Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 55 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom
"Or, it could just be that the writers room was apparently such a mess that the show runners got fired."

Jeez. Reminds me of all the nasty stuff that went on in the TOS and TNG writing rooms. This seems to happen on almost all of the Trek shows - verbal abuse, infighting, showrunners quitting/getting sacked, etc. I'm not excusing their behavior, just pointing out that it unfortunately seems to be very common for a Trek show.

Now I'm not super enthused about Kurtzman taking over, but Akiva Goldsman's departure should be an actual plus for the show. I kept feeling like there were way too many cooks in the kitchen during Season 1, so this news about a staff restructure strikes me as a good thing.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

Oh man, the friggen Pakleds.... these guys are ridiculous. The concept behind them is sort of OK - they are essentially thieves who "seem" dumb, but are much more cunning beneath the surface. They reappeared again for a memorable part in the FMV Klingon video game that came out in the 90's.

Ha, I honestly enjoyed watching this episode, despite it's glaring holes/flaws.

For instance, why did they only send over Geordi to fix their ship? There's around 1000 people on the Enterprise and they send ONE guy to help resolve their issues? Worf rightly points out - "Sir, do we really need to send over our chief engineer to help with this simple issue?" and he is quickly hand waved off by Riker. Sigh. Just goes to show that the writer himself clearly knew this was shoddy writing.

And Picard travels all the way to a starbase for his cardiac surgery, but then when something goes wrong, nobody there is trained to handle it? Whaaaaatttttt....?? "We need to go help the captain!" Troi yells to Riker on the bridge. lol Just wow, this part really rubbed me the wrong way. So absurd.

Regardless of those cons, I really enjoyed the Wesley/Picard scenes - they serve as a good stepping stone for their growing relationship and it's great that Picard's Nausicaan story is revisited in "Tapestry".

2.5 stars is generous for this episode, it really feels more like a 2 at times, but it's a pretty watchable 2 star episode in my book.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Skorch

Oh I agree that Omicron doesn't have to leave, but would it kill him to get off his high horse and not finger wag at Jammer over his own poor behavior? He's never going to actually watch the show, so he should stick to discussion threads for shows that he does watch. Yes, it is that simple.

I also agree with you that this detour into right/left politics is grossly unnecessary, especially in today's climate.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Trent
"Jammer gave low scores to most of the episodes."

2.5-3.5 on most of the episodes isn't low scoring....

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Man, you're blowing this way out of proportion. Jammer's response was both earnest and spot on. It didn't need your lengthy post on how *you think* he's in the wrong (he's not, btw).

And hey, "nice job" slamming his website in the process... talk about ungrateful. You're asking Jammer to "get to work", but you're not even self-aware about how disrespectful you are in these threads. Unreal.

Get over yourself and move on already.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Currently in the middle of a TNG rewatch and I just watched this one again the other night. Now I remember disliking it when I first saw it 10-12 years ago, but you know what, it was OK. TNG has done far worse in it's time, especially in the early seasons.

I enjoyed the focus on Pulaski (a character that I hated when I was younger, but kind of appreciate now) and her clashes with Picard. Even after these past couple episodes, he still doesn't have a handle on this new CMO replacement, which was a nice touch.

And it's probably the DS9 fan in me, but I loved that this was the first episode to fully feature O'Brien. Not only do they finally give him an actual rank, but he gets his name and a part of the story in this episode. It's about damn time.

Yes, the episode's solution where the transporter is treated like a magical DNA fixing device is a bit irksome, but it's not that egregious in the grand scheme of things.

A generous 2.5 stars from me. It's certainly better than the cringeworthy "Deadly Years".
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

There's a theory floating around that the "real" Lorca went down with his ship, the USS Buran, and that the Mirror Lorca replaced him soon after that happened.

People have also been noting that one of the scars on Lorca's back from "Lethe" resembles an agonizer - which was something that I personally didn't notice when I watched that episode.

