Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 98 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

"Makes you wonder ... if she has Q's powers, why doesn't she use them?"

I got the sense that maybe Guinan is somehow capable of thwarting Q (at least if he does something directly to her, she can't seem to stop him from sending the ship vast distances away), but doesn't have any active powers similar to his. But yeah it was weird how they introduced that and then never developed it.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

"Whenever it happened, it was a fundamental change in Star Trek, and it kind of went unnoticed. The only thing that's comparable is the decision in early-VOY/mid-DS9 to change the nature of time travel, where effect no longer needs cause (this is most notable in 'Visonary' and 'Time and Again' -- but it pops up in 'First Contact').

Anyway, I've always wondered if the ST creators had discussions about this kind of stuff -- where they knew they were fundamentally altering an unspoken premise."

Oddly enough, there was another even bigger changed premise, that impacts stories much more, from this episode (and really all of TOS including the movies, even some made after TNG had clearly changed the premise drastically: Here and elsewhere in TOS the assumption is that nearly the entire Milky Way galaxy has been explored, that warp-capable ships can get anywhere in the galaxy in a matter of days or weeks, but that travel outside the local galaxy is next to impossible.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

"Witness how Kirk cannot articulate to Charlie why he shouldn't slap a woman on the rear end."

I can get why people would find that problematic. Personally I felt like it was a combination of

* Kirk is good at being the particular type of authority figure that his job requires of him. He's completely out of his element at being the authority figure for a lonely 14 year old kid who wants to look up to him and wants to feel that Kirk admires/respects him. Thus why the talk starts out really awkward.

* Charlie feels out of place and wants to fit in, and has no idea of what normal social interaction is like. So he sees two people having fun and sees one of them give the other a "good game" pat on the rear end, and he thinks "ok, doing that is part of how I fit in". So Kirk is having trouble about the butt-slap because he doesn't know how to explain why it was ok for that other guy but not for Charlie (especially since Charlie is going to instantly default to whining about how it's unfair that other people can do things he can't, without waiting for the full explanation).

* And I liked how Kirk finally quits talking about the social interactions of physical contact and just tells him basically "This is how life is: if you like someone, then you put what they want ahead of what you want. Sometimes that means you don't get what you hope for, and it hurts, but you keep on living and you'll be ok." which he delivers a bit stilted, but it's a good message.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

This episode is really really bad. Saved from being 0-star only by the fact that much of it is so awful it's hilarious.

Also, the 1st non-pilot of the series is a really dumb to have an "everybody is forced to act out of character" episode, since we don't know what anybody is like IN character at this point.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

"It's another payoff that seems underwhelming, boiling down to the fact that Picard has done his homework and Tallera has not."

The payoff was underwhelming, mostly due to the fact that "act like you are not having violent thoughts" doesn't portray well on screen. It's just people standing there expressionless. But I figured Tallera is probably too arrogant to think anyone but a Vulcan could truly purge themselves of violent thoughts that easily. And it's nice character moment that even Worf is able to do this.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

"Riker's arm was reattached 0.2 microns off...so a kazillionth of an inch...just how sensitive are their scanners?"

If they weren't that sensitive and more, the transporter could never work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

[[ even if the "Data learns humour" plot is botched by the bizarre writing (and performances from Piscopo) choices. ]]

The scary part is that Piscopo and Spiner apparently ad-libbed most of that stuff because what they were given to work with was somehow *even worse*
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

"Of course you're right that this show was written by Americans with America in mind, but wouldn't this message be a message for all the allies of WWII? "

It's not just a message for the victors. It could have been a message for Imperial Japan as well (something the Klingon Empire resembles many times but I rarely see that comparison drawn).

"I really enjoyed the episode, but these security measures are ridiculous. "

Not to mention that they could have just beamed the guy with a phaser out of the vicinity of the warp core.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 30, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

I agree with Matt:

Best part of this episode is when Picard tells Tam, "stand back and learn..."

Learn what?

"That being first at all costs is not always the point!"
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Ken Jenkins did a great job as Dr. Stubbs.

