Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Extreme measures

Bashir and obrien reluctantly confess to sisko their plan to lure a section 31 operative to ds9, fearful sisko will do what duty demands of him and quash their plan on moral and ethical grounds. They needn’t have worried. Sisko lost all authority to question someone else’s morality and ethics back in 'the pale moonlight' episode where he betrayed his oath, was an accessory to murder, and bribery to cover it all up. At least star trek had the grace to leave the scene without sisko saying a word about bashir's and obrien's plan.
During the plan's execution trouble befalls and it looks as if our heroes will fail - and die. They have a bromance moment in which bashir points out that obrien likes him more than he likes his wife. I had to laugh. We have all met obrien's wife.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

When it rains

Star trek leading the cause for social justice. This episode never stops.

We open with a decisive, confident captain sisko sitting at the head of the meeting table and a pensive, doubtful admiral ross sitting at his side (not even his right side). I wonder if anyone would have noticed if there was a black admiral always looking for answers from, deferring to and acting subordinate to a white officer of a lesser rank? Don’t bother to answer. Their answer to the problem they were meeting about? Send a female to teach white males how to wage rebel war. I wonder if the reverse would have been noticed here too? No need to answer this one either.

Throughout this episode (and the series as a whole) admiral ross simply tags along with captain sisko. The leader of the klingon race arrives for a state vistit. Admiral ross and captain sisko are there together to greet him. But, it is captain sisko who leads the greeting ceremony. I wonder if the twat necheyev - i mean admiral necheyev - would have behaved so meekly? Don’t bother to answer.

Odo, garak and kira are flying to meet damar when dr bashir calls and tells odo he has a fatal disease. Odo initially says nothing while kira takes charge and asks questions and makes a decision about what is best for odo to do and what his course of action should be. After the dr delivers his information kira thanks the doctor to signal the end of the consultation - without bothering to let odo ask any questions. Isn’t this something that women are fighting against when something like this is done to them? Hypocrisy in action.
Before we leave the subject of kira it is worth noting in this episode she again violently subdues in a fist fight another trained, experienced military male attacker twice her size.

The good doctor contacts headquarters to get odo's medical records and we meet an unlikeable stonewalling bureaucrat. What race and gender did they cast for this role? You can answer this one if you wish.

Later, Kira and company slaughter the bridge crew and take the dominion ship. Kira and odo are spared from doing the actual killing, which is left to garak - one of the slain enemy is female who is the only one shown laying on the floor after the fact. Odo is appalled. kira makes note to assess blame but decide it can wait for now. Shouldn’t kudos rather than blame be awarded here? In the end they successfully take the ship and head for home but odo succumbs to his disease and gently lays his head on kira's shoulder to draw comfort and strength from her.

On star trek, senselessly killing females is something that must not pass without notice and blame must be assessed.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

Inter arma enim silent leges

I am the first to advocate personal freedom from government intrusion - in any way, shape or form. However, on this episode the 'government' i.e. the federation was illegally snooping on an ally not its own citizens. There is a distinction and as sloan put it, a temporary ally at that. So i would put forth that the law is the thing that is suspect not the actions of the federation.
1. Everybody does it. Everybody snoops on everybody else. It is foolish to trust that an ally will always act in your best interest so you need to know what the intentions of an ally is at all times so you may act accordingly.
2. Nobody even believes for a second that the federation or any other government past, present or future does not conduct constant assessments of their allies - including covert surveillance. Again, it would be foolish not to.
3. The title of the show implies that the government acts differently that this during a time of war. I would disagree. The government may move to restrict some personal freedoms during time of war but will always assume foreign governments will act in their own best interest that may be contrary to their own and therefore move to inhibit their ability to do so.
Starfleet knows what is going on and does not try to stop it. All the allies know starfleet has and uses the same covert intelligence methods as everyone else and expects it. The only ones who are clueless are the gang on DS9 along with whomever made the law nobody will follow in the first place.
This star trek episode gave us a romulan government official we all liked. We all wanted her to succeed and do well. It was no accident that the role was cast as a female being victimized by white males. After all, who would care if it were a rotten person being set up? But, realize that you would feel different - even if all the rest of the circumstances were the same.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Emporers new cloak

