Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Daniel Prates
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Not once but twice on the episode Ryker says's "PORTHOS A LA YUTA" in the weirdest of manners.... like a gringo intentionally emphasising a foreign dish's name or something. Not cool Riker!
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

That quick lifting of the ban was indeed a weak part of the plot. Felt like they just wanted to get it off the table so that Soji can walk around the galaxy next season unrestricted. A bit lazy. In fact, a slow, bureocratic, procedure-heavy lift of the ban could be a good arch for next season. Guess they have something better in mind.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Very fitting and dignified how they ended Data's overall story arch - specially so, that there is now no way that a future season becomes a "in search for a way to bring back Data" kinda of story. And it was more enjoyable and touching than Picard's own death, which was a given ever since that "golem" appeared.

Is Data drinking cognac or something as he awaits his death? Weird and cool.

So Jurati can indeed get away with murder then! Not only nobody seems to mind anymore, she now appears to be a regular on next's season motley crew. Maybe there was not enough time, but the fact that everybody understood she was under Oh's influence shoukd have been more played out, so that it felt more real.

Curious how the borg cube landed catastrophicly on a hard surface, cracked right open, and the internal floor and the outside dirt are perfectly level! No step, no nothing! How convenient.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 6:06am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@steinway the eye thing.... it was major symbolic device in 'blade runner', I wonder if they force it this much upon the plot of PIC as a means to reference that classi movie. Sure there is all the borg connection, data's unique eyes, picard'a eyes on the opining of first contact etc., but it could also have to do with BR.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I am a little impressed that so many posts speculate if Sutra or Narek killed Saga, when it was made almost perfectly clear that she did. It is a very old trope, to release a foe and kill a lower ranking ally to send off all your other allies on a red herring for some disonest reason. It's what El Indio did to Cuchillo in "for a few dollars more".

Now let me speculate something, perhaps also obvious. Is Sutra the actual "destroyer"? Were we lead wrongly to beleive it was Soji just because "auntie" said so? They look the same, maybe "auntie" confused the two. If so, we may be heading for a Soji-kills-Sutra kind of ending.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:26am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I am glad someone finally said what @rattrap maximize just said.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Anyone else noticed Narek's massive cheek cut in the first scene in the holding cell - and that it was gone in the next scene, which was supposed to be minutes later?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I think it was pretty nice writing, that we were made to believe the Romulans found one warning, but it turns out the warning was the opposite (but to the same effect). Not biologic beens warning about impending doom, but far more evolved synths saying "go ahead, call us and we'll mess them up".

If season 2 follows down that road, viz, synths really being a threat, I will be cool with it.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Has anyone here read "the last best hope"? Is it really essential to appreciating more ST:PIC?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Jammer must be going through a busy week to omit in his review the part where Jurati nearly kills herself in order to destroy the tracker cookie.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Booming,

"... little nugget".

Lol!


That has always been a weak spot of ST in general, but TNG particularly. Worf wants to blow everything up but Picard goes with LaForge's idea of "inverting polarity", "creating a resonance field", "tachyons/chronotons" or something. TNG at least had that wrapped around mostly good stories, whereas Disco is only that.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

So commodore Oh is a Vulcan after all!

It is becoming increasingly clear that the "bad guys", assholes that they may very well be, in fact have a point and a valid cause.

Raffi not going about boozing herself out was good too. It is the first episode where I liked her.

Was Rios really confusing who was the "traitor" or he already got it and is just cat-and-miceing Jurati?

A corageous plot detail, having the Troi-Rikers lose a son, for the lack of synths no less.

Picard also feels "Picardy", in a more convincing manner.

Having the "motley crew" sepatate into 2 or 3 parties did well for the narrative's sake; when they were roaming the galaxy in "armata brancaleone" fashion, I wasn't enjoying it all that much.

At the end I couldn't understand: did Pic and Soji teleport back to Rios' ship (whats-its-name), or they went along thar new captain mentioned by Riker'a daughter?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

This series can still acheive greatness if, by the end, Picard faces some real, heartbreaking dilemma with hard choices - such as being forced to agree that synths are a indeed a threat or something and having to agree to some hurtful action (killing Soji? Dying himself in the process?). That would tie in nicely with all the feebleness that seems to be his main trait as an old man: atoning for his bad decisions, coward-ish resignation etc., with a huge self-harming action. For me, that is why they crammed in that "brain tumor" plot tool. You know, like Clint Eastwood discovering he has cancer in Grand Torino. He is going to die anyway, why not die with a "selfless" sacrifice?

Or something like that.

It would even forgive the other week subplots being resolved in a predictable way. Like Raffi ditching the booze and reconciling with her son (with the obligatory scene where she holds her grandson in her lap with moist eyes).

What would suck, though, is if this just turns into "foil a threat to the galaxy" kinda of script.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Have anyone thought of this? Maybe Narek and Narissa call eachother brother/sister not because they are siblings, but because the Jhat Vash is a "brotherhood" of sorts.... a secret society within the Tal Shiar. It would explain all the sexual tension between them, or at least, make it waaaaay less creepy.

Hence, maybe the dead brother Narek mentions on episode one was indeed a sibling - so, totally unrelated to Narissa. Or maybe he too was one of the "brethren", who died in service (maybe killed by Dajh in those early brawls!).

It sure makes things fall together huh?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Trent I agree with your remarks. But actually, I was saying that the first reviews of 'this episode' were all positive (maybe the first few dozens or so), then all the sudden, people started trashing it. Is it because we got to think it over?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I think we can all agree that eye-patch, cartoon french Picard was pretty lame. It is right there with strip-teasing uhura from "the final frontier". The review is correct, those are ex-borg hunters and they don't know Picard, locu-freaking-tus?
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Sven,

That is what I think too. I guess most of us are torn by this series. We want to like it, we have high expectations towards it... for me at least it feels that I can't decide whether I am liking it or not. I kinda am ... I think. This episode felt good to me. Then I read Jammer'a review and it got me thinking.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Funny how the reviews started on a very positive tone, only to veer off towards bas reviews after a while.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sat, Feb 15, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

So the series have now introduced a romulanesque Bene Gesserit of sorts, with a romulanesque tolkien elf of sorts. Hmmmm.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

You guys make a good point on Picard's character development in the last 18 (fictional) years, bur really, to me it seems more likely that Patrick Stewart is now a better, more developed actor. That seems to me to be the actual cause of how we "feel" Picard different.

Another subject: Raffi is also quite the potty-mouth, isn't she? And not only post-decadence Raffi; flashback-Raffi also. We definetivelly are seing some evolution in ST's manners, uses and practices.
Set Bookmark
DANIEL PRATES
Sun, Feb 9, 2020, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

This movie's main defect is to take away from Kyle Kayarn's hands the job of robbing the death star plans. Not cool! I always thought that Lucasarts' game stories were canonic.

Maybe both stings happened at the same time, a plan B of sorts?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Prates
Sat, Feb 8, 2020, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

@XanderW nailed it some posts above; Patrick Stewart seems off somehow. My theory is that he is now, 30 yeras later, a much better actor: has he overgrown the 'stiffness' that characterized Picard as we knew him? The younger Picard was a no-nonsense, stiff, hard guy; this new Picard seems more of a gentle, more at-ease person. Of course you could explain this as the character having evolved, matured etc.; but I really feel its just Patrick Stewart not being able to go back to a more coarse way of playing a character.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.