Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 50 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Kind of silly to have them pretend to try to kill Michael while having a crew ready to save her if the red angel doesn't show up, defeats the entire point of what they were doing. Liked seeing Georgiou break when they pushed it to the brink though, even in the mirror universe her soft spot for her was her biggest weakness. Good to see character development pay off. Sonja Sohn was a great choice for Michael's mother and very happy it didn't turn out to just be Michael herself. I doubt a lot of this was the plan from the beginning but they are doing a fairly good job weaving threads together from the start of the show to now. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Another great episode for the series. My only negative take away with any substance is that I wish we had seen more of Ariam sooner. The actress playing her really did a great job in this episode under a lot of make up and prosthetics. 4/4 for me. They are on a roll right now.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

One of the best episodes of this series so far. Everything they've developed so far season paid off with great result. 4 Stars for me
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@william d whers dont worry, they promised to be nice to each other from now on...
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Entertaining episode. Ultimately this episode will live or die with how this season plays out. Still feel weird about this Spock plotline but I guess let's see where it goes. I'm confused why Tyler is just a part of the crew again. How is Stamets ok with that after he murdered his man in front of him, even if he is ok now thanks to mushrooms. Other than that, I'm intrigued and enjoyed the entire cast's performances. 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

This isn’t about the prime directive or even good intentions, they almost caused a genocide through their reckless actions and then left.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I still just can't get over how quickly this crew just warped the future of two entire races and left. Saru directly ignored Pike's orders to do this with no consequences at all. They just showed up and showed an entire race that their entire existence was a lie and almost got them all exterminated if that Red Angel didn't save the day. There was good stuff in this episode but that resolution was a mess and Pike just got walked all over.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

ugh. Way to keep your crew in line, Pike.

They just altered the future of 2 entire species without any plan for the future aside from "be nice to each other you guys" and left? I'm not really one to harp on cannon but this felt just totally irresponsible for Star Fleet.

1/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Feel like this show is finally starting to settle into itself. Theres a lot to nit pick and complain about, but it owns its weirdness and leans into it. There are good actors starting to fill out their characters roles. There's a lot to gripe about, don't get me wrong but I'd honestly take this over about half of Voyager and all of Enterprise. Seriously, think about the fact you watched Nelix's love life play out or Scott Bakula deal with his dog getting sick because he brought it to some random planet. At the end of the day I'll just fit this into the star trek history/ time-line as "that time they built a mushroom ship and it all got real weird, real fast.... we don't like to talk about that" and enjoy the ride.
3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

A lot of good in this episode. Good character development, interested to see how Saru changes after this since he was kind of one note by default. Tig makes a good foil for Stammets and her presence helped to balance the absurdity of the mycelial network plot. Could pick nits but not worth it, I liked the episode. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

They sure tried to stuff lot in this episode to mixed results. Agree with @William D Wehrs, wish they would let things let things breathe. The cuts between Tilly's plot to intense klingon politics were especially jarring.
2/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Great episode. This felt like classic Trek to me; the broad story could have been told on any series with any crew. Effects were finally used to just enhance the story rather than tell it. Characters were endearingly developed through conversations and we finally get to actually hear some the bridge crew speak. Was also nice to see them do what was essentially a self contained episode that still advanced the overall arc. My initial wariness of Pike as the captain is wearing off, hes filling the role of boring boyscout version of Kirk well and allowing the others to shine. When the Captain isn't meant to be central character this really makes sense. Hope to see more episodes like this and really hoping this red angel plot-line pays off or it could sully this solid step in the right direction. 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

2/4 for me. Show just doesn’t want to take a second to breathe. Feels more like the recent films and less like the tv shows. Was hoping after the set up last season it would fall into something more familiar but they seem intent on constant escalation. Not good when things are already escalated to where most trek was season 5-7.
Set Bookmark
Kent Clark
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 8:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ah, the symmetry of the internet timeline! I find it fascinating to read a decade of comments about a show that initially aired more than a score of years earlier. What’s lacking in the episode I think, is a more complete discussion of how Tuvix’s personality was a complementary balance of the stoicism of Tuvoc and the impulsive id od Nelix.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim

As for the actual set, TNG and TOS had very bright bridge sets. That's what I always remember as well. But the TOS films it was often dark. Voyager's seemed to vary between light and dark depending on how close to Voyager was to losing shields that week. DS9 was pretty dark outside Quark's and Enterprise had a similar light scenario to Discovery. I thought they were the first to go that dark set wise as well untill going back, maybe HD and wide screen plays in to that.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 23, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim

From what the writers are saying, it seems like it was always the plan for this season to be the journey that shapes this crew. As they move away from the mirror universe its going to automatically get less dark. It's up to the writers to make Burnham's speech not wring so hollow in face of the genocide plot you just mentioned by following through on her words next season and forward. If done correctly, this could be viewed as true turning point for humanity to always put diplomacy first and hold actually hold true to that ideal, leading to the uber-diplomatic Picard 100 years later.

I get the criticism and hang ups but really don't get people completely rejecting this show already. Mistakes were made for sure but the bones are there, hopefully they get fleshed out well and the writers follow through on their promises. I just hope they don't blow it and pick a bad captain, there will be a void left by the last two leaving the show.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

People are being too hard on this show. I just recently rewatched TNG, DS9, Voyager, and Enterprise after being drawn back in by this show last fall and I think there is a lot of rose colored glasses going on here as this first season never hit the extreme lows that were present on all those shows, especially early on. I also really didn't find any of the cast to be dead-weight, an issue which really effected past series.

Hopefully they flesh out some of the fringe bridge crew and make a good choice for captain, and this show is well on the right track to holding it's own among previous iterations. I agree with Jammer that the pay off to the long arc felt contrived and too easy, but this is honestly just often the case with Star Trek. Hopefully in future seasons they save the dues ex machina for the one off episodes and think up more meaningful solutions to the major series arcs.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Mar 22, 2018, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Rick Berman described this episode as a "valentine to the fans".

Wow...
Set Bookmark
Clark
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 1:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

Solid episode and does feel like the show is hitting it's stride. There is a point though were Malcolm almost dies from that fire, really hammered home how little I care about him. I don't even think the other characters would be all that upset about it.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Mar 19, 2018, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Amounted to Tuvix without the unintentional humor. Interesting moral question but its too neatly resolved with a feel good ending to have any real impact.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 17, 2018, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

The call between Archer and Hoshi's father is so absurd. Real unintentional humor here. How is this guy our choice to captain this ship again?
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 3:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

This is just a miserable episode. As much as we all love dogs, imagine being some middling crewman on board hearing the captain running around whining about his dog after all they've been through. "Anyone else get the feeling he cares way more about that dog than any of us?" Would have liked if the illness also just ended up from Archer just letting Porthos dig into cheese all day long and acting like its a one time thing.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Did some digging and found this quote from the "The Fifty Year Mission" oral history where Braga rags on it. Not sure if it makes me feel better or worse about it to know the people behind the show hate it just as much but still stuck with it.

BRANNON BRAGA: Co-Creator and (Junior) Executive Producer.
Rick and I felt that a song would set the slightly more contemporary feeling we were going after with Enterprise. For the longest time, we had a temporary song we cut the main titles to, U2’s “Beautiful Day.” If we had used that—or could have afforded it—that would have been a great song. Those main titles with U2 are amazing. It’s hip and cool, whereas the song we ended up with is awful. I’m a big fan of Diane Warren, she’s a great songwriter, but this particular song and the way it was sung was tacky. I still cringe when I hear it and, by the way, I think the song had a lot to do with people’s adverse reaction to the show. If you look at the main titles themselves, it’s a really cool sequence. But the song is awful, just awful.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Watching this series for the first time.... this theme song is so bad. I had to check ahead to see if they kept it on and can't believe it.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

As Jammer and many others are saying fitting way to end this series with highs and lows, weird Chakotay scenes, and questionable ethical decisions by Janeway. Overall found the series worth watching, with the best episodes up there with any Trek... but the lows felt more pervasive than in TNG and DS9. Still, definitely worth watching as a whole but there is a lot you can just skip through. Have to admit though, that I did find some of the legendary lows to be entertainingly bad such as Theshold and Tuvix. Funny to even think about those plot lines.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.