And then, of course, his override on the jump coordinates ("Let's go home.")...

I have always enjoyed the Mirror Universe, so I'm excited to see where this all goes.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Jammer (and others) had already voiced their disapproval for your behavior on the Discovery threads, so don't act surprised. People took issue with what you were doing, but you've insisted on continuing said behavior on multiple threads. No reason to make a scene about it, especially when you are the one refusing to listen to other people's protests.

I don't think you need to "leave" the website over it, but whatever, it's your call.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@karatasiospa
"Exactly. but DISC doesn't do that. Doing a science fiction war drama is nothing new. From DS9 to Babylon 5 to BSG it has been done many times. Has DISC added something new to this concept ? I can't see anything ."

Bold claim. Correct me if I'm wrong, but have we ever seen a main crew member who is a "prey species" have to deal with wartime situations? A character that has to come to terms with their own evolutionary instincts in the face of conflict and war? Pretty sure that has never been done on Trek before.

Have we ever seen a main character struggle with the ramifications of genetic engineering - done for the purpose of turning a device originally meant for exploration into a weapon of war? Again, seems like new territory for this franchise.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I think people who are thinking Discovery will now transition into an alternate universe exploration show are getting ahead of themselves. We are likely in for a Mirror Universe arc that will be resolved within an episode or two (or perhaps the entire second part of the season).

If the writers use the MU as some sort of opportunity to explain the inconsistencies with Disco, then wow, that would be... bold.

I also don't buy the theory that Lorca is a Captain from the Terran Empire. As others pointed out, he seems too stable to fit in with those guys. Nor do I think for a second that he's Garth of Izar (LORD Garth). Section 31, though? Sure.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
"Oh, and you know what's the funniest thing here is? That the Orville, which is basically a Trek clone, feels a million times fresher and braver and more original than Discovery."

Omicron, I'm not sure why you feel the need to turn this discussion into yet another Orville vs Discovery debate. Does it help validate your own opinion/viewing habits? Better question: Have you even watched Discovery yet?
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I will agree with what is being said by quite a few of you: this is easily the best episode that Discovery has delivered so far.

It was a tense and satisfying wrap-up to a lot of what Discovery has set up and a promise of something much more. Is this their easy way out when it comes to the continuity issues...? Or is it Starfleet's first look into the Mirror Universe? Maybe both??

It was a shame to see Kol go out with his ship - he's easily been the most effective Klingon character on this show. The universal translator was a welcome addition - get those subtitles out of here! And tying Kol and Burnham's fight to Captain Georgiou provided a rather convenient full circle for Burnham's character. Good stuff.

"I won't let them hurt you." - Yeahhh. Ash is Voq, make no bones about it. Hopefully they'll put that out in the open next episode instead of continuing to string us along. That would be my preference.

I'm happy that the (mostly) lackluster Klingon War is being wrapped up and I'm really interested to see where the show goes next with it's second half. Kudos to the Discovery team for sending the show off on a satisfying note.

3.5 stars on the Jammer scale.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

This episode was a mixed bag, featuring multiple elements that were often times vague and confusing. None of these threads ultimately come together by the end... but maybe that was the point. Considering that this is essentially the first part of the mid-season finale, this episode might look better in hindsight... but as it stands now? Eh.

I appreciated that the series is finally focusing more on Saru, but the episode was very wishy washy towards his connection with the "spore aliens who are not the same spores as the spore drive". It played it off as if Saru had been infected or taken over in some way, but this turned out to be... false... this was to the episode's detriment, imo. If this is what Saru becomes when he is "alleviated" of his instinctual fears, then he shouldn't even be in Starfleet. Why did they accelerate Ash and Burnham's relationship in such a short time? Maybe this points to a possible Voq revelation in the next episode....

The progression of the Stamets storyline was welcome (Captain Tilly? Mirror Universe or potentially seeing into the future?), but way too brief.

