Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 128 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Green Badger
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

From the beginning of this episode when Reed discovers his loss the solution is obvious. Use the transporter to beam the communicator away

There is zero reason to head down in a shuttle, make things worse, wait for your crew to drop down in an invisible spacecraft and expect no contamination to happen

BEAM THE FRIGGING COMMUNICATOR UP and it’s problem solved
Set Bookmark
GordGordie
Sun, Oct 21, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Why can't reviewers of Voyager remember that replicators are alpha quadrant/Federation technology? It's a huge bargaining chip and resource in a situation like this and many others that show up in Voyager
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Really it's quite clear, and Janeway was in the wrong here. If Tuvix was not capable of performing the duties of Tuvok or Neelix and those people are essential to the functioning of the ship, then you can argue she acted in the best interests of the crew. But since he could, this is murder. Plain and simple. And it's not murder to not separate Tuvix, because there was no intent to combine him in the first place...murder requires intent. Is it a tragic accident? Yes. But one that she had to commit murder to undo, and murder is what she did.

It can "haunt" her, sure...but she should really be treated the same as any captain who pulls a phaser out and vaporizes one of her crew.....charged and relieved of duty.

But it's Voyager, so she isn't, and by the next episode, everybody forgets that just last week she killed someone because it was tragic to lose those two crew members through no fault of the crew, or her.

What's amazing is, by the end of Voyager's duty, she becomes an Admiral for her crimes. And this isn't even the first or last of them.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 7:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

Yeah a pretty good episode, but the lack of Sisko and son being turned into goo on the back wall when they went to warp was always jarring to me, and the travel time between there and Cardassia was a little silly, even more so than usual for Trek.

Maybe you can say the artificial gravity they installed (hardly keeping it "original", but they wouldn't install some decent sensor equipment?) helped keep them from getting turned into chunky salsa, and fine, but how the heck did they get from where they were to Cardassia in that little span of time, even at warp? It was almost portrayed as more of a wormhole and less of a warp journey.

If it's this easy to go to warp in a solar sail ship, then might as well switch to solar sail ships and do away with the warp core and all that risky antimatter.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Fri, Nov 24, 2017, 12:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Like most unanswered questions on TNG, the followup to this story can be found in Star Trek Online. They go into pretty good detail about the Solanegen based lifeforms, and who they work for.
Set Bookmark
Jabalian Fudge Cake
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

The writers themselves have admitted the Klingons in Discovery are modeled on Trump supporters.
Set Bookmark
neoprenewedgie
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

I don't understand the positive reviews. I thought this episode was painful to watch at times. For starters, the pre-credit scene dragged on forever. Took far too long to set up the plot. And I know this is a comedy, but there has to be SOME level of realism with the characters - LaMarr was just an idiot the entire time. Nothing he did seemed believable at all. They also ignored a good opportunity to make some better jokes about how much the planet looked like Earth. As viewers, we know it's because sets are expensive to build, so why not exploit it a little more? There were some good one-liners on the ship: "I sing."

Huge fan of the series, but I thought this episode was terrible.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Thu, Aug 17, 2017, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

Yes, yet again Enterprise takes a cool concept and some good ideas and turns them completely into nonsensical canon breaking garbage.

The Romulans didn't have this tech in the 24th, much less the 22nd.

And Trip and Reed should be dead after the first hard maneuver, much less the jump to warp. With no inertial dampers, there would simply be no resisting the inertial forces on the human body from the extreme acceleration in various different directions. They would be chunky salsa inside those suits and the show would have to go on without them.
Set Bookmark
Ridgemont
Wed, Jun 28, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Learning Curve

I completely missed that this was a series finale as I am box setting them, and had to double take when I realised I'd crossed over into S2. This isn't a finale episode tho I get that the 37 episode was originally intended to be so but fell foul of scheduling constraints.

In summary this episode is filler material but unfortunately is emblematic of the season as a whole. It really did do a terrible job of opening up the amazing vistas of the Delta quadrant. It might have been justified if it really poked at the maquis v fleet vibe but it skipped that bar this somewhat painful officer and a gentleman episode (plus Be'lanna beating up a rival earlier in the series). Way too much derivative TNG nonsense about anomalies and such. 2 stars at a push. Thankfully the series raised its game.
Set Bookmark
Wedgebeat
Mon, Jun 26, 2017, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Aw man, seriously to the reviewer "John" about 11 comments above; some of us are watching this show for the first time. Thanks for giving away the end of the season. :(
Set Bookmark
Ridgemont
Thu, Jun 22, 2017, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Decentish episode that lost the plot in the last 10 mins.