I love to point out star trek hypocrisy and inconsistency but i find none worth mentioning in this episode. War is bad. money is bad. Men serve the women who merely tolerate their existence. As leta and Dax demonstrate they do not need men for anything. Women are stronger(no matter how much smaller and less muscular they may be), craftier, more intelligent and command the obedience of men either through blind loyalty or fear and intimidation - even after they are dead or in another universe! Kudos!
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

The siege of ar-558

This episode reminded me of the old TNG episode where the enterprise crew encountered the automated weapons salesman on the deserted planet selling automated weapons (arsenal of freedom). The entire planetary population (apparently) was wiped out by the automated weapons but the salesman kept trying to sell those weapons by demonstrating their functions to the enterprise crew. We all got a good laugh at how pathetically foolish those warlike people must have been. Fast forward to the dominion war.
In some respects war is like golf. In the end they don’t ask you how, just how many. When you are in a fight for the survival of your way of life, where the cost of losing means the loss of freedom it is wise to win at any cost short of the way of life you are trying to preserve. Agonizing over how and how many enemy you kill, maim or leave diseased is counter productive - like using the Houdini mines. As they and 'arsenal of freedom' demonstrated, an automated weapons system would have been more effective than ground troops firing the 24th century equivalent of a rifle. The houdini mine wiped out 2/3rds of the federation forces and a 1/3 of the jem hadar.
I bet those troops that were stuck there suffering battle fatigue would not be laughing as smugly up their sleeve as we were at a computerized salesman selling an arsenal of freedom.
In the world of star trek war is bad. Money is bad. Multiculturalism is good. And yet they demonstrate time after time how wrong they are - by their own terms and rules.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Time's orphan

Does anyone besides me get tired of keko ordering around the chief all the time? She pats him on the head like a child, tells him he is eating too much and that she is going to do something about him. Can you imagine the estrogen fueled rage fit if the gender roles were 'reversed' in the opening sequence to this episode? I guarantee it would not have passed unnoticed as apparently it has as-is.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Profit and lace

In contrast to many star trek fans i almost always enjoy the ferengi episodes. I love the idea of the ferengi and most everything they stand for. Why should the whole galaxy embrace the same values as the federation? Jist look at what star trek has lead us to believe with episodes like TNG Angel One and a hundred others (no right or wrong, just a different culture). But, when one of those societies hold values that demean women like the orion's or the ferengi, star trek steps in to correct any misconceptions we may have had. So remember, it is okay to have different cultures with different beliefs and values just so long as they treat their women right. Well, right as compared to the federation anyway.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Valiant

Star trek was big on picking females and black people to be captains. When it came time to cast the role of a confused, drug addicted captain who got his ship destroyed and most of his crew killed who did they bring in?
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

In the pale moonlight

One of my very favorite ds9's. It is difficult to impress with a political intrigue episode but this one was effective and entertaining. Garak was used effectively. It was as if through the whole series garak was set up to be used in this episode, in this way. He was the real hero. Or, should have been but since sisko is the protagonist of the series the writers had to short garak a bit - Specifically by having sisko berate garak verbally and physically to show who is boss. But as far as i could tell sisko had neither the moral or personal justification - just frustration for which garak was made to pay.

Skipping over his transgressions to garak, sisko was never made to pay for betraying his oath to starfleet either (the crime for which he himself persecuted eddington) nor for his part in the murder of grathon tolar nor for assassinating the romulans.

Star trek makes its living off of exploring moral questions and delivering a pointed lesson on the consequences. Here in this episode sisko forever loses all of his moral authority in several important areas. For some reason star trek shied away from exploring the consequences (except for a claimed guilty conscience) as it usually does and instead only shows is the internal battle sisko has with himself. Which, by the way, neglects acknowledging sisko and eddington did the same thing - just for different reasons.

