Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Cory
Mon, Jul 12, 2021, 12:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Twilight

Agree very much with Jeffrey's Tube.

Though it is, surprisingly, my favorite and most re-watched of all the Star Trek series, I've recently felt that ENT would have been more successful as a 10 episode per season Netflix or Prime series. There's way too much filler in these seasons.

Also, both then and now, I've always felt Bakula seemed "out of place" as the Captain. He never seemed to have the "commanding presence" of a Kirk, PIcard, Sisko, or Janeway. Frankly, I often wonder if the guy who played Major Hayes or (as another reviewer astutely stated in his review of "The Andorian Incident") perhaps even Dominick Keating would've been better suited for the role. But I get it, they needed a big name to bring in the viewers. Still, Bakula seems like a very, very odd choice out of all the middle-aged actors around in the early '00s. Stephen Lang, Craig T. Nelson, Scott Glenn, or even Bill Pullman would've done well. But I digress.

The past comments about this episode do a great job, but one thing that stuck out when I watched it was the implied intimacy between Archer and T'Pol while she was his nurse. Having known a few women who worked in full time home healthcare, I'll just say such....occurrences...definitely DO happen between patients and nurses who know each other for years. I'm glad this episode had the courage to go there, even if it was just a few hints; more realistic that way.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Tue, Jul 6, 2021, 7:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

This episode, for some reason I cannot fathom, is the one that got me "hooked" on Enterprise when I watched it on TV during its original broadcast back in '02. Something about Lt. Reed's stoic, introverted personality made my 19 year-old self relate to him to such an extent that he became my "favorite" character. I even briefly considered joining the U.S. Navy and becoming an armory officer to follow in his footsteps (thank goodness I didn't go THAT far).

Watching it again today for the first time in almost 20 years, it isn't as good as I remember it, but it's still decent. Except now as a middle-aged man, when I watch Reed, I can't help but think: "This guy has the personality of a bowl of oatmeal. What about him was so relatable to my younger self? Did I truly have NO life back then?"

Still, a 3 star episode (mainly for the sentimental aspect).
Set Bookmark
Cory
Sun, Jun 13, 2021, 10:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Completely random, but something I noticed back in 2004 when this episode premiered and which has always bugged me:

When Phlox mentions how he's enhanced the neuro compound as much as possible, and recommends they stay no longer than 15 minutes, the shot focuses on a young extra in the background.

It's so blatant I was expecting her to have a line of dialogue, but she doesn't, even though it stays focused on her when they cut back to Phlox after T'Pol asks if he's ready to release the compound.

Was that an error on the camera operator's part that the editors missed, or was she a side character in some past episode that I skipped over? This mystery has bugged for 17+ years now...mainly because the extra is so dang GORGEOUS. lol. Maybe she was the camera operator's (or director's) paramour?

For those of you watching on Netflix, what I'm talking about happens around 13:30 (or, if it's easier for you to find, when there's 29:12 remaining). If anyone cares enough to look.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 12:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Regarding Nancy's comment from 2013 about Trip having a "hick accent" which somehow contradicts his being from Florida: I believe Trip said his family hails from the northern part of the state, more specifically the Panama City Beach area. As a Floridian, I can attest his accent is not out of place for the panhandle area.

Anyway, watching this again after 18 or so years, I'm going to agree with Jammer's rating. I will say Stephen McHattie gives a great guest performance as the psychopathic foreman; I found myself enthralled by his speaking and inflections. He was the highlight of the episode, in my opinion.

As for the T'Pol/Trip final scene...why exactly did she need Trip to practice on her first? I mean. I know they say why in the episode, but I'm talking about in terms of common sense, here. The last time I got a massage, I didn't need to practice on the masseuse first. And if I was reluctant to get one, giving one wouldn't have put me any more at ease.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Yank - RE: "Having the timeline of the show mixed up."

You think YOU had it bad? When I first heard of this show, I was a casual SW fan and all I kept hearing on social media was the craze about "Baby Yoda". So for the entire first season, *I* was convinced this was taking place 900 years before the events of the original trilogy.

I was like: "I wonder if any ancient Sith lords will show up. Hey! Gustavo Fring just cut his way out of that crashed ship with what looks like a light saber--maybe HE'S the Sith lord! I wonder who his master was--Darth Millennial, perhaps?--and who his apprentice will be! And where are all the Jedi?"

lol.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 10:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Prey

In my opinion, there was no debate. I understand the writers need to fill time and weave a moral allegory, but the issue should've been resolved by stating one simple fact:
That individual 8472 member entered our galaxy as part of a military force, a force which also attacked Voyager.

I'm guessing this episode is supposed to be some sort of vague analogy for U.S. POWs left behind after Vietnam. Well, at the risk of seeming unpatriotic, maybe don't send your military into someone else's territory in the first place if you don't want to suffer the ramifications of being left behind in a region that is no less than hostile toward you.

I'm no military strategist, but launching a counter-attack against an invading force on their own turf seems to imply your territorial defenses are sound. 8472 should have protected it's own "borders", which it was clearly more than capable of doing. The moment they chose to enter our galaxy, they were on borrowed time. This was nothing more than a "delayed combat fatality" in my eyes.

In short, 7 of 9 and the Candyman were right.
Set Bookmark
Cory C
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 5:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Exile

This episode was written by Phyllis Strong and directed by Roxann Dawson--both women. I can't help but wonder if there was some personal experience being put to paper/film here. Tarquin is TOO hateable to have been created out of thin air; someone REAL inspired this character.

