Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15,185 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 608
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

The chewy chunks being scraped off the floor in engineering look suspiciously like prosciutto... other than that, I don't have time to talk... and now I want a sandwich, lol
Set Bookmark
dave
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Re: Tilly Weight comments

In storyline, its inconceivable she would gain that much weight because that would mean being an unprofessional officer by not working out and blowing your meal plans out the window.

In real life, its unprofessional she would allow that to happen considering this is her current career to play a professional officer on a ship.

Outside of her job and her storyline, in the real world, its her body and she looks great. So I think that doesn't matter in that view. BUt like i said, in storyline or as her professional career, it seems quite amazing she would not take it more seriously.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@Booming

I guess there’s somewhat of an argument there with Scotty and Kirk but not really. Kirk was never fat. He gained a little weight as he got older but never looked like he wasn’t in reasonably good shape. Scotty almost never left the ship and again any weight gain was as he got older. Tilly on the other hand specifically went through an arc where she was supposed to be losing weight and getting fit yet over two years has ballooned. If we were talking 20 years like the TOS crew from show to the movies I wouldn’t bring it up. Also there’s the fact that a show in the 60s wasn’t treated as serious as shows today. Today a television show is considered “real acting” and even what’s shown and written is supposed to be a little more realistic.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@MTF-HA

Not one person was rude or “full of hate”. Not until you that is. Don’t know at all what you’re talking about bullying actresses? No one has done that or will. 🤚 May I please comment that a character on a television show went through a weight loss arc but physically gained weight? Do I have your permission?
Set Bookmark
Skye Francis-maidstone
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Better than last weeks by default since it had less Captain Marvel in it. I think I gave that a 3 out of 10 so I'd have to nudge up to a 4. Nothing even approaching good though.

Liked:
- Saru (Although he seems a little naive as a leader)
- Detmer. Nice to have a crew remember who acts professionally.
- looks glorious in all its 4k beauty as ever
- semi-enjoying idea of 3100 and all new things
- almost no Burnham

Hated:
- Most of the crew. Did they have any Star Fleet training? I've worked in some crappy jobs in my youth where people were more professional that those idiots. Snark snark snark. It's tiresome. The Expanse crew are more professional and they're from a crappy Ice Hauler.
- Western in the Ice complete with bar room brawl.
- Burnham saving them complete with annoying grinning.

Meh:
- Tilly. Getting old fast now. Not her age either. Please just act normally now rather than flitting into comedy mode.
- Why is 3100 so bleh so far? They have a free reign to do whatever and this is it so far? Hoping for more imagination soon.
- Nhan, maybe she'll be ok? Not looking promising so far.
- Why can everyone identify an 800 or so year old thingy at a glance? Maybe it's as common as a wheel or something I guess.
- How was the ship suddenly fixed so fast? It was a complete wreck then it looked almost perfect. Maybe I missed something though. My eyes started to glaze.

It was a diverting enough 50ish minutes. I was a bit bored though which is rare for DIS since it's so fast paced.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I see some people talking about Tilly’s weight. There’s nothing wrong with noticing she’s gotten fatter and mentioning it. Firstly as an actress it’s what she signed up for. People look at you. And besides that there was a whole character arc where she was supposed to be running and losing weight. She steadily got bigger through that as well. At the end of the day I really don’t care but it’s just one more thing to add to the unbelievability. A well disciplined officer that’s supposed to be at the top her game with an elite crew wouldn’t balloon in weight while doing missions
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

Why anybody in there right mind would allow that whore Riker to escort a raw sex being to her pad is just wrong. And,yeah Picard banged her . He keeps own counsel....
Set Bookmark
Dawn
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

This episode bothers me for the fact Star Gleet wants to come in and take over everything ! TELLING Odo that they are going to take over if he and Dr Mora do not start getting more results. I understand that they are afraid of the Dominion , but still it is what bothers me.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Glom

I agree, especially on Galaxy. I think there definitely could have been some more attention in certain spots, and the ability to use the GameCube controller in Sunshine for the analog triggers would have been nice as well. Overall though, as a collection, I like the games to play as closely to the original as possible. I think if it had remaster in the title I would more critical of the lack of QoL additions.

Someone had mentioned FFVII earlier. I wonder how they felt about that remake? I know this is a Trek forum but the similarities in opinions on classic/remake video games and classic trek/modern trek have so many parallels.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Warpedo
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

@Tomalak

No, Tilly is not at all unrecognizable. And what a very weird thing to comment on. If you say it’s not a criticism, then what exactly would you call it? Just an observation? You really couldn’t bring anything better to the table? Guess not.
Set Bookmark
Dick
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

After last week's off-format premiere, this felt like a return to the usual STD fare. Frenetic, over the top action, gratuitous profanity and gore, and a crew full of snarky, unlikeable characters (Saru excepted).

