Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 971 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 39
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 12:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Tomalak
A lot of it is the modern news media, which is unavoidable thanks to social media platforms, pushing gender/race identity politics because they know it generates controversy. Controversy = clicks/views = profit.
Like those articles claiming how "powerful" it was that Michael Burnham was the first black woman in Star Trek (??? Excuse me????). It attracts people who genuinely have nothing to say but hate for people of different colors, because the internet brings the worst out of us. But then the enlightened "good boy" fans feel they need to "stick it" to the racists by watching the new show.
It works every time.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Episodenull
Oh no no no, you can't let Star Trek be Star Trek. That turns the "casual viewer" off. Remember Bermaga era where it was too much Star Trek? It's like you want the franchise to die again!!! Star Trek being Star Trek KILLS it.
Star Trek being Transformers/GoT/Marvel, however? Literally prints money!
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Discovery has no real purpose, no real trajectory. The entire series is made up of random crap thrown at a wall until something sticks. Every plot leads nowhere until it is quickly abandoned. They'll probably even change the entire setting after Season 4.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

The fact that every new Trek now (with the exception of the cartoons) follows the same formula where it's essentially a movie plot stretched out to 10 or 15 episodes. It's become so tiresome and cliched.
People will say "yeah, well, television has moved on from the BORING 90s episodic format!"
I don't like this crap. I PREFER episodic shows that have the occasional two-parter or feature recurring characters and themes. You get to know the characters and see them grow. You get to see the universe expand. Not every story arc gets neatly wrapped up by the season finale. Some of them continue for the rest of the series.
This whole, "It's like a movie but on the small screen" trend is garbage.
Hopefully with The Mandalorian showing that episodic Sci-Fi still has life in it changes a lot of minds.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 5:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I must agree with everyone who said this is what Voyager should have been all along. Instead of an episodic show it should have been a story arc, more like DS9. Decisions should have had long running consequences and traversing territories should have mattered. We could have seen allies that stuck with the ship much longer or even permanently. Instead we got reset buttons over and over again.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 3:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This is the kind of story that Star Trek lives to tell. It's what makes science fiction so great. Coupling the science side of the story's equation (genetic alteration) with the human side (fear of rejection and loss). I was pleasantly surprised when I realized that it was not the potential social rejection her daughter would face, but the loss of her daughter's father, Tom, that truly drove B'Elanna to such extremes.

It was storytelling at its finest. There was just enough misdirection where you can think "yeah, we know B'Elanna doesn't like her Klingon side, but would she really remove genes just to have her daughter be fully human? That seems a bit petty, even for B'Elanna." Where her motives seem somewhat plausible while still outrageous. Until you finally discover the true thing she fears, losing Tom and her child losing Tom.

B'Elanna was the first one to tell Tom she loved him. B'Elanna was the one who thought she was losing Tom during the spaceship race, even though she openly admitted she loved him. She has always been the vulnerable one who knows she will always love Tom, but is often unsure she will be loved in return, or is even deserving of love in return.

So seeing B'Elanna go to the extremes she does is entirely believable. She is terrified and she believes she has no other choice. Everyone's acting in this episode was spectacular and made the story truly compelling. And the writers did a fantastic job of setting up a story that reveals things as it goes along and ends with a big payoff. When Harry tells Tom to "just listen" we think it's sound advice, but mostly just a way for Tom to reach B'Elanna. It's not until the very end that we all understand that Tom just needed to discover what B'Elanna's true fears really were all along.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Jan 28, 2021, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first 8 Episodes on Amazon so far and I am absolutely loving every minute of it. I enjoy the references and find the humor great most of the time.
My favourite animated series right now and one of my favourite Star Treks shows. Also, it gets better and better.

You are missing out, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Also, seasons limited to 10-13-15 episodes with a "super serious event television serialized mystery!" plot has harmed new Star Trek, which always used 20-26 episode seasons with one-offs and the occasional two-parter to flesh out its characters and setting.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

I really enjoy Jammers reviews because they aren't filled with the crap you see in current day reviews. Maybe they would be if they were written today.

Sadly, most people don't seem to understand what they are talking about when they make comparisons to modern healthcare. Especially all the comparisons to the United States system are especially dead-wrong.

Don't get me wrong, it's not because the US system amazing or terrible, it's because the comparison is just plain wrong. This episode actually does a great job of posing a classic Trek sci-fi conundrum: "The leaders of a devastating planet are trying to recover but have limited resources. So they assign medical care based on which people provide the most to the rebuilding of their society."

And this is where almost everyone here doesn't have a clue what they are talking about. This is obviously a government-controlled and government-distributed health care system. The patients in this hospital are not paying for anything, they are being "assigned" and "allotted" care based on their status. Clearly, a government-issued status. It doesn't matter if the "Allocator" is the one assigning value because the Allocator is just fulfilling the contract the planetary government has with the hospital ship.

