Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 775 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 31
Set Bookmark
Dan
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

On the topic of spoilers I can't see the argument against spoiler tags.

The ideal way to use this site, is to watch an episode and read Jammer's reviews & the comments section whilst it's all fresh in one's mind. It seems odd to bar the first timers from the comments section because someone can't write spoiler before randomly summarising the end of the series. If you've already watched the series you know how it ends so why does someone have explain it to all the DS9 9 vetrans?

Some people make out that this website is just for people who have watched the whole of DS9 two, three, or more times which is a little selfish if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 5:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Hi,

Just wanted to say that I didn't think the Vulcan was necessarily intent on killing Ezri but checking her out by looking at her profile and record and then scoping out her room. I think he was surprised by Ezri holding a gun and was a little too late in reacting to beat her to the shot.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

We're calling people racist for not dating people of a specifc race on screen? Seriously? Has everyone on this thread made sure to date all races in equal proportion?

There's plenty of mixed race couples on DS9 but it doesn't mean that every single black or asian person must have a white partner. That's crazy! It's no more of a problem than countless white characters only dating countless other white characters.

Had Jake had a thing with a white girl (I'm assuming we're ignoring the creepy older white alien woman in muse) would we start objecting that he hadn't also had a relationship with an asian or hispanic woman? If we think that the writers had some sort of stance against mixed race relationships then why are we ignoring Dax and Worf, O Brian and Keiko, Quark and his Klingon wife and numerous others? The mind boggles, it really does.

Set Bookmark
Dan
Fri, Nov 9, 2018, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

"Excellent point about not rehashing TOS on TNG."

Literally the second episode of TNG is a carbon copy of a TOS episode AND references the TOS ship and crew.

I'm not sayin', I'm just sayin'.
Set Bookmark
Danni
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 4:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Martin...much to my recent surprise, breaking the "black guy red shirt dies, pretty white girl lives" trope had been done in TOS. I had not really watched TOS since my Mom used to record them off TV reruns onto VHS tapes when I was little and I'd watch a few of her favorites. That started me as a fan but Next Gen was the Trek I truly grew up with and knew well (and all the series that would follow). And while I loved the TOS movies (well, at least the evens lol) I always thought TOS series was a bit too hokey to take the time to rewatch. But my husband finally started binging on Netflix and I caught many I'd never seen. I think the ep was called "By Any Other Name". Was actually kinda shocked when they broke cliche.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I'd give the film 2 out of 4 stars , at the most. It's insipid garbage.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Crys, and NCC. It was such a lamentably shit film. I posted my review opinion on a few prior review comments a while back. I'm not even vaguely interested in watching Solo- A Star bores story. However, jammer appears to be indisposed of late. No doubt it's a train wreck of a film.
Set Bookmark
Jordan
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

when this came out I was pretty young I remember the episode being interesting. Watching it now it might be one of my favorites of DS9.

Reading the comments, i don't have the same problems that a lot of the other commentators have. I assume that light ship tech was pretty normal for the bajorans who traveled around their star-system. Then they developed a way to harness tachyons. Star Trek usually uses a lot of jargon that doesn't mean anything to explain a process; in this episode, they just accept that something has happened with tachyons. Obviously, some sort of rocket was used to lift the ship, light-sales to get to the tachyons, and then the expertise of a long-running society in how to harness tachyons. How did they get back? there was nothing to imply that tachyons only go one way in that local group of stars; they probably could sail away from Cardassia, and pick up another tachyon boost.

Idk seems fine.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 6:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

This is quite a funny and different episode. Some of the ferenghi storylines can be grating and a bit too goofily silly. But the late 1940's earth setting and lack of ds9 placed environments is a fresh change for 45 minutes. it's better than some of the other comedy tinted episodes. Quark is often a great character and well acted by admin shimmerman.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 11:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Indeed, del duio. I agree. If you don't like watching something then don't watch it. why endure something you don't seem to like.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, Jun 5, 2018, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Cesar. I've made the points before for this film and of the franchise generally. There's a complete lack of objective comparitives and almost no mature logic in over enthusiastic reviews of what you're actually watching on-screen, as a fictional piece of supposed entertainment. The humour was , curiously in the English language, laughable. It was boring beyond belief. Catering to a subsection of hyperbolic and easily pleased filmgoers. It's strictly unplug your brain and leave it at the cinema entrance nonsense.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sat, Jun 2, 2018, 1:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Skeech’s take on this episode is the right one: the plot is crap. When Burnham started inexplicably remembering her dance lesson, it lost me.

