Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15 (Showing 1-15)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Colin
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I liked the episode, but found Colm Meaney's performance too flat. He had a mutiny and 4 crewmen killed under his command. Yet he doesn't really have a reaction besides "we'll kill Garak if we have to". O'Brien isn't in charge that often, I think the show missed a big chance to explore a very bad day for O'Brien. I think the episode would have been stronger if we'd seen his report to Sisko, instead of his weak tea visit to the infirmary at the end.
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Fri, Oct 3, 2014, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

A watchable episode, rasing pertinent questions about designer babies. I was disappointed that Torres was not disciplined for altering the Docs programm, but I loved the Docs reaction when she asks him to be the godfather. With a name like Picardo, was there any real choice?
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Tue, Sep 30, 2014, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

An excellent episode, drawing heavily on themes first raised by Bladerunner. Many good scenes and some excellent dialogue. A thought provoking episode. I especially liked Janeways sense of guilt at letting the Hirogen have the technology in the first place. And the doctors gradual awareness that life with these holograms may not be as good as he fisrt thought.
Colin
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Fri, Sep 26, 2014, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

I really enjoyed this episode. Jeri Ryan gives a virtuoso performance. She and Bob Picardo are 2 fine professionals and they work so well together.
Colin
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Sun, Sep 14, 2014, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I reaaly enjoyed this episode, It confirms my opinion the Robert Picardo is by far the besr actor ever to wear a Star Fleet uniform. If only the rest of the cast could match this high standard of acting. The only one who can even come close to his level is 7 and their scenes are dekightful to watch.
Colin
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Mon, Jun 23, 2014, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

An excellent episode. This is really what Star Trek should be about. To see a planet evolving like this is inspired SF. There was enough here for a 2 parter, not least to find out about the Doctors children.
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

An excellent episode. The scenes between Ryan and Picardo are wonderful. Ryan's flat and toneless delivery of her lines is very funny as are the doctor's pained responses. And the way she uses her eyes is a model example of how to use the body to act.
The gradual humanisation of Ryan should provide many more amusing moments.
Set Bookmark
colincostello
Sun, Jun 1, 2014, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

A disappointing episode. Not really in the Trek spirit. Well acted, but that is all I can say about it.
Colin
Set Bookmark
Colin
Thu, Jan 31, 2013, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

I really do like this series the best, and this was a fine season. That being said, a question. How did the Dominion lose in this episode? There was no need to defeat or even attack the Defiant while it attempted to finish the minefield. In fact, all the Dominion had to do was decimate the completely unprotected and still not yet activated minefield in the 40 minutes it had while the Defiant continued its work. It was inactive....and unguarded! And they had a fleet of vessels that were only occupied because they for some reason attacked the station instead of the inactive minefield. Anyone else notice this?
Set Bookmark
Cormacolinde
Mon, Dec 31, 2012, 2:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I love this episode, one of my favorites of TNG. The inspiration from The Crucible and the HUAC activites (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_Un-American_Activities_Committee) are obvious.

And Picard's speech clearly reminds me of Joseph Welch's "Have you at last no decency sir" speech at the Army hearings.
Set Bookmark
Cormacolinde
Tue, Dec 25, 2012, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I just rewatched this episode, and it is a classic - very good story, music and execution.

The plot has its problems, as do most episodes dealing with time travel.

Regarding the "mysticism" behind Guinan's hunches, I find it easier to accept than some other similar issues I've identified in my recent rewatching of the series. In the end, I conclude that Star Trek, TNG at the very least, is not Science-Fiction. It's Fantasy. It occurs in the future instead of the past, like other science fiction shows, but its mechanics are more akin to pseudoscientific fantasy mumbo-jumbo than more serious Science-Fiction.

Take as an example the workings of the sensors. They can scan ships going at warp speed that are light-years distant? In seconds? Not only does this make no sense in a relativistic Universe, it's not even self-consistent!

And Troi's "empathy" isn't more believable either, she might as well have magic powers! She can feel a person's emotions over light-years or in front of her at the same speed? How does that work exactly?

So I take it as fantasy and enjoy the show.
Set Bookmark
Colin
Thu, Apr 9, 2009, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Adrian,

Would you kindly grant us those who have a differing opinion to yours the simple acknowledgment that interpretation of the finale is entirely up to the individual? It did not 'end the way it should have', it just ended. The 'Should Have' part is entirely up to each viewer to decide.

Personally, I found that the show's conclusion philosophically did not mesh at all with how I had interpreted the show before the finale. It was an utter disconnect. The writers seemed to focus so myopically on the 'Mitochondrial Eve' aspect of Hera that the final act collapsed around its ears. It shoehorned the characters into seemingly irrational decisions designed to serve that conclusion, stunting them, and ultimately destroying their validity.

Aside of that, this has been one of the best shows I have had the privilege to watch.

Of course, this is all just my opinion. Just don't ask me to 'get over it' and I won't ask you to get over yours.
Set Bookmark
Colin
Mon, Mar 30, 2009, 2:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

This post is originally attributed to 'Punchface' on the Sci-fi forum, but I think it sums up the best of the critiques that I've yet read:

The technology is the main point for obvious reasons.

We all die. Our lives are things of greatness and beauty, or they are things of pettiness and ugliness. Regardless, we die. We are not here for long....

...but our works. The works of our hearts and minds, our knowledge, our wisdom, our artifice, these are things that shape the universe and are passed on from generation to generation.

