Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 5:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

As a former casual viewer of post-TNG series, I am doing a complete watch through of all Trek shows. Just finished Voyager. I admit, I found DS9 to be a little dark and depressing for my tastes, especially after the bright and colorful world of TNG.

However, these past two episodes are INCREDIBLE! Some of the best Trek has to offer. I LOVE the scene when the Defiant departs. Just...excellent. These two episodes are amazing in every way.
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Thu, Aug 13, 2015, 1:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

I lol'd when Chakotay said he had mapped the area and then pointed to his little sand scribbling of a circle with a squiggly line through it and a rock on the side. Cartography has gone to crap in the future apparently.

Jeff, I think you're taking things too seriously and making some strawman arguments here. Just because people find the episode bad or lackluster doesn't mean they're misogynistic. It just means...they don't like the episode.
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I agree with the guy who said Reed is pretty lame thus far. He seems to always be complaining. Worf or Odo would knock the crap out of him. I can hear him whining about his beatdown now, lol.

Liked the choreography of the fights though. I keep rewatching when T'Pol blocks that guy's punch and takes him down. Jolene did great in that scene. She's no Jeri Ryan but she's not just eye candy for this show.
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Wed, Aug 12, 2015, 2:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I am about 10 minutes into this episode and there's a scene where Tom, B'Elanna and Kim are discussing the EMH's novel. Anyway, Paris says something about not wanting to bring it up since the Doc considers it a masterpiece. B'Elanna does this little laugh that makes Tom laugh a little too and I REALLY think this was a blooper type deal that they left in, which I LOVE. Like the actress who plays Torres cracked up but it didn't ruin the scene. I don't know -- I just think I have an eye for it and I love it when directors leave stuff like this in because it adds a legitimacy and authenticity to the scene.
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Sat, Aug 8, 2015, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Eh, I don't get the Trill. So Dax is the symbiont and Jadzia is the host -- OK. So who is Kurzon Dax -- the former host? And when the former host dies, does part of who he was become a part of the symbiont, and thus a part of the new host?

Sisko refers to Jadzia as "old man" whom I guess refers to the former -- wait, I don't know. Former host or symbiont or both?

So do symbionts ever die? And why are they so special that they get new bodies?

I didn't understand a lot of the episode, I guess because of my lack of knowledge regarding the race. Plus I was sleepy and DS9 has a rather deliberate pacing, not that that's bad. It's...relaxing, I suppose. That's good.
Set Bookmark
Clint1138
Mon, Aug 3, 2015, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

I liked the ending when I saw where it was going, but then I was surprised because I didn't know whether it was a fusion of real life and T'Pol's lingering mental condition or if all of it was just a dream from when she was first brought into sickbay.

But then I remembered that Trip and Archer were discussing movie night at the start of the episode before T'Pol entered. Trip recommended they watch a comedy to help "boost morale" and then T'Pol enters and Trip only mentions they're watching a movie, not specifying the genre.

So we see them watching a movie towards the end and it's some gritty 40's detective movie and not the comedy Trip had mentioned earlier to Archer. So suffice to say that T'Pol never left sickbay.

I would have liked it if at the end, when she's fighting Vulcan zombies, if she were actually fighting the crew. It would have made for a better ending and maybe given a little more insight into exactly what the Vulcans had suffered. But what do I know? Still a decent episode.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Fri, Aug 9, 2013, 12:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Hi Fellas,

Jammer, as Jo Jo Maestro said, I hope you don't mind us getting a little off-topic on your FAQ page...

@ Jo Jo - Sorry, looks like I spoke too soon about a Season 11. I could have sworn that I read that somewhere, but looking that up now, I am unable to confirm it. I'm okay if they didn't have one though, because I think Season X went out on a high note.

Yeah, I'm in agreement with you that Seasons 7 and 8 are a bad starting point for the series. Those are the low point for sure. I feel the same about BSG at about the middle of Season 3. Both series were way better before, and got way better after that bad patch.

@ Patrick - For sure, those cast members have the parts down to a science. It kind of makes me wonder what those guys are like in real life, because they're characters are so true on the show that it's hard to imagine them acting any way else.

I also kind of miss the actress that played Kochanski (the latter-season version). She wasn't bad at all, I thought.

I still miss male and female Holly, too. I wish they would have at least made a cameo in the later seasons. But I guess they figured that Kryten filled that plot-exposition role, so the ship's computer was no longer needed.