The Klingon storyline this episode? It was... fine, I guess. Certainly better than what we got in the first two + "Butcher's Knife". Kol is effective as a Klingon villain, plus he has the most Klingon outfit out of any of them. The episode leaves L'Rell and Cornwell's fate up in the air... with how the scenes played out, I do not think the admiral is actually dead. Kind of messy on the execution, but not nearly as dull as the previous Klingon heavy episodes.

This episode is far too bulky and (for whatever reason) it has a shorter runtime. It tried to do a lot with LESS time than previous episodes. Why was it shorter than the others? Did they cut scenes out and then felt like adding any of them back in would add nothing to the episode? It definitely felt like it was missing something when it came to... all of it's story-lines. Kind of jarring.

Leaning towards a 2 star for this one, it left me feeling sort of bewildered and unsatisfied. The writers attempted to move multiple pieces at once, without providing much in the way of compelling material. Considering how much fun the standalone episode was last week, Disco should probably drop this war arc ASAP and stick to standard Trek-style episodes.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Man, that was a fun episode.... and I'm surprised to say that considering it's from two former writers who worked on Heroes (sigh). Kudos to those two for doing much better work here than with what they did on "Butcher's Knife".

Stamets has come a long way in a short time. I felt like I hated the character when he was introduced back in "Context". Now? He's probably my favorite character. Crazy.

I cannot believe that Tyler is Voq at this point... he's TOO good. The little "hints" they are dropping about him are misdirections... I mean, they have to be, right? Maybe he is a brain wiped sleeper agent, but there is no way that he is simply Voq "posing" as a human.

I agree with Jammer that Mudd is played well in this episode - but why did he have to be Mudd? His behavior in this particular episode doesn't exactly mesh with what we see from him in TOS. They at least somewhat justified Sarek's inclusion after last week's episode, but Mudd didn't need to be Mudd in this series. That said - It's not totally outside the realm of plausibility that this crazy guy goes on to be the tamer TOS Mudd.... I'm sure people can reason it out with their own "head canon" or whatever.

3 stars sounds right for this one. Best episode yet.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 1:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Startrekwatcher
"Still think they should have done a TNG revival like the ones being done for X Files, Roseanne Will and Grace.

Do maybe ten episodes. Recreate the TNG ENT-D and bridge get the cast onboard for the revival and get thevwriters from TNG like Brannon Braga, Ron Moore, Melinda Snodgrass, and two or so new writers and do that rather than DIS. Plus this year marked the show’s 30th anniversary. Would have been better than this"

Unfortunately that kind of opportunity has sailed... all of the TNG cast is in their 60's and 70's at this point. A revival in the ways that you're describing would be kind of sad to watch.

I'm very much all for bringing Ronald D. Moore or Ira Behr back into the franchise, though. They love TOS, so they would have been a perfect fit for Discovery's premise... but I think they're busy working on a show called Outlander.

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"One can be a fan of this show while still admitting to the fact that it *is* a dumbed down mainstreamized version of Trek and accept the fact that some people just can't bring themselves to enjoy this kind of thing."

Uhm, alright, nice "facts". So... you got upset when I said Orville's pilot felt like "bad popcorn entertainment" *to me*, but you're here in a Discovery thread making much more insulting comments like this one? Haven't you said that you're not even watching the episodes?? If that's true, that makes this kind of behavior even worse.

Please stop disrespecting the people who are enjoying the show. As Jason already pointed out to you, you're off the mark on the "dumbed down" part and you're just insulting people in the process.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Fri, Oct 27, 2017, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

Happy to report that this episode got a nice uptick in it's initial ratings - even shooting up past what "About a Girl" got. Kind of impressive, so I would say a Season 2 pick up is looking much more likely at this rate.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@Startrekwatcher
"Personally Voy and ENT are light years ahead of DIS. There were at least some actors and characters you cared about on VOY/ENT—not on DIS. And unlike DIS, the other two spin-offs felt like Trek. And as middling as VOY/ENT writing was they had a stronger start than DIS"

Err... that's not really a fair comparison at this point. You're comparing 7/4 years of two television shows that both had very rough starts against only 6 episodes of Discovery. It's like saying "DS9 is better than Discovery". Well, yeah it is, but DS9 had a fairly rough first season and it took a couple seasons to really get going... comparing a *long running* Trek show to a Trek show that has barely started is kind of nonsense.