The story in the episode is quite good. It asks the question "What is moral: to infect one man to save 12? To give care to the important at the cost of the unimportant in order to save society?" Those are actually interesting questions. BUT you have to realize that they involve a very important condition... "to GIVE care" which begs the question, who is the one "giving" the care? And the answer is the planetary government.

Back to Earth-bound reality, in the United States healthcare is not "given" to anyone. It's paid for by the patient, the person receiving it. The patient is the customer, he isn't "given" anything. Now the argument on whether that is good or bad is an entirely different thing, but what isn't accurate is that this episode is about US health care.

The best comparison likely is with an entirely government-controlled healthcare system. In those cases, healthcare still costs something (doctors are still paid, medical still costs money) but the allotment of money is decided by the government (the Allocator). And in all governments that run healthcare, they do indeed establish charts and "values" to patients, exactly like the TC.

When you pay for healthcare yourself, then you are your own "Allocator" when you don't pay anything for healthcare then your government is your "Allocator."
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Oh yeah, as for my thoughts on Discovery?
I... I just don't know what to say anymore. You can "It's Not For You!!!!" me all you like, but who is it really for? Hmm? Does it have a dedicated fan following? Not really. Are casual viewers who simply move from one thing to the next interested in it? Sort of, but they forget they watched it five minutes later.
I don't know why Star Trek had to drop its "geeky", charming identity to cater to the "general audience" who couldn't give a rat's ass about the franchise. It's part of what made it unique and memorable.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Episodenull
So the lesson learned is, don't let your grandpa have internet access?
Because, seriously, most forums where the average age of the users is older than the forum itself have become the same sort of shitholes.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Wed, Jan 27, 2021, 11:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal
Hmm, yes, what a funny... coincidence... that Into Darkness coincided with the fandom further dividing into "camps" and effectively killing off some of the oldest discussion forums.
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Tue, Jan 26, 2021, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I just don't understand people who call themselves longtime Star Trek fans (seriously, the average age of TBBS must be 65), but they say how much they absolutely hate 90% of TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY, and ENT... yet they get on their knees and worship at the feet of Abrams, Kurtzman, etc... some even say they never enjoyed Star Trek as much as they did after 2009? That Discovery is the first "actually good" series?
Set Bookmark
Roga Danar
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I've noticed that the most hardcore Discovery fans are those who claim to have watched Star Trek from the very beginning. People who have been consuming Trek for 55 years and refuse to admit to themselves that it may have turned rotten.
There's also forums like TrekBBS and TrekMovie where you have those "I've been watching since '66!" folks, except trashing 1966-2005 Star Trek is acceptable, even highly encouraged, while the tiniest criticism of post-2009 Star Trek sends ravenous hordes against you!
Set Bookmark
Benedict P Mercadante
Sun, Jan 24, 2021, 6:35am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: This Side of Paradise

Of that era, this was one of the better episodes. Without going into all the classic personality differentials of the cast, or the science (really, most all these episodes take great leaps faith....; ) But, as a massage I do believe this makes certain where the foot comes down, and it is squarely in the camp of mainstream western patriarchal society, proving once again Star Trek was anything but counter culture. It's not that it ever pretended to be, but many have some misconception as that the message expanded beyond where our society was at that time, of which I was well aware of, I remember as a mid teen, scratching my head as I watched episodes like this, and people around me thinking that it represented the sense of freedom, and individuality, etc etc. Of course, if you think about it for a moment, it's not really any different than all the other 'messages' we were fed growing up in that era, preparing for our next 'adventure'...conflict, as it turns out. The only difference with Star Trek and the usual schlock we were fed, is that Star Trek took a moment to analyze the differences, where as during that time differences were generally hit with a hammer. Not to say that the juxtaposition was not relevant, it was and remains so, but it was Kirks line near the end, where he turned to the absolute of , para phrased...'....do we stroll throw the fields to the sounds of a lute, or strive, claw (etc) to the sound of a beating drum....' That message , was clear as a bell, and it coincides with the gaining strength of the anti-war movement and all the rest, that unfolded before my young unjaded eye.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

When the prefect went from perfectly normal to utterly furious "take them" at the mentioning of a birthday, I rolled my eyes so hard that I feared they would be stuck. Had to turn off this implausible nonsense a few minutes later.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I complained a few episodes ago that Dietmer suddenly had become a X-Wing pilot.

Now I get the sense that Discovery has been trying to be a Star Wars show ever since.

