Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63,940 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,558
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Just saw this today for the first time while home sick. Maybe 15 minutes of action and exposition spread over 45 minutes (plus commercials!). Watching paint dry would be more interesting.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@Springy,

Good thoughts. I remember really disliking this one when I first saw it when I was a young child, but I appreciate it more now.

There's a very..."elderly parent" tinge to the Picard material -- sickened, laid back with headaches, retreating into the past, taking repetitive actions which are no longer appropriate. Picard's loss of the Stargazer and Bok's loss of his son have hurt both of them -- but of course a ship is easier to get over than a son, which is why Bok needs a mind control headache sphere to push Picard to where he is (trapped at the moment of the Stargazer/Bok's son battle). I think Picard has guilt over the loss of the Stargazer and over the loss of the enemy ship, which makes me wonder if Bok is motivated partly by guilt, too, which he projects entirely onto Picard.

The Picard maneuver relies on going to warp so that the time delay from light speed creates the appearance of two Stargazers. But one of them is no longer there -- it's from the past, just taking its time to catch up. You have to make sure you know which is really still there, and what is just a figment of the past catching up.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

MadBaggins,

Care to elaborate?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I watched this one while baking cookies and making sushi. I think I looked up from my work a couple times between creaming the butter and sugar and mixing in the chocolate chips but it was still some Ferenghi muttering in unsubtitled gibberish wondering around Enterprise pilfering so I quickly went back to work.

I think it was around the time I was putting my rice in the pot (after having put the cookies in the oven) that I noticed out of the corner of my eye that Trip and Archer seemed to be awake. Then I started hearing some dialogue in English so I listened and watched a little using my peripheral vision as I carefully prepared my maki rolls with both avocado and salmon.

By the time I was plating the sushi my 5 year old was staring at the cooling rack full of cookies and I heard some dialogue about selling T'Pal into slavery but sadly I remembered thinking that she's main cast so that probably wouldn't happen even if her absence would improve the show (Archer would need a new science officer and maybe she'd be played by a better actor?)

In conclusion, since no one asked the intruders what race they belonged to and no one uttered the word "Ferengi" in the episode, continuity was preserved. Don't you all feel stupid for having questioned the writing?

Still a better episode than Rogue Planet though.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Yusef,

This IS science FICTION you know...
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This was one hot mess of an episode. Worse than I remembered.

I haven't seen "Spock's Brain" since the 1970s -- and I have a feeling I'm going to like it better than "Omega Glory."
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Ah, the irony no Next Generation fan could miss:

"I realize you can do almost anything a sighted person can do, but you cannot fly a starship …"

… Geordi.
Set Bookmark
Moegreen
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

The doctor gets the award for 'Breeching code of ethics'. He really outdoes himself; announcing Barclay's medical history to the entire crew, in a particularly smug manner also. Zimmerman must have been hungover when coding that particular 'sub-routine'.
Set Bookmark
Yusef
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

One of the worst Voyegr episodes just for the bad science. "Macrovirus" it's a complete fallacious term. Virus are by it's definition microscopic. It's like saying "unicelluar human". Of course it doesn't make sense, so as "macrovirus". Also the show treats virus as if they are organisms when most of the scientists agree that virus aren't even considered living. They are basically proteins and genetic material and are only able to replicate inside living cells. If that's a "macrovirus" then this is one of a hell of protein and genetic material, bigger then every genetic material on your body.

0 stars
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

I liked the better, less clownish characterization of the Ferenghi, particularly the "First Officer to First Officer" stuff. Those parts, with Riker and Kazago, are echoed in Wesley's "adults!" sigh. Underlings have to save the day in this one. The adults (the Captains) have abdicated.

Bok is believable as a man crazed by the loss of his son. A parent expects the child to replace and outlive them and even outshine them. But Bok is bereft and lost in his bereavement.

Lots of adult-child sort of stuff here, seems to be about the roles and the importance of those roles, as Riker outmaneuvers Picard, Kazago must take charge, and Wesley provides info on Picard's headaches that Mom couldn't see.

There are contrivances and plotholes, but nothing too unusual for ST.

Overall a nice, solid ep and the best so far.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Below average, but not a true stinker.

The sexuality stuff was hokey and cringeworthy and the Prime Directive conflict was horribly contrived - made no sense. The preachiness was not good, though it was somewhat mitigated by the Edo not buying it.

But, I liked the sudden surprising twist. I liked Dr Crusher's barely constrained constraint. She did a much better job of handling her son's predicament than the God who was protecting His children.

Not good, but doesn't belong in the same bin as Code of Honor or other notorious stinkers.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

So I will take bullet for this one.
I kind of liked that episode back then... hear me out.

