Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 828 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 34
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

"Makes you wonder ... if she has Q's powers, why doesn't she use them?"

I got the sense that maybe Guinan is somehow capable of thwarting Q (at least if he does something directly to her, she can't seem to stop him from sending the ship vast distances away), but doesn't have any active powers similar to his. But yeah it was weird how they introduced that and then never developed it.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

"Whenever it happened, it was a fundamental change in Star Trek, and it kind of went unnoticed. The only thing that's comparable is the decision in early-VOY/mid-DS9 to change the nature of time travel, where effect no longer needs cause (this is most notable in 'Visonary' and 'Time and Again' -- but it pops up in 'First Contact').

Anyway, I've always wondered if the ST creators had discussions about this kind of stuff -- where they knew they were fundamentally altering an unspoken premise."

Oddly enough, there was another even bigger changed premise, that impacts stories much more, from this episode (and really all of TOS including the movies, even some made after TNG had clearly changed the premise drastically: Here and elsewhere in TOS the assumption is that nearly the entire Milky Way galaxy has been explored, that warp-capable ships can get anywhere in the galaxy in a matter of days or weeks, but that travel outside the local galaxy is next to impossible.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

"Witness how Kirk cannot articulate to Charlie why he shouldn't slap a woman on the rear end."

I can get why people would find that problematic. Personally I felt like it was a combination of

* Kirk is good at being the particular type of authority figure that his job requires of him. He's completely out of his element at being the authority figure for a lonely 14 year old kid who wants to look up to him and wants to feel that Kirk admires/respects him. Thus why the talk starts out really awkward.

* Charlie feels out of place and wants to fit in, and has no idea of what normal social interaction is like. So he sees two people having fun and sees one of them give the other a "good game" pat on the rear end, and he thinks "ok, doing that is part of how I fit in". So Kirk is having trouble about the butt-slap because he doesn't know how to explain why it was ok for that other guy but not for Charlie (especially since Charlie is going to instantly default to whining about how it's unfair that other people can do things he can't, without waiting for the full explanation).

* And I liked how Kirk finally quits talking about the social interactions of physical contact and just tells him basically "This is how life is: if you like someone, then you put what they want ahead of what you want. Sometimes that means you don't get what you hope for, and it hurts, but you keep on living and you'll be ok." which he delivers a bit stilted, but it's a good message.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

This episode is really really bad. Saved from being 0-star only by the fact that much of it is so awful it's hilarious.

Also, the 1st non-pilot of the series is a really dumb to have an "everybody is forced to act out of character" episode, since we don't know what anybody is like IN character at this point.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

"It's another payoff that seems underwhelming, boiling down to the fact that Picard has done his homework and Tallera has not."

The payoff was underwhelming, mostly due to the fact that "act like you are not having violent thoughts" doesn't portray well on screen. It's just people standing there expressionless. But I figured Tallera is probably too arrogant to think anyone but a Vulcan could truly purge themselves of violent thoughts that easily. And it's nice character moment that even Worf is able to do this.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

"Riker's arm was reattached 0.2 microns off...so a kazillionth of an inch...just how sensitive are their scanners?"

If they weren't that sensitive and more, the transporter could never work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

[[ even if the "Data learns humour" plot is botched by the bizarre writing (and performances from Piscopo) choices. ]]

The scary part is that Piscopo and Spiner apparently ad-libbed most of that stuff because what they were given to work with was somehow *even worse*
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

"Of course you're right that this show was written by Americans with America in mind, but wouldn't this message be a message for all the allies of WWII? "

It's not just a message for the victors. It could have been a message for Imperial Japan as well (something the Klingon Empire resembles many times but I rarely see that comparison drawn).

"I really enjoyed the episode, but these security measures are ridiculous. "

Not to mention that they could have just beamed the guy with a phaser out of the vicinity of the warp core.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 30, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

I agree with Matt:

Best part of this episode is when Picard tells Tam, "stand back and learn..."

Learn what?

"That being first at all costs is not always the point!"
Set Bookmark
Danno
Sun, May 19, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I have a hard time believing that a society on the verge of warp travel seems to have never traveled in space. When the scientist comes to 10 Forward she is amazed at how her world looks from space. Humans figured out our place in the universe long before the first airplane flight. Do they not have any space program or even ground based telescopes? They are going from zero to warp speed and I don’t buy it.
Set Bookmark
Danny G
Sun, May 5, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Inception-style ending cliffhanger: Did the memory wipe procedure work?
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Talk about different strokes and all that. Jamahl's review makes me wonder if I was watching some other season finale.
Set Bookmark
DanS
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

Re-watching this episode in April 2019 (22 years into the future from its original release).

