Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 813 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Another 4 star episode. Latter part of season 2 is mostly outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This is a 4 star episode, Jammer. That it has the Borg on doesn't make it less of a perfect episode. It doesn't need to be an original premise to be excellent.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolget
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Absolutely superb episode. Thoroughly enjoyed it and the season overall. At.least 3.5 stars for the finale.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Starlight Starlight Starlight Glimmer... sorry ignore me...

Wasn't a fan of this, most of the episode dragged. French Andrew then gets told to blow up with a dose of American Dream logic, and does so. It probably seemed deep at the time though.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Good lord, Jammer. This episode was great and the sentimentality wasn't at all overdone. There doesn't need to be jolting warring on every episode and a lack of empathetic emotion entailed for an enjoyable episode. I think 3 stars would've been adequate.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Quite a good episode. I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Excellent and daft review, jammer. For the next review i insist upon you quoting the greatest hits from the Borg Bargain Basement Blues Band. "Once Again With Feeling, Troi" , "Oh Your Bald Head Do Shine, Picard" . And who can forget that classic, "Borg Queen Peanut Butter Jelly Time" (disco version).
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I've been really enjoying all of Star Trek Discovery but the only criticism i have is that sonequa martin-green's current performance is a bit two note/ linear. Either it's po-faced or histrionical, wet eyed, glazed over acting. Other than that, I'm impressed with the show overall.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Loved this episode. Great characterization, interesting plot. The most genuine Trek we have had in a long time.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Ah I'm round to this one. Q Beta (or Discord Alpha, for those who follow deLancie's equine appearances)

This HAD to be the inspiration for Q, no doubt about it.

I do give it a great deal of credit for being watchable twice - the first time with Trelane as malevolent, and the second time with him as a child playing with "pets". Also a very early take on the argument of having pets to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I know he's on a noble mission and has every right to push for the needs of the many, but even still I was constantly willing for Commissioner Douchebag to be punched out.

Spock also far more cold than is necessary at times, yet the other guys were so scathing I still rooted for him.

Good episode, made interesting in hindsight in that it's described as Spock's first human emotional outburst but that's been thoroughly retconned with the latest Discovery episode having shown that it's far from it.

Also I really need to watch the original one again as wow so much CGI and it'd be interesting to compare.

Another sidenote - what's with the "transporter sound" effects on the planet? I thought that was only in The Cage with the singing plants.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I agree - I was super excited that we were finally getting some secondary crew development! It was cool to see Airiam developed as a character. I am really bummed that they seemingly offed her. I should have known better - it's the same thing they pulled at the beginning of "Skin of Evil" before they offed Tasha Yar.

That said, I did enjoy Spock taking Burnham down a peg, saying what we're all feeling - she makes everything about her and puts everything on herself.

I liked the episode a lot - it was a good one and well acted, I just wish they didn't pull the "let's develop-and-kill this character in one episode trick" - I was actually super interested in learning more about how Airiam ended up like that - clearly some sort of accident, but I wanted more!
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 6:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I liked Landry's last scene. It was a perfect display of characterization for both her, Michael and Lorca. Lorca is _way_ over his head and using entirely inappropriate tools for a task that he grossly underestimates, and it shows.

Michael is his direct opposite, because she respects her challenges enough not to engage in destructive shows of daring-doo.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

It's funny how many alien races look almost entirely humanoid.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

By far the best episode of season 1. Absolutely superb overall!
Set Bookmark
DANNY BELVIN
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Krill to the rescue!!
Set Bookmark
Dani
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Highlight of the episode: Travis in blue spandex. Fairly lighthearted episode I could easily enjoy.
Set Bookmark
Danny
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Mr. Warf, fire Flashbacks!!!
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Absolutely amazing episode. The best of Star trek discovery, so far. Maybe one of the best of Star trek since the beginning. This is easily a 3.5 or 4 star episode, jammer!
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I always thought it weird that the Borg ignore individuals. I would think they would be very concerned about a random Starfleet officer near their downed ship and would assimilate him for the sake of adding biological diversity.

That said, from the first time I saw this as a kid until now, I've always found Dr. Crusher to insufferably written in this episode.

Then again, I always disliked the character for her treatment of everyone like children and/or her "Mom"ing of everyone else.
Set Bookmark
danny
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

This was a great episode. seasons best. surprised to find jammer did not like it
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Brian

I don't feel any need to "defend" Discovery. I'm enjoying the series so far, and am leaving it room to grow and tell its story/ies. Kind of like what ardent ST:TNG fans had to do for at *least* 2 seasons. Hell, the first season of TNG was enough to keep me away from it until the fifth season started.

If you don't like Discovery, fine, but don't expect people to "defend" it because you have issues with its approach.

Shades of Gray had an excuse...SMH. Even the *writer* of the "episode" thinks of it poorly. It simple never should have been made.

Somehow I get the feeling you'd find a way to prop up a turd like Code of Honor if it meant ripping on Discovery. =P
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Brian puked: "Just remember, at this point in TNG we were getting masterpieces like "Elementary, Dear Data", and "A Matter of Honor". I would hardly call these masterpieces.

And you we were also getting masterpieces like "Shades of Gray", "Manhunt", and "The Royale".

ST:TNG revisionist history always amuses me.
Set Bookmark
Dan Nugent
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 6:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I am still furious that it's 10 years before the TOS and the ship doesn't look like it was made out of cardboard and plastic bottles.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 4:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

An Obol was a small unit of Greek coinage / currency. Charon is in Greek mythology and one of Pluto's moons.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.