Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 20 (Showing 1-20)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 1:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

A question I've always had: were the writers actively sabotaging Pulaski (or Muldaur)? Because it seems like they stacked the deck against her at every occasion. To an extent I like that she shakes up the dynamic, but between the "McCoy carbon copy" factor and the "bullying Data" factor, it seems she was doomed. Perhaps they wanted a controversial, "love to hate" character and went too far?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

Scientists have theorized that a rogue planet could support life, though it would be extremely unlikely https://www.wired.com/2011/02/steppenwolf-planet/. In this case, you can reason that the Founders probably terraformed it to their precise needs somehow. The bigger question of course is, from where comes the ambient light?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 9:37am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

I'll grant that this episode is unique. It shows that uniqueness is not always a virtue.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

Just adding information. Without seeing the books it would be hard to tell which show was more profitable. First-run syndicated shows (as both DS9 and B5 were) tend to have a lower overhead than network shows (which Voyager was, albeit of an odd sort). One advantage TNG had was that it operated relatively unopposed in the field of "episode SF series" -- its own success led to its offshoots struggling for a share of a more crowded market. As always, it's sort of an "apple-oranges" situation.

It's impossible to measure but I would tend to say that Voyager has proved to have more "cultural footprint" than DS9. That's not a judgment on the quality of either show, of course, but I would tend to imagine more people in the general public (rather than Star Trek fans specifically) could name Janeway or Seven than any DS9 character.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

It's a persistent idea that Voyager's ratings were better than DS9's. Check this chart: https://i.stack.imgur.com/JebhO.jpg. If it's accurate (and I think it basically is but can't vouch for every detail), DS9's ratings were slightly better in absolute terms with only occasional exceptions. Perhaps Voyager fared better in reruns. It's quite obvious that TNG was way, way more successful in ratings terms.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 3:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Well if we had ever heard this nickname "noid" used on Star Trek before or since, then maybe...

And yeah, Goldberg deserves an Oscar for making it as bearable as possible. Has one, come to think of it...
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

The first I think is terrible terrible of a pun. "Droid" for android, we get that. But "noid" for humanoid is just forced. The fact that the script needs to then explain the joke -- not just to Data, but to us, because I would have never understood it otherwise -- shows that it is just weak.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

It looks as if the prior post was supposed to be for "Playing God," no?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I have no idea what your monumentally vague response means or how it has anything to do with the specifics of the post I made. But by all means, continue to go on declaiming about "intelligent writing."
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

According to this transcript, "symbiont" is used four times: http://www.chakoteya.net/NextGen/197.htm. It's odd that it's used interchangeably with "parasite," since they're not perfect synonyms and parasites by definition cause harm to or at least inconvenience their hosts.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 9:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

Yeah, anyone who can get out a line like "That's the thing about crayons, they can take you to more places than a starship" and not come off as horribly cloying, that's some talent.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Funny enough, while I like the acting of the Spock/Data scene, I always find it disappointingly unimaginative. They say what you'd expect them to say. It's in character, yes, but it does little to reveal anything about either of them.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 26, 2018, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Google "Afrofuturism" and you'll find plenty of great works of science fiction exploring the future of African culture. That is not what is this is.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Tue, Nov 20, 2018, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

DS9 mentions us two ships with Vulcan-specific names, ShirKahr and Sarek. No reference to their crew composition, but it's certainly conceivable that they're also Vulcan-majority ships.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I don't think the options need to be drawn as starkly as "act this second" and "wait until we reach the Federation." We see in "The Measure of a Man" and "The Drumhead" that command level Starfleet officers have legal training, so why not assign Chakotay or someone to represent Tuvix at some sort of tribunal? Is it not in Janeway's own best interest to secure legal validation of her controversial decisions?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Shouldn't be "unaware" in that last sentence. One other thing: you say "To me, Tuvix is more like some random alien who beamed aboard." But doesn't the fact that he is given a job and uniform point in a different direction? If an alien popped up on the ship but then was given a Starfleet commission because of its exploitable skills and commitment to the ship's mission, oughtn't that package to also include some level of protection against summary execution?
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I'll grant that Janeway certainly could circumvent due process if the stakes are high enough. That would be both within her character and within her discretion as captain. But is it warranted here? What makes the stakes high enough? The ship is not at risk, crew integrity is not at risk (I see no sign of this despite what others have argued). To repeat a point from above, it all comes back to the episode failing to work in a time element. There's no particular reason for Janeway to act immediately if the same procedure can be done a year from now.

I like the worms too but I don't think the episode really knows what it's doing. It's not a provocative discussion of bioethics or philosophy; it's just a rote outing of a rote show, stronger in concept than in execution. I do like the discussion it's inspired (and appreciate the respectful, intelligent tone it's maintained here), but that doesn't make me like the episode. Quite the opposite; it makes the episode seem weaker since it seems aware of these issues.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

To add to the above, Tuvix's supposed lack of personhood does not seem to preclude Janeway letting him work on the ship. What kind of moral position is "We'll totally except you as your own unique being and accept you as a comrade in arms, at least provided that we don't have a method of stripping you down for your component parts. Oh wait..."
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

It's true that a clone start out as a baby (should be a fertilized cell, really!), but at least they're consistent in the silly notion that a clone is a carbon copy of its donor.
Set Bookmark
Circus Man
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 2:03am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

It may well be the case that "there are no laws pertaining to accidentally joined persons," so Janeway needs to do what we do when we encounter a situation to which no laws neatly apply: look to existing law for precedent of some sort, or put differently, look at the principle and purpose of the law and see how they apply even if the situation is new. I am not sure I necessarily want this episode to become a legal drama but it sways the other way taking place in a sort of legal vacuum in which such remedies are not even contemplated.

This is to me the worst part of the episode. Maybe Tuvix doesn't have the right to continue existing at the expense of his two forbearers. I kind of understand that position. What I've never heard anyone argue compellingly is why he even lacks access to due process.* The ending plays like Janeway is actively trying to circumvent due process because she's afraid it won't go the way she wants. Is this her prerogative as a Starfleet captain, especially given Voyager's isolation? Maybe. But the episode should ate least call it for what it is: Janeway acting like a dictator.

* To the idea that he has no rights by virtue of "not existing," I would say that the mere fact that he has motivations that neither Tuvok nor Neelix would have proves that he is exists and is an independent entity. And in a democracy we grant people their rights to due process even if their existence is inconvenient to us.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.