Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 281 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I must agree with everyone who said this is what Voyager should have been all along. Instead of an episodic show it should have been a story arc, more like DS9. Decisions should have had long running consequences and traversing territories should have mattered. We could have seen allies that stuck with the ship much longer or even permanently. Instead we got reset buttons over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This is the kind of story that Star Trek lives to tell. It's what makes science fiction so great. Coupling the science side of the story's equation (genetic alteration) with the human side (fear of rejection and loss). I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that it was not the potential social rejection her daughter would face, but the loss of her daughter's father, Tom, that truly drove B'Elanna to such extremes.

It was storytelling at its finest. There was just enough misdirection where you can think "yeah, we know B'Elanna doesn't like her Klingon side, but would she really remove genes just to have her daughter be fully human? That seems a bit petty, even for B'Elanna." Where her motives seem somewhat plausible while still outrageous. Until you finally discover the true thing she fears, losing Tom and her child losing Tom.

B'Elanna was the first one to tell Tom she loved him. B'Elanna was the one who thought she was losing Tom during the spaceship race, even though she openly admitted she loved him. She has always been the vulnerable one who knows she will always love Tom, but is often unsure she will be loved in return, or is even deserving of love in return.

So seeing B'Elanna go to the extremes she does is entirely believable. She is terrified and she believes she has no other choice. Everyone's acting in this episode was spectacular and made the story truly compelling. And the writers did a fantastic job of setting up a story that reveals things as it goes along and ends with a big payoff. When Harry tells Tom to "just listen" we think it's sound advice, but mostly just a way for Tom to reach B'Elanna. It's not until the very end that we all understand that Tom just needed to discover what B'Elanna's true fears really were all along.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first 8 Episodes on Amazon so far and I am absolutely loving every minute of it. I enjoy the references and find the humor great most of the time.
My favourite animated series right now and one of my favourite Star Treks shows. Also, it gets better and better.

You are missing out, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

I really enjoy Jammers reviews because they aren't filled with the crap you see in current day reviews. Maybe they would be if they were written today.

Sadly, most people don't seem to understand what they are talking about when they make comparisons to modern healthcare. Especially all the comparisons to the United States system are especially dead-wrong.

Don't get me wrong, it's not because the US system amazing or terrible, it's because the comparison is just plain wrong. This episode actually does a great job of posing a classic Trek sci-fi conundrum: "The leaders of a devastating planet are trying to recover but have limited resources. So they assign medical care based on which people provide the most to the rebuilding of their society."

And this is where almost everyone here doesn't have a clue what they are talking about. This is obviously a government-controlled and government-distributed health care system. The patients in this hospital are not paying for anything, they are being "assigned" and "allotted" care based on their status. Clearly, a government-issued status. It doesn't matter if the "Allocator" is the one assigning value because the Allocator is just fulfilling the contract the planetary government has with the hospital ship.

The story in the episode is quite good. It asks the question "What is moral: to infect one man to save 12? To give care to the important at the cost of the unimportant in order to save society?" Those are actually interesting questions. BUT you have to realize that they involve a very important condition... "to GIVE care" which begs the question, who is the one "giving" the care? And the answer is the planetary government.

Back to Earth-bound reality, in the United States healthcare is not "given" to anyone. It's paid for by the patient, the person receiving it. The patient is the customer, he isn't "given" anything. Now the argument on whether that is good or bad is an entirely different thing, but what isn't accurate is that this episode is about US health care.

The best comparison likely is with an entirely government-controlled healthcare system. In those cases, healthcare still costs something (doctors are still paid, medical still costs money) but the allotment of money is decided by the government (the Allocator). And in all governments that run healthcare, they do indeed establish charts and "values" to patients, exactly like the TC.

When you pay for healthcare yourself, then you are your own "Allocator" when you don't pay anything for healthcare then your government is your "Allocator."
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

When the prefect went from perfectly normal to utterly furious "take them" at the mentioning of a birthday, I rolled my eyes so hard that I feared they would be stuck. Had to turn off this implausible nonsense a few minutes later.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

PM, are you sure you haven't seen this episode? Because I just finished watching it and it is indeed awful. Discovery is the first Star Trek show I have ever watched, so I actually only want it not to suck on it's own terms, not compared to previous Star Treks that have not sucked, but compared to all things that do not suck. Discovery, however does not belong in the category of things that do not suck.
(Actually the show looks beautiful and I guess it does action ok. But yeah, it still sucks. But I am not paying for it, and it led me to check out other Trek like TNG and VOY--which I love. So there's that I guess)
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Also, putting it out there, I think Kovich is the Federation President.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

They telegraphed the involvement of the sphere consciousness at the beginning of the episode when they were formatting and installing their OS. I kind of bumped at the description that the data was insignificantly small in terms of storage size at first, but thinking about it further it actually made sense when you consider Starfleet did upgrade their systems. In less than a century we went from paper punch cards to being able to store retrievable data in DNA (215 petabytes per gram at this point).

