Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 101 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
joseph woodworth
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 6:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I rewatched this, and Wynn’s decision makes a little more sense to me now, there’s a small detail - She says , if the prophet wins there will be a thousand years of peace, and we won’t need vedecs or kais or even the emissary. It’s almost as if She thinks a prophet victory will remove the need for her office, and her power would disappear...
Set Bookmark
DW
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Seriously no one's gonna talk about how the episode was saved by the Trip Tucker tribute to Han Solo moment?
Set Bookmark
DW
Wed, May 27, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Maq, I agree with you for the most part. It's fine for certain characters to not get much spotlight, nothing wrong with having background characters. And it's funny you mention Garrett Wang, he's probably the 2nd worst Trek actor ever behind Montgomery, haha, at least in my opinion. And yeah Linda Park is not my favorite actor either, but at least she's like....competent. Capable of relaying some basic level of personality/emotion/realness/presence. I don't think there's necessarily anything "wrong" with the actual characters of Mayweather or Hoshi as written, in my opinion it's just a lack of execution, which falls on the actors.
Also I am in 100% agreement regarding Cutler, deserved much more screen time. Maybe I'm biased by the fact that she bears a striking resemblance to a girl I once knew, but......probably best not to dwell on that.
Set Bookmark
DW
Tue, May 26, 2020, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Just happen to be rewatching ENT and happened upon this review just one day after your comments, The_Man. I've never commented on one of these before, but I felt the need to do so for the first time. One thing that has been consistently surprising to me reading through these Jammer reviews (and the comments) after watching each episode is actually the LACK of criticism of Anthony Montgomery's acting, and the complaints about his character's lack of action. There's always been a pretty wide spectrum of acting talent and experience across each Trek cast, but Montgomery has to be one of the worst, if not THE singular worst of all time. I'm not a huge fan of most of ENT's cast with the exception of Billingsley and Trinneer (and the amazing Jeffrey Combs when he thankfully appears), but they all look like Patrick Stewart / Avery Brooks / Brent Spiner / Robert Picardo / Tim Russ / Andrew Robinson etc. next to Montgomery's just-took-one-semester-of-acting-classes-and-now-I'm-in-my-first-high-school-production level. Also recently found out he's the grandson of the legendary jazz guitar great Wes Montgomery, but it seems like the creative talent sadly didn't make it to his generation.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 10:33am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Maybe the tracker didn't stop working because she was in a coma or 'mostly dead', but because maybe she knew how the tracker worked and specifically injected herself with a compound that would counteract it, despite knowing what the consequences of that might be for her health.

The fact that she had to chew and ingest the tracker suggests it wasn't a sort of RF transponder, as in a bugging device sending out a signal, but more like a specific rare isotope of something that would be absorbed into her bloodstream and could be picked up at long distances by a suitably sensitive sensor suite.
Set Bookmark
Temporal ColdWarrior
Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

A military tribunal investigation concluded that acting Captain Watters was posthumously charged with disobeying orders, manslaughter, and drug abuse in the destruction of the Valiant. The hearing was conducted on Deep Space 9 by Captain Sisko after his son submitted the factual account of this incident for publication for SFN. The Deep Space Commander was ordered to conduct the hearing after Star Fleet declined to clear Jake Sisko's news story and it was subsequently classified due to the Dominion War.

The Tribunal consisted of Captain Sisko, Commander Worf and commander Degorion of Star Fleet Intelligence who was sent by SFC to investigate the Valiant incident. The conclusion was although acting Captain Watters was correct in continuing with the intelligence gathering mission after the death of the original Captain and maintaining the communication blackout while deep in enemy territory, the failure to immediately return to Federation space ONCE the Dreadnought's intelligence was gathered should have been paramount instead of the youthful inexperienced attack which resulted in the deaths and loss of the Valiant. The abuse of chemical stimulants and lack of experience were major factors contributing to the failed mission.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Wait, so Picard could have saved some Romulans and didn't?

Because he is a jerk?

And Starfleet is racist against Romulans and Androids? And has racist, tabloid journalism?

Let me guess, this is the Mirror Universe Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
davidw
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This show is really, really dumb.

The Tal Shari is not good enough, they need another and another and introduce one silly stupid plot point after another?

I suppose the reason Star Trek failed is because people want to see this garbage. They want to put characters in danger and see how they escape it.

Good for them.

This is not Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Great episode. Suspense. Action.

But pointless.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Paul Hardwick
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I watched this episode today for the first time since I was a kid and I was genuinely impressed with the build up. Very eerie setting and the kids playing havoc with the new grups by throwing things at them at singing the "nyah nyah, na nyah nyah" was just brilliant. When the zombie like creature first enters at the start when Bones takes an uncharacteristic interest in the wheel of trike was an excellent action sequence with some great (for the day) makeup.

The premise is both intriguing and absurd. With a little more care with the writing, perhaps allowing some better character development and maybe playing off the whole Kirk, Miri and Jand love triangle with more aplomb may have led this episode becoming a true classic.

Unfortunately we have some jarring dialogue (Bones : I've never seen so much bacteria, enterprise, send down some virus scanners!) and kirks final speech is pretty lame. The ending left me agog with the Enterprise leaving orbit and leaving the kids there on the planet!

So a great start to the episode but it doesn't meet its promise of a true classic.
Set Bookmark
DidWorf?
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Did worf return to the correct Enterprise though? At the beginning of the episode it starts out with worf receiving a surprise party but at the end of the episode troi said she knows how he hates surprises and talked riker out of throwing one for worf.

If it was the same universe then shouldn't events unfolded the same?
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Fifty-first now. ;-)
Set Bookmark
Edward
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 3:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This is like the 10th time that Red Letter Media review has been linked on this site...today.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Face of the Enemy

great to find the entire series on Dailymotion
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: The Resistance

they served their purpose
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

a closing episode that sets up the rest of the way
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

love how 24 discussion overtook this with some hatorade for Brannon Braga
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

never knew this was RDM's directorial debut, guess it shows when reviewers hate it for focusing on specific things.
Set Bookmark
Edward
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sometimes a Great Notion

can't help but think how other writers would mess up this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Stephen Moffatt would have made it time wimey wibbly wobbley
Set Bookmark
Edward
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

so many series can learn from these episodes
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

the links that explain the significance of 47 no longer work
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

Doctor Who showrunners could learn a thing or two from this episode
Set Bookmark
Edward
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 7:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

wow, the religion and mythology focus really riled up the viewers
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.