Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 758 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Ken Jenkins did a great job as Dr. Stubbs.

{{ some hippy dippy morality }}

Dumb way to describe not wanting to risk a course of action that might be murder.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

An average episode. Good general story brought down by some dumb moments and huge obvious plotholes like "why can't you beam the guy out of engineering?" but it was one of the first episodes that really showed that TNG could become a good show and go somewhere useful that TOS had not gone before.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Another lame attempt at a modern political insult on another JR comment....
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 17, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

{{ i totally disagree with this review. i've been a star trek fan for 30+ years now, and when i think of "worst episode ever," this is the one that always comes to mind }}

Agreed. This was irredeemably awful in every way. It looked like they mashed a bunch of awful elements together from some of the worst of TOS. It's not the worst ever, but it's HORRENDOUS. Half a star at most.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 14, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

More like star wars - the last yawn.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The thing about modern day star wars is that's it's just vacuous and boring. Really boring. The same old formulas, with a vaguely different spin on scripts, that were articulated better 35 to 40 years ago. The only exceptional episodes were 4 and 5. 6 was very good. 1 was laughably disposable. 2 was ok ish, 3 was better. 7 was enjoyable, rogue one I thought was actually very good.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Dixie. Biggest pile of crap I'd seen in a long time. Overly americanized humour in most films just doesn't work either. Modern day cinema may just as well be a permanent swarm of brainless comic book superhero films. That's usually the film fodder these days.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, May 5, 2018, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Nearly 4 stars for this? You must've been watching a different version of the film to most of us.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 27, 2018, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Well, I've just finished watching this film. Didn't see it at the cinema so I saw it in blu-ray format. This is my take on it - an absolute load of garbage. An overly long, tedious, unexciting, quite uninteresting, muddle of an episode. Nothing really that hadn't been recycled before. Weakest installment since episode 1, the phantom menace. a veritable yawn-fest overall. The humour didn't work, the Yoda cameo was unaffecting and much of a muchness, the music was more or less ok, the casino planet stuff was extraneous filler, the snoke character was utterly pointless, the acting and script was typically unintelligent. Only good acting was mark hamill in a reasonable role. Albeit an odd one. However, It didn't feel like a great star wars film at all. I favour star trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

An absolute load of old nonsense. Possibly the worst season 2 episode. Nuff said.
Set Bookmark
DanW
Wed, Apr 11, 2018, 4:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

I kind of wished that Adult Molly would have become a part of the cast. Molly reintegrating into society would have brought some interesting stories to the show.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Tue, Apr 10, 2018, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

This is another one those episodes where the enemy really hasn't thought their cunning plan through very well.

After being attacked and manipulated into war with the Lysians, how is the Federation going to respond to the Satarrans? Quickie war? Blockade? Nothing good would come out of it. If the Federation began some sort of peace talks or friendship with the Lysians, the Satarrans still lose.

El Salvador attacking a US Naval vessel and manipulating the crew into a war with Panama ends very badly for El Salvador if the plan fails.
Set Bookmark
DanW
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not an AWFUL episode, I found Red Squad really annoying and I very much wanted them to get what was coming to them. However seeing the ship destroyed was a bit harsh. It would have been more enjoyable and satisfying to have Captain Waters and his condescending XO get court marshaled.

Also, it was WAY too convenient that EVERY escape pod was destroyed EXCEPT Jake & Nog's. Like, really?
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Fri, Apr 6, 2018, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

It's funny that many episodes have alien species that happen to look virtually identical to human beings. Highly unlikely.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

A bizarre and underwhelming finale episode. Quite why riker and troi were on it, pegasus episode via the enterprise d holodeck aside, is obscure.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

When are you going to review this installment, Jammer? I'm guessing it'll be when the blu ray is for sale.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

A solid debut episode for Enterprise. As for the theme tune, well, it's utter tosh. Star trek musically works best with a classical theme tune that's grand and sweeping. Star trek discovery has a them tune that's quite classically modern and it grew on me. Not as epic as jerry Goldsmith or James Horner's score's but good enough. I think James horner was by far the most gifted film music composer that worked on star trek, and his subsequently illustrious career. His career mainly started with the music scores for star trek 2 and 3, which are absolutely incredible suites of music.
Set Bookmark
Brendan perez
Tue, Mar 13, 2018, 2:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

I hate the whole "Look at what just showed up" plot device.

There's just no way a ship of any kind (uncloaked obviously) should be that close to the station before anyone makes a decision, especially if its weapons are armed. Surely the person in charge in Ops can order a defensive posture the moment a ship approaches with weapons armed.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

An absolutely magnificent episode. Possibly the very best of any of the seven seasons worth. The flute scene at the end where Picard is in his quarters after his alternate life, both abstract and real, was so well acted and brilliantly written. A real highlight of star trek.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 5:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Insurrection

I think the only great plus in this instalment was the music. Some of the humour was funny. Um and urmmmm the um, eject disc button.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

When I'd seen this film a few times it was like watching a cast of actors that were acting for a pay check. It was just yawn worthy. The crew mostly trudging through to the credits and a director who was an established film editor who didn't watch star trek or it's prior canon. Patrick Stewart and Brent Spiner are more or less always excellent actors but it was just bewilderingly tedious and only marginally better than insurrection. Sort of.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Easily one of the best Enterprise episodes of them all. At least a 3 star rating, if not 3.5 stars out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I think this episode was by far the best of season 1. Intelligent, thoughtful, and insinuative to the future prime directive in latter series, chronologically speaking. John Billingsley is superb as phlox in a standout role of narrator and a main character. In the top 20, possibly, of any star trek ranking poll. Crewman cutler was a perfect foil as the love interest, she sadly passed away of heart aliments after her last enterprise appearance. Really pastoral and nice music too on this episode.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 12:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I'm rewatching this for what must be the 20th time and the whole battle leading up to the suicide run has always come off as crap. Even when I saw it first run, every ship constantly shaking even when seemingly not being attacked, the Odyssey's phasers having zero effect on the Jem'Hadar ship.

All this stuff about laying down covering fire, Dax asking the Captain if he altered shield harmonics (surely he knew this?) seemed really dumb and overplayed to 13 year old Trekkie me and has me rolling my eyes when I watch it again.

The suicide run and Eris' escape did bring it back around for me and I COULD NOT wait for the next season to see how this played out.

Obviously the more I watch the episodes, the more the seams show and the more tropes grate. The Treknobabble was off the scale and would make for a fantastic, possibly deadly, drinking game. Shots everytime someone brings up subroutines would push the limits of the toughest drinker :) Double shots if they have to microscan a data cluster or just push a button to break the unbreakable encryption protocol.

It's still my favorite Trek series by far because so many plotlines played out over time. Very few resets, status quo return not guaranteed, etc. made for a compelling show that I couldn't miss.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Tue, Feb 27, 2018, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

We're supposed to believe that the Valiant AND the Starbase were both this close to the border, and no one on the ship questioned why they weren't stopping there?

The only person I hate more than Jake is the First Officer. She comes off as intentionally precocious. I wouldn't be able to listen to her without telling her to shut up.
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.