My guess is that even though the data exists in the DOT bots, there's enough redundancy that a few can get destroyed in heroics without risking the integrity or safety of the data.

Norvo's comment about the fire suppression thing reminded me about something in my firefighter training--depriving a fire of oxygen is only part of the solution when extinguishing a flame. If the heat source or ignition temperature still exists near the fuel, it will flare back up once oxygen is reintroduced.

The way that Burnham secured herself in the Jeffries tube with the strap bugged me--there's many more effective means of lashing yourself to something. The way she did it made her totally dependent on maintaining her grip strength. If she released even a little bit due to fatigue, she would have slipped out entirely.

Despite the subterfuge, I do believe Osyraa and the Emerald Chain was trying to find some way towards a negotiated detente because of the dilithium shortage. Reminded me of Star Trek VI and the Klingons negotiating at Khitomer a stand down of the starbases along the neutral zone after the disaster on Praxis depleted Qo'Nos' resources.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I really liked last week's episode, but it suffered from trying to cram two compelling episodes into one. The whole holodeck episode adventure was great, and should've been allowed to breathe without being intercut with space battles. This week's outing fixes that by narrowing the scope.

Thoughts:

- Did anyone get WALL-E vibes from the scene where the Sphere-ified DOT-23s came out of hiding and projected the movie clip?

- Oded Fehr (as Vance) continues to knock it out of the park. The sole curse word was saved for that fruit platter scene and it was perfect. Rather than having that holo truth detector, it would have been much more interesting to have Kovich (David Cronenberg) there. According to the previews, he's in the finale, so looking forward to that.

- Tactically it didn't make much sense for Book and Ryn to stay behind in the ready room. I know they were there to buy time for the bridge crew to escape, but since the sensors were scrambled and it took time for the doors to be cut open, they were better off escaping with the rest. The group was small enough that there didn't need to be that much buffer time bought.

- Stamets describing Adira as his child was a bit eye opening. Dunno what to make of it just yet, but it does add dimension to his character.

- Stamets' reactions and motivations towards Burnham were understandable, even if illogical and unreasonable, given the immediate peril of the situation. The truth was, without control of the ship, there was no way to actually jump and rescue the stranded crewmembers--and with the Federation HQ bubble under attack, there may not have been anything to come back to. He's a scientist, not a command officer, and so Burnham was actually doing the right thing. He sure guilt-tripped the hell out of her, though.

- BTW It really bugs me that the bridge transparent OLED displays are reversed so that when the camera shows the crewmember at the console, the displays are in readable orientation--as if they did this for the benefit of the audience members to be able to read the screens. The problem is, that would mean the display from the crewmember's POV would be mirror-reversed. I figured the in-universe hand-waving explanation would have been that it was some technology that would allow the display to seem correctly oriented regardless of whether you were in front of or behind the screen.

Speculations:

- Burnham's emergency message to her Qowat Milat mother doesn't seem throwaway. Burnham trying to retake the ship seems like a lost cause, and Vulcan/Ni'Var might not be opposed to stepping in and helping--especially considering their president seems to have warm feelings towards Saru. Perhaps a last minute assist from the RomuloVulcans when the UFP HQ is under siege. Might go a ways towards re-establishing ties once they learn that they were indeed not responsible for the Burn.

- The preview of the season finale shows a shot of the Discovery entering (?) Osyraa's ship, and another shows the ship detonating. I'm on a limb here, but if the Discovery is indeed lost, it does set up an intriguing next season. With Stamets safe, it's not impossible for Starfleet to build a new ship with a spore drive--Stamets was the key that couldn't be replicated. Something happens on the dilithium planet that allows them to survive the radiation, and Burnham could lead the expedition to save them. Something about the writers to show weaknesses in Saru's command decisions (did you see Vance's face when Osyraa reminded him that Saru left an ensign in charge?), and a reaffirmation of duty over individual needs in Burnham makes me think they're setting things up to put her in the Captain's seat--at least for a while. (Also, that whole thing about Georgiou telling Burnham that she is indeed worthy of being a Captain before leaving through the portal.)

- It feels like when the season wraps up and they resolve the burn issue and secure ready supplies of dilithium, the next stories to tell would be about trying to piece the Federation back together, and fighting with the Chain over alliances and influences.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Nugent
Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 3:00am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

@Leif - At best we could hope for a brief shot of him in the season finale, a holo message to Moff Gideon maybe. I imagine the casting on this would be big news so the lack of that makes me think it might be next season he'll appear.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Jung
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@Norvo: The seeds of the many outweigh the seeds of the few.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Nov 7, 2020, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

That was amazing.

One of the few Discovery episodes, so far, that rang absolutely true and didn't feel completely contrived and pointless. For the first time since "If memory serves", these characters on screen felt like people, not just props to some bombastic over-the-top storyline.

When Adira connected with her memories, her dead boyfriend, and finally her former hosts, I got quite misty-eyed. Both Adira and Grey are great actors and totally sold it. The score of this episode was absolutely beautiful and quite moving.