My favorite part in the whole series is on the episode "Blue" in Season 7, where they ride "The Rimmer Experience", and they have the Munchkin Rimmer marching and singing. That has got to be the funniest thing ever. I've watched that song so many times... It's great!
Set Bookmark
Clint
Wed, Jul 31, 2013, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

Oh, man. How I wish you would watch Red Dwarf, Jammer!

I read all the people saying, "You gotta watch Firefly!" or "Watch Babylon 5!", and I just roll my eyes. Because if Jammer isn't interested in watching those, then no amount of argument here is going to change that.

But then, here I am. And I say the same darn thing about Red Dwarf!

I won't say that Red Dwarf is the best sci fi show out there or the funniest thing on TV (it's not - not by a long shot). But it is a great show and I am a huge fan. It is a niche show, unique all to itself, and I can't praise it enough.

There are 8 regular seasons to it, then a movie, then 1 more season after that (Called Season 10). And they are currently making another season.

Each season is short, only 6 episodes per season. So we are only talking 54 episodes here, plus the movie. But it is pretty fascinating to watch, as the seasons all span 30 years. Same characters, but you see the differences in the show's tone over time.

Also, I disagree with Jo Jo Meastro that Seasons 7 and 8 should be avoided at all costs. Most fans are split about Seasons 7 and 8, but they still have their good moments and are definitely worth watching.

That's one thing about the creators of Red Dwarf - they aren't afraid to take risks. In that show, you never know what is going to happen. Main characters can be killed, resurrected, whatever. Anything goes, story-wise.

Anyway, I know you won't listen to this but I highly recommend watching Red Dwarf. Season 1 starts with incredibly cheesy and cheap sets looking like something out of the 70's, while Season 10 ends up polished and futuristic. The quality of the show's humor varies drastically from episode to episode. But when it is funny, it is quite hilarious.

Have a great day!
Set Bookmark
Clint
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 9:23am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Great reviews for a great series.

Looking back on BSG and this episode in particular, there is really only one thing that bothers me. (Well, other than the Starbuck-centric-ness of way too many of the stories.)

What I didn't like is that it was never really shown that the Centurions are intelligent. We are told they are. It's mentioned. But other than following generic orders and shooting their guns, they never seem to display any thought at all.

I would have LOVED to have seen the Centurions display some kind of personality - hell, ANY personality! But it was not to be.

Maybe that was a writers decision? Maybe at the start of the show, there was a conscious decision made to never have the Centurions speak, because hearing a "By your command" would have made them lose some of their menace. But I think that was an opportunity lost. Telling and not showing that the Centurions were intelligent was disappointing.

Heck, maybe Centurions don't speak audibly. Maybe they only communicate via wi-fi. That would be cool, but again, that was never established. You see lots of humanoids talking to Centurions, but they never say anything back.

Maybe this is remedied in Caprica. I have not seen any of that show yet. If not, I guess I can still get my talking Centurion fix by watching old episodes of original BSG!
Set Bookmark
Clint
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

This seemed really late in the game to be introducing still more flashbacks. I hate flashback episodes, do for me this wasn't a good sign. I agree that I could have cared less about drunk Lee versus the pigeon. Or Roslin's family, who would all have been killed later regardless. Just seemed like an epic waste of time.

I did like the Baltar scenes though. So I guess there was something for everybody.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Mon, Jul 1, 2013, 12:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

I too thought it more than a bit strange that the baby suddenly miscarried for no apparent reason other than the writers decided they didn't want it in the story after all. Lame.

The rest I thought was good though.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Mon, Jul 1, 2013, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

This was an interesting episode, but I was ultimately a little put off by it due to all the exposition. The whole episode seems like a massive info-dump.

I don't mind that in snippets sometimes. But here, it is nearly the whole episode. Especially the parts where Anders was talking bothered me. We just have all information thrown at us, and are expected to just nod and say, "Okay. Yeah. Sounds good."

Several times I had to just pause it and try to understand the timeline of exactly everything they are saying. Wow. Super-complicated. I'm still not sure I have my head wrapped around it all. And that's not a good sign. At least, it's not a sign of good writing, that's for sure.