In the absence of the divine taking an active hand in the the management of things, we are alone. We are "forlorn" as the existentialists would say. Because of it, we are the "measure of all things" as Da Vinci said.

With no god to love us or guide us (or with only Ron Moore's capricious and amoral God), we crawl forward slowly but surely. God will not secure goodness and righteousness in this universe and so, for goodness' sake, we must do so. God will not save our souls and so for the sake our souls, we must do so. God will not grant us heaven because there is no heaven and so heaven's sake, for OUR sake, we must make a heaven of this universe.

It is with our knowledge that we move toward the goals. We can not shoot lightening bolts out of our arses nor bring new life to that which is dead but we CAN use the works of our minds, hands, and hearts to create, to invent, to extend our dominion over this universe. We bring ourselves physical comfort and free ourselves from material need and want that we might spend our time becoming wiser or at least more content. We gather in cities that our ideas and communication and commerce might flourish and so our children and our old and our sick are protected from harm by law and by numbers.

These are the ways that we the forlorn, we the sheep with no shepard, make meaning of all things. In this real world that we live in, it is all that we have.

In the world of Battlestar Galactica, it was all that the 13 tribes had as well...though Ron Moore might see other things as more important.

But the majority of his fans are forward-looking secular humanists (which is pretty much what all sci-fi fans are) and to them, the actions of the 13 upon arriving at their Deus Ex Machina planet are an unbearable tragedy on the one hand, and utterly and completely out of step with everything else that the story has ever said or done.

Mrs Ron, your man is so very good at creating moments with emotional resonance, it truly is his forte'...as such, Caprica will likely be full of these tempting moments where we are invited, we are coaxed with great skill and talent, into loving those people, those tribes of Kobol all over again, and, their works, shining tall and proud in the day while glittering like neon jewels at night. Caprica will pain such a picture of a people vibrant and powerful...

...but I'll not be able to love them or their lives and their cities and their art and their 12 worlds, I'll not be able to because there is no hope for them. Their ship is sinking and in the end, the survivors, will, as a group, simply abandon the life rafts to drown in the cold waters of ignorance and savagery. A fate worse than death for death is a punctuation mark on a life whereas ignorance is a punctuation mark for an entire way of life, an entire civilization.

The Cylon bombs did their jobs, the only irony in that is that in the end, those bombs had also obliterated the droppers as well as those who were dropped upon.
Set Bookmark
Colin
Thu, Mar 26, 2009, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I was lucky enough to get a response from Ron Moore in regards to some of the Luddite critiques that have been brought up on the Scifi Bboard.

Well, obviously I disagree with this interpretation.

If there's anything that should come through loud and clear from the very beginning of the series is that we are somehow connected to these people. Everything from our system of justice to our clothes to the phones on our walls to quite literally the music some of them hear can be seen all around us, so clearly their lives and their existence were not for naught. The show is making a direct connection between them and us and positing the idea that many of the things in our lives are somehow descended through the mists of time -- through the collective unconscious if you like -- down to us today. In addition, we are all blood relatives to both Colonial and Cylon-kind and therefore their existence is more than simply an ancient curiosity, it's family history. Lee's hope that the best part of themselves would be passed along to the people on their new world evidently came true somehow in some ways large and small and so we're watching the story of some of our own history.

You can dispute the historical evidence of that, can argue that it couldn't have happened that way logically, and that it's simply beyond belief that anything they left behind could have survived down to the modern age and directly impacted our lives, but that's a different argument than saying the show is essentially trying wipe away the contributions of these characters or conveying the idea that nothing they did or experienced mattered in the end. Quite the contrary, the show is asserting not only did the experiences of these characters matter, but that their impact was so significant that it shaped some of our contemporary world. Again, you can argue that's not realistic, but the life experience of the BSG characters is clearly meant to be (big-time) impactful.
Set Bookmark
Colin
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 8:18am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I'll just add what I posted to the Scifi Bboard:

One thing that strikes me about the ending in particular was Lee's suggestion of 'abandoning the cycle' by reverting in technology. This seems to signify a Luddite perspective. That technology in and of itself - or the goal of gaining understanding and power over the environment is in and of itself corrupting to the human soul. I disagree with that perspective - we are perfectly capable of corrupting ourselves independent of high technology. What is unsettling is the idea that there really has been no actual learning from the experience the fleet has gone through. That the solution is not to evolve socially beyond simply accumulating power for its own sake, but instead to simply voluntarily throw away everything to limit the collateral damage. That mankind's hard-won actual acceptance of the Cylons as individuals amounts to simply a few more people walking around herding goats. That mankind's ultimate solution to its own hubris is not to learn actual wisdom, but to castrate itself in the hopes of delaying the inevitable catastrophe.

What I took the show as (before the finale) was an extended learning session. Painful, brutal lessons in making mistakes and learning to accept 'the other'. Throwing away technology is only part of the personal disgust I have with the ending, it's mostly due to the fact that they also threw away their knowledge, their records, and any possible way of affecting the future course of humanity. Any doubt we have about what they passed on is self-evident in the coda. Humanity has learned nothing, as no wisdom was left to them save pitiful myths and half-forgotten legends. The fleet's journey was to be a genetic UPS service, and even that fails the smell test. Hera valued as Eve, not for herself, her knowledge, her wisdom or culture, just her genetics. Breeding stock.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.