"I've plugged in the DNA sequencing. We also have remnants of the victims of the event. Lets reconstitute a casualty!
More power to the pattern buffers!
(Bzzzzzzzzshhhhhh)
Er ok... we appear to have reconstituted a pile of ashy slime.
Oh yes, forgot that the transporter never actually held a copy of the actual body.."

I know Star Trek has a macguffin attitude to technology but it could at least be consistent in the technology principles it laid down. A DNA sequence might be useful for generating an interesting splodge on the transporter pad, but resurrecting atomised individuals in form pushes the boundaries of coherent storytelling.

I also wish they wouldn't do close ups on neelix's face. His nose resembles a circumcised penis.
Set Bookmark
Ridgemont
Thu, Jun 22, 2017, 2:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

On one level I do love this episode. The whole faces theme was well handled and at one stage genuinely shocking (poor Durst).

But actually this somewhat exposed a bit of a logic hole in the execution. Rewind to Phage and the only reason for not wiping the videans off the face of the quadrant is the heart rending quandary they are in. In order to survive they have to stoop to pretty exceptional desperate measures. Or, as we discover here, if they are trying to impress passing Klingon booty. 'Check out my new face! Nice hmmm? Pay no attention to likenesses to any acquaintances of yours... purely coincidental'... Er these folks are monsters... set phasers to disintegrate. Except possibly down to time constraints (another episode where attempting a dual story line of Videans plus Torres personality split, leads to both stories feeling rushed) we don't get to see Janeway reconsidering her previous assessment of these organ kleptomaniacs. Instead there is yet another swift cut to Voyager resuming warp speed and trundling onwards. No 'alas poor Durst' moment, no reverie, just pedal to the metal and off we go...
Set Bookmark
The Judge
Thu, Jun 15, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

A potential good idea very badly acted and very badly developed. I quote the review, word by word.

So, is Worf a terrorist also? This sabotage


On the Enterprise Worf was a complex and fascinating man. A righteous man.
On DS9 he turned into a bi-polar dick. Worf brawling for nothing, Worf throwing out Morn because "that's my seat and I fall in love with Grilka, so am a crazy yelling Klingon", Worf throwing out Quark (as referred by Quark so, a little doubt) for an issue of beverages, Worf becoming a war criminal puppet (huh, yes, I assumed that "for the uniform" is a bad in-joke and a fake episode), Worf brawling with O'Brien and Bashit at Quark's Bar (because authors need somebody being a dick), Worf being a bi-polar dick searching for browls in almost any episode.

Sincerely, my impression after this depictions of Worf is... Is that WORF IS A WILD/MAD DOG GOING ABSOLUTELY OUT OF CONTROL DUE TO THE LACK OF HIS TAMER: PICARD.

Let's replicate a whip and a chair to Sisko :-D
Set Bookmark
The Judge
Wed, Jun 14, 2017, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Just a word for this episode: WMD
Anything else to add to "Sisko is a bioterrorist searching for revenge regardless of thousands of CIVILIANS" and "his crew is a load of crap(py) and fanatic PUPPETS, only ABLE TO PUSH A BUTTON and RELEASE THE POISON"? Puppets executing oders without inserting brain is the greatest BLASPHEMY in Trek world and a leit-motiv in Nuremberg Trials. Oh, yes, we are sure that all civilians were evaquated, we believe to this YATI but... Is Sisko morally able to take the RISK OF A GENOCIDE for a partial bluff? WOW!

Where is a LILY SLOANE shouting "BULLSHIT! ... Where were your evolved sensibilities then?" to a Starfleet's captain when we need her?

I subscribe any word of Captain Olli and Cade and, as said Verdeta "I assure you, Gene Roddenberry turned over in his grave."

The worst crime of this episode is that only 5 fuckin' mins can erase the most intense Trek series, all his carachters, the Federation, the Milky Way. Once upon a time, Ripley decided to nuke the LW-426 and Vasquez supported her: the "aliens" were a sort of 8472 but... I liked to think that this approach was absolutely out of Trek canon. Until I saw a Starfleet captain release a WMD on a planet populated by civilians, and no one saying a FUCKING WORD. Oh, yes, the final Sisko-Jadzia dialogue is the most DISGUSTING thing I've ever seen on ST.
*DAX: Rotflmao, we poisoned dat silly planet. Have u noticed it to the Starfleet?
*SISKO: I give a shit of the Starfleet, cuz am loyal to the Starfleet. And, mainly... I WON DA MATCH! U.S.A.! U.S.A.! U.S.A.!
*DAX. Lol, who cares! You're right! Mwahahahahahahahahah!
Yes, they were victims on Solosos III: Sisko, Dax, Kira, Worf and Nog... No repentance, no doubts.... Nothing.... Are we sure that this wasn't the Mirror Universe's Sisko? Anyway R.I.P. Worf, you dishonored yourself: Fek'lhr and the Gre'thor is waiting for you.
Just a word for this episode: WMD

BUT...