Interesting. But I hope in the future they avoid having characters just sit down and tell a bunch of stuff. That didn't work for me.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Thu, Jun 27, 2013, 7:38am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: The Hub

And with one hug and kiss, the future rule of King Adama and Queen Roslin is assured. At least they both have strong moral reservations against cronyism and nepotism - oh, wait...
Set Bookmark
Clint
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 1:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Sine Qua Non

It's hard to see even one show go by without at least one character pointing a gun at another, for drama's sake.

I think many of the commenters here are overthinking Lampkin. For me, it was easy to take what was shown at face value. A man who has been hurt a lot, finally pushed over the edge by his cat being killed.

And was it really killed by others? Or did he just then kill it to trick Lee? Well, Lee says "this cat's been dead for weeks", so I think that pretty much kills any conspiracy theory you guys have about Lampkin murdering his own cat in order to manipulate Lee.

Unless... Suppose Lampkin had TWO cats? And that was merely the DECOY cat? Maybe he intentionlly killed the decoy cat weeks before, just in case he needed a stinking cat carcass in the future? (Because well, you never know!) Maybe, being a student of human nature, he anticipated what would happen, and got a dead cat out of the freezer just before Lee was to take office.

Or maybe it's not even a real cat at all. Maybe it's a cylon cat!

You see what I mean about the conspiracy theories? Just how far down this rabbit hole does a person want to go?

But seriously, why not Cylon animals? Surely it is easier to replicate a dog or a cat than a fully functional humanoid.

Oh, and I liked Lampkin's pistol with 4 barrels. Nice :)
Set Bookmark
Clint
Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

Excellent episode. After the slog that was Season Three, I'm glad to see things are moving again. Some may not like the fantasy aspects, but I'm okay with it so far. I'm just glad the stories are actually seeming to go somewhere for a change. It seems that BG has gotten past its slump. The lowest point is over, and things will only get better from here (hopefully!).

One thing I would very much like to see is the Cylon Centurions speaking. Now that their higher brain functions are active, wouldn't that make sense? I would just about wet my pants with happiness if I suddenly heard one of those Centurions say, "By your command!" But that's the old BG fan in me talking. It may be too much to wish for :)
Set Bookmark
Clint
Tue, Jun 25, 2013, 8:58am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Faith

I am finding that this show is affecting me in a personal way that no other piece of fiction has.

On the one hand, I recognize it's just a piece of entertainment. A blu-ray set that I bought, filled with human actors and stories that are sometimes good, sometimes lame. On the other hand, many of these stories are causing me to THINK.

I was a very strong Christian growing up. Was taught from an early age by my Christian parents. Brainwashed, you could say. (Although from their standpoint, they were just doing their duty as my parents, teaching me *The Truth*.)

All that changed when I was 27. I came to strongly doubt what I had believed for so long. My faith in God gradually diminished until I realized that I didn't believe in anything supernatural anymore. At that point, I realized I was an atheist.

That was 10 years ago. I'm not going to lie and say that my life has been so much better now that I've rejected Christianity. For sure, it has left a hole in me. Belief does fill a certain void. It gives you a clarity of purpose. Even if you don't understand that purpose, you can still take solace in the fact that you have one. Plus, there's the benefits of living forever, never losing your loved ones, etc. Not having that, just realizing that death is the end, is hard to face.

Also, Christianity gave me something else. A personal God who loved me. Someone to pray to when I was lonely or sad. Having that feeling that I am never alone, that I will always be cared for... Well, that's a powerful feeling.

But for me, ultimately, it was all a lie. So what good is all this religious sentiment if it is based on a lie?

Enter Battlestar Galactica. Specifically, these last few episodes with the excellent acting of James Callis as Baltar. Within this universe, you have a man who went from being a skeptic to truly believing. And why does he believe? What events really shaped him to this point?

The other colonials believe in the Lords of Kobol. But do they really? You get the distinct impression that many of these people are just going through the motions, doing various religious rituals because that is how they are raised. But Baltar's religion seems to be more personal. It's not based on archaic history and mythological figures. It's based on a personal connection with this God.

And Baltar doesn't preach that you have to DO anything. His main tenet seems to be just to recognize - believe - that there is one true God, and that this God loves you as you are.

On that level, Baltar's religion really resonates with me as being almost identical to mainstream Christianity. That "personal God" vibe is almost exactly the same religion I grew up with. And in many ways, this fictional religion of BSG may even be superior to Christianity. No need for belief in ancient texts. No need to "prove" who Jesus or whoever was. Just a God who loves you. And faith.

