Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 62 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Ripley Clarke
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Generations IMO was by far the best of the TNG films.

The main point of this film was summed up best by Picard at the end on the bridge as he was speaking to Riker. He reminds us about what Soran said "time is like a predator that stalks us all our lives..." and then says he would rather think of time as a companion which travels with you remind you to cherish every moment. With many plot elements reminding you that all things end, Picard's relatives dying in the fire, the loss of the Enterprise D, the loss of Kirk.

None of the other TNG films made me come nearly as close to crying as I did the two times you lose Kirk in Generations. First contact was yet another moby dick (which it competes with Wrath of Khan in that respect), Insurrection was yet another White guilt Native American analogy (again- tons and tons of episodes on this), and finally Nemesis was just flat out bad. To rate Generations on the same level is completely unfair in my opinion and im not sure why it seems to be the forgotten of the TNG films.
Set Bookmark
Ed Clarke
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

I think Discovery has reached its post-Riker's beard stage and I am genuinely enjoying the series at last. Slightly surprised however that no-one has observed this week's extraordinary ripping off of The Running Man (1987)! Short of Georgiou yelling GET TO DA CHOPPA, it couldn't have been less subtle an imitation...
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 1:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I still just can't help feeling like I'm never on solid ground watching this show. For me, a big part of Star Trek was a stable familiarity. I don't necessarily need to see a red/yellow/blue bridge crew tackle a weekly problem but so much crazy ---- has happened on this show so far in their mushroom powered time traveling ship. They could time travel to "the burn" episode 5, solve the mystery, and end the season back in the mirror universe and I wouldn't be all that surprised.

All that said, this was a great episode for Sonequa Martin-Green, really shined here. A solid table setting and I'm trying to be optimistic. Hoping they don't rush through the rebuild the Federation storyline and let this play out through the end of the series. There is a lot of meat there. If they play this out right season 3 forward could be where this show really hits its stride. 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Not a great two-parter by any means, but again, had some shining moments. In the end though, we get what we actually wanted, Picard as the captain of a new crew looking for a new adventure. Sure it was incredibly contrived, sure they let Agnes ge away with murdering her mentor, but at least there's that. Now lets just hope they don't try to reset the table again season 2 and embrace the world they have already created. 2 out 4 for me with a hopefully outlook on season 2.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

How are they all so ok with Agnes killing Maddox? Is because shes "done with murder" now? Found this incredibly distracting through most of the episode with a especially when they are leaving her alone to do a medical exam on Picard. Then Rios fawning over her... wooof. Overall it's starting to feel more and more contrived when things should be coming together. Still some bright points as always from Stewart and interesting parallels with Soji and Sudra/Data and Lore. Hopefully they can turn this around. Also starting to get increasingly worried the future of Picard is gonna be this cast on a ship named the Picard after he dies. 1.5/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Wasn't a bad episode, interesting character development Rios and Soji, but really stumbled during a couple of scenes with Agnes. Even if Oh poisoned her mind... she couldn't just stop Maddox or try to explain the danger? What kinda "mental block" is this exactly? And Picard and crews reaction is out of whack too. She murdered a guy on the ship who they know she was very close with, was working with their current enemy, won't tell them anything about it, but is "done with killing" so welcome back till deep space twelve? They are obviously gonna let bygones be bygones and let this go ultimately... A generous 2.5 out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

After a slow start with a lot of exposition, the show is really firing on all cylinders now, this episode had it all. The groundwork they have been laying throughout the series is paying off and the performances in this episode showed both the old and new crew at their best. 4 out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

My favorite of the series so far. Was fitting to see Hugh paying it forward from when the Enterprise crew worked to save and free him from Borg control. Also felt like the Six of Nine plot from last week helped provide some context to what kind of treatment un-assimilated Borg like Hugh face and why his work is important. They are treated like less than human, only valued as a potential source of income. A big crux of this show is clearly the exploration of prejudice, against the Romulan refugees, Borg victims, and androids. I think this weeks episode served to show that torture sequence was about world building and not just violence for violence's sake (like say... Elnor stabbing two Romulans in the throat for asking him to put his hands up...but, hey, I'm not complaining). 4 out 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I honestly felt like the violence was used to show us that this is not the same world we started out in with Picard in TNG. This is a world were Picard feels he needs to take rouge action against the direct orders of Starfleet because it, and the galaxy it controls, no longer resemble what he devoted his life to. Years of galaxy-wide war, borg invasion, Romulan diaspora....it makes sense its not the same and needs to have someone like Picard lead them back to the light... but that could easily just be me trying like and justify what I'm seeing because I want to like it.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