In the last scene, with Adira playing the Chello and ending with the classic flyby of Discovery, I felt so elated to have seen a truly great episode of Star Trek again. Here's hope that they hold this level!

Oh, and I can't state enough how much nicer of a place Discovery has become since they decided to switch on the lights.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Oct 3, 2020, 4:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

Stories like these always make me want to pull my hair out.. They could have found a way to modify the impulse drive to bring them up to more than 2/3s the speed of light. Going back to the present would have been easy.

There is a simple way to time travel into the future, even in real life, you just have to be fast enough.

Same thing that voyager's crew could have done in "Eye of the needle" - unless there is no way of accelerating a star ship that much in normal space, even with 24th century tech. But even then I would have loved to hear an explanation.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Prates
Wed, Aug 26, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Not once but twice on the episode Ryker says's "PORTHOS A LA YUTA" in the weirdest of manners.... like a gringo intentionally emphasising a foreign dish's name or something. Not cool Riker!
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Jammer,

As a big fan of your reviews and the comments section of each and every episode of Trek, I was immensely looking forward to reading your thoughts on Lower Decks once it is released.
I have a strong feeling that the series itself will be quite different to what the trailer leads us to expect, there is just too much love for Trek and too many little details in there.

Alas, I still hope you will reconsider in the future!
Thanks for your dedication and your great work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Absolutely loved this episode, watching it again makes me realize just how brilliant Martha Hackett was in this role.

Such a shame that they didn't keep her - even after her betrayal, they could have made her sabotage the kazon when she got tired of them in Season 2 (who wouldn't) and subsequently claim that she planned this all along to gather intelligence and protect Voyager.

Her coming along for the journey in the brig, always manipulating Chakotay and the viewers, always staying grey.. she could have been awesome.

Instead they wrote her out. What an absolute waste of a brilliant character :(

Solid four stars
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 31, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Family

{{ My biggest problem with this episode is, and always has been Robert's advice to Jean-Luc, which was tantamount to just deal with it. We wouldnt tell a returning soldier suffering PTSD to just "deal with it" }}

I can see how it would look that way, although what I took (and what I *think* they were going for) is more "You'll have to face it one way or the other - you can't just run from it."
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 11:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Troi making comments about how human father-son relationships are unique because of [stereotypes that apply to 20th century US father-son relationships] was so dumb. Not only because those stereotypes are still true in 400 years and are planet-wide, or because we're supposed to believe no other alien species has anything like that, but because Troi and her mother are an even better example of her own observation than Will and his father are!
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, Apr 9, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

{{ Sure, the premise is silly, but no sillier than the notion from the previous episode ("Contagion") that reading the log from an infected ship would infect your own ship. }}

That's actually believable. "Log file appears to be in .rtf format, I'll just double click and it should open my word processor...."
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

OMG!!! I love the series but get mad at some of the things the writers do. Just does not make any sense. Why would they kill Trip off at the end of the show, so dumb. Why not have them all go to the big speech and trip is sitting with T'Pol hold there cute little elf ear baby and our blue friend with his baby and the Captain gives an amazing speech and end it like that.

But no, they have to get the aliens that can travel past warp 4 and somehow beam on the ship, it just feels forced and unreal. It’s sad really; this series was great and had so much more potential. With all that said I really enjoyed the series and sad to see it end. The ending was good with the 3 captains talking about going where no man has been before.

If you get time stop by and say hi to me on YouTube, (dot com forward slash johndaniels) my fellow Star Trek enthusiast I am going to be doing a video at some point on Star Trek Holacracy. Take care, it was awesome getting to read Allan's reviews and all of your comments, I wish you all the best.

Live long and prosper,

-John
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Finally Archer grew a pair :)) I like it when he shot that reptile who tried to kill him and blow uf the ship. I wish the regular show was more like that. In the other universe the reptile could kill half his crew and destroyed half his ship he would have given him a little peep speech and took him home, lol.

I like this universe, but they need to not make them seem so evil just more balls and less PC correctness. If a ship is trying to kill you feel free to kill them, because if you don't they are going to kills other innocents people and that will be on your weak hands.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 10:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: United

Good episode besides Shran girlfriend dying of a superficial wound, how dumb can you get, the best doctor in the universe and all of sudden she dies, it just seems so unrealistic that you get pulled out of the story.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Here is another great episode, loving this series but some of the episodes piss me off :)
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 7:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

What I was trying to say in my last reply is that you want to have likeable characters, who you can get attached to and keep watching the show. How can you get attached to someone who is flaky like T'Pol.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 9:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Trip and T'Pol, and of course the writers had to mess that up. This is what I am talking exactly, the show is good and then it sucks, the show is bipolar.

T'Pol did not want to be with her ex and then when he releases her she then has feelings for him and starts to cry and now she has no feelings for Trip. Just stupid writing no wonder the show was canceled with writing like this.
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.