This is a very touching episode. In about the half-dozen times I've watched this in the last 10, maybe 15 years or so, every time I still end up with a lump in my throat. The Doctor's unrealistic family in the beginning turns out to have somewhat relatable "problems" any family could face these days by the end of the episode. Yes, it is tragic when a family member dies, and the Doctor and his "new" holographic family handle this like any family would.

We share our grief about Belle with the characters. She is the Doc's holographic daughter who gets a bump on the head from playing Pirisi Squares with older kids and suffers a trauma that she will never recover from, and Jeffrey decides he wants to become Klingon and starts hanging around Klingon teens in preparation for receiving his Kut'luch dagger and becoming a warrior. The Doc's wife, Charlene, turns from a fuzzy-warm 50's mom to a 2000s-style mom who's blood pressure is about to hit the roof, yet all of these come together when Belle unexpectedly passes away because of her accident. In the hospital, Jeffrey is seen hugging his father so we know that possibly the idea of becoming a Klingon is now a passing thought. Charlene and the Doc become closer for having shared the loss of a child.

I give this episode a 4/5 mainly for the Doc's family story line and the wonderful acting by Linsey Haun (Belle) and Robert Picardo (and partly because Wendy Schaal plays Francine on American Dad!).

Oh yeah, and Tom gets caught in an astral-eddy, and blah, blah, blah. I couldn't help but think when Tom was telling the Doc about facing his family's troubles how much he looks like Nick Locarno. LOL
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Such a promising and exciting season, such a terrible ending.

We end up with lots of unresolved plots in the 24th century, an excess of unsubtle action and even more forceful plot points, and a very forced and sudden transition into an entirely new series engine.

I have seen people speculate that Control may turn out to be an early main component of the Borg, but I notice that it would require him to time travel back to the past at some point. Instead, I find it more interesting to wonder if Sphere is not about to become the ghost in Discovery's shell, and eventually become Zora from the Short Treck "Calypso".

I assume that the Spore Drive will be seriously limited in the next season, since IIRC it has been established that it can be used to travel through time.

The new series premise is remarkably similar to what Voyager was once expected to be. There is potential in that. But the episode itself fell just short of stating outright that we would never see Burnham or Discovery again. It looks like a repurposed series finale, instead of just a season finale. We are not even given a glimpse of post-jump Discovery. For all we know they jumped straight into a sun and were destroyed.

The human drama scenes were not too succesful either. I don't know why it is such a big deal that Spock shaved without warning. I don't think Tyler and Burnham have any chemistry at all. And the decision to just never speak of them again is made even more naive because Section 31 is apparently participating of it. Can you say cheaters? Sure you can.

I will wait for Season 3 with an expectation of a mostly-clean slate. There are a few plots already in the fire: Michael's mother, Sphere, Control, and dealing with a very different and strange new world in the Beta Quadrant of centuries beyond. Hopefully we will learn a bit more about the crew as well. And I have a hunch that Po will turn up in some capacity.

Still, a disappointing season finale.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Another 4 star episode. Latter part of season 2 is mostly outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This is a 4 star episode, Jammer. That it has the Borg on doesn't make it less of a perfect episode. It doesn't need to be an original premise to be excellent.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolget
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Absolutely superb episode. Thoroughly enjoyed it and the season overall. At.least 3.5 stars for the finale.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Starlight Starlight Starlight Glimmer... sorry ignore me...

Wasn't a fan of this, most of the episode dragged. French Andrew then gets told to blow up with a dose of American Dream logic, and does so. It probably seemed deep at the time though.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Good lord, Jammer. This episode was great and the sentimentality wasn't at all overdone. There doesn't need to be jolting warring on every episode and a lack of empathetic emotion entailed for an enjoyable episode. I think 3 stars would've been adequate.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Quite a good episode. I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Excellent and daft review, jammer. For the next review i insist upon you quoting the greatest hits from the Borg Bargain Basement Blues Band. "Once Again With Feeling, Troi" , "Oh Your Bald Head Do Shine, Picard" . And who can forget that classic, "Borg Queen Peanut Butter Jelly Time" (disco version).
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I've been really enjoying all of Star Trek Discovery but the only criticism i have is that sonequa martin-green's current performance is a bit two note/ linear. Either it's po-faced or histrionical, wet eyed, glazed over acting. Other than that, I'm impressed with the show overall.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Loved this episode. Great characterization, interesting plot. The most genuine Trek we have had in a long time.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Ah I'm round to this one. Q Beta (or Discord Alpha, for those who follow deLancie's equine appearances)

This HAD to be the inspiration for Q, no doubt about it.

I do give it a great deal of credit for being watchable twice - the first time with Trelane as malevolent, and the second time with him as a child playing with "pets". Also a very early take on the argument of having pets to begin with.
Next ►Page 1 of 34
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.