BUT...

It's a gigantic BUT...
We all know that ST episodes have controversies also. It's to encourage debate, doubts, and to avoid to depict a "utopia of perfect and boring always-right super-perfect-humans"... It's ok. Sometimes captains should be a dick, but should they be a Javert/Ahab/Mass Murdereres? We all know that, as Adam and Eve lost their innocence with the SNAKE, Star Trek lost its "virginity" with the COBRAS (Cardassians... take a look to their symbol). Nothing was so "straightforward" after Cardassian. Nothing. To be a Trekkie became harder: more than utopian dreamers, trekkies look like lawyers, facing YATIs, controversies, captains doing weird things... Oh My Prophets! On Voyager it became a 24-hours long work! Gimme latinum, Kathryn!

So... the gigantic BUT. We are accustomed to the authors who blink their eyes to us, who poke us, who bother us, who create silly FANSERVICE for us. Worf (not) speaking about Klingon's crest in "Tribble and tribble-ations" is no longer no less than a joke. Genial, but a titanic YATI and a joke. A nonsense to serve the fans.

And... if the end of THIS EPISODE WAS A POKE, A HUGE PUNCH TO US? A WAY TO TEST OUR REACTION? Is our critical sense ON? Or we eat the shit and call it chocolate only because they said "it's chocolate"?
After disgust, my doubts started reading a comment above. It invite us to reflect to the meaning of that starship's name "MALINCHE". A Federal starship wearing a name that, in Latin America, is the ANTONOMASIA OF BETRAYER.
SO? Is this episode real? Is it a bad joke? I think it is a test. Is Sisko and his crew a bunch of cynical puppets and potential mass-murderers? Are the BASIC principles of the Federation a joke? Is the Federation a joke populated my billions of malinches? No court-martial?
Why the fuckin' hell PETER ALLAN FIELDS destroyed his work and condemned all of his carachters into this mass of WAR CRIMINALS?

I'm bored to be a lawyer for ST, this time I wannabe the judge. The only thing that can save Fields, the author of DUET (the author of DUET, the most intense and best episode ever -IMHO- into Trek universe), is that HE WANTED TO TRIGGER OUR STRONG REACTIONS. This episode is a FAKE, is a test for us. "Duet" was a punch, "For The Uniform" is a direct punch on our faces. To see our reaction. Our VIOLENT REACTION to this PROFANITY AGAINST RODDENBERRY.
He was brave to use a fake episode to poke us, inserting it in the DS9 story. Really brave... Who else can ruin his work breaking the fourth wall in a so bad way, just to yell to us "Hey, are you still awake?". He had reactions, tons.
I read on the net. People saying that Fields pissed on Roddenberry's grave and deserved decapitation with a rusty batleth, people yelling unrepeatable things, other people angry as a rhino etc... So, it seems that he did the right thing and was really brave (and a bit fool): yes, we are awake: chocolate is chocolate, shit is shit, ans Sisko can't be a cynical mass murderer. Or in the contrary, Captain Braxton can restore the timeline.
To the end, Eddington was captured (as shown in "Blaze of Glory"), but we will never know how. Because I REFUSE to believe that what happended in the end of this episode was real.

Dear Mr. PETER ALLAN FIELDS, I hope a day you'll read this. I think you were really brave to poke us using a canon episode. You left some clues, somebody was able to rescue 'em (the USS Malinche, genial!). I understood. You would to test our WILD reactions to this prophanity and you had. Now, 20 years after, you can reveal your TRICK. I can't believe that an author that conceived that dramatic masterpiece (DUET), can be so psycho to conceive an idiotic blockbuster action movie. You tested us, congratulations. Genial joke. I can continue to watch DS9, without seeing the "genocide mark" in Sisko's (and his crew's) skins, only considering that this was a in-joke. Outside the canon.

As I said, this time I wanna play the judge. So, this is the ONLY EXPLANATION that makes sense to this episode to exist. I hope you'll confirm it.

Otherwise, you are condemned to be, along with all your crew, the people who betrayed Roddenberry's HOPE. Hope. You ruined a whole work in 5 mins... But I won't to think so.

And that's all about this FAKE episode.
Set Bookmark
Ridgemont
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

May as well bump this thread as a newbie as I've attempted a rewatch after watching it on DVD 10 years ago, and occasionally watching when originally released.

My God it's hard work, but then I found the first series painful first time around.
This episode in particular following on from the dire Paralax ('frog at the bottom of a frozen pond') grinds some gears.