To bring it down to Discovery's level, you have to look over the first six episodes of Enterprise/Voyager:
Broken Bow + several average-bad episodes, nothing that rises above a 2.5 at this point and it had several clunkers (pregnant Trip episode? Hmm.).
Caretaker (ugh) + several average-bad episodes + "Eye of the Needle" (first above average VOY episode?).

I would say that even with it's various flaws/issues, Discovery is off to a better and more interesting start than both Enterprise and Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Honestly, this was the best episode yet. Sure it had a few issues, but it was the most "Star Trek" episode yet (thanks Joe Menosky?) and I find that the characters are working very well at this point. All the pieces are finally on the table and every scene largely worked for me. I would say it was solid, but not great.

The holodeck they are using does not seem very sophisticated, it seems more like a prototype that is simply used for military training exercises - nowhere near the level of TNG's holodeck capabilities. I can buy it's inclusion. People can use it as yet another reason to get outraged, but I can accept this minor "retcon" and move on with life.

The Tilly/Tyler/Michael scenes were great, these three work well together. I thought the last scene with Tyler/Michael - "I guess it's called... being human." - was a nice development for both Michael and their new friendship.

This is also the episode where Lorca is at his weakest as he has to confront what he has done up to this point with the Admiral. Finally Lorca has to answer to someone when it comes to his methods, this was what I was hoping to see in future episodes - though it looks doubtful as to him actually being properly punished for his actions (thanks Klingons).

The Sarek/Michael revelation was good and it really drive home the idea that Sarek has secretly felt like a failure on two different fronts when it comes to his "family" - hence why he constantly pushes away both Spock and Michael.

Also worth noting that Joe Menosky always seems to love having weird spiritual/metaphysical elements in a lot of his stories - "The Fight", "Cathexis", "Dramatis Personae", "Distant Voices" and now this katra-focused episode.

Not understanding the detractors on this one, it wasn't close to being the mess that "Butcher's Knife" was, nor did it have the plot issues of some of the other previous episodes. Are people getting hung up about the idea that Vulcan culture has logical extremists within it? That is not a crazy idea at all.... this radical part of their culture has already been presented throughout both Enterprise and TNG.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Wed, Oct 18, 2017, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

I mostly enjoyed this episode, despite it's glaring faults and potential "plotholes". It was certainly better than what we got in "The Butcher's Knife".

Couple Things:

- The characters are getting better every episode. While I initially wasn't crazy about Stamets and Tilly, they have really grown on me with each passing episode. Michael and Saru make good progress at the end of the episode when she gives him Georgiu's telescope. The series is continuing to improve in this regard.

- Harry Mudd. Better than I expected him to be, with nice little touches to various details regarding the character. But much like Sarek, it begs the question - Why re-purpose this TOS character and needlessly insert him into Discovery? He could be a totally new character and still be effective.

- Plotholes galore? Maybe Ash Tyler really is Voq... it's the only way L'Rell's presence makes any damn sense in this episode. I've seen theories that maybe the Starfleet guy who got stomped out by the Klingon was the real Ash Tyler. Will Lorca's Tribble give Ash away? This is all potentially cool/interesting if they follow through with this theory. Otherwise, it's terrible/sloppy writing on their part. I keep getting the sense that this show has a "Too many cooks in the kitchen" issue going on with it's writing team.

- F-Bomb in a Star Trek show? It didn't need to be there, but of course it's causing a lot of needless outrage from the fans. Silly stuff all around.