{{ some hippy dippy morality }}

Dumb way to describe not wanting to risk a course of action that might be murder.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

An average episode. Good general story brought down by some dumb moments and huge obvious plotholes like "why can't you beam the guy out of engineering?" but it was one of the first episodes that really showed that TNG could become a good show and go somewhere useful that TOS had not gone before.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Another lame attempt at a modern political insult on another JR comment....
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 17, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

{{ i totally disagree with this review. i've been a star trek fan for 30+ years now, and when i think of "worst episode ever," this is the one that always comes to mind }}

Agreed. This was irredeemably awful in every way. It looked like they mashed a bunch of awful elements together from some of the worst of TOS. It's not the worst ever, but it's HORRENDOUS. Half a star at most.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Dixie. Biggest pile of crap I'd seen in a long time. Overly americanized humour in most films just doesn't work either. Modern day cinema may just as well be a permanent swarm of brainless comic book superhero films. That's usually the film fodder these days.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

It's funny that many episodes have alien species that happen to look virtually identical to human beings. Highly unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:50am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Easily one of the best Enterprise episodes of them all. At least a 3 star rating, if not 3.5 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sat, Jan 27, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Still one of my absolute favourites in Voyager's run. There's something about this episode that you just can't help and let yourself be dragged into the drama that unfolds for the alternate crew. Every single time, despite knowing what's going to happen, I root for this crew to survive, I hope that at least the time capsule makes it. I still hate the writers for destroying that thing. Couldn't they just destroy or garble any logs about the details of the enhanced warp drive?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Could you also review the pilot episode that preceded this? 'The Cage'. The pre Shatner debut episode with Jeffrey Hunter in. I don't particularly rate it but I'd be interested as to your overall review thoughts.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

{ his manipulation is effective and enlightening concerning a set of various characters' motives and philosophies, }

I disagree. Sloan manipulates Bashir by basically being godlike omnipotent and Bashir just blunders along in a way uncharacteristic of him. It's boring when the villain is so magically unstoppable that he succeed at everything, no matter how improbable, usually with no explanation given.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

{ I'm extremely disappointed, though I shouldn't be surprised, at all the comments complaining about Sisko's mention of racism in the 1960's. }

Why? For comparison, it would be like if a person today who was a Protestant Christian refused to go to a Renaissance Faire because it was set in England at a time when Queen Mary was executing non-Catholics.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

{ I should probably admit a personal bias up front: I'm a sucker for a good homicide investigation. }

Me too, but this episode wasn't it.

{ re: detective fiction, we shouldn't be surprised that detective fiction appeals to Odo as a genre -- he is, after all, the de facto crime-solving-head on DS9. }

Sure but the way it happened was just ludicrous.

Odo: I just instantly made a perfectly correct observation about a piece of technology I've never encountered.
Others: But how?
Odo: I suddenly have always been interested in reading Raymond Chandler stories.
Others: Well, naturally, as part of the cast you must be an expert in something that was well-known in the time period of the show's viewership.

And the idea that you "need a killer to catch a killer" was so bad. Joran murdered, therefore he automatically knows how every murderer thinks, even though this murderer was nothing like Joran in any way, and oh look at the convenience that Ezri runs into said Vulcan right about the time she makes the Adam-West-Batman-style wild deductions that are all perfect and right as he has decided to kill her for some reason even though this doesn't fit the pattern and he doesn't know she's accessing Joran to find him.

This episode was simply awful. Better than the Emperor's New Cloak, but other than that, it's at the bottom of season 7.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

IMO, they should just never have tried to make DS9 sequels to Mirror Mirror at all, ever.

{ Say what you want about DS9, it's the least heteronormative of all Trek }

1. The episode Rejoined
2. In the alternate universe, evil woman = lesbian or bisexual

So ... I guess?
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

This episode tried to hard. There was no subtlety. WE GET IT! The brother is dissatisfied with his life but feels trapped. WE GET IT. The mom is a micromanaging control-freak who treats her adult children like they are still little kids. WE GET IT. You can show us this stuff without pounding it into our heads with a sledgehammer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

{ Even a hologram is better than Ezri in her job! What was the point for bringing her to the show? }

The hologram wasn't doing Ezri's job. He was just being a housemate who happened to be older and wiser. The key was that he happened to exist in Not Real Life.

{ Unless he's forgotten why the African American community was upset with Disney's lack of willingness to put the princess in The Princess and the Frog with a black man. }

This is very biased wording. If X doesn't happen, it doesn't mean there must have been a "lack of willingness" for it to happen.

{ There could be numerous explanations for same race coupling. Maybe Brooks and Lofton just preferred black women in real life and the showrunners ran with the actors' taste. }

That's possible, but it certainly seemed like the show's creators were very reluctant to portray any hint of a stable relationship between two humans of different races/ethnicities.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.