What is Jammer's critique
-The relationship stuff isn't interesting.
-Fullerton is unconvincing
-Worf's motivation
-the resolution of the episode (Worf's change of heart)
-the rest of the cast looks silly

My take:
It is not a good episode. No doubt about that.
The relationship stuff is not great and Worf's behavior is overdone.
But I, for example, liked the argument about that juice that make Jadzia's spots itch. Worf thinks that she behaves childish to which she replies: "But I like the taste!" and walks away. I found it cute. Jadzia's knows how to enjoy herself. Being on vacation means acting a little irresponsible every now and then.

Jammer calls Fullerton's argument nonsensical but to my European ears a lot what American politicians say on the state level and for quite some time now on the federal level sounds far more insane and nonsensical. And the argument that we have become too lazy and that the Chinese ahh I mean the Dominion will eat us alive is an often used argument. Real Americans and that kind of stuff.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTB2bA_VwXo :)

Does it make sense that Worf follows him. Kind of. Let's face it Worf often behaves like a single minded idiot, more so on DS9 than on TNG. Plus Klingons are famous for loving it rough. Every time we see Klingons have fun it looks like a nightmare version of Valhalla. Worf in his desperate attempt to be a normal Klingon of course dislikes the very thing that Risa represents: soft and cushy relaxation (and lots of Horgahn sex apparently which leads to a few strange questions, by the way *Cough* state sponsored prostitution *cough*).
I liked the episode because of Character building. We get an important piece of the puzzle why Worf is such a grump. He grew up in a small colony were he was the ultimate outsider, not respected but feared and then he killed somebody in an accident which made him close himself off completely. An incident he apparently never talked about which also underlines his love for Jadzia. His love for her is so strong that he wants to change for her because he knows that he will lose her eventually when she gets bored. That makes it possible for him to share a deeply traumatizing experience. It was also well acted and because the episode was relatively silly before that it hit me even harder.
We also get a bit of world building about the Bajorans. Their break ups are celebrations of things past which fits pretty nicely with what know about this society.
Worf changing teams is too rash, though and Fullerton hitting him makes no sense.
I give it 2 1/2 stars :D

You can throw me on the pyre now...
Set Bookmark
Malia
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

Dumbest aspect of this episode — aside from its gender politics:

These women, without the pills, were just... regular looking. Maybe a bit tired. Any 13 year old YouTube beauty vlogger today could have Kardashian-ified them with the "right" makeup to achieve virtually THE SAME results as they got with those "magic crystals." And if that weren't enough, a visit to a good dermatologist for the equivalent of a few dermal filler or botox injections later... done.

Besides, much of what made those women so "beautiful" then was that they wore sexy, form-fitting dresses, has their hair expertly styled and flattering makeup. If they missed a few nights sleep, didn't wear make-up or brush their hair, and wore messy old clothes, they wouldn't look that fancy-hot.

Plastic surgery already existed in the 1960s. Surely, by the timeframe TOS is set in, any woman in the Federation probably only has to wave a wand over her face, drink some kind of rejuva-juice, or apply a cream from a jar no more special in their time than Ponds or Nivea were in the 1960s. Thus, those crystals of Harry Mudd's would have attracted little to no value or interest in that era—no more than any other average beauty treatment of the day.

Meanwhile... if these rich miners on their remote planet really just wanted "trophy" wives to stand around, look hot, and have sex with them—not also true and loving companions—surely the techno-aesthetic advancements in sex-bots by that time would have offered sufficient and indestructible models for that purpose.

Harry Mudd has always been, to me, among the more irritating of Trek guest-star characters. That he should be given TWO episodes in the original series... lord. At least on the android planet he had that wacky interplay with the Enterprise crew that offered some amusement.

And speaking of the androids... it would have worked better if those 2 Mudd episodes were combined—with Mudd instead pimping out the "Alice" series beauties to lonely men throughout the galaxy!
Set Bookmark
Malia
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

It wasn't until a commenter above suggested that this monster-being (and let's call it a "being" and not a "creature"; it was sentient life) behaved like an obsessed psychopath that I ever had a truly unsympathetic thought about it. Although it's possible that its mental state was far from "normal", but had actually been warped by living in a near-starving state and having seen everyone they ever knew die from lack of salt-food.

I didn't see why, in the end, they'd need to kill it. Phasers can be set to stun, they could do an intra-ship beam to a cell with a forcefield, or give it a shot of something to knock it out for a bit. They could have ambushed it and while 2 guard held it down, then Spock do the mind-meld to communicate with it (let is know they have limitless salt out in the galaxy and it doesn't need to kill for it—if it's really not killing out of bloodlust but, rather, the need for salt as sustenance.
Set Bookmark
HC
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 8:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

While on paper it's pretty interesting (I certainly got more out of reading this than I did the actual episode), I just found the execution too silly. Like surely there's a way to convey the same ideas without literal back alley dealers who trade in dark thoughts, for example. The last scene is terrific though, up there with Kirk's "risk is our business" speech.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 8:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I'm with Ben E on this one.