At the end of the episode sisko claims garak was right about one thing but garak was right about everything it is just that sisko is given the credit and garak a broken jaw - courtesy of the man who claimed a thick skin from being in the company of and arrogant and acerbic garak.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Inquisition

All section 31 agents are white males dressed entirely in black. Star trek has never been particularly subtle about race casting but this one feels like a hammer blow to the head.

Females officers routinely give orders and make demands upon their male piers and subordinates (dax told julian to 'get ma a raktajino' in one episode and julian wordlessly complies with the demand) but it is a rare occurrence (ever?) when we see the reverse - but more on this later.

The casting and costuming of section 31 personnel is just a race case of the above gender issue. To put it bluntly, we would never see a gang of rogue black bad guys dressed in black, set up to fail and used as a plot device to preach a moral behavioral lesson. It is just a wonder that dax or kira is not cast as the heroin to unmask, expose then emasculate the white male evil doers. See kira and gul dukat or kira and damar or kira and quark for a relevant example. Or, in a slightly different style but still emasculating, watch kira and keko do it to the chief or early in the series as dax is allowed to toy with julian's affections.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Magnificent ferengi

One of my all time favorite episodes of any star trek series. The comedy parody twist on the magnificent seven movie is spot on.

One unrelated point. The federation gave quark a prisoner to hand over to the dominion whom they knew would be executed once he was in their hands. The federation is against the death penalty yet condemned this prisoner to the fate the same as if they had performed the execution themselves. Made worse by torture first, then execution by the dominion. Countries here on earth in the 21st century often refuse to extradite prisoners to the united states where they may face the death penalty.

This may seem like a minor point in an outstanding star trek episode but star trek does an awful lot of moralizing at its audience on any number of subjects (they verily beat us to death over the head about feminism) not to be called out on their hypocrisy.
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Sacrifice of angels

In the end sisko arrives at ds9 only to find that he has failed to arrive in time and that the mine field keeping the dominion ships away has been destroyed. Rather than accept this defeat and regroup with command (or even to check in with command to receive new orders) sisko decides to commit suicide by taking on 2500 ships all by himself. Well, not exactly all by himself, his entire crew is with him. His last orders before the wormhole aliens save him (and his entire crew) from himself is to tell the weapons officer to 'make every shot count'. Even if one shot is enough to destroy one enemy ship, and assuming the enemy does not fire first and destroy sisko (and his crew he has brought along on this little suicide run), his ship is certain to be destroyed soon after.
Had the wormhole aliens not intervened, Sisko's ship and crew would be valuable assets in the federation's attempt to continue the war with the dominion. Ships are more valuable now that the federation is so heavily outnumbered. So how is there any justification for his actions?
Set Bookmark
D K
Fri, Nov 29, 2019, 1:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Favor the bold

A (combat trained) 120 pound female (kira) heroically punches out a (combat trained) 180 pound male (damar)? And not for the first time on a star trek show. I don’t care how well trained, mean and determined my sister is she could never do that to me. Especially if i was equally well trained. Have we ever seen a female heroically punched multiple times to near unconsciousness by a male on a star trek show?
Any show?
Set Bookmark
D K
Thu, Oct 24, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

So worf, both on his own heart and in the eyes of alexander, has failed as a father. And according to kira, dukot is a p.o.s. who does not deserve the love, respect and loyalty of his daughter. Chief o'brien gets criticism from his wife about his fathering job. In another star trek series (the next generation) captain picard was a father who made serious mistakes with his son. In short, star trek is tough on fathers.

But never an unkind word about anybody’s fitness as a mother.
Set Bookmark
D K
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 11:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

Something has always bothered me about this episode and the maquise struggle in general. It is rooted in my belief that eddington was the one who should have come out on top in his conflict with sisko and the federation.

To start with, i knew he was doomed when, as a white man they pitted him opposite sisko. So in that respect the end came as no surprise. Plus, he was doomed going up against the protagonist of the show. Plus, his band of rebels were doomed as a declared enemy of the federation. With all that going against him why should anyone believe in success?

