Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 143 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Trent

To answer your questions.

1. Why didn’t Sarek send a Vulcan/Federation ship if he knew the location of Discovery?

Because Kevin Uxbridge forbid Sarek from doing so. Kevin wanted to see if Michael Burnham could save the universe on her own without any help. In a way, it was a test for Michael to see if she was worthy of being a Douwd.

2. If there was a communication blockout, how did Ash contact the Klingons?

Because Kevin Uxbridge realized Burnham was going to fail his test, and therefore overruled the blockout from Control, on this one instance.

@Mertov

3. Why didn’t they beam Cornwell out?

Because Kevin Uxbridge created the window on the blast door, and wanted to witness it used for it’s true purpose. If Cornwell were beamed out, then there would have been no reason for Pike to look through the window on the blast door, thereby making the window useless. Kevin could not permit this.
Set Bookmark
Lodghed Torpedo
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Thank you for everything, Jammer. Any prospects of ever doing The OA reviews? I drank the show in my top 5 along with Lost, all of Star Trek, & Twin Peaks, and there are only 16 episodes so it wouldn't be the biggest commitment, but the sci-fi is transcendent and if not, I at least hope you watch it!

Thanks again, I love the site so much
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 3:19am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I think I have a good explanation as to why it is suddenly okay for Tyler to be around L’Rell in plain sight of other Klingons. She finally remembered that she is the Chancellor because she is holding the Klingon home world hostage with a bomb. And because of that, she can “do whatever the fuck she wants”.

As for all of the other things that make no sense, they can all be explained via Kevin Uxbridge. For example

1. Why doesn’t anybody in future trek remember anything about Discovery or its crew? Because Kevin Uxbridge deleted everyone’s knowledge of Discovery. He didn’t just delete one person’s memory, or a hundred, or a thousand. He deleted all knowledge of Discovery, everywhere.

2. How could the window on the blast door survive the photon detonation? Because Kevin Uxbridge built the window using his immense douwd powers.

Feel free to come up with other Uxbridge explanations to Discovery plot holes. It will make the show easier to watch a second time.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 7:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Did the ending where the reason nobody ever talks about the Discovery spore drive is because it is made illegal remind you of the end of Star Wars Episode 3? Things are wrapped up there just by deleting C-3P0’s memory. Felt a bit like a cheat.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Startrekwatcher

I agree that I am not a big fan of season long story arcs. This may be an unpopular opinion, but I really liked the “three episode mini-arcs” from Enterprise Season 4. That way you have time to tell compelling stories, without getting locked in for an entire season.

One other thing I was thinking about. Which red angel was responsible for saving those people in the church during WW3 and bringing them to the Beta Quadrant? I don’t seem to recall Michael doing anything of this nature, except for going to the Beta Quadrant and sending the signal. Did I miss something when it was showing her time travel?
Set Bookmark
Lodged Torpedo
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

From a previous episode, but was bugging me, so forgive me for posting here, but: How did Spock, as a hologram created by Control (a la the holomirals) kill those 3 Starfleet medical officials in the sanitarium that Spock willingly (OMG this plot is so contrived) admitted himself to? I thought holograms were...light images, incapable of murder?
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I have a prediction as to how they will stop Control next episode. Michael Burnham will go to the future and find a bomb that can destroy everything in the universe, not just sentient life. She will then travel back in time and give the bomb to L’Rell, who will contact Control and threaten to use it if Control does not step down. The season will then end with Michael talking about how “We are Starfleet”.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I have enjoyed this season much more than season one, albeit I felt the first half of the season was better. As soon as Control was introduced, the season started to go downhill.

I really would like the following things to be corrected for season 3.

1. Stop spinning the camera around when characters are talking.

2. Stop continuously playing music in the background when characters are talking. I just happened to watch a rerun of the TNG episode “Lower Decks”. It is stunning to actually compare a scene where Picard tears a strip off that ensign to any scene from Discovery. As a viewer you can just feel the tension and intensity of the scene, with no music required, as the actors do this on their own.