Time jump stories seldom impresses me more than they plain annoy me. This one is no exception. There's no satisfying explanation as to why Kes experience her whole life backwards and there's really nothing in the story that is interesting except for the Krenim race. And to top it all off it ends with an excruciatingly crinchy "Carpe Diem!" message, which misses the point of the expression completely - I mean did she really abruptly ditch a party in her honor just to write a report? How lame, not to mention rude.

Usually I agree or at least understand why some episodes are popular, but regarding 'Before and After' I'm left clueless. Trek junk.

0,5 Star.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I have to say, I thought a Trolley Problem with Genocide on one track, and the eternal enslavement of an entire race on the other on the other was sufficiently unsubtle (in the traditions of Star Trek) that anyone would get it. But, here we are, with a huge number of Star Trek fans asserting it's fundamentally unethical not to take up the White Man's Burden without even questioning whether you're doing the right thing.

And, of course, the episode is incredibly unsubtle about the point that it genuinely doesn't know what the right course. Archer looks at the damn camera and says as much.

Of course, Next Gen having been made when it was, it's unsurprising it and the subsequent Treks take a hard line anti-Colonialism stance. And since in practice humanitarian aid bleeds incredibly easily into colonialism. If you're really, truly ignorant of all of history - even today, we ask "Do we send humanitarian aid to a famine, knowing most of it will end up in the hands of a brutally violent authoritarian government, and keep them in power, even as it mitigates some of the famine?"
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

It's not my favorite episode either, but I think that Keiko was the perfect choice. Everybody already thought that she was a cranky bitch, so the personality change wasn't immediately obvious to most people. It's always been my opinion that, after the end of the series, Miles O'Brien would last about a month on Earth with her before signing on for another deep space mission.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Patterns of Force

It's rather premature of Spock to be contemplating Federation membership for the two planets -- especially Ekos.

And I'm not sure why either would have any interest in joining the Federation after what happened.

I see this as a Romulan opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Malia
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

My biggest issue with this episode is what STEVERAGE noted above:

"Bele has been chasing Lokai for 50,000 years?!?!?!? Right...... yet they were close enough to reach Cheron in a few hours...... and in all that time neither had noticed the Cheroni had annihilated each other...... I'm all for a bit of socio-political commentary, but does it have to be this stupid?"

It made me think that, if the Federation had known about all this sooner (um, if they were already so close to reach Cheron, why didn't they??) this might have actually been a place where [re: TOS "A Taste Of Armageddon" episode] Eminiar VII's plan of "civilized" war-by-computer would have actually been a plausible solution—disintegration chambers and all! In fact, Anan 7 (leader of Eminiar) would have been an excellent diplomat to lead a mission to Cheron about this.

Hear me out, please:

The Eminians encountered by the Enterprise were (after 500 yrs) a super orderly society, seemingly non-violent and peaceful in their inter-personal interactions. They found all that so distasteful—in contrast to the banal destructiveness of their computer war. Whereas the Cherons were so outwardly and inwardly filled with rage and violence. Perhaps the Eminians once were, too, and only "civilized" themselves through the course of the 500 yr war, such that by the time the Enterprise visited Eminianr VII the people had long been "Ready" for this next step: to think and act with diplomacy and end their war for good.

Self-segregation onto different planets or regions, then an "orderly war" over a few hundred years (or whatever, given their long lifespans) might have just been enough for the profound rage in each "Race" to calm itself. YES, as with Eminiar, millions would die over the time, BUT... instead of ending with a burning planet where everyone's dead, the Cherons (like the Eminians) could have survived as peoples and cultures, with the planet in tact, until some future time where they would be read for a Kirk-style intervention and finally end it all.
Set Bookmark
SJU
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 12:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I believe Janeway wore 4 inch heels so she was more on par (height-wise) with the men in the cast.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

I liked this one.

The aliens were great and the ending, with Picard passing off his duties to Riker in the wake of the alien-eating crisis, was amusing.

It (mostly) didn't bore me and was a very ensemble episode, with all the characters playing a role and being better defined.

The ep seems to be about the challnge of understanding each other. It's about how isolated, by our differences, we can be from one another - we get a lot of references to differences: Klingons are different, the aliens are different from each other and from us, we're a mystery to each other, mystery, mystery, etc. Wesley's so delighted when mom shows an interest in his interests.

Our energy alien understands everything better once he gets inside. Maybe the Anticans will understand the Selay better once they eat one.

Solid ep.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Maybe this was dealt with in a discussion I didn't see or that I've forgotten, but what is to prevent Talla from succumbing to the same gravity-related issues that afflicted Alara? Maybe the holodeck treatment that Kasidy Yates came up with that Alara ended up not using?
Set Bookmark
Matte Blk
Fri, Jul 12, 2019, 5:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

May the Force be witchoo, young Skywakka.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Fri, Jul 12, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Jennifer Lien walked into work, marched straight up to Brannon Braga and dropped him on his ass with a Stone Cold STunner. They had no choice but to fire her.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,558
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.