Everything Eddington said in objection to the federation in previous episodes, and this one, was true - hypocritical being the one that sticks with me. In some respects through the writing of the shows this hypocritical aspect of federation attitudes and actions was acknowledged. In the face of the acknowledgment of hypocrisy and all the strikes against him to begin with, eddington lost and in a dissatisfying manner. Lost personally with sisko. Lost his wife. Lost his maquise family. Lost his life. And his struggle never achieved any of their laudable and justifiable aims.

Imho, a better point would have been made if sisko would have acknowledged that his actions and attitudes were wrong and that everybody would have been better off if he had just walked away as eddington first suggested. But, for all the reasons eddington was doomed to begin with, that just could not happen.
Set Bookmark
D K
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 6:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

So quark goes i to debt and starts selling guns to get solvent. Odo arrests him and intends to come down hard. Sisko is down with that but kira reluctantly comes to quarks rescue. Why help quark? Because the guy quark is selling guns for helped out the bajorans in their fight for independence from the Cardies - that is to say, sold guns illegally to the bajorans. And because he, and people like him helped the bajorans in their fight for independence, kira and the bajoran government tell sisko that as long as quark doesn’t break any laws, he is free to operate. The position her government took on this matter pains kira. She wants to hang quark by his heels (or, ears, i suppose) not just because he is doing something illegal again but because it is guns.
Kira was happy with illegal gun smugglers when they were doing it for her but now that she does not need them anymore she thinks that what quark is doing is the most horrible thing and even threatens him with personal violence if he should break the smallest of station laws. It would be easy to drive the point home from every angle but here is what it comes down to. Star trek is hypocritical about the values they preach.
They tell us over and over that war is bad, chasing monetary profit is bad, and preach a host of other 'good' sounding platitudes. And are hypocritical about each and every one - with the exception that women are always, and i mean always, strong, funny and smart and are always, and i mean always, the sexual aggressor in pursuing a relationship. But that is a matter for a future discussion.
Set Bookmark
David Kinard
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Lorca is from an alternate universe where starfleet lost the war. If uou look closely, he interrupts the "last jump"-he presses "Lorca override on the arm panel of the chair just before the last jump goes wrong, something Jammer seemed to midd- but he is genuinely surprised by where they wound up. He was trying to get the cloaking knowledge to save his universe. Think about his backstory. He was the supposed only survivor and destroyed his own ship. Nope. The Lorca from this universe died and he inserted himsekf in a place where he could take this lorca's plae. It makes Lorca's behavior make so much sense. Rven the subtle con to make Stamtes think the jump was his idea. He's always known more about the spore drive then he let on, because he got it to work in his own universe, but it was too late. That's the reson he's so protective of Burnham and why he arranged to have her come aboard. We don't know EXACTLY why- but somethings up there. Stanmets, in the preview says "you knew this would happen" to lorca. But notice stamets eyes. Reminescent of "Where no man has gone before" Gary Decler.

Lyrell or whatever found a way to transfer Voq'a "katra" into Tyler. When she was havingt sex with him, it was really with Vog. This is what Lyrell meant by soon- son he will be reunited with his original body. Maybe she forced a vulcan to do a katra transfer. There's nothing we've seen that said that a katra can only come from a Vulcan.

The planet with the living ecosystem is connected to the spore network somehow.

I also would bet the discovery was thrown of course by Stamets who realized what Lorca as trying to do, and it is now in the Mirror Universe, where the Terran Empire is fighting nd beating the Klingons to become the dominat power in the alpha quadrant.

Note: None of these are actual spoilers, just my guesses.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Wed, Jul 26, 2017, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I just finished DS9 for the first time ever. I've been a big Star Trek fan forever, but never watched any DS9. Boy was that a mistake. Although it did allow for my girlfriend and I to watch it together, neither of us knowing what would happen next. We have been binge-watching every single one of the 729 episodes and movies of Star Trek in chronological order in preparation for Star Trek: Discovery. We have loved DS9 for the past few months we've been watching, and were quite sad as it approached its end. We were both bawling at the end of What You Leave Behind. I agree with many of the aforementioned flaws (Damar's quick death, Dukat's possession, Bajor not joining the Federation, no Jadzia, etc.), but I still thought it was a great end to a great show.