This is what I struggle with. This is what I question. I do not believe in the supernatural at all. And yet, I want to. What if somehow, I could? This is where the BSG story gets me.

I've had the religious feelings before, where I felt I was close to God. Atheism just doesn't offer this. It doesn't offer solace. It doesn't give you comfort in death. It just says, "This is it. All you see is all there is." What if there could be more? What if - while at the same time you don't believe it - you could bring yourself to believe it?

What if there could be a God like the one in this fictional show? Would such a being be knowable? Why would such a being allow evil? Could you still believe, without any reason for believing? Is it possible to simply choose to believe, with no facts to support that believe? To have faith, only because I want it to be real? I wish it could be. I just don't know.

My apologies for the overly long post. This episode just struck pretty close to home for me.

And BTW, I find nothing odd about Baltar leading a cult. Charismatic people have always found a way of attracting the disenfranchised. It's human nature.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Mon, Jun 24, 2013, 7:39am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

After the very bumpy road that was Season Three, I am very much enjoying BG's return to form in Season Four. I hope the forthcoming stories continue to be this strong.

I too found the Cult of Baltar (or "Gaius Fracking Baltar", as Tigh would put it) to be a bit odd. But not completely unbelievable. As Baltar himself put it, "Celebrity trials bring out the crazies." Or something like that.

I thought it was quite humerous when Baltar's followers turned out to all be quite female, young, nubile, and attractive. Oh, I guess there were a few guys thrown in, just for diversity's sake. But by and large, his followers are all young, hot women.

They just happened to look that good. Remarkable, isn't it? Maybe it's not coincidence. Maybe there is cult entry screening process. It's like in order to join, you have to rank at least a 7 out of 10 on the Hottie scale.

Baltar is wondering what he is going to do with his life. Well, shouldn't the answer be obvious? I think it is time he became a Porn Producer. Baltar certainly looks the part. And that's a sleazy job that would fit really well with his manipulative yet likeable personality. Also, he already has a full cast of young pornstars at hand, ready and willing. They even have their own private filming area!

I'm sure there's some demand for new porn on the Galactica's black market. I kind of doubt that all the good stuff that used to be stored on the internet servers on Caprica got saved from destruction. There's only one man who is right for this job: Baltar.

At this point, I'm still not so sure about "The Plan". You know, the Cylon's master plan? Their Overly Convoluted, Extremely Confusing, Doesn't-Make-Much-Sense Plan? At times, I feel like their only real plan is to have sex as often as possible. I find it kind of odd that supposed machines would have such an interest in the human biological reproductive process. I realize they wanted to have a baby, but good grief!

Anyways, all joking aside, I realize I am late to the party here, but great posts Jammer! I find most of your reviews to be spot on, and all of them to be enjoyable. Cheers :)
Set Bookmark
Clint
Sat, Jun 22, 2013, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Son Also Rises

Great episode! Good return to form. FINALLY.

I too enjoyed the new guest actor as the lawyer.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Fri, Jun 21, 2013, 9:01am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

4 Stars? What the heck? I'm sorry, but I can't go along with you guys on this. I'm with Michael, Ryan, and Kieren. I thought this episode stunk.

The acting was great. The special effects were good. But the story went NOWHERE! Let's break it down, shall we?

1. A few prior hints about "Kara Thrace and Her Special Destiny" (this band coming soon to a town near you!).

2. Starbuck starts having bad dreams and thinking about her mom.

3. A bunch of religious, metaphysical mumbo-jumbo gets thrown out there by the writers.

4. Starbuck kills herself. The End.

How is that in any way satisfying? How is that by any measure considered a *good* story?

I mean, examine all the pseudo-religious nonsense in this episode. Does any of it make any sense? No. Maybe in future episodes, but not in this one.

I found this episode to be very annoying. I don't even like Starbuck at all. But to kill off a main character seemingly at random just doesn't seem right. Maybe at some point in a future episode there will be some payoff to this. But I'm not holding my breath for that. As it stands, it was meaningless and stupid.

I really don't get all you people here raving about how great this episode was. "It's one of the top episodes!" Huh? I mean, you guys are certainly entitled to your opinion. If you loved this one, more power to you. But every time I read one of those positive comments, I just think, "Did I just watch the same episode they are talking about?"

Like Nick P. said, I thought "Dirty Hands" was much more interesting than this one. And I wouldn't rate it 3 stars either.