This episode is a particularly serious offender, with lots of faceless pursuers that somehow consistently fail to catch up with our heroes despite a serious numerical and tactical advantage, personality cults aplenty, and even jumps and falls from great heights. Even Book is all but told that he, too, is an unique "chosen one", perhaps displacing Stamets in that capacity somewhat.

That goes a long way towards explaining the persistent expectations that Starfleet or the Federation would be found out to be "evil" despite no evidence pointing to that. We mistrust these institutions because we have never learned enough about them to truly trust them. We are too busy with all the implausible action and artificial, often spelled out drama.

This was a serious misstep, IMO. Michael's fate sounds so undeserved that she herself falls just short of pointing out that it is indeed unearned. This Starfleet may well be idealistic, but it is shown to be too lenient with serious breaches of discipline and protocol. Which, again, makes it look a lot more like a Rebel Alliance than a Starfleet proper. At this point I can't help but wonder which ulterior motives Vance might have to go to such implausible lengths while attempting to protect Michael's ego. The final scenes remind me of a Harry Potter story, where nothing of real significance happens without taking a moment to reach out for the protagonist and assuring him (or her) that it would not have been possible were the protagonist Just So Special.

I also wish this episode and the previous one were not meshed into a two-parter. The storylines do not work to each other's advantage except perhaps by providing reasons for Discovery not to be more helpful to Su'Kal and his helpers. There is a definite tone mismatch, and it works to neither plot's advantage.
Set Bookmark
Daniel S.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

PM, are you sure you haven't seen this episode? Because I just finished watching it and it is indeed awful. Discovery is the first Star Trek show I have ever watched, so I actually only want it not to suck on it's own terms, not compared to previous Star Treks that have not sucked, but compared to all things that do not suck. Discovery, however does not belong in the category of things that do not suck.
(Actually the show looks beautiful and I guess it does action ok. But yeah, it still sucks. But I am not paying for it, and it led me to check out other Trek like TNG and VOY--which I love. So there's that I guess)
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Also, putting it out there, I think Kovich is the Federation President.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

They telegraphed the involvement of the sphere consciousness at the beginning of the episode when they were formatting and installing their OS. I kind of bumped at the description that the data was insignificantly small in terms of storage size at first, but thinking about it further it actually made sense when you consider Starfleet did upgrade their systems. In less than a century we went from paper punch cards to being able to store retrievable data in DNA (215 petabytes per gram at this point).

My guess is that even though the data exists in the DOT bots, there's enough redundancy that a few can get destroyed in heroics without risking the integrity or safety of the data.

Norvo's comment about the fire suppression thing reminded me about something in my firefighter training--depriving a fire of oxygen is only part of the solution when extinguishing a flame. If the heat source or ignition temperature still exists near the fuel, it will flare back up once oxygen is reintroduced.

The way that Burnham secured herself in the Jeffries tube with the strap bugged me--there's many more effective means of lashing yourself to something. The way she did it made her totally dependent on maintaining her grip strength. If she released even a little bit due to fatigue, she would have slipped out entirely.

Despite the subterfuge, I do believe Osyraa and the Emerald Chain was trying to find some way towards a negotiated detente because of the dilithium shortage. Reminded me of Star Trek VI and the Klingons negotiating at Khitomer a stand down of the starbases along the neutral zone after the disaster on Praxis depleted Qo'Nos' resources.
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 8:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I really liked last week's episode, but it suffered from trying to cram two compelling episodes into one. The whole holodeck episode adventure was great, and should've been allowed to breathe without being intercut with space battles. This week's outing fixes that by narrowing the scope.

Thoughts:

- Did anyone get WALL-E vibes from the scene where the Sphere-ified DOT-23s came out of hiding and projected the movie clip?

- Oded Fehr (as Vance) continues to knock it out of the park. The sole curse word was saved for that fruit platter scene and it was perfect. Rather than having that holo truth detector, it would have been much more interesting to have Kovich (David Cronenberg) there. According to the previews, he's in the finale, so looking forward to that.

- Tactically it didn't make much sense for Book and Ryn to stay behind in the ready room. I know they were there to buy time for the bridge crew to escape, but since the sensors were scrambled and it took time for the doors to be cut open, they were better off escaping with the rest. The group was small enough that there didn't need to be that much buffer time bought.

- Stamets describing Adira as his child was a bit eye opening. Dunno what to make of it just yet, but it does add dimension to his character.

- Stamets' reactions and motivations towards Burnham were understandable, even if illogical and unreasonable, given the immediate peril of the situation. The truth was, without control of the ship, there was no way to actually jump and rescue the stranded crewmembers--and with the Federation HQ bubble under attack, there may not have been anything to come back to. He's a scientist, not a command officer, and so Burnham was actually doing the right thing. He sure guilt-tripped the hell out of her, though.

