interview with Chabon and another interview with Sir Patrick)

*Also I don't think it was the fact that "Romulans" were assimilated that caused the cube collective to collapse. It was that they happened to assimilate a Romulan who happened to have the Admonition (targeted message towards synthetic or cybernetic minds) that did it. Romulans had a shared genetic history with Vulcans, and we've already witnessed Vulcans assimilated in the past.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The point they were trying to make with Data's death was that his mortality was the ultimate realization of what it was to be human--something he aspired to his entire life. He could have been kept in suspended quantum animation, or downloaded into another host body with a positronic net. Neither one would have been human.

Picard spent his post-Starfleet years haunted by the fact that Data,someone he loved sacrificed his life for him. For him to be unshackled so he can live his life, he had to accept Data's death as well. He got to say goodbye.

To me, that was beautifully written and acted.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

[Deleted Scene 2 / Back on Earth]

Picard goes in for a medical consult with his cardiologist. The cardiologist, thinking that he [Picard] still has an artificial heart, has a momentary freak-out moment when the tricorder fails to lock onto the customary telemetry and diagnostic information, let alone a duratanium signature.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I think it was the Deadline podcast for E9 where Chabon said that at the end of the season finale, the various "chess pieces" that needed to be arranged will have been arranged. So, without having the "fourteen years ago" anchor around the neck, I'm optimistic about the next season. The fact that they're still on La Sirena and not some Starfleet vessel, the fact that they have Seven and Elnor on crew... lends me to think that we'll get some of the rag-tag crew adventure treatment. So many really interesting things they can explore with any of the characters.

I think it'll also take pressure off of Discovery, Section 31, Starfleet Academy, and (hopefully) a Captain Pike/Enterprise series from trying to do everything.

I agree, dangerous going forward--a high wire act to keep people happy, but I'm optimistic. They were able to stick the landing with this one.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 6:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

What also gives me hope about the second season is that while Michael Chabon is stepping down from showrunner duties, he's still an EP, he helped break the season storyline and committed to writing two of the episodes. Discovery (like early TNG) suffered from a revolving door of showrunners and writers--explains some (but not all) of the disjointedness of the show.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 6:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The seven signals thing--I could never even get past the basic science fact that they ignored such inconvenient things as the speed of light and frame of references let alone the other stuff. This the result of not having an on-staff science advisor, like they did on every other Trek series. (They finally brought one on for Picard S2 and Discovery moving forward.)

With Picard, I think part of it was that they were hamstrung by the fact that they needed to keep filling in backstory of eighteen years of history (hence all of the exposition and flashbacks), and that they originally intended to do a nine episode season--course corrected and expanded the first act to three episodes and added the Riker and Troi encounter. The other part was they wanted to give themselves some runway to fill-in what happens later down the line. Jeri Ryan has a contract option for a second season--if either party chose not to exercise that option, they could explain her absence by saying she went back to help out the XBs. Not the cleanest way, but a window to explain if necessary. I'd also probably add that a good chunk of the episode was changed in the edit (last minute post-production had to be done remotely from homes).

Moving forward, they don't need to bend backward as much to fill in the post-Nemesis history, nor do they need to spend episodes introducing main characters, so narratively it's got to be more freeing.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

[Deleted Scenes / Back on Earth]

Picard goes in for a medical consult with Dr. Benayoun.

Not because he needed to; more as a prank. As one would do to an old friend, if he had a few decades left to live.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:51am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Tim C

I think the Borg XBs are actually in the best place they could be--out of the jurisdiction of the Romulans, and within walking distance to a community of synths aspiring to be Human, and a genius, if not a little strange, cyberneticist providing technical guidance. At least in this era/timeline, Seven wasn't much for nurturing--she's a little too hardened for that, and it was Hugh's job when he was alive.


"But what could a Soong do with Borg tech?"
[To be explored in the season 3 finale cliffhanger - 'Best of Many Worlds']
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Also, Captain Riker, fuck yeah!
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Glad the Admonition synthetics stuff ended where it did--I loved the episode, but it was starting to veer into Avengers - Chitauri territory (especially since the Chitauri are cybernetic organisms).

Only real niggle--I know that the uniform Data was wearing was probably one of those recreations, since they sold off the original uniforms at that massive Christie's auction, but couldn't they tuck away the zipper pull for the dickie? Echoes of Commodore Oh's mis-aligned Starfleet pips.

Liked the theme song reprise at the end credits. I read somewhere that the original variant of the main title was of that sort and the composer was asked to re-arrange it to the version we hear at the opening credits. I wonder if this was the original version of the theme.

Well, Picard has a new body, but I'm really hoping Sir Patrick stays safe and healthy--this human malware thing will definitely delay production for a long while.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.