I was done with Evil Georgiou in Season 1, and it's distressing how big of a role she continues to play in this series. I've seen her described as a "fan-favorite", but the character is just awful: a one-dimensional comic book villain who is totally unsuitable as a member of a Starfleet crew.

I continue to be confused by the personal transporter technology featured in Season 3. Saru, Tilly, and Georgiou use it to transport directly from the Western bar to the Discovery. So why didn't Evil Dude just beam directly onto the ailing Discovery with his posse, shoot everyone, and steal the dilithium? Or was that the plan all along and they were just messing with Saru and Tilly?

I am slightly intrigued by Detmer's condition (she is one of the more likable characters). Is it just a concussion or PTSD? I can't believe that they'd rehash the Airiam plotline and have Detmer infected with Control, too. Okay, I can believe it.

I liked the reveal that Michael has been stranded for a year before Discovery arrived through the wormhole. Should be interesting to learn what she's been up to. (Book must have used his nanotech to create some hair extensions for her new do.)

Stray thoughts:

* It's pretty impressive that the Discovery and its crew managed to remain intact when it crashed into the glacier. The last time we saw a starship crash into an icy planet ("Timeless" (VOY)) everyone on board died in the impact!

* Why doesn't Saru immediately place Georgiou in the brig once the Discovery crash lands? There's no reason why this evil and manipulative character should be given free reign of the ship now that Section 31 is no longer around to protect her.

* The Evil Dude in the Western bar (didn't catch his name) claims that The Burn is the best thing that ever happened to him. So is he supposed to be over 100 years old? There's no reason why he couldn't be, but he sure doesn't look it.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Glom

"In a way it is the opposite situation to Super Mario 3D All-Stars. That is a minimum effort product but it has three of the greatest games ever so it will sell like mad as it has done"

I actually prefer the light touch they gave that set. The original games themselves would probably set you back close $100 still, and thats if you still have working consoles. But I do understand people wanting a little more bang for their buck.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Because I'm 100% sure people will still be watching "The Wire" in 3188, shotguns will persevere. Even space cowboys are going to want to be Omar.

For "Far from Home", I would say probably another 2.5 star outing. I thought the opening crash was well done, and the once again the filming location for the miners camp was spectacular. The saloon scene seemed to carry on a bit long, but I thought the programmable matter was neat. I think it was fun to see all the characters on the ship interact and have something meaningful to do to get Discovery back up, but as a whole I think the episode was just okay.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

... Geez.

I came to read this review, only to suddenly realize I'd already read it yesterday... I guess I was so drunk that I was blacked out while reading it (my birthday is tomorrow but I'm scheduled to work, so I decided to "celebrate" yesterday), but I distinctly remember the review. My comment of 12:09pm Wednesday was mostly legible too.

I must be getting old. I really didn't think I'd had that much to drink.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Ysnks

I myself was born a decade after TOS ended, but does it really matter WHEN someone became a fan?

I'm not sure if you intended to do so, but there seems to be an implied premise in your statement that young viewers are somehow better than older viewers .... that youth is better than experience. (I'm not sure if you actually believe this or if you were just tweaking Trent's nose).

The only difference between young and old is time on earth. We're all human. The number of revolutions one has taken around the sun means nothing when it comes to the intrinsic worth of someone's cinematic opinion ... only the level of experience and knowledge with the subject really matters.

Ageism in any form (in our current paradigm: anti-Millenial OR anti-Boomer) doesn't have any ethical ground to stand on, especially when it comes to deriding others' artistic commentary.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Tommy

It's not a perfect metric to be sure, but still: when offered hundreds of entertainment options to watch, viewers would still rather watch game show repeats and Sean Hannity.

It's last in its time slot on the major networks and cable niche shows are crushing it in ratings.

That means something (which is why the industry reporters are putting a spotlight on it).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Mertov

Talk about moving the goalposts! 🙄

Discussing Trek in general, responding to someone else's quotation of me and/or reviewing a specific episode are all completely different things and YOU KNOW THAT.

Again you try to rewrite history.

I was more than fair with STP and I gave credit where credit was due. Anyone can go reread my reviews and see that for themselves.

Did I review bomb that show? Nope. I just want something good and Trekkish to watch.

So why do you, Mertov, feel the need to deliberately mischaracterize me? (Is that a rhetorical question? I'll leave that up to you).

