Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 289 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Jun 25, 2020, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

Right at nine minutes in there is a clear Nike swoosh in the front of the chair. Looks very deliberate. Good to know the crew can jump higher than usual in future space in their new Jordan’s. I agree that the episode would have been better if there was no threat and instead we saw the crew dealing with the storm and having to live in the same room for weeks. With that said though, man was that bounty hunter villain guy a good actor. Would have preferred seeing him be in a little mini arc instead wedged quickly into one episode
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Zero stars? Come on. Zero stars is for absolute trash that not only has incoherent writing but is also a chore to sit through. This is neither of those. It’s not an episode that is doing anything new but it’s perfectly fine. I think it’s in the two star range and I can’t agree with anything under 1.5
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Tue, Jun 23, 2020, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

An example of a episode that deals with those “serious Trek questions” and might even be considered an essential episode but yet the execution just keeps this from being a classic. In the end I think they would have been better off just leaving the communicator on the alien planet. They probably never would have figured out exactly what it was and thought that it was some sort of advanced Walkie talkie (it is) that was being tested by the “Alliance” they were at war with. But Archer decided they just couldn’t leave the communicator on the planet and instead caused a series of events that almost certainly will be more harmful to the planets inhabitants in the long run than just finding a strange communicator would have been. I agree with 2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Tue, Jun 23, 2020, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Flawsome

I understand what you’re saying but I don’t think humans inventing glasses for humans is the best analogy. It would be more like aliens showing up here on Earth tomorrow and giving us Covid vaccines. Okay maybe something more devastating like the Black Plague would be more apt but I’m trying to bring it to current times. But what effect would that have on us? Would people who took the vaccine be outcast for ingesting something from aliens? Would religions be altered? Would most of the worlds funding go into trying to contact these aliens again? There’s all sorts of repercussions and questions to be asked.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Tue, Jun 23, 2020, 3:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

@SouthofNorth

I wouldn’t take it up with Sisko but one could sure take it up with the writers. It was throwaway line about Kirk and they had to mention an episode everyone remembers (most people remember the Gorn because of how bad the suit was and how the episode has been parodied). If Sisko said something like “I’d love to meet Kirk and ask him about delivering medical supplies and running into Garth” most people wouldn’t recall that particular episode and just be confused. So just because Sisko says the word Goen doesn’t make this a great episode. I like this episode but I agree with the consensus that the suit looks really REALLY bad and being filmed in the 1960s is not an excuse. It’s bad for the time. If you can really suspend your disbelief and stifle your laughter this is a decent episode I’d agree on 3 stars but I don’t think this quite makes the top ten
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

@GammaRay

Making the Voyager probe turn evil and calling itself V’Ger is not anywhere what I would call “masterpiece” writing. I like this movie more than a lot of people, I think it’s stunning after watching TOS, but there’s problems all over the place with it
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Jun 18, 2020, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Dave in MN

Exactly. What he’s actually doing is trying to justify the “protests” (powder kegs seem like the better term) as altruistic, safe and well thought out while the Trump rallies are stupid hillbillies refusing to wear masks. A large majority of the people wearing masks at the protests are covering a lot more than just their mouths. Hmm I don’t think they are doing so for safety. Seems like they are more worried about not being able to be identified. They don’t social distance very well when running out with merchandise or when they smell blood and swarm up for someone’s beating. To try and pander a narrative that the majority of protestors are taking great care to minimize the spread of covid and that they are looking out for the greater good of public health is silly
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Dave in MN

Well said and I was thinking of saying something similar which I’ll go ahead and say. I think a lot of liberals get so used to defending anything LGBT related (which is fine I myself do) and have fought “the conservatives” (of which the vast majority are not the stereotypes of which those liberals assign to them) that they instantly view anything considered conservative as the enemy. Different issues are different issues.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Trent

That’s a whole lot of history talk but I’m concerned with today. I can’t get behind down to my soul what the far leftists want. If you want to stick me in a box called “conservatism” because of that so be it. That doesn’t mean I took part in or support things in the past and quite frankly it’s a silly argument. Because I don’t support someone being fired for calling someone ma’am instead of xyr on accident one time or an angsty teenager being able to wake up and decide he/she doesn’t like a certain (almost certainly well intentioned) aspect of an artists work and “apologize right now and change it or youre thanos’d!”. Sorry that’s an extremely slippery slope and you’re absolutely wrong I’m not on the wrong side of history
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Booming @Elliott

Booming I apologize it was Elliott who specifically talked about the sign. You only said Jason’s posts worry you so my last post may or may not apply to you but was meant for Elliott
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Booming

You don’t understand how a sign placed outside his door saying “silence is violence” can be seen as a problem? The next step is they know for sure he’s been “silent”, consider him “part of the problem”, get his personal info and release it to their cronies. “Cancel” him in best case scenario, physically harm him in the worst. This isn’t exaggeration it’s the next step. Literally right outside the door in his case. All because he lived his life quietly
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Jason R

I couldn’t agree more and I feel exactly what you mean about the silence thing. The far left nutjobs are scaring people who are in the sane “classical liberal” left into kowtowing. I’ve always considered myself more liberal but the way things are if it has to be one or the other I’ll go right if it means letting these far left wackos not get more power. Democrats badly need someone who isn’t afraid to tell 20 year olds they are not going to force their will and nutjob ideas onto the country by using fear of “cancelling”.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Elliott

