Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 205 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 6:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Seven and Raffi were written into being bi sexual so that Kurtzman can save the world. It has taught us all tolerance and to love one another.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Some of what Nolan wrote got me thinking. A lot of things in Picard SOUNDS good if you were to just tell a fan of TNG who hasn’t watched Picard. Seven of Nine is in the show and she becomes a Borg Queen! Data has a daughter! Riker shows up at the end and saves the day! Hugh is in the series and gets killed! Icham to! Data gets a funeral! But then when you actually watch the series none of these things feel earned and have emotional weight. It’s like the writers are trying to throw out a bunch of greatest hits or something but they are hollow. It’s sad that the greatest moment of the season is Picard and Riker being given time to reflect and speak to each other. Everything else is flash with little to no substance
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 12:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

I thought this was a good episode. The Malon/probe segments were a little boring and uninspired but the vast majority of the episode was about B’elanna dealing with depression and the building and premiere of The Delta Flyer. I would easily give this episode three stars I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Dom

What else is there to do? You are correct, I watch this show and discovery because they are under the Star Trek name. And I don’t think they are BAD shows, simply mediocre. Like I said, I most likely would have stopped watching or never started if these were original sci fi shows with no relation to Star Trek. But again, what is there to do? I have a connection with the characters and franchise going back years and I like the show enough to continue. It’s not going to get better without a rehaul of the showrunners and writers. It’s sad because I’m pretty sure Ira Steven Behr would take the job of showrunner if offered. But it seems CBS wants to create “the future” of Trek even when it’s not what the vast majority of the fan base is looking for. Talented proven writers that are older can still take Trek to “the future”
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I certainly don’t want to trash discovery or stp and overall I get enjoyment from them. But in an age where there are more critically acclaimed shows available than ever, Discovery and Picard just aren’t up there with the best. In fact I was thinking about how if STPicard was original characters and was not under the Star Trek banner, just some new sci fi show, I doubt I would have stayed for every episode. The writing from episode to episode is just so neurotic. Plots aren’t finished before 5 more begin, Classic characters are just thrown in (or killed) at will. And I can’t say I love that shiny lens flair aesthetic. Anyway. It could have been worse. Here’s to season 2.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

Well the first 1/3 of this episode started out with promise. The idea of having Voyager go through complete dark with no stars for months was a good idea. Would have been a great opportunity to explore interpersonal relationships between the crew. Even the captain feeling guilty and depressed would have made sense because she would have been stuck alone with her feelings. Captain Proton was fun even though it only amounted to about three minutes screentime. But then the episode slid into alien of the week mode and that is where the episode fell apart and turned into something we have seen over and over and over. This episode has some moments at first but ultimately I’d have to give this one a pass it’s nothing special at all
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I thought this episode was a nice little season finale. Personally I would give it three stars but I’m willing to admit there were a few moments that got a little sluggish. Overall I enjoyed it and I can respect that the writers didn’t go for a huge two parter or a cliff hanger this time. Just a nice little episode that wraps up the season just fine.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Ironic this episode is name “Unforgettable”. It’s name should be “Completely Forgettable”. This is about as hum drum as it gets. If you are not a completionist skip this episode at all costs it’s a bad one. And even worse than bad it’s extremely boring
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Although I agree this episode started out slow and nothing and special, I think the second half more than enough made up for it and warrants this episode getting three stars. There were some twists I didn’t see coming and it was well written and entertaining. One of my favorites of the season
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@marvin

Stp is only marginally better than discovery. Mostly bc it has the cheat of having built in characters you already care about and want to see. As far as writing and aesthetic it’s very similar
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

So the series is over and I’m reflecting on stp. Is it better than Discovery? Yes I would say so. There were even some episodes that were very good. But something is off. I can’t exactly put my finger on it but there was never a time where I felt like I was watching something special. I don’t want to bash it because it could have been much worse but overall it is certainly Discovery-esque. The finale episode itself was not one of the seasons better episodes but it wasn’t the worst either.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

An episode that starts out fun and promising but regresses into typical Voyager hum drum. The individual nightmares we get to see from each crew member started out as a good idea and should have been expanded upon even more. This was an opportunity to explore each crew member’s hopes and fears and explore their psychologically in both a fun and intelligent way. Instead the episode runs through their dreams quickly and spends more time on the bad guys of the week being body snatchers. Not the worst episode but overall disappointing considering what could have been.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