I am watching all of BG for the first time. So far, Season Three has been very disappointing. It started out fairly strong, but the story quality of the episodes has diminished greatly. I keep hoping for it to get back to the edge-of-your seat style storytelling that made up most (not all!) of Seasons One and Two. But it seems like the writers have lost their way.

At this point the stories are going nowhere. Throwing in a bunch of religious nonsense merely obscures the fact, trying to show meaning where there is none. It is not making things better.

Of course, I could be completely wrong. Maybe all this religious "destiny" junk means something in later episodes after all. I certainly hope so.

There's still 3 episodes left in this season, and a whole other season to go. I sure hope the stories pick up the pace. I feel like BG is going through its death throes here. Starbuck's pointless and annoying death in "Maelstrom" is a good analogy for what the Battlestar Galactica stories as of late have become. And that sucks.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Fri, May 31, 2013, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Sacrifice

Crappy episode. I was not impressed at all.

Farewell, Billy! We hardly knew ye. Oh well... At least you got to have lots of sex, like all the other characters on the show. Oh wait- darn!

Maybe Billy will show up later as a Cylon. Then he will get to have lots of sex, as that seems to be what Cylons do best. Maybe their whole "plan" is simply to create a new supply of porn for all their buddies stuck on the Cylon homeworld, who are slightly bored with only 12 models to choose from :)
Set Bookmark
Clint
Fri, May 31, 2013, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

P.S. On Roslin's actions on the show, two things baffled me:

1. So the President can just outlaw this or that, no questions asked? Just what kind of government are we running here? What is the point of having the Quorum of 12 when apparently, Roslin acts as the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branch, all in one?

2. Why in the world did Roslin outlaw abortion AFTER the girl had one? Didn't that kind of defeat the entire purpose of why they were arguing about it in the first place? Points scored for the pro-choice writers, apparently. But it didn't make much sense.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Fri, May 31, 2013, 8:23am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

"Athena"??? Would you guys PLEASE quit dropping spoilers? Jammer has said it enough times already - how come nobody listens to him?

I am watching this series for the first time. Nowhere in the show to date has anyone ever called Helo's Sharon "Athena". I can only assume that this happens in a show down the line, and that's a major spoiler because it means Sharon turns out to be a god of some sort. So come on people! Give me a break, will ya? Stop it with the spoilers already!

Yeah, I know... If I don't like the spoilers, then I shouldn't read the comments. But 99% of the time, I very much enjoy reading the comments. There's a lot of good conversation here. It's only when people start dropping the spoiler bombs that I start getting annoyed.

Okay, now that I've gotten that out of my system...


Jammer, I've read all of your BSG reviews so far, and I enjoy them greatly. Thank you for the great work you've done here!

After 2 or 3 very crappy (IMO) episodes, I felt that this episode was a refreshing return to form. I was starting to wonder about this show. Seemed like it was really going off the rails to me. But this episode brought things back into line, for the most part.

I too find the Dee / Lee relationship to be annoying. No chemistry there whatsoever. And the transition from Billy's death is very poorly written. I thought that Dee and Billy were much more believable as a couple. I understand the actor who plays Billy had to leave the show, but the whole Dee and Lee thing just doesn't work.

I haven't been too impressed with how the writers have handled the Pegasus since Admiral Cain's untimely - er - *departure*. First, they off Fisk, an officer who was sympathetic and complex and had the potential to be a great character on the show. Then they kill off Scotty... I mean, Garner. Who had to go down to the engine room because, "There's Cylon's off the starboard bow and she canna take much more, Captain!"

So 3 Pegasus officers down. (4 if you include Thorne, who was apparently highly regarded.) At this point, if I were a Pegasus crewman, I would be starting to have some SERIOUS reservations about "Admiral" Adama and the whole batch of new leadership. There could even be a conspiracy to mutiny brewing.

And what does Adama do about this? Probably the stupidest thing the man could do, under the circumstances. He promotes his SON to lead the Pegasus. There it, folks. I would say "Cronyism at its finest", except that it's far worse than that. We're talking Nepotism here, perpetrated by a man who already wields an alarming amount of power. I wish Lee had shown the integrity of previous episodes, and turned down the command outright.

And what does Colonel Tigh think of all this? Maybe Adama already discussed it with him in his annual review.