Most of the previous commenters get it right;
1) the Prime Directive has mutated to the point where starship captains are prepared to witness civilsational annihilation unless they were er... responsible for it.. surely as a point of principle and consistency Janeway ought to have self destructed her own ship after this debacle to adhere to such a draconian interpretation. O wait... the reset button..

2) the reset button. Where the the script writers sweep everything under the carpet with a 'let's pretend this never happened'. Audience reaction? 'Oh let's... next episode please'.

3) in way of mitigation there is some character embellishment and colouring in but as has been noted, the stuff that really should have been the engine of the series (the maquis dynamic, and integration) is just... gone. Nothing to see. Move along.

Fortunately the series begins to establish some of its own identity in Phage onwards but it is a remarkably weak arsed start to series.

Set Bookmark
atomicWedgie
Mon, May 29, 2017, 12:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I grew up watching Star Trek. Captain Kirk and Mister Spock have always been a part of my own self image. I recall how excited we were when this film came out as well as how disappointed we were when we first saw it. It was just too damned long and dull.

My perspective is quite different today. It's not as good as the wholly entertaining Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, but in some ways it's going for something far more interesting. Wrath of Khan was an action movie. There's no action here. This movie is a contemplation on the human heart. We're not talking about romantic love here--well, at least only in part--this movie sets out to explore what it means to be alive.

That's a pretty big theme.

It's too big, making for something of a muddled story. Still, what Robert Wise does is to try and delve into the meaning of life in visual terms. That's what ultimately makes the film worth watching, even if it's slow and imprecise. Wise uses loads of organic and sexual imagery in trying to make sense of it all. If you've got the patience, this picture has its rewards.

Minus a half star for giving us the awful version of the Klingons all series and films have used since. Klingons were so much more interesting in the original series.
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Wed, Apr 19, 2017, 8:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

Had some decent moments, but the worst moment was Janeway agreeing to let him leave the ship. Unless she did so knowing he would come back, it's unthinkable to believe she would deprive her crew of their CMO for the rest of their journey, flesh and blood or not. Yes, he's an individual, but he's also a member of Starfleet. You don't just get to desert your assigned post on a Navy ship because you find your calling at some foreign port.
Set Bookmark
DG54321
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 9:39am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Only real nitpicks I had with this episode were the lack of communication with Starfleet, or even knowing they were in the Delta Quadrant 700 years later, and the ability to get the look and function of not only the ship but the specific tools needed to fix a tricorder, but not the story itself, correct.

After 7 centuries, it's inconceivable that Starfleet hadn't developed quantum slipstream or transwarp drive of their own (especially with Borg help, and they were testing such things during Voyager's time in the Delta Quadrant, 700 years earlier), and someone from Starfleet could have helped resolve the diplomatic fiasco that is their inaccurate portrayal of history. The only answer that makes any sense is that somehow, Starfleet and the Federation either don't exist any longer as a major power with the goals of exploration and diplomacy, either being wiped out, or becoming isolationist. We know that even in the 29th century, the Federation and Starfleet are very much intact.
Set Bookmark
scubabadger
Sat, Nov 5, 2016, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

"synchronous polar orbit" is surely impossible no?
Set Bookmark
Scubabadger
Thu, Oct 6, 2016, 4:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

I realise I'm four years late pointing this out but, Kieran, Chief O'Hara? Really?
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Tue, Aug 4, 2015, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

In STO, it's shown they do survive, with a little help from an alien species you heard of last in early TNG....
Set Bookmark
DG
Sat, Aug 1, 2015, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Noggra's face when he says "Your name is Rodek... So don't worry!!!" he just seems so freaking happy about it tot he point where I almost want a whole episode just about what the heck Noggra's life is like that he's THAT happy to have another kid.
Set Bookmark
DG
Fri, Jul 31, 2015, 6:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Erm. Does that mean Garak is Julian Bashir's idealized version of him? O.o? Their first conversation almost seems like it in retrospect.
Set Bookmark
Scubabadger
Mon, Jun 1, 2015, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

@Xylar, I'm not sure anything in the episode explicitly confirms anything is real, it could all be a hallucination, medically induced or otherwise.
Set Bookmark
DG
Sun, May 3, 2015, 5:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

I mostly just like watching Howie Seago sign. It's (mostly?) ASL. I'm not sure if the signs I don't recognize are because "I learned sign language from someone with a small vocabulary because her parents were abusive little shits" or because Howie's tweaking ASL to make it "futuristic".

He almost never goes anywhere near the upper half of his face, and that's... weird. Like the sign for "listen" just seemed off to me.

I liked is sign for Ramatis, his planet. It's the ASL letter "r", inside a planet. Clever!

Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.