Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 93 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Great episode. Suspense. Action.

But pointless.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Paul Hardwick
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I watched this episode today for the first time since I was a kid and I was genuinely impressed with the build up. Very eerie setting and the kids playing havoc with the new grups by throwing things at them at singing the "nyah nyah, na nyah nyah" was just brilliant. When the zombie like creature first enters at the start when Bones takes an uncharacteristic interest in the wheel of trike was an excellent action sequence with some great (for the day) makeup.

The premise is both intriguing and absurd. With a little more care with the writing, perhaps allowing some better character development and maybe playing off the whole Kirk, Miri and Jand love triangle with more aplomb may have led this episode becoming a true classic.

Unfortunately we have some jarring dialogue (Bones : I've never seen so much bacteria, enterprise, send down some virus scanners!) and kirks final speech is pretty lame. The ending left me agog with the Enterprise leaving orbit and leaving the kids there on the planet!

So a great start to the episode but it doesn't meet its promise of a true classic.
Set Bookmark
DidWorf?
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Did worf return to the correct Enterprise though? At the beginning of the episode it starts out with worf receiving a surprise party but at the end of the episode troi said she knows how he hates surprises and talked riker out of throwing one for worf.

If it was the same universe then shouldn't events unfolded the same?
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Fifty-first now. ;-)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This is like the 10th time that Red Letter Media review has been linked on this site...today.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

great to find the entire series on Dailymotion
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

they served their purpose
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

a closing episode that sets up the rest of the way
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

love how 24 discussion overtook this with some hatorade for Brannon Braga
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

never knew this was RDM's directorial debut, guess it shows when reviewers hate it for focusing on specific things.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

can't help but think how other writers would mess up this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Stephen Moffatt would have made it time wimey wibbly wobbley
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

so many series can learn from these episodes
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

the links that explain the significance of 47 no longer work
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

Doctor Who showrunners could learn a thing or two from this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

wow, the religion and mythology focus really riled up the viewers
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

not sure about the reasoning of putting religion to the forefront at this point
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Escape Velocity

really surprised the crowd was not focusing on how Baltar moved like he was being propped up
Set Bookmark
Edward
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 9:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

10 years later and we still come to this blog as the go to review
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

so glad the spoilers from 2008 were mostly removed
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 12, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

such a great episode...first time watching it
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, May 17, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

"Are the Discovery producers just messing with us now?"

Absolutely. This show is a farce.

Who the f cares about 'The Red Angel'? Are we 10 or something?

Character flipping is not the same as character development.

Does everyone who dies come back to life? WTF???

This show is stupid. Period. End of Story.
Set Bookmark
DW
Sun, May 5, 2019, 3:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

It's a mixed-bag episode. I can appreciate how the writers were trying to set up a dichotomy of human vs. Vulcan, rationality vs. emotion, etc., however, some of the writing choices they made to play that out make little sense. I find it odd that everybody, including Bones, seems to hate Spock immediately once they crash land. And the idea that these Starfleet professionals would demand burials during a crisis emergency situation is way too far- fetched.

- The monsters are kind of a cool idea, but their spears look awfully goofy the way they bounce when they hit the ground and fly awkwardly through the air.

- I do like how they try and put the science in science fiction by making the obstacles to achieving lift-off and maintaining orbit major parts of the story. I wish the writers would have had the characters spend even more of the episode researching and enacting solutions to those problems.

- One thing this episode demonstrates to me is how well the Spock character works when serving as a foil and straight man to Kirk. As much as we love Spock, the character can easily become too dour and heavy in the absence of Kirk's rascally impetuousness. Trek is much more fun when the Spock and Kirk team get to play off of each other.
Set Bookmark
DW
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 12:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

The pacing of this weird episode is all over the place. They could have vastly improved it by trimming down the time spent on those overly-long telekinesis sequences. As it is, they just draaagggg on for way too long.

- Like others, I too was surprised to hear the Greek quotation from Aristophanes "The Frogs." (I wonder if the writer had a background in Greek or Classical Lit?)

- Kirk gets a shield, Spock gets a kithara musical instrument, and Bones gets... a scroll of vastly outdated Greek medicine! Thanks a lot!

- I laughed out loud when I saw and heard horse-Kirk rearing up and whinnying. That would make an awesome meme.

- This episode was way dark and twisted for network TV. I can't believe the censors let them get away with showing a scene where two women are about to be tortured with a whip and a red hot poker! Yikes!

- The one bright spot for me in this whole mess is that Uhura gets a nice costume change into a very flattering dress, and her character gets to have a little more dialogue than what's usually allotted to her.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.