Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jadzia
Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

Wow, Hank and Jason R. I stand by my earlier comment. You seem to have a lot of anger in you, mostly focused on women and Wesley Crusher.
Set Bookmark
Jadzia
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I like this series even if I don't love it the way I did DS9. The spore drive is a bit boring as is the whole Klingon storyline (also not loving the new Klingon look at all).
Agree about the fact that Lorca would have been much more interesting if he was the prime Lorca instead of being reduced to this two-dimensional cartoon character.
The comments above re Sonequa Martin-Green's acting are very thinly (or not at all) veiled racism/sexism and I'm calling it out for what it is. Are those self proclaimed critics who berate this talented, successful actress in any way qualified to criticize her ? Are you guys all Shakespearean actors? Or maybe you direct Broadway performances? I didn't think so.
Personally I am not of the entertainment industry and don't have a professional opinion to offer like some of the above commenters, but I think she conveys her torn personality beautifully...trying to appear Vulcan-like with her emotions boiling beneath the surface.
Anyways. One thing I got confused about - did the two Stametses switch places or not?
Looking forward to Jammer's thoughts on all this.
Set Bookmark
jadziadaxmd
Sun, Aug 21, 2016, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

I liked this episode. In addition to everything said above, I enjoyed the Odo/Worf exchange about how to keep your life in order and prevent people from dropping by their quarters unannounced :)
Set Bookmark
jadziadaxmd
Mon, Aug 15, 2016, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

how come the Vorta doesn't freak out/ show reverence when Odo addresses her? She does not appear to recognize him as a Founder.
Otherwise great season finale.
Set Bookmark
jadziadaxmd
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I liked this episode. Something that always bugs me though is that Beverly is the boss of RN Alyssa Ogawa. It just seems very antiquated to establish that kind of hierarchy. Why can't Alyssa be a young doctor herself? Ie a resident? Would make more sense to me.
It's not like you go from RN to MD , it's two completely separate tracks (sure some nurses do choose to go on to medschool but, and I say this as a doctor myself, I feel like setting it up with the doctor as the boss of the nurse cheapens the nurse's value somehow.
OK rant over.
Set Bookmark
For Jadzia!
Tue, Oct 13, 2015, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I agree with the general sentiment about the plot holes.

Ross AND Sisko going against the Prophet's wishes is just clown-shoes. It's like in some TV shows where fantastic things happen all the time, yet nobody believes the protagonist that something fantastical has happened. Here, every single prophecy has come true. So if the "wormhole aliens", the things that prevent Dominion reinforcements from coming through, tell you to do something, it's patently stupid to not do it.
Though I will admit that Sisko choosing SF after that ridiculous ultimatum by the admiral was in line with his character - he does have that uniform fetish.

Then there's our typical problem of Sisko apparently being not only the Emissary to the Bajoran people, but also the Messiah of Star Fleet. The only dude who can do anything. Star Trek and its captain worship.

Was it ever explained why Dax didn't go on this mission? They usually take the whole merry bunch with them on every reconnaissance mission.
Her death was quite good, actually. I like that it was almost casual and not super heroic (*cough* Wrath of Khan... *cough*)
A bit sad about her, though her character was getting a bit long in the tooth...
Set Bookmark
Jadzia
Wed, Mar 4, 2015, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

Ah. I really want to like this show. But then Archer says "when I was on a mission in East Africa, I saw a gazelle giving birth"...
Set Bookmark
Dzzt
Sun, May 4, 2014, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

@DPLB

What? I have no idea where you got the idea that the vast majority of UK citizens want to reinstate the death penalty.

It would be nice if, when bringing statistics into an argument, you could... substantiate your claims? You know... actually provide some sort of evidence? A link, a source, the name of the poll in question...

It's not enough to just pull something out of your backside. Especially when you claim to "speak for the majority".

Also, a little tip to improve your argumentative technique: "that's a fact" is not a valid statement in and of itself. Particularly when not actually backed up by a single fact.
Set Bookmark
DZ
Sun, Aug 4, 2013, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

Wow, can't believe this got 4 stars. It was a pretty average episode, that's all. I didn't feel much sympathy for the Doc so, for me, it failed. Also, why no mention of Data when they were talking about Rights? It's a bizarre omission.
Set Bookmark
DZ
Tue, Jul 30, 2013, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

This is one of the most boring episodes and it gets rated 3.5 stars? Unbelievable. It should have got 1 star.

This is the second time i've seen a boring Torres episode get high marks from this reviewer. The other time was with Barge Of The Dead, another tedius episode.

I tuned in to watch a sci-fi show, not EastEnders. The acting is also not good enough from Torres due to the forehead ridges that restrict her expressions kind of like botox does. You're just never going to get a good performance from Torres because of the botox ridges, so any episode with her featuring prominently is going to suffer from that.

Overall, i think the reviewer is smoking a Torres spliff.
Set Bookmark
DZ
Mon, Jul 29, 2013, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Harry Kim must be the worst actor in Voyager. Whatever he does his expression stays the same. They should have got rid of him the same time they got rid of the other poorly acted character Kes.
Set Bookmark
Jadzia's fan
Wed, Jul 18, 2012, 7:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

^
I love that idea. I strongly believe that when Sisko joined the Prophets he brought Jadzia back. In the episode Ascension we see that the Prophets have the power to alter one event in the past (they returned the poet in his own time) without altering the present. If that's possible anything is.
Set Bookmark
Jadzia's fan
Mon, May 14, 2012, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

A Time to Stand / Sacrifice of Angels is my favorite arc in the series.
Set Bookmark
Jadzia's fan
Mon, May 14, 2012, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

Jadzia Dax is and always will be my favorite character in the series. This is a very sad episode. I wish she hadn't die but hey it's a sci-fi series involving time travel and parallel universes, no ones really dead in sci-fi.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.