For the most part, BSG follows an internal logic that is very consistent. But sometimes, it loses me. The Pegasus story arc (so far) is one of those times. I think in a real fleet, the moment Cain was gone, Adama would move to the Pegasus and assume command of it. He would put Tigh in charge of the Galactica. I don't see any other logical way to maintain control, and I don't know why this wasn't done from the start.

Sure, Tigh is a lousy officer when he's top dog, but he's very good as a right-hand man. Which is what he still would have been, with Adama commanding the Pegasus directly. Commanding the Pegasus would be the only way to reprogram those people with Adama's values, and integrate them into the rest of the fleet's culture. I just don't get it.

I'm glad I'm not the only one who noticed a "previously on Battlestar Galactica" moment that never actually happened. Thought I was going senile there!

(Note: I've noticed that many times in the "previously" scenes, they show alternate takes from what was actually shown. There was one that was particularly egregious. ("Kobol's Last Gleaming", I think?) That was the episode where Starbuck confessed to her role in Lee's brother's death. In the actual episode, she says, "And IT killed him." In the "previously" scene, she says, "I killed him." BIG difference!)


I'm avoiding the whole abortion debate here. Same as the whole torture argument, you guys went off the rails here. You're not going to change someone else's mind on the subject by arguing. Especially not in an internet forum.

One last thing about this episode. If I recall correctly, someone mentions - yet again - that Sharon (NOT "Athena - give me a break, people!) is "just a machine". That whole "machine" argument is getting on my nerves. It is quite obvious to anyone with any sort of brain whatsoever that the humanoid Cylons are NOT machines per se. You can call them a clone, a copy, a simulant, a replicant, an artificial humanoid, a bio-engineered cybernetic creature, or whatever... But to insist on calling them a "machine" borders on stupid.

I could see calling them a machine when nothing was known about them. But after doing scans and blood tests and finding that their body is virtually identical to a human being's, continuing to call such an organism a "machine" is just dumb. Actually, what it is is lousy writing. Despite the facts, the writers are intentionally and heavy-handedly continuing to have characters call these things "machines". Why? I don't know. To dehumanize them in order to create drama, I suppose.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Sun, May 19, 2013, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Digedag writes:
"Avengers" and "Into Darkness" reside on the opposite ends of the story telling spectrum. The latter is the reason with have so many shallow, empty, emotional dishonest multi-million dollar spectacles. And if we aren't allowed to criticize this kind of brainless blockbuster summer fare, if we are content that these flicks aim for the lowest common denominator and don't demand more for our admission fee, than we - in all honesty - deserve to suffer through "Transformers", "G.I. Joe", "Amazing Spider-Man", "Prometheus" and what have you.

Into Darkness may be the result of previous summer blockbusters that have succeeded with nonsensical plots (though I don't agree it is), but it can't be the cause, unless you're implying the existence of time travel.

You can certainly criticize such films, but as long as they're earning hundreds of millions of dollars, the studios are motivated to produce more of the same. Expecting them to do otherwise is illogical. Summer blockbusters are a commercial art, and they aren't going to change until large numbers of the movie-watching public stop paying to see them. Organizing boycotts would be a much more successful tactic. Paying to see one is counterproductive, regardless of how much you later criticize it.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Sat, May 18, 2013, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Peremensoe asks whether the question shouldn't be, "Is Into Darkness a good Star Trek film?"

To answer such a question, we first need to define what Star Trek is. Despite claiming to be science fiction, Star Trek has almost always sacrificed scientific accuracy in the service of dramatic storytelling. As much as I might like to believe a future like Trek's might become a reality, no episode or film has ever held up to real scientific scrutiny. Furthermore, even the best Star Trek stories are often inconsistent with each other. Therefore I find it difficult to accept that Star Trek is really about a convincing vision of the future.

IMHO, at its most basic, Star Trek is a vehicle for telling stories that empower human beings to understand and improve themselves. I think Into Darkness succeeds at that goal.
Set Bookmark
Clint
Sat, May 18, 2013, 6:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

I really enjoyed Into Darkness. It certainly had all kinds of flaws, especially where realistic physics and logical consistency are concerned. That said, Into Darkness is a big budget summer blockbuster, geared to appeal to the lowest common denominator. It's virtually a distinct art form, and criticizing it for being what it is is like criticizing an impressionistic painting for not having clean lines and sharply defined shapes. Summer blockbusters may be a poor medium of expression for Star Trek, but that's a different argument. The question should be whether Into Darkness is a good summer blockbuster.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.