Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 836 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 34
Set Bookmark
Daniel
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Hmm....if they are "phased out" ... what are they breathing? How does their phased-out diaframs suck that regular, in-phase air?

Seems relevant... the romulan goon was, after all, dispersed into space "choking" ....
Set Bookmark
Dan Davidson
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed this pilot, and I think I'll mostly just leave it at that seeing as the nature of the series is that not all the answers are going to provided by episode's end.

Just a few thoughts:

~ It's awesome to see Sir Patrick back as Picard, and I think the writers did a great job showing him as a man affected by what's transpired, but not "broken" as I've seen other suggest. He's still the thoughtful, intellectual and compassionate man I remember. I trust we will *not* being seeing him taking down an army of Romulans/whatever with a phaser rifle in this series...

~ Also awesome to see Brent back as Data, and I'm glad they didn't retcon Data's death just so he can be there. Hopefully he has more appearances in store.

~ Loved the little things that touched upon the past (Ten Forward, poker, the Picard Day banner, etc.), but also that the show is clearly not going to be stuck there.

~ So much potential to being other past Trek characters into this show and see where they're at and how they might contribute to this storyline. I know several are coming up, but I find myself thinking about ones we have't seen in the previews. Hopefully the writers can find a way to do this without taking away from the main characters. With Voyager represented, I hope DS9 will find a way in too.
Set Bookmark
Pedant
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 7:29am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Contrary to popular belief, there's no such thing as the Star Wars Christmas Special. It was the Star Wars Holiday Special, and the holiday in reference was Thanksgiving.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Great early episode. Sad to read of Robert Walker jr 's passing on. Played an excellent role in this show.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Sun, Dec 1, 2019, 3:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

For some reason, I like this episode, but can't help but think this was a writer making fun of all the idiotic plots of Voyager past.

This is the time that stupid thing happened to us; oh, this is the time that idiotic thing happened to us; this is the time that A TELEPATHIC PLANT attacked us.
What a wacky set of adventures we've been on these past few years.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Such a boring movie but I'm looking forward to the new star trek 4, recently announced as Chris Pine returning to the role.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 5:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

Currently doing a DS9 rewatch and have just reached this episode. The performances are so on the button for this two parter. That teaser in part 2... the conversation between Kira and Dukat, and Dukat's delicious revelation - is chilling and exciting!

Side note; During DS9's initial run I gave up on it - somewhere around early season 4. I have a vague memory of becoming disillusioned with what seemed like every episode being about the war/coming war, but I picked it up again around 2003 from where I left off and was then hooked on developments. I can't explain why I would give up on it when these major developments were happening, except to say that I was probably still stuck in TNG mode at the time I unfairly gave up on DS9. The whole war arc is one of the best things that happened in DS9.
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 5:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Cardassians

I won't wade into the politics of this episode, but I wanted to bring up something that's always bothered me...

The scene in Ops where Sisko slaps Bashir down is really harsh. Bashir being belittled, in full view of the senior staff, is extremely jarring to me. Sisko's reaction to Bashir asking a couple of questions is way over the top IMO.

...and I say this as a guy who actually very much dislikes the character of Bashir but I felt for him here!
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Q Who

"Makes you wonder ... if she has Q's powers, why doesn't she use them?"

I got the sense that maybe Guinan is somehow capable of thwarting Q (at least if he does something directly to her, she can't seem to stop him from sending the ship vast distances away), but doesn't have any active powers similar to his. But yeah it was weird how they introduced that and then never developed it.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

"Whenever it happened, it was a fundamental change in Star Trek, and it kind of went unnoticed. The only thing that's comparable is the decision in early-VOY/mid-DS9 to change the nature of time travel, where effect no longer needs cause (this is most notable in 'Visonary' and 'Time and Again' -- but it pops up in 'First Contact').

Anyway, I've always wondered if the ST creators had discussions about this kind of stuff -- where they knew they were fundamentally altering an unspoken premise."

Oddly enough, there was another even bigger changed premise, that impacts stories much more, from this episode (and really all of TOS including the movies, even some made after TNG had clearly changed the premise drastically: Here and elsewhere in TOS the assumption is that nearly the entire Milky Way galaxy has been explored, that warp-capable ships can get anywhere in the galaxy in a matter of days or weeks, but that travel outside the local galaxy is next to impossible.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

"Witness how Kirk cannot articulate to Charlie why he shouldn't slap a woman on the rear end."

I can get why people would find that problematic. Personally I felt like it was a combination of

* Kirk is good at being the particular type of authority figure that his job requires of him. He's completely out of his element at being the authority figure for a lonely 14 year old kid who wants to look up to him and wants to feel that Kirk admires/respects him. Thus why the talk starts out really awkward.

* Charlie feels out of place and wants to fit in, and has no idea of what normal social interaction is like. So he sees two people having fun and sees one of them give the other a "good game" pat on the rear end, and he thinks "ok, doing that is part of how I fit in". So Kirk is having trouble about the butt-slap because he doesn't know how to explain why it was ok for that other guy but not for Charlie (especially since Charlie is going to instantly default to whining about how it's unfair that other people can do things he can't, without waiting for the full explanation).

* And I liked how Kirk finally quits talking about the social interactions of physical contact and just tells him basically "This is how life is: if you like someone, then you put what they want ahead of what you want. Sometimes that means you don't get what you hope for, and it hurts, but you keep on living and you'll be ok." which he delivers a bit stilted, but it's a good message.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

This episode is really really bad. Saved from being 0-star only by the fact that much of it is so awful it's hilarious.