There’s all kinds of data. People tend to find and quote the data that backs up the narrative they want. I actually live in a big city in the United States and have done a fair deal of traveling including the south. The picture Booming regularly attempts to paint is not what I personally would call accurate.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Jun 13, 2020, 5:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@Booming

For us here in the United States, we love hearing almost daily from you telling us what life is like in the United States direct from your command post all the way on the other side of the world nowhere near the United States. Maybe some day you can actually come to the United States and then tell us what it’s like to live in the United States while you’re visiting the United States.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@Omicron

I noticed I typed 5 right after I hit submit. You weren’t supposed to notice ;). I see from the comments this is a polarizing episode and I don’t understand why. This episode episode held my attention and had me entertained the whole time. I see how one could say things like “Velcro is proven to be invented by so and so” or “the Mestral love plot seemed to happen too quick”, those are MINOR gripes. You can find something wrong with just about any Trek episode. Idk I just can’t agree with anything lower than 2.5 and I think even that’s being unfair. Loved this episode it came out of nowhere
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 12, 2020, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

This is easily the most I’ve disagreed with a rating. Not sure how DS9’s “Far Beyond the Stars” gets 5 stars and lauded as possibly the very best ds9 episode and the Carbon Creek gets 1 and a half. Yes Far Beyond the Stars is a better episode but is the gap THAT wide? No it’s not. This is a great episode that had some really sweet moments and kept me entertained the entire time. Easily 3.5
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

@Nola N

https://i.pinimg.com/236x/68/5d/63/685d63c091739c08df91fbc8375ae119.jpg
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

I liked this one a lot. Not only because of the endless potential you can count on Rosa to always provide, but also because I’ve never seen a Trek episode juggle so many subplots and do it well at that. The Hoshi subplot was a nice diversion from the regular and threw something unexpected- it was simply Hoshi meeting a guy she liked and spending two days with him. No drama. Just Hoshi getting a vacation and enjoying the company of someone she liked. As for the secret agent mysterious woman Archer meets, like a lot of the other commentators I also thought she was Trill. Those are clearly Trill markings and it seems the production really went out of their way to make sure they were noticed. I expect to see this Trill again in the future maybe in a different body. I would give this episode 3.5 it had a lot going on and managed to keep it all entertaining
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Very solid 3 star episode. Felt like a updated 2004 version of a TOS episode. Bonus points for their movie night being Wages of Fear. Classic movie that has a just as good English remake called Sorcerer. Also the special effects in this episode were top notch maybe the best I’ve seen from Trek outside of the films.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Mr Peepers

Wesley “the crusher” Crusher is the first person anyone goes to when they need pointers on the opposite sex. Wesley is a master PUA. It’s why Picard was always screaming at him. Pure jealousy. Wesleys also the mastermind behind all of Riker’s conquests.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

Skip this one. The episode from nearly the beginning with the horrible laser tag light goggles separates the “good team” (green) and the “bad team” (red). And that’s about how much depth the writing for the characters has as well. Enterprise crew lands on a strange new planet and come in contact with a exotic alien species of camouflage wearing redneck hunters. They don’t hunt for food and sustenance. They hunt because they are evil badly written stereotypes. They enjoy slaughtering slug ghosts. And they even do it while drunk. Enterprise doesn’t like this. Everyone should get along. So Phlox of course cooks up some magic medicine almost instantly that makes the slug ghosts undetectable on the space redneck’s radar. Next episode please.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@JYoder

I agree I wouldn’t have gave this episode 4 stars either. I think the reason it was rated so highly is because it brings up some interesting points that can be discussed. “Deep issues” and what not. Personally Trek will always be a tv show and I judge episodes on my entertainment. Did the episode hold my attention the entire time? Were there times I was smiling or laughing? Would I want to watch the episode again one year later? In general I also usually like episodes that are smaller in scope and are more character studies than grand problems dealing with an entire planet. I’m not quite done with this first season but I enjoyed the episodes “ Silent Enemy”, “Shuttlepod One”, and “Acquisition” the most so far
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

@Dirk

I’ve seen a few people wonder how voyager got inside the borg sphere but my thought when I watched it was that the were behind the sphere and then become visible after the explosion. Still wouldn’t explain how they got behind it but seems more plausible than getting in it
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming

You have a severe ego problem. Yesterday you said you amaze people by predicting the future, you constantly say how intelligent you are, I have not ONE TIME seen you try to reach any kind of middle ground or admit you were wrong about anything with the various people you argue with on here, and now you are interpreting me politely asking you to stop posting anti American sentiments daily as wanting to have a “battle of wits” with you. No I’m asking if you can please stop with daily anti American sentiments on a website for Star Trek episodes discussion. That’s all. Can you do that please? I don’t come here to see my country slandered daily. I’d like to come here for friendly discussion on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
If it was sensitivity I would have said something the first time you said something negative about the country I live in. Instead I waited until about the 20th. It’s annoyance much more than sensitivity. I come here to talk about trek episodes. I understand sometimes the topic goes to other things. Fine. It’s gotten to the point that it’s daily from you it’s a little like....yikes. Ya know
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.