3. I know a lot of people would like Burnham off the show completely. I just think her role needs to be reduced. I don’t want everything to revolve around this character.

4. Georgiou needs to be written off the show. The writers screwed up with her. They never should have killed the normal universe one in the first place. Now they just have the next Lwaxana Troi. A one note character who nobody wants around.

5. Please do not make Control the Borg origin story.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I didn’t like the Wire season 2 that much...at first. I suspect most viewers, like myself, wanted the focus to continue to be on the Barksdale organization, so at the time the shift to the dock worker’s storyline was unwelcomed. But near the end, I had come to appreciate the story and new characters. I think season 2 would rank higher on a second viewing of the show.

William B, totally agree with what you said about Season 5. And it bugged me that the whole fake serial killer thing wrapped up a little too tidy.

I think the season 3 episode “Middle Ground” was the best of the show.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 6:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I am starting to get an uneasy feeling that Control is going to be the origin of the Borg, as a few people have mentioned. This would be a terrible, terrible decision. The destruction the Borg cause would then be the fault of humans. That would be too hard to stomach.

Just out of curiosity, has there been a single episode involving an away mission that didn’t involve Burnham? I am really getting tired of her character. There so many other interesting characters on the show. Why can’t we focus more on them?
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I think the red angel is Chief Engineer Logan from the Star Trek TNG episode “The Arsenal of Freedom”. He is trying to make up for being such an hypocritical asshole to Geordi.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 1:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I was knocked out of this episode early, as soon as Emperor Georgiou walked out of that shuttle. I absolutely hate that character (if you can even call her that). The whole thing just felt like a jumbled mess to get Dr.Culber back. I am happy he is back, but it again reminds me of one of the many poor decisions made in season one. If they didn’t stupidly kill him, this dumb episode never would have existed.

And there is still too much damn music playing when characters talk. I actually miss a word or two because the background music is so loud.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I hated this episode. There were too many things that brought me back to aspects of season 1 that I disliked.

1. Just seeing L’Rell again irritated me, because it reminded me of the absurd way she became Chancellor in the first place. It’s no surprise many people want to overthrow her.

2. Having Tyler back just reminded me of the stupidity of him being a sleeper agent in the first place. Him and L’Rell had no plan and accomplished nothing with him being a sleeper agent, aside from killing a good character in Dr.Culber for shock value.

3. The presence of Emperor Georgiou is offensive on so many levels. Any reminder of the mirror universe is just bad, as the mirror universe is just a gimmick that was focused on way too much last season. And I still can’t get over Starfleet making her captain of Discovery last season because “they were out of all other options”. Furthermore, Emperor Georgiou is not an interesting character at all. She is just evil. There is nothing else to her personality.

I think what really bugged me though is all the focus on L’Rell/Tyler/Georgiou took away from the actual Discovery crew. I want to see more of Pike/Saru/Stamets, and a more developed bridge crew. I want them to engage in missions where the crew has to work together. I want crew members to have interesting discussions regarding difficult issues, WITHOUT any music playing in the background.

I might give the episode 0.5 stars for the material related to Tilly. Otherwise, terrible episode.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

I liked the episode. One scene that stood out was at the end where Burnham goes to speak to Pike in his ready room after the away mission. There actually wasn't any music playing in the background...for about 10 seconds. But it was a miraculous 10 seconds.
Set Bookmark
Uxbridge
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I know some people already brought this up, but I really dislike the annoying background music playing when two characters are talking. It should be the job of the actors to convey emotion in a scene, not the job of the music. I forgot how much this irritated me last season.