I had not thought to connect this episode's theme with the real-world consequences of online dating. Very good catch, and more relevant today in 2021, given the rise of dating apps and social media, than it was when it first aired in 2003.

Today, everyone posts their whole daily lives online to an obscene degree and with often no concept of basic security such as creating unique usernames for each social media platform. This can lead even an...ahem...halfway decent amateur sleuth who knows his way around Google to learn a great deal about almost anyone based on only a first name and a city of residence...much like having Tarquinesque "psychic powers" would. But I digress.

Overall, the episode barely held my interest. It's only value (to me) was in the story lines that can connect to the modern world. I agree Tarquin is a weirdo/incel, and I found his attempts to make us empathize with him only made me despise him more. The confidence in his tone/demeanor when he confronts Hoshi with private information about when she almost left Enterprise early in its mission (and his attempts to connect her decision to stay on Enterprise with the situation he was placing her in) made me clench my jaw. Man, Strong/Dawson knew just what they were doing and who they were mocking with his character's flux between "socially awkward loner" and "overconfident stalker". Well done.

Ultimately, though, for all his powers, Tarquin's been exiled by his society and ends up as alone at the end as he was at the beginning. All he has are his memories of past "successes". A cautionary tale for basement-dwelling redditors and beta males everywhere.

It's always nice when the show holds up a mirror to the worst of their fan base. But will the fan base dare to take a good look?
Set Bookmark
Cory
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 11:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

All I have to say about this episode is: What was up with that away mission in the final act? Janeway, Chakotay, Tuvok, Paris AND Kim are needed to investigate the site of a massacre of civilians?! So who is left in charge if it turns out they're walking into an ambush and they all end up KIA? Captain Torres & acting Commander Seven of Nine?
Set Bookmark
Cory
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 9:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I wonder if this episode was partially inspired by the case of Russian serial murderer Andrei Chikatilo. Reportedly, after his arrest, he was interviewed for years by ONE psychologist, who (not surprisingly) later suffered a complete mental breakdown and lifelong PTSD. I've read it's part of the reason why psychologists who interview serial murderers are now routinely "switched out"--so they don't suffer damage to their own mental health by getting too involved with these individuals (similar to what happened with Tuvok).

Also, I like the subtle touch that Tuvok seems receptive to executing Suter (to the point of almost arguing for it) within hours of melding with the latter. Suder's psychosis clearly had an immediate impact. That's great writing!
Set Bookmark
Cory
Sun, May 17, 2020, 11:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Drone

This episode holds sentimental value for me because when it first premiered, I erroneously thought "Ensign" was a name and not a military rank. So when Chakotay was trying to reach "Ensign Mulchaey", I thought Chakotay was addressing the crew member by his full name.

I was not a smart 15 year old.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 3:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Also, one more thought I had about this episode:

I wonder if it serves to show us, the audience who are used to seeing the Enterprise crew behave "normally", what humans behaving "normally" look like to the stoic Vulcans. As I was watching the episode, I had a moment where I thought: "Wow, how I feel about the crew's behavior right now must be EXACTLY what Vulcans 'feel' when they interact with humans when we're supposedly at our best."

Maybe that's a little too layered for Enterprise's writing, but this episode definitely helped me empathize with why Vulcans regard us as they do.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Thu, Jun 13, 2019, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Did anyone else notice the sound that Reed selected as his "tactical alert", for all the crew's talk of how unbearable it was, is very similar to the sound Picard's Enterprise used for its own red alert?

"And if I have to listen to that alarm one more time, I'll have YOU taken out and shot!" -Archer, seizing Reed by the throat.

LOL.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 9:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I was an on-again, off-again ENT fan while the show's first season was originally airing, and I have to say THIS was the episode that convinced me to tune in every week. I thought it was cute, and I still love it 17 years later.

Dare I say, this episode is the main reason ENT holds more "sentimental value" to me than even TNG or VOY. I love the latter two shows and watched them fervently as a boy during the early '90s, but today I keep coming back and watching ENT almost every day--whereas some episodes of TNG and many episodes of VOY seem like drudgery to sit through a second time. Maybe I'm just a shallow viewer, or I'm losing my attention span as I grow older. But I digress.

The one MAJOR plot hole that my brain refuses to ignore is the setting. I've passed through towns like Carbon Creek and spent enough time in them to know there is NO WAY three individuals who are "new in town" would be able to keep such a low profile for so long. They would've been invited to dinner, church, sports events, etc. by half the families in town AT LEAST several times a week. To refuse and stay cloistered in their apartment would invite extreme suspicion--and, during the '50s, murmurs of espionage or illegal activity from the townsfolk.

Maybe the writers were trying to move in a different direction, but if you're going to make the scene a small American town and keep it believable, there are certain things you just CAN'T leave out. A more believable setting might've been a location that in the '50s was "out of the way", but still heavily populated enough for the Vulcans to interact with only a chosen few people as they did in this episode without being suspicious--Staten Island, NY comes to mind.

That minor gaffe aside, it still gets 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Cory
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 11:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

The only thing interesting about this episode--and the only think I'll comment on--is the trivia behind it.

Apparently Jeffrey Dean Morgan, who played the Xindi who always talks to Loomis from the shadows, nearly quit acting altogether because of his experience with Enterprise.

Morgan would go home every night on the verge of tears because of how "uncomfortable and suffocating" the costume he had to wear was (reportedly, as part of the mask, plastic tubes had to be inserted into his nostrils just so he could breathe). Good to know he stuck with the craft despite this terrible experience.

Morgan truly made the last few seasons of The Walking Dead great with his skill at playing Negan.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.