I appreciate the olive branch at the close of your statement, but in this circumstance, I think any genuine overture of peace should include some admission that your description of me is inaccurate.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

And just like clockwork episode 2 brings us to the rest of the crew and quite a bit of the hope of episode one is dashed out. Okay here’s some thoughts. First just end any continuing plots from previous seasons. I don’t even remember why Stamets was in a coma. Just simply have him come out of it (they did) without any super powers or he has amnesia (yet to be seen) or whatever Kurtzman has thought up. Okay next problem is Georgio. Axe this character. She is not believable as a villain at all. Don’t care anything about her backstory, the black leather is cringe, the acting is bad,just please end the whole character for good. Bye bye. Now Tilly. Tilly makes Neelix look like Einstein. They might as well just have Tilly walk around in a clown outfit and makeup. The schtick sucks. We get it. Just a fun and ditzy girl out here in space! Please get rid of her or drastically fix the character which I don’t see happening. Now with all that said I did not hate this episode. Actually I think it’s still a step in the right direction. It’s just that once we went back to the rest of the crew this week it was a huge reminder of what this show was (I don’t want to use the word ‘is’). The preview for future episodes didn’t exactly fill me with hope but we will see.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I don't believe anyone said anything about lying. I've seen the ratings and analytics for all the shows. I don't think anyone is calling Discovery reruns successful in Nielsen ratings either. Its not refutation of reality, its a refutation of how much weight to give this reality, when placing things in context.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ SlackerInc

I didn't see your post until after I had already posted mine.

I didn't actually write "@Mertov", but thatthe tone of my post was directed at him (her?).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

One other point I did want to address:

Despite the implication, I'm not lying about Discovery's terrible ratings.

Mertov can deflect about streaming and changing habits of media consumption, but millions of people still watch TV.

You can call it a "repeat", but millions of Trekkies never signed up for CBS. It's new to all of them.

The fact is that DIS is getting beat by RERUNS of Match Game and Press Your Luck: CNN level ratings (so yeah, it's bad).

There used up be enough fans to sell hundreds of millions in movie tickets .... so where did they all go? Some of them still watch TV (especially the older demographics) and those are the people least likely to subscribe to All Access. So why would they rather watch Nick at Nite or a repeat of Batwoman on the CW?

Coincidentally, STD's ratings are only a fraction of what The Orville regularly drew on FOX. Why didn't streaming hurt them the same way?

I can't post links because I'm on my phone, but a lot of entertainment industry trade papers (Variety, EW, etc) have been focusing on its poor performance. A cursory Google search will show I'm not exaggerating.

Let's not pretend like Discovery's over-the-ait ratings are a success because THEY ARE NOT. Any attempt to state otherwise is a refutation of reality.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Mertov

It kind of annoys me when someone types a huge response and then sticks their little personal insult digs at the end. Here I was thinking you speaking from a place of passion about Trek, when in reality you are just as much a troll as everyone you denounce.

To correct the record, I only score and summarize an episode once. Anything else I post on the comments is in response to the discussion unfolding.

By the way, if you don't like old Trek style storytelling, why did you become a Trekkie in the first place? You seem awfully eager to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.

@ whoever was confused about my comment about bean counters

You might want to do a bit of research on the Bad Robot Trek license.
Set Bookmark
David
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Yanks - Thank you! Looking forward to discussing.
Did you enjoy the Discovery premiere?
Set Bookmark
David
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I am re-watching Star Trek in airdate order and I am finding myself often times disagreeing with Jammer (but LOVING) his reviews as I genuinely prefer TNG/VGR to DS9 with ENT coming in behind. As I write down notes after I finish the episode and give it my own rating for fun, I find myself comparing it to Jammer. Here is the funny thing - we match a lot for Discovery. This review is spot on - 2.5 stars. It was an average opening with a storage that was average, masked by amazing effects and cinematography. It looks beautiful but the actual story is lacking. After 18 months, I was hoping for something more engaging for an opening. Once we arrived in 3188 and things in the galaxy went downhill fast and we found ourselves in a retread of "Andromeda", I am cautiously optimistic that the writers will avoid that. However, it just did not feel original to me - the Federation fell, things went terrible. I am hoping this season explores it well because for me Discovery always starts off great and then sputters by the finale.

I hope some details are explored, i.e., did the Federation fleet just blow up at once given there is quantum slipstream technology?

Also, is anyone like me in that they actually like the cast very much BUT their least favorite character is Michael - the main character?
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@Jammer

"No explanation is given as to why Book and Burnham (B&B?) have to keep making successive transports rather than just one; chalk it up to the action's needs du juor, I guess."

I do understand that Jammer is only human, and may have missed that the most recent transport before the would-be-captors have their final showdown with B&B happens when they transport into a location underwater; Book gives the explanation that they are only able to track transport on solid blocks of land, which buys them some time (a very tried+true plot device).

As for the rest, I'm in agreement with Jammer; this seems like it could translate into good plots in future episodes.

It had better. I'm losing patience, as much as Jammer seems to be.

Will you sit down at a (Dr. McCoy Voice) god-damned typewriter?
Next ►Page 1 of 608
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.