Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 56 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Connor
Mon, Apr 24, 2017, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

"The last scene also doesn't gel well at all with the first scene in ANH"

No it doesn't. If you go watch the start of Episode 4 after Rogue One, you'll find the ending of Rouge One makes no sense in every way conceivable.
Set Bookmark
Quinton O'Connor
Sat, Apr 15, 2017, 7:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I love that, after all these years, folks are still occasionally commenting in these threads. I love the near-certainty that this mostly-fluff comment I am presently typing will be read by someone else in 2022 and beyond. I love how damned enduring this site is, and I love that you've kept it going, Jammer. Many thanks for all the great memories.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sat, Apr 15, 2017, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

3 star episode in my opinion. Just a fun little campfire story. The ending was a little abrupt and lackluster, but I feel this is the first time the Borg children have been put to good use. Disagree with most of Jammer's review here.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 6:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I'm usually pretty easy-going on Voyager, and I definitely didn't hate this episode or anything, but I'm not understanding the love for it either. It was okay - Robert Picardo was indeed excellent - but the story wasn't exactly riveting. Nowhere near as good as "Pathfinder".
Set Bookmark
Connor
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

This was a really fun episode. Exceptionally dumb (not that that really matters), but just... fun. I echo the sentiments of everyone's love for the Tuvok impersonator as well. 3 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Apr 9, 2017, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

Great episode that really expanded on Tuvok's and Neelix's characters, easily worth three stars (maybe three and a half) in my opinion. My only disappointment is that Tuvok was indeed fixed at the end; it would have been cool if he remained how he was for at least a few episodes.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Thu, Apr 6, 2017, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

I was just disappointed that the last ten or so minutes devolved into an unexciting chase through Voyager's corridors again and again. Otherwise it was a pretty fun if frivolous episode.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Thu, Apr 6, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I think this episode is absolutely wonderful. When you have shows like Star Trek that are so optimistic (which is why I watch the show), a little tragedy seems all the more powerful. I can certainly respect why people might hate this episode so much, though - but as a standalone episode I think this episode is really strong and does something that no other Star Trek episode has done before.

In many respects it reminds me of Futurama's "Jurassic Bark", where Fry's dog dies after 12 wasted years of waiting for his master. It's a brutally sad episode and the ending comes out of nowhere and just leaves you feeling utterly desolate and miserable, and I respect it so much for doing that. Not that I could ever watch that episode again, mind you!
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Apr 2, 2017, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Never liked this episode. This is the first time I'm watching Voyager back-to-back, though I have seen a few episodes on TV before, this one included. I usually don't have a problem with Janeway when compared to the rest of the Internet/Trek fandom, but in this episode, she just comes across as a grade-A cunt in regards to her treatment of The Doctor prior to the ending. And comparing him to a replicator, really? I too thought we had long-ago come to the conclusion that he was a sentient being.

Without a fulfilling conclusion, this episode ultimately feels like an almost offensive waste of time. What sucks is that this episode had the makings of something great. Would probably give this half a star, just for the solid all-around acting.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Apr 2, 2017, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Loved this episode and I'm quite surprised there is so much criticism against it. I don't really buy the whole "Harry too easily making a hologram" argument, even when he's struggled to remake The Doctor before - technology has always been a means to an end in Star Trek, and I felt it set up the plot fine. Then again, I've always adored the Cardassians (such a great addition to the Trek universe) and I'm happy to see one featured so prominently in Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Always enjoy an episode of Voyager where Neelix doesn't come across as his usual insufferable, annoying self, and the child was really well cast (although I've never really had a lot of trouble with child-focused episodes of Star Trek). I'd probably rate this episode 3/4 stars myself.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

I thought it was very weird how, towards the end of the episode where B'Elanna needs to fix the microfracture in the Delta Flyer, the rest of the crew (Seven of Nine, Tom, and Harry) just don't seem to react at all. Like, what was their plan once they got the probe? How would they have survived if Chakotay had come along instead of B'Elanna? I know this is kind of typical on Voyager but in this episode it really, really bugged me how she's desperately putting together some kind of forcefield to save all their lives and everyone else is just staring at their consoles without a care in the world.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Wed, Mar 29, 2017, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Not a great episode, but I too think it's worth more than half a star. I like how the events of this episode are continued in "Course: Oblivion", which I recall being quite dark when I saw it on TV maybe a decade ago. I'm looking forward to watching that again when I get up to it and seeing if it's as good as I remember.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Tue, Mar 14, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Best episode of Voyager so far. Loved how the first part of the episode followed the aliens from their perspective, and Chakotay handled the last part of the episode very well.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Mar 12, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I have to agree with mephyve here - while I can't argue any of the criticism this episode has wrought, I still enjoyed it. It was silly and dumb, but it didn't offend me and on some absurd base level for some reason I found it slightly entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Chiming in with the rest of the supporters of this episode - I really enjoyed it, especially after the abysmal previous episode. Those giant virus-bugs were nightmare fuel stuff!
Set Bookmark
Connor
Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

What a rubbish, rubbish episode. I guess I liked the civil war sets, but that's about the only good thing I can say about this. Pretty aimless plot, uninteresting dialogue, and you just know everyone's gonna end up where they all started by the end of the episode. This honestly has to be my least favourite episode of Voyager so far - at least Threshold had Paris puking up his own tongue and had a "so bad it's good" kinda vibe; this was just so, so boring.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Wed, Jan 25, 2017, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

I thought this episode was excellent. Very reminiscent of the DS9 season 3 finale "The Adversary", where the Defiant crew also descend into paranoia when a Changeling takes their form. I especially liked the brief showdown on the bridge, and seeing Tuvok take everyone down with a wide-beam phaser (would have liked to see that setting used more often!). Honestly don't understand all the criticism this episode is getting, even though I don't usually rate Voyager that highly myself.

Probably my favourite Voyager episode so far; this or "Eye of the Needle".
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Wait, this isn't Enterprise, this is Islam.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 29, 2015, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fortunate Son

Hey, a currently-ongoing Enterprise episode discussion! I don't have anything to add, but dammit, it's nice to see.

Rewatching this one momentarily.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 22, 2015, 1:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

1989-2005 for no Doctor Who episodes on television... the Trek version would be 2005-2021. I can live with that. I can live with six more years without weekly Trek.

I don't want to live with it, but I can!
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Wed, Apr 22, 2015, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

Some of these comments leave me baffled.
Set Bookmark
Jeff O'Connor
Fri, Jul 27, 2012, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Well, I guess they were saving the pregnancy for later... er. Yes. That's right. Or something.

Anyway, I just watched this one for the first time since it premiered, and oh my goodness, I agree with this review regarding Janeway's cheesy-arse line. She had a lot of them this season, didn't she?
Set Bookmark
Connor
Wed, May 23, 2012, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Awful. It's this kind of pointless padding that bogged down season 6 after the fantastic occupation arc at the beginning.
Set Bookmark
Connor
Mon, May 14, 2012, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I Really enjoyed this episode as well. O'Brien looking after Bilby's cat was a nice little tribute to him.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.