Also, the 1st non-pilot of the series is a really dumb to have an "everybody is forced to act out of character" episode, since we don't know what anybody is like IN character at this point.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

"It's another payoff that seems underwhelming, boiling down to the fact that Picard has done his homework and Tallera has not."

The payoff was underwhelming, mostly due to the fact that "act like you are not having violent thoughts" doesn't portray well on screen. It's just people standing there expressionless. But I figured Tallera is probably too arrogant to think anyone but a Vulcan could truly purge themselves of violent thoughts that easily. And it's nice character moment that even Worf is able to do this.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

"Riker's arm was reattached 0.2 microns off...so a kazillionth of an inch...just how sensitive are their scanners?"

If they weren't that sensitive and more, the transporter could never work.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

[[ even if the "Data learns humour" plot is botched by the bizarre writing (and performances from Piscopo) choices. ]]

The scary part is that Piscopo and Spiner apparently ad-libbed most of that stuff because what they were given to work with was somehow *even worse*
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Fri, May 31, 2019, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Heart of Glory

"Of course you're right that this show was written by Americans with America in mind, but wouldn't this message be a message for all the allies of WWII? "

It's not just a message for the victors. It could have been a message for Imperial Japan as well (something the Klingon Empire resembles many times but I rarely see that comparison drawn).

"I really enjoyed the episode, but these security measures are ridiculous. "

Not to mention that they could have just beamed the guy with a phaser out of the vicinity of the warp core.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Thu, May 30, 2019, 12:10am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Tin Man

I agree with Matt:

Best part of this episode is when Picard tells Tam, "stand back and learn..."

Learn what?

"That being first at all costs is not always the point!"
Set Bookmark
Danno
Sun, May 19, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I have a hard time believing that a society on the verge of warp travel seems to have never traveled in space. When the scientist comes to 10 Forward she is amazed at how her world looks from space. Humans figured out our place in the universe long before the first airplane flight. Do they not have any space program or even ground based telescopes? They are going from zero to warp speed and I don’t buy it.
Set Bookmark
Danny G
Sun, May 5, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Inception-style ending cliffhanger: Did the memory wipe procedure work?
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Talk about different strokes and all that. Jamahl's review makes me wonder if I was watching some other season finale.
Set Bookmark
DanS
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

Re-watching this episode in April 2019 (22 years into the future from its original release).

This is a very touching episode. In about the half-dozen times I've watched this in the last 10, maybe 15 years or so, every time I still end up with a lump in my throat. The Doctor's unrealistic family in the beginning turns out to have somewhat relatable "problems" any family could face these days by the end of the episode. Yes, it is tragic when a family member dies, and the Doctor and his "new" holographic family handle this like any family would.

We share our grief about Belle with the characters. She is the Doc's holographic daughter who gets a bump on the head from playing Pirisi Squares with older kids and suffers a trauma that she will never recover from, and Jeffrey decides he wants to become Klingon and starts hanging around Klingon teens in preparation for receiving his Kut'luch dagger and becoming a warrior. The Doc's wife, Charlene, turns from a fuzzy-warm 50's mom to a 2000s-style mom who's blood pressure is about to hit the roof, yet all of these come together when Belle unexpectedly passes away because of her accident. In the hospital, Jeffrey is seen hugging his father so we know that possibly the idea of becoming a Klingon is now a passing thought. Charlene and the Doc become closer for having shared the loss of a child.

I give this episode a 4/5 mainly for the Doc's family story line and the wonderful acting by Linsey Haun (Belle) and Robert Picardo (and partly because Wendy Schaal plays Francine on American Dad!).

Oh yeah, and Tom gets caught in an astral-eddy, and blah, blah, blah. I couldn't help but think when Tom was telling the Doc about facing his family's troubles how much he looks like Nick Locarno. LOL
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Such a promising and exciting season, such a terrible ending.

We end up with lots of unresolved plots in the 24th century, an excess of unsubtle action and even more forceful plot points, and a very forced and sudden transition into an entirely new series engine.

I have seen people speculate that Control may turn out to be an early main component of the Borg, but I notice that it would require him to time travel back to the past at some point. Instead, I find it more interesting to wonder if Sphere is not about to become the ghost in Discovery's shell, and eventually become Zora from the Short Treck "Calypso".

I assume that the Spore Drive will be seriously limited in the next season, since IIRC it has been established that it can be used to travel through time.

The new series premise is remarkably similar to what Voyager was once expected to be. There is potential in that. But the episode itself fell just short of stating outright that we would never see Burnham or Discovery again. It looks like a repurposed series finale, instead of just a season finale. We are not even given a glimpse of post-jump Discovery. For all we know they jumped straight into a sun and were destroyed.

The human drama scenes were not too succesful either. I don't know why it is such a big deal that Spock shaved without warning. I don't think Tyler and Burnham have any chemistry at all. And the decision to just never speak of them again is made even more naive because Section 31 is apparently participating of it. Can you say cheaters? Sure you can.

I will wait for Season 3 with an expectation of a mostly-clean slate. There are a few plots already in the fire: Michael's mother, Sphere, Control, and dealing with a very different and strange new world in the Beta Quadrant of centuries beyond. Hopefully we will learn a bit more about the crew as well. And I have a hunch that Po will turn up in some capacity.

Still, a disappointing season finale.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Another 4 star episode. Latter part of season 2 is mostly outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This is a 4 star episode, Jammer. That it has the Borg on doesn't make it less of a perfect episode. It doesn't need to be an original premise to be excellent.
Next ►Page 1 of 34
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.