Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 622 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Purely out of curiosity, DLPB, why was your time here when everyone is so beneath you?
-----

This is a review site for Star Trek. Do i need to like you or think of your intelligence as worthy in order to enjoy posting rants / reviews / or putting your silliness in its place?

I don't come here thinking "Gee, I love the community! Can't wait to agree!"

@Omicron I can't make what I said any more simple for you. If you don't like my opinion, I can't say I'll lose any sleep over it.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Purely out of curiosity, DLPB, why was your time here when everyone is so beneath you?
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

@RandomThoughts

Cheers for that. It was a good read. If I had a billion dollars, one of my first acts would be to completely redo the CGI for B5 and spruce it up. Because storytelling wise, it's leaps and bounds above all fictions in my view - apart from maybe Breaking Bad - which is also superbly written.

I'm afraid I can no longer add Game of Thrones to that category after that abortion of a season 7 and 8.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Spot on, Eddie. It's Ron Moore. He's not very bright.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Yes, because this episode was in no way political in nature.

Honestly, you're a total tool.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 11:49am (UTC -5)
@DLPB

"I wish people could look on writing objectively, but it seems to me some poor sods think this fiction is reality."

Boy, you must be fun at parties...

------

My parties are frequented by intelligent people, like me. We discuss fiction as a fiction (when/if we discuss it). We don't talk about fictional stories as if they defined us or as if they are real. We don't make excuses for shite writing by coming up with something pulled out of our brown end. Your parties must be good to laugh at if you're someone with an IQ over 100.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

@Lew Stone

It's nice to point things like that out as long as you know they're not ever likely to change their minds or see the light. And, yes, Chrome is a fanboy - as you've already sussed.

I wish people could look on writing objectively, but it seems to me some poor sods think this fiction is reality.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Voyager would have been 10x better if this episode was the real storyline and Chakotay and Seksa were in command.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Mon, Sep 2, 2019, 8:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Anyone who has a Facebook account will know that women frequently objectify themselves.... then claim that they're being objectified.

The actresses agreed to do it. Blame them. Moreover, if that's what you find offence in, you've led a sheltered life.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 28, 2019, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

Speaking as a "right winger" [a meaningless tag really, since most people have a variance of opinions], I want order and peace because that leads to prosperity and a happy life. It has nothing to do with fear.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Aug 28, 2019, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I also don't think that Krola is paranoid. He is justifiably fearful which is another right wing tendency.
-------
lol... fear is now a matter of political opinion? Are you really that daft?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

I know this is science fiction and man won't really advance on its own this way, but why did the writers portray the "advanced" humans on Voyager enjoying a violent sport?
-----

Perhaps because not everyone in the world is forced to believe and think as you do? You suggest the future should be a mindless conformism.

"Violent" sport is a test of human ability. It is a sport practiced by people who know the risks and enjoy the challenge. It isn't for you to outlaw it or decide who likes what, you mindless bigot.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

her having her violent tendencies removed could only help her in life!
--------

And you know this, how? There is a reason violence is there. It's to protect you. If you remove all violence and anger from a person, they then become a door mat for everyone to walk all over - and will often grossly underestimate a threat.

Your idea is woefully short-sighted. Billions of years of evolution has created a situation for a reason. You come along with 1 brain cell and think you know best.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 13, 2018, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

Also, always makes me laugh that the left harp on about tolerance and love... until someone or something disagrees with their world view. Liberalism isn't in you. You aren't true liberals at all - just nasty, intolerant, "progressive" bigots.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Dec 13, 2018, 8:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Homefront

None of the Treks are right wing. Theya re all leftist and written by leftist people. I think what Elliott means is that there are a few stories or situations that are actually realistic - or deviate from Bernie Sanders' bum.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

When Guinan talked about Picard and her friendship with him, it was not dreamed for a second (by the writers back then) that this absolute tosh was the reason behind it.

It doesn't make one lick of sense that an alien woman whose homeworld was destroyed by the Borg would find herself living it up in Earth's past - living it up large. And her character in the present isn't even consistent with the past.

They shoehorned her there. No brains. No logic. Also, why the heck would Data have ended up there from where he was?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Family Business

An episode of Trek being a social justice warrior, beating its audience over the head with Conservative straw manning?

Say it ain't so!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

The fact it exists at all is down to intelligent writing. You make it sound like it was easy to come up with. It wasn't.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

The scene between Data and Spock is probably my favourite in all of Trek. Superbly done.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Nor does any logical person care, Chrome. I rather suspect that if you or your family had had dealings with a rampaging killer, you wouldn't be here defending this thing. And my biggest problem is that those here defending this creature are the exact same people defending child abusers, killers, and other criminals in real life.

Get a clue.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Ken.... 300,000 KM is the distance light travels in one second.

Work out why this was actually good science. Trek frequently gets it wrong but this isn't one of those times.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

And no matter how absurd, ludicrous, nonsense these things became (why the hell aliens would become free when magic words are read? Why Dukat became a Lord Sith with video-game superpowers in Season 6’s finale?), to any criticism people reply throwing back the easy magictechnobabble “they were powerful aliens that existed out of linearity”. Really? Is it that easy? So we can make any sort of story become good futuristic scifi just granting that we explain first that we are talking about all-mighty aliens?
--------

Basically, Ric... if you are a critically thinking person with a high IQ, this stuff isn't okay and will bother you; and if you don't understand logical, good storytelling, then anything goes. Yee hAw!
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Tue, Oct 9, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

hey resorted to terrorism instead of responding like adults and finding somewhere else to live, which the Federation would bend over backwards to provide

-------

Never been forced out of your home, have you? If entire worlds have been populated, they aren't going to accept being moved. Ever.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sun, Sep 30, 2018, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Yeah, coz it was just a dozen weirdos who voted for him, right? Maybe if you started to listen to voters, instead of calling their views names, you wouldn't keep losing. Just a thought.

Also, have you seen the way they Dems have been behaving?
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Sep 29, 2018, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

I get why some people think the ending here was contrived
---

We don't think it is. It's a fact it is. It's a classic deus ex machina. Very lazy writing. Accept it.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.