- I like the twist ending. Is the implication that Stamets (or his mind) has crossed into something that is beyond him? Is the mirror universe involved in some way (hence the mirror)?? Intriguing.

- Klingons speaking English! Yes! Can we just keep it this way? I didn't like the "redesigns" for the Klingon ships, but the new Klingon disruptors (complete with bayonets) were a neat addition.

Some good moments, some frustrating moments... guess we'll see how (or if) all of these pieces play out in a way that makes sense. 2.5 from me.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 12:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Sigh. The Klingon storyline is going to drag this show into the ground. It has become complete and utter nonsense at this point. We're supposed to believe that their flagship has been drifting off into the graveyard from ep. 2 for 6 months without ANYONE (Klingons, Feds, etc.) doing anything about it.

They rescued the crew from the Shinzhou and everything and just... left the Klingon ship alone? Ridiculous.

The Klingon scenes are unfortunately so tiresome at this point... let them speak English, please! I loved TOS/TNG Klingons because you could have people like Gowron, Martok, Kor, etc. put some real weight and power into their performance. Those performances weren't restricted by the mumbling nature of a fictional language and weird makeup. Such a waste.

The Discovery rescues the miners and then leaves? They don't provide any sort of relief for these people? Jeez...

I enjoy what they're doing with the spore drive and the revelations about the creature felt very in line with Star Trek, so those are some positives about this one.

I thought Saru and Michael were in a good place after last week's episode, but now they're back to this weird conflict that doesn't exactly mesh with what we've seen up to this point.

I feel like they were on the right track with last week's episode, but this one was a major step down in quality. Doesn't help that it was apparently written by some awful writers that worked on Heroes, a show that unfortunately descended into mediocre absurdity.

2 stars for this one.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Sun, Oct 8, 2017, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

"It's not a "severe downward trend"... yet. Going from 4.0 to 3.7 to 3.4 is not what I'd call a free fall, and three episodes are hardly enough to establish "a trend"."

Hmm maybe, however: 8.56 -> 6.63 -> 4.05 -> 3.7 ->3.43. Not rising or stabilizing at all, they've only been going down. Losing more than half of the people who saw the premiere is a bad sign. Low ratings for an expensive Sci-Fi show (with expensive guest stars) that airs on FOX... going by this network's track record, Orville fans should be getting a little bit worried.

FOX's profitable relationship with Seth will be the one thing that saves this show if the numbers continue to drop like this. I hope it gets better numbers soon, because I would like to see this show continue to grow/improve.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@XanderW.

"I hope that other people can enjoy this show -- from the comments here it seems
like plenty do -- but for the first time in my life I just do not want to watch
another episode of Star Trek. And that makes me really sad."

Look on the bright side - there's already over 700 episodes of Star Trek out there for you to go back and watch. I just watched all of Enterprise for the first time this past year and actually enjoyed it way more than I thought I would. If Discovery isn't working for you, then maybe go back through and see what else you've missed within the franchise.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Out of curiosity, I checked out the ratings for this episode and the previous one. Yikes. I feel bad for the people who are big fans of this show, because it's currently on a severe downward trend in terms of ratings. Almost Human (another expensive sci-fi show) had better ratings than Orville and it was cancelled by FOX.

It's a real bummer, because I feel like Orville has been getting better since it's terrible premiere episode. It still shamelessly reuses storylines and concepts from Trek, but I'll gladly take those efforts over what we saw in the pilot.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Mark

Uh.... you probably shouldn't post spoilers about an unrelated TV show in order to get your point across. Just sayin'.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

This episode was much better than the first two, largely making me echo what some others have been saying: "Why even bother with the first two episodes?" The "Previously on" sums up everything a person needed to know about the two-part premiere. What a shame. That being said, there's definitely some good things and some not so good things to say about this one.

