Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 29 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 8:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

Never understood why they didn't just euthanize Kurn outside of Bajoran or Starfleet jurisdiction.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Dec 28, 2018, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

If there's a likeness with "The Inner Light," it's that they're both decidedly off-format episodes that focus almost exclusively around a single member of the ensemble. They're also both decidedly melodramatic pieces where soaring emotion is prioritized (and logic consequently takes a back seat). The level of taste people have for such episodes is, I suspect, directly related to their tolerance for melodrama.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 8:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Episodes like "The Paradise Syndrome" supply some precedent to the idea that Kirk's ultimate fantasy might be retiring to a quiet, agrarian life. It's not quite out of nowhere.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 27, 2018, 5:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Ignore him. He's not operating in good faith. Asking for figures of deaths "directly" from an ideology is bullshit, since it will forever allow you the out that anything you want to ignore is "indirect." It's sophistry, plain and simple.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Dec 24, 2018, 9:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It would appear that the topic here is revisionist history -- less "do these things happen today," but "how do we work unpleasant facets of the past into our cultural representations of the past." I would agree that this is not to most graceful or subtle way to handle it, nor the one most consistent with Star Trek's style of social commentary through science fiction. But it is a topic worth exploring, and there's no particular reason that Sisko shouldn't retain a sense of identity as an African American (any more than O'Brien still sees himself as an Irishman, or Scotty as a Scotsman) and know the history of what that entails.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 20, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

One gets the impression that Starfleet, which has been described as a "combined service," has somehow absorbed a lot of the bureaucracy of the Federation. Which is certainly odd. People focus on how militarized the Federation seems to be, but I'd also like to draw attention to the bureaucratic side of things. It seems like a triumph of the liberal-democratic ideal that efficiency, management, planning and bureaucracy will build a better, more equitable society (a la Max Weber).
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Dec 19, 2018, 2:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

I've heard this suggestion that the Preservers (from "The Paradise Syndrome") were responsible for moving the Voth. Of course, that's pretty far fetched because it would have required them to visit Earth both in the Cretaceous and a few centuries ago.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 3:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

I actually find the "Wesley saves the day" thing a tad bit more earned this time than most. He just happens to be the one who notices the pattern -- not too bad. The whole "giving up his chance to be at Starfleet to save the day" part is contrived as all hell, though. The scene between him and Picard is good, though.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 1:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

In "Errand of Mercy":
KOR: Hardly. They were quite important to us, but they can be replaced. You of the Federation, you are much like us.
KIRK: We're nothing like you. We're a democratic body.

Weirdly enough, Kor again, in "Once More Unto the Breach":
KOR: Worf, you've been living among this democratic rabble for too long.

Now, what kind of democracy is not really clean, but it seems to be some sort of representative democracy (Jaresh-Inyo represented his planet before becoming UFP President). We are later told that Jaresh-Inyo is not longer president, but not if he resigned, died or was voted out.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

A question I've always had: were the writers actively sabotaging Pulaski (or Muldaur)? Because it seems like they stacked the deck against her at every occasion. To an extent I like that she shakes up the dynamic, but between the "McCoy carbon copy" factor and the "bullying Data" factor, it seems she was doomed. Perhaps they wanted a controversial, "love to hate" character and went too far?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Scientists have theorized that a rogue planet could support life, though it would be extremely unlikely https://www.wired.com/2011/02/steppenwolf-planet/. In this case, you can reason that the Founders probably terraformed it to their precise needs somehow. The bigger question of course is, from where comes the ambient light?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 9:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

I'll grant that this episode is unique. It shows that uniqueness is not always a virtue.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

Just adding information. Without seeing the books it would be hard to tell which show was more profitable. First-run syndicated shows (as both DS9 and B5 were) tend to have a lower overhead than network shows (which Voyager was, albeit of an odd sort). One advantage TNG had was that it operated relatively unopposed in the field of "episode SF series" -- its own success led to its offshoots struggling for a share of a more crowded market. As always, it's sort of an "apple-oranges" situation.

It's impossible to measure but I would tend to say that Voyager has proved to have more "cultural footprint" than DS9. That's not a judgment on the quality of either show, of course, but I would tend to imagine more people in the general public (rather than Star Trek fans specifically) could name Janeway or Seven than any DS9 character.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

It's a persistent idea that Voyager's ratings were better than DS9's. Check this chart: https://i.stack.imgur.com/JebhO.jpg. If it's accurate (and I think it basically is but can't vouch for every detail), DS9's ratings were slightly better in absolute terms with only occasional exceptions. Perhaps Voyager fared better in reruns. It's quite obvious that TNG was way, way more successful in ratings terms.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Well if we had ever heard this nickname "noid" used on Star Trek before or since, then maybe...

And yeah, Goldberg deserves an Oscar for making it as bearable as possible. Has one, come to think of it...
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

The first I think is terrible terrible of a pun. "Droid" for android, we get that. But "noid" for humanoid is just forced. The fact that the script needs to then explain the joke -- not just to Data, but to us, because I would have never understood it otherwise -- shows that it is just weak.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

It looks as if the prior post was supposed to be for "Playing God," no?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I have no idea what your monumentally vague response means or how it has anything to do with the specifics of the post I made. But by all means, continue to go on declaiming about "intelligent writing."
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

According to this transcript, "symbiont" is used four times: http://www.chakoteya.net/NextGen/197.htm. It's odd that it's used interchangeably with "parasite," since they're not perfect synonyms and parasites by definition cause harm to or at least inconvenience their hosts.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 9:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Yeah, anyone who can get out a line like "That's the thing about crayons, they can take you to more places than a starship" and not come off as horribly cloying, that's some talent.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Funny enough, while I like the acting of the Spock/Data scene, I always find it disappointingly unimaginative. They say what you'd expect them to say. It's in character, yes, but it does little to reveal anything about either of them.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Google "Afrofuturism" and you'll find plenty of great works of science fiction exploring the future of African culture. That is not what is this is.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Nov 20, 2018, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

DS9 mentions us two ships with Vulcan-specific names, ShirKahr and Sarek. No reference to their crew composition, but it's certainly conceivable that they're also Vulcan-majority ships.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I don't think the options need to be drawn as starkly as "act this second" and "wait until we reach the Federation." We see in "The Measure of a Man" and "The Drumhead" that command level Starfleet officers have legal training, so why not assign Chakotay or someone to represent Tuvix at some sort of tribunal? Is it not in Janeway's own best interest to secure legal validation of her controversial decisions?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Shouldn't be "unaware" in that last sentence. One other thing: you say "To me, Tuvix is more like some random alien who beamed aboard." But doesn't the fact that he is given a job and uniform point in a different direction? If an alien popped up on the ship but then was given a Starfleet commission because of its exploitable skills and commitment to the ship's mission, oughtn't that package to also include some level of protection against summary execution?
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.