Otherwise, I liked the episode.
Set Bookmark
Green Badger
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

From the beginning of this episode when Reed discovers his loss the solution is obvious. Use the transporter to beam the communicator away

There is zero reason to head down in a shuttle, make things worse, wait for your crew to drop down in an invisible spacecraft and expect no contamination to happen

BEAM THE FRIGGING COMMUNICATOR UP and it’s problem solved
Set Bookmark
GordGordie
Sun, Oct 21, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Why can't reviewers of Voyager remember that replicators are alpha quadrant/Federation technology? It's a huge bargaining chip and resource in a situation like this and many others that show up in Voyager
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Really it's quite clear, and Janeway was in the wrong here. If Tuvix was not capable of performing the duties of Tuvok or Neelix and those people are essential to the functioning of the ship, then you can argue she acted in the best interests of the crew. But since he could, this is murder. Plain and simple. And it's not murder to not separate Tuvix, because there was no intent to combine him in the first place...murder requires intent. Is it a tragic accident? Yes. But one that she had to commit murder to undo, and murder is what she did.

It can "haunt" her, sure...but she should really be treated the same as any captain who pulls a phaser out and vaporizes one of her crew.....charged and relieved of duty.

But it's Voyager, so she isn't, and by the next episode, everybody forgets that just last week she killed someone because it was tragic to lose those two crew members through no fault of the crew, or her.

What's amazing is, by the end of Voyager's duty, she becomes an Admiral for her crimes. And this isn't even the first or last of them.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Yeah a pretty good episode, but the lack of Sisko and son being turned into goo on the back wall when they went to warp was always jarring to me, and the travel time between there and Cardassia was a little silly, even more so than usual for Trek.

Maybe you can say the artificial gravity they installed (hardly keeping it "original", but they wouldn't install some decent sensor equipment?) helped keep them from getting turned into chunky salsa, and fine, but how the heck did they get from where they were to Cardassia in that little span of time, even at warp? It was almost portrayed as more of a wormhole and less of a warp journey.

If it's this easy to go to warp in a solar sail ship, then might as well switch to solar sail ships and do away with the warp core and all that risky antimatter.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Like most unanswered questions on TNG, the followup to this story can be found in Star Trek Online. They go into pretty good detail about the Solanegen based lifeforms, and who they work for.
Set Bookmark
Jabalian Fudge Cake
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

The writers themselves have admitted the Klingons in Discovery are modeled on Trump supporters.
Set Bookmark
neoprenewedgie
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I don't understand the positive reviews. I thought this episode was painful to watch at times. For starters, the pre-credit scene dragged on forever. Took far too long to set up the plot. And I know this is a comedy, but there has to be SOME level of realism with the characters - LaMarr was just an idiot the entire time. Nothing he did seemed believable at all. They also ignored a good opportunity to make some better jokes about how much the planet looked like Earth. As viewers, we know it's because sets are expensive to build, so why not exploit it a little more? There were some good one-liners on the ship: "I sing."

Huge fan of the series, but I thought this episode was terrible.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

Yes, yet again Enterprise takes a cool concept and some good ideas and turns them completely into nonsensical canon breaking garbage.

The Romulans didn't have this tech in the 24th, much less the 22nd.

And Trip and Reed should be dead after the first hard maneuver, much less the jump to warp. With no inertial dampers, there would simply be no resisting the inertial forces on the human body from the extreme acceleration in various different directions. They would be chunky salsa inside those suits and the show would have to go on without them.
Set Bookmark
Ridgemont
Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

I completely missed that this was a series finale as I am box setting them, and had to double take when I realised I'd crossed over into S2. This isn't a finale episode tho I get that the 37 episode was originally intended to be so but fell foul of scheduling constraints.

In summary this episode is filler material but unfortunately is emblematic of the season as a whole. It really did do a terrible job of opening up the amazing vistas of the Delta quadrant. It might have been justified if it really poked at the maquis v fleet vibe but it skipped that bar this somewhat painful officer and a gentleman episode (plus Be'lanna beating up a rival earlier in the series). Way too much derivative TNG nonsense about anomalies and such. 2 stars at a push. Thankfully the series raised its game.
Set Bookmark
Wedgebeat
Mon, Jun 26, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Aw man, seriously to the reviewer "John" about 11 comments above; some of us are watching this show for the first time. Thanks for giving away the end of the season. :(
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.