- BTW It really bugs me that the bridge transparent OLED displays are reversed so that when the camera shows the crewmember at the console, the displays are in readable orientation--as if they did this for the benefit of the audience members to be able to read the screens. The problem is, that would mean the display from the crewmember's POV would be mirror-reversed. I figured the in-universe hand-waving explanation would have been that it was some technology that would allow the display to seem correctly oriented regardless of whether you were in front of or behind the screen.

Speculations:

- Burnham's emergency message to her Qowat Milat mother doesn't seem throwaway. Burnham trying to retake the ship seems like a lost cause, and Vulcan/Ni'Var might not be opposed to stepping in and helping--especially considering their president seems to have warm feelings towards Saru. Perhaps a last minute assist from the RomuloVulcans when the UFP HQ is under siege. Might go a ways towards re-establishing ties once they learn that they were indeed not responsible for the Burn.

- The preview of the season finale shows a shot of the Discovery entering (?) Osyraa's ship, and another shows the ship detonating. I'm on a limb here, but if the Discovery is indeed lost, it does set up an intriguing next season. With Stamets safe, it's not impossible for Starfleet to build a new ship with a spore drive--Stamets was the key that couldn't be replicated. Something happens on the dilithium planet that allows them to survive the radiation, and Burnham could lead the expedition to save them. Something about the writers to show weaknesses in Saru's command decisions (did you see Vance's face when Osyraa reminded him that Saru left an ensign in charge?), and a reaffirmation of duty over individual needs in Burnham makes me think they're setting things up to put her in the Captain's seat--at least for a while. (Also, that whole thing about Georgiou telling Burnham that she is indeed worthy of being a Captain before leaving through the portal.)

- It feels like when the season wraps up and they resolve the burn issue and secure ready supplies of dilithium, the next stories to tell would be about trying to piece the Federation back together, and fighting with the Chain over alliances and influences.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 4:01am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

The quantum dating thing was idiotic. 'The scanner is reading in negative numbers' is like saying that an odometer runs backwards when you go in reverse or an oven thermostat allows settings below 0 (C or F).

Everytime I rewatch this, I remember my eyes rolling when I first saw it and they talked about the scanner reading in negative numbers. Why would the app designer (I now just assume that all functions on a tricorder are separate apps) even include the ability to read in negative numbers? Anything that could possibly generate a negative number should generate an error if the actually scanning head could even read it in the first place.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 9:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Color me conflicted. This is one episode that confuses me utterly.

Much of it was a joy to behold, particularly the Michael / Su'Kal interactions. The actress did a superb job interpreting a holoprogram in those scenes, and the writing was fine as well.

I also liked that Stamets did not see any need to hide his emotions from other crew members. That hints at an aspect of Starfleet (or Federation) society that I find particularly pleasing: a better acceptance of human nature and less interest in ritual and protocols that attempt to deny it. Adira's scene with the radiation pills was comparable, but more ambiguous.

Vance keeps being a reasonable authority figure, despite a lot of insistence from many to perceive him otherwise.

But the plot was also lacking or confusing at times. While I do ultimately like the results, the decision to have Tilly as Acting Captain was unconvincing at best. And it is still far from clear how Su'Kal can ignite dilithium, or how he can have avoided doing that a second time after so many years.

Osyra is starting to look reckless, unless I am failing to understand her actual travel capabilities. Three episodes ago Michael implied that the Transwarp travel that Osyra apparently used here is incredibly dangerous. Osyra won't remain an unchallenged leader for any time at all if she keeps risking valuable war vessels with such displays of daring.

I sort of hope that there is a mole, but logically that would have to be either Ryn or Booker. It would also make sense for spies to be present at the Federation hub, but somehow I doubt it, if only because we have not seen much of those people.

The cliffhanger was fairly well-handled. I honestly don't know how I feel about it. Discovery has been going through so many risks that it almost feels like it deserves to be lost.
Set Bookmark
dangerismymiddlename
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

uggggg!!!!!!! why! such drivel!
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

This may well turn out to be the weakest episode of this season. It was enjoyable, but it made some very poor creative decisions.

One is making an X-Wing pilot out of Detmer - and just because, no less. This was very noticeable and a serious danger to suspension of disbelief.

Till and Saru taking such a direct rogue approach was unexpected and very disappointing. This better have consequences back in Starfleet. I am starting to wonder if Discovery even has a place in Starfleet in the 32nd century.

On the plus side, Stamets and Adira and the doctor keep being handled well.

I also liked the ongoing advancement on the Burn / music plot.

However, the main plot was perfunctory. It could really use some characterization and breathing space. And Empress Georgiou is unbelievably flippant by now, to the point that I have to doubt her emotional balance. This is one character that can't go away fast enough.
Next ►Page 1 of 39
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.