The point of a time-loop story is to either enjoy the problem solving, or watch the character growth. To do either one, you have to follow along with a character that actually experiences the loop! Instead, we rarely know what either Stamets or Mudd are thinking, and neither experiences any growth.

Anyway, my take on what Stamets should have done: figure out how to gain the captain’s trust, convince him to ignore the space whale, run away instead (presumably the range of the time reset is localized and can be outrun).
Set Bookmark
Dan
Tue, May 29, 2018, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

As a reminder, there are plenty of captains and admirals in Starfleet lore who are not morally upstanding leaders. We're just not used to them being main characters, and expect them to get their comeuppance by the end of the episode. A sampling from TNG:

- Commander Maddox from "The Measure of a Man" and Admiral Haftel from "The Offspring", treated Data and Lal as property, and wanted to compel them to submit to tests, dismantling, etc.

- Captain Pressman from "The Pegasus", experimented with an illegal cloaking device and conspired to lie about the resulting destruction of his ship

- Admiral Satie from "The Drumhead", responded to a sabotage incident by making false accusations and trampling on the rights of those she accused

- Captain Maxwell from "The Wounded", went against orders to stage a war against Cardassia

- Admiral Dougherty from "Insurrection", wanted to force relocation of a population in order to take a planet's resources

There's also a general trend to dismiss and minimize ethical considerations in times of war and other serious threat (see, e.g., Admiral Nechayev).

Which is not to say that we should _like_ being on a ship where ethics are not a top priority for the senior officers. Just that it shouldn't feel out of place in a Star Trek story.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, May 29, 2018, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

Absolutely superb episode. That's all.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Fri, May 25, 2018, 12:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ANDR S1: Angel Dark, Demon Bright

A nit: how does the technology exist for one ship to take out 1000? Or, how can the Nietzscheans, knowing the risk, allow their fleet to be so vulnerable?

I mean, yeah, time travel, which you don’t typically try to defend against, gives Andromeda a tactical advantage. But wouldn’t a spy (or other more mundane source of intelligence) also give an enemy ship that advantage?
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 21, 2018, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I suppose the cash cow created solo - a star wars story, will be followed by the obi wan version, then maybe a boba fett one. Then an admiral ackbar one. Then a porkins one. Then a batman and superman with darth harrington one. Then a mary poppins broomstick flying in space tuition one.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 21, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

This isn't a review of this episode. But generally, Christ on a stick, aren't most of these season 3 episodes boring. Yawnsville! I'm onto where I left off, deep space 9 season 3 after, as I'm nearly done with watching all of the original series.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Ken Jenkins did a great job as Dr. Stubbs.

{{ some hippy dippy morality }}

Dumb way to describe not wanting to risk a course of action that might be murder.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

An average episode. Good general story brought down by some dumb moments and huge obvious plotholes like "why can't you beam the guy out of engineering?" but it was one of the first episodes that really showed that TNG could become a good show and go somewhere useful that TOS had not gone before.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, May 20, 2018, 3:21am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Another lame attempt at a modern political insult on another JR comment....
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 17, 2018, 8:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

{{ i totally disagree with this review. i've been a star trek fan for 30+ years now, and when i think of "worst episode ever," this is the one that always comes to mind }}

Agreed. This was irredeemably awful in every way. It looked like they mashed a bunch of awful elements together from some of the worst of TOS. It's not the worst ever, but it's HORRENDOUS. Half a star at most.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, May 14, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

More like star wars - the last yawn.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The thing about modern day star wars is that's it's just vacuous and boring. Really boring. The same old formulas, with a vaguely different spin on scripts, that were articulated better 35 to 40 years ago. The only exceptional episodes were 4 and 5. 6 was very good. 1 was laughably disposable. 2 was ok ish, 3 was better. 7 was enjoyable, rogue one I thought was actually very good.
Set Bookmark
Daniel Bolger
Sun, May 6, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Dixie. Biggest pile of crap I'd seen in a long time. Overly americanized humour in most films just doesn't work either. Modern day cinema may just as well be a permanent swarm of brainless comic book superhero films. That's usually the film fodder these days.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, May 5, 2018, 1:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Nearly 4 stars for this? You must've been watching a different version of the film to most of us.
Next ►Page 1 of 31
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.