Discovery has itself a uh, interesting crew of main characters:

Burnham - Better in this episode, I actually felt some sympathy for her character when compared to the last two episodes. I thought it was a nice touch for her to show remorse and a need to serve her sentence, but also be unable to suppress her scientific curiosity in regards to the Discovery and it's experiments. I like her a little bit more after the frustrating actions that she took in the last two episodes.

Lorca - What a strange captain. He comes across as a potentially dangerous man who has far too much power in his hands. "The ends justifies the means" sort of thing. I really like his setup in this episode. I think he could become great in the same ways that Dukat was - the guy who thinks he's the hero of his own story. Lots of potential here!

Saru - I liked the way he was handled this episode. At the beginning, he gives into his natural instincts in regards to Burnham and basically says "You are a person to fear, leave ASAP" - then after she proves herself to be an asset to the crew, he softens his stance towards her. It also helps that they served together for 7 years. I liked that they came to some sort of understanding by the end of the episode, I would've kinda hated to see their friction over the premiere play itself out for most of the season.

Tilly - They made a character that is somehow more awkward than Barclay? Oh boy... sometimes vaguely interesting, sometimes not. Not a whole lot to her at the moment.

Stamets - Wow. Might end up becoming the most unlikable character on the show if he keeps up with his unjustified arrogance. Nothing necessarily worthwhile about his character at the moment, though his friendship with the person aboard the other ship was a nice touch.

I believe that there is still one other main character that we still haven't been introduced to yet.

Some negatives:
- The opening on the shuttlecraft was awkward and didn't make much sense. One lone officer on a shuttle overseeing four prisoners? Yeah, okay.
- The prisoners then try to "kill" Michael in the mess hall and the security officers stand by and watch it play out for a little bit. Yikes... not the kind of Starfleet that I grew up with....

For this episode, I might lean towards a 3 on the Jammer scale, mainly because of Lorca/Isaacs. I'll sit on it for a little bit. In retrospect, I overrated "Battle at the Binary Stars"... that episode is so frustrating and kind of poor compared to this one. This episode probably should've been the pilot... oh well, too late now.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Great review as always, Jammer, even though I don't necessarily agree with the overall rating. After seeing both of the episodes, I would give both parts a 2.5/4 on your rating scale. It was an average start to a show that could turn out to be worthwhile... or maybe not. Too soon to tell, especially considering that this was a pilot without most of it's main cast.

More of my thoughts on the "two part premiere":
"Oh, come on..." were the words I uttered when Michael intentionally shot T'Kuvma on a kill setting. It was YOUR plan to capture him... you did the exact thing that you were trying to avoid... very logical. Clearly all of those Vulcan lessons had no impact on her as she grew up. It's hard to gather sympathy for a character that is so utterly reckless.

So yeah - Michael is the most frustrating central character that this franchise has ever set upon us. I get the feeling that this is intentional. With her being dishonorably stripped of rank, she is clearly being set up for some sort of redemptive story arc throughout this season. I hope I come out liking her by the end of it, because right now? Not so much.

Somebody pointed out that a "Vulcan Hello" that involves blowing up Klingon ships seemed very un-Vulcan and I would agree. The writers should've written it as them "disabling" Klingon ships. Their ships are more advanced that Klingon ships, so it wouldn't be hard for them to do so. Fixed it.... come on, writers.

The Sarek/Michael katra thing doesn't seem that far-fetched considering they did something similar with Trip/T'Pol on Enterprise. Also, a katra was "carried" and used to resurrect a whole person in Search for Spock. So, that part didn't bother me, because it seemed in line with the crazy mystical ways that they've used it in the past.

Looking forward to seeing if this show actually lives up to it's namesake. If not, there's always 700+ episodes to go back and enjoy instead.
Set Bookmark
Cosmic
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 4:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Sorry Del_Duio, I saw your post about 2nd episoder spoilers after I had already posted. My 2nd episode spoilers are light and vague, if that helps. I also included a warning.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.