@ Ola

I just came to say the same thing 😂. I’m sure others noticed that to. That’s quite a big oversight on the writers behalf. Someone should have spotted that and had him say “universal record” or something. Besides that flub I thought this was a great episode. Probably my favorite of the season so far. If this same episode featured someone besides Neelix I think many people would hold this episode in higher regard but Neelix is hated. I don’t know why. I like him just fine
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

*written by the SAME person
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Lynos

You have a point but I think the thing is that even with arcs that last over a season the episodes are still written by different people and many times if not always every episode of the season is not “in the can” as early episodes air. I would assume when a show like this has a two parter they are written by the person and their two parts have more of a connection than average episodes do
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:07am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I echo the general sentiment of this being a good episode. But more importantly, that golden skin Soji clone looked GOOD. I don’t know what her evil plans are but if she is Borg I am right here to assimilate ;)
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

This was a bad episode. Not horrible by any means but it just could not get any more middle of the road and uninspired. It wasn’t quite at that level where it’s so boring that just watching it feels like homework but it was flirting with being that bad. Seeing Harry Kim squirm was kind of entertaining. Oh and Paris kissed B’lanna. That’s about it. Next.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Quite a good episode and the series seems to be in a uptick. I can confidently now say this series is better than Discovery. There’s still some flashy color and pacing stuff that’s kind of hard to exactly put a finger on that I don’t like. Like when they bring up the controls to the ship and it’s all that brightly colored CGI stuff all over the screen. And sometimes there’s a shakiness and quick pacing to the camera work. I wish the series had a little bit more of that sitcom sort aesthetic.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Mar 11, 2020, 7:45am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

I have to disagree with the general consensus here. While I certainly wouldn’t call this a “good” episode, I don’t think it was one of the worst. It seems very much like a TOS episode. If this exact same plot took place with Kirk I think this episode would have been accepted just fine. This was not one of those episodes that was that was so boring it felt like homework nor where there any moments where my jaw dropped and I thought “someone got paid to write that AND it made it all the way onto air”. This is just another middle of the road episode that gets a little bit singled out and beat up in my opinion
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Sorry to double comment, I was just reading comments and doing some more thinking. Riker and Troi WERE used well in this episode. The writers took it slow and didn’t feel like how some other familiar characters have been used on both this show and Discovery where it feels like a familiar character is just winking at you and being like “Hey I know you remember me! CAMEO!”. I liked the end when “Wild Girl of the Woods” was speaking with Soji and said something like “You are going through the hardest time of your life. When I went through the hardest time of my life I had my mom and dad. You don’t have a mom and dad. But you have Picard. And he could have you. If you want it”. That was a nice well done little emotional moment. Now the Hugh death is what really brings this great episode down. Even if Hugh is later brought back to life the way they frivolously killed him was just ridiculous. No emotion or weight in it at all. It had all the emotional weight and pay off of tossing something into a trashcan as you walk by.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Otherwise great episode that is marred by the frivolous killing of Hugh
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@booming
Yeah I agree with you. I think maybe Tim is trying to find the best in STPicard, we all want the show to be as good as possible but I’m not willing to lie or overrate the show. I’ve said several times I’m along for the ride but six episodes in I’m more on the disappointed side
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@Tim

If you are trying to say STP feels more like TNG than it does Discovery to you, I think you’re just about alone in that boat. And listing the combadges as a reason why it seems like TNG is a little silly. They use combadges in all the series and movies besides TOS. I also don’t understand what you mean by the “minimalist rooms” reminding of you of TNG. There has yet to be one scene where I’ve thought “oh man they nailed that TNG vibe”. I don’t even recall a scene where they ATTEMPTED to do that. This show seems 80% Discovery 20% TNG and I badly wish that was reversed.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Well this was probably the best episode yet so I don’t want to do too much complaining but I think it’s become clear that Stp is much more like Discovery than TNG in every way. It’s a overarching story told episodically and just like Discovery there are huge ups and downs from episode to episode in terms of quality. I wish so bad they would have got as many TNG writers as possible and tried to make more of a connection to TNG in both the writing and visually. But that’s not what we got. It still could be much worse and I’ll be along for the ride regardless
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Feb 29, 2020, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

*skewed= awkward

Also about the monkey, I think it represents Janeway’s feelings of remaining on the planet. It’s friendly, pretty and looks like fun but when she actually tries to reach out and get in touch....it just doesn’t work
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.