That is to say, however, that I am wrecked by Sisko's disappearance. The man just got married and heard he was having a baby, and then he's gone for "Maybe a year. Maybe yesterday." That didn't do it for me, so I looked up to see what the inevitable novel or comic book said happened next. I was pleased to see that in the relaunch novels, he returned from the Celestial Temple on the day his daughter was born. I was kinda furthered saddened though to see that his life wasn't that great after the Prophets, and he wanted to divorce Kasidy to keep her safe, and with his new command he was very short and distant with his crew and all this. I guess eventually it turned out alright though.
But then I saw the Star Trek Online continuty. Up till now, I have considered STO canon. It is a perfect post-Nemesis storyline that I couldn't have asked for better if I tried. Or it was...
Apparently it is alluded to that Sisko is STILL with the Prophets, 34 years later?! Wth! I understand that neither the novels or Star Trek Online are canon, but STO seems to be as close as it comes. And this "ending" to one of my favourite characters makes me very sad, and I've been distraught all day. :p Why wouldn't STO tie up this very loose thread??

Although I would like to say - I'm so glad I stumbled upon this page, and it is SO cool to see a review for the episode from when it came out in freaking 1999, and there are still people commenting on it (before this comment) as recent as yesterday. Such a testament to how great Deep Space Nine was, and forever will be. Here's to hoping Star Trek Discovery is even half as good.
Set Bookmark
Ahmed Khan
Mon, Aug 22, 2016, 3:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Also Croden said he murdered several people on his homeworld in graphic detail. It really shouldn't matter to Odo that he did it to protect his daughter.

Also that Miradorn ship was destroyed in the vortex? So everyone on board died? No one went back to check to see if they were OK? I know it's their own fault, but no one actually had proof they committed any crimes (aside from trying to destroy a Federation ship to avenge someone's murder).

Why should Croden get off scott-free after he murdered someone like that?
Set Bookmark
Ahmed Khan
Mon, Aug 22, 2016, 3:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Croden murders someone after attempting to steal something. Never made clear why he's stealing it, but I suppose he needs money to go back for his daughter and to start a new life elsewhere.

I know it's nice that Odo overcame his principles and let the poor man and his daughter escape, but come on, he didn't even question the guy's backstory even after Croden repeatedly lied to everyone. Croden claims that his homeworld unjustly murdered his family but no one actually verifies any of this. Sisko and Dax also just talk to the first person that contacts them back from Croden's homeworld and just assume he actually has actual authority.
Set Bookmark
Braga raped and killed a girl named Trek
Thu, May 23, 2013, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

This crap spackle is but one ingredient in the comfort food for smooth brains that is Voyager. Eat up, fatties.
Set Bookmark
Roland K
Sun, May 31, 2009, 1:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Daniel,

Jammer gave the movie three stars out of four. Three out of four. Don't you think you're being excessive? You're taking it way out of proportion. I think you're coming down on Jammer a lot harder than he supposedly came down on this movie.
Set Bookmark
David Key
Sat, Mar 7, 2009, 5:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

This episode isn't bad. It isn't horrible, or bullshit, or ignorant, or misguided. No, none of these adjectives go far enough to describe Dear Doctor. In fact, I can only think of one that fits.

This episode is evil.

There is no question about this: Captain Jonathan Archer and Doctor Phlox, by their inaction, are complicit in the genocide of an entire species. This is not a statement of opinion, this is a fact.

Not only that, but their justification for murdering the Valakians is not a single iota different from ANY philosophy that has been used to justify the termination of a large group of people in history. We're talking about killing millions of people solely because it will benefit a different group of people. This is unequivocally evil.

Phlox: I'm saying we let nature decide.

This is supposed to be the voice of scientific reason? Nature is not an entity capable of making choices. For that matter, evolution is not a higher power that has a plan for all creatures. It is not Allah, Jehovah, Zeus, or the one true Cylon God. Nature simply is. It is simply a process, and to elevate that process into almost a divine plan that must not be interfered with is to descend wholly into insanity.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.