A solid episode, good to see some character development and finally moving the story forward. Still not sold on the Elnor character but he was better here than in the last episode. The costume play acting stuff was a little much, but brought back memories of the holodeck/time travel episodes Trek has done in the past. Enjoyed the twist at the end. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 16, 2020, 9:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

So much exposition... they are really spending a lot of time setting the plate for this series. Interesting choice with some much backstory to build off of... but still mostly enjoying things, even during the weaker episodes, which this definitely was of the 4. A little worried Elnor might be miscast here, I like the idea of the character a lot more than the execution so far. 2/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

4/4 for me and very interested to see where this goes, especially after that look ahead. With a serialized season arc, so much will depend on how this all ties together and how the rest of the cast gels, but really off to a great start. Was a relief to see that the didn't sit in the nostalgia but aren't forgetting what came before. If this is done well enough, it could add depth to re-watches of TNG.

... just hoping we don't see Q or section 31 anytime soon
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Kind of silly to have them pretend to try to kill Michael while having a crew ready to save her if the red angel doesn't show up, defeats the entire point of what they were doing. Liked seeing Georgiou break when they pushed it to the brink though, even in the mirror universe her soft spot for her was her biggest weakness. Good to see character development pay off. Sonja Sohn was a great choice for Michael's mother and very happy it didn't turn out to just be Michael herself. I doubt a lot of this was the plan from the beginning but they are doing a fairly good job weaving threads together from the start of the show to now. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Another great episode for the series. My only negative take away with any substance is that I wish we had seen more of Ariam sooner. The actress playing her really did a great job in this episode under a lot of make up and prosthetics. 4/4 for me. They are on a roll right now.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

One of the best episodes of this series so far. Everything they've developed so far season paid off with great result. 4 Stars for me
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@william d whers dont worry, they promised to be nice to each other from now on...
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Entertaining episode. Ultimately this episode will live or die with how this season plays out. Still feel weird about this Spock plotline but I guess let's see where it goes. I'm confused why Tyler is just a part of the crew again. How is Stamets ok with that after he murdered his man in front of him, even if he is ok now thanks to mushrooms. Other than that, I'm intrigued and enjoyed the entire cast's performances. 3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

This isn’t about the prime directive or even good intentions, they almost caused a genocide through their reckless actions and then left.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I still just can't get over how quickly this crew just warped the future of two entire races and left. Saru directly ignored Pike's orders to do this with no consequences at all. They just showed up and showed an entire race that their entire existence was a lie and almost got them all exterminated if that Red Angel didn't save the day. There was good stuff in this episode but that resolution was a mess and Pike just got walked all over.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

ugh. Way to keep your crew in line, Pike.

They just altered the future of 2 entire species without any plan for the future aside from "be nice to each other you guys" and left? I'm not really one to harp on cannon but this felt just totally irresponsible for Star Fleet.

1/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Sun, Feb 17, 2019, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Feel like this show is finally starting to settle into itself. Theres a lot to nit pick and complain about, but it owns its weirdness and leans into it. There are good actors starting to fill out their characters roles. There's a lot to gripe about, don't get me wrong but I'd honestly take this over about half of Voyager and all of Enterprise. Seriously, think about the fact you watched Nelix's love life play out or Scott Bakula deal with his dog getting sick because he brought it to some random planet. At the end of the day I'll just fit this into the star trek history/ time-line as "that time they built a mushroom ship and it all got real weird, real fast.... we don't like to talk about that" and enjoy the ride.
3/4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

A lot of good in this episode. Good character development, interested to see how Saru changes after this since he was kind of one note by default. Tig makes a good foil for Stammets and her presence helped to balance the absurdity of the mycelial network plot. Could pick nits but not worth it, I liked the episode. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

They sure tried to stuff lot in this episode to mixed results. Agree with @William D Wehrs, wish they would let things let things breathe. The cuts between Tilly's plot to intense klingon politics were especially jarring.
2/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Great episode. This felt like classic Trek to me; the broad story could have been told on any series with any crew. Effects were finally used to just enhance the story rather than tell it. Characters were endearingly developed through conversations and we finally get to actually hear some the bridge crew speak. Was also nice to see them do what was essentially a self contained episode that still advanced the overall arc. My initial wariness of Pike as the captain is wearing off, hes filling the role of boring boyscout version of Kirk well and allowing the others to shine. When the Captain isn't meant to be central character this really makes sense. Hope to see more episodes like this and really hoping this red angel plot-line pays off or it could sully this solid step in the right direction. 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Clark
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

2/4 for me. Show just doesn’t want to take a second to breathe. Feels more like the recent films and less like the tv shows. Was hoping after the set up last season it would fall into something more familiar but they seem intent on constant escalation. Not good when things are already escalated to where most trek was season 5-7.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.