Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 42 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
chuck V
Wed, Jul 11, 2018, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I would bring Dan Simmons' Hyperion Cantos. Underrated, I suggest y'all check it out.
I enjoy the creepy mysteriousness of this one, although some scenes get a little too campy for me.
Set Bookmark
chuck V
Sun, Jun 24, 2018, 2:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

This is a great season 1 episode. First off, no Wesley! Second, this is the first we have of Data being a badass. Yes , there is some scenes that I would characterise as "Shakespeare in the park", see Kurt Mandi's entrance. (8:31). Overall compelling.

(15:10) Patrick Stewart shows this dude how to act!

Great Picard stuff throughout this episode!
Set Bookmark
chuck V
Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 12:20am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

At the end of the episode Picard asks Data, "Are you alright?". Data responds, "I'm fine". Was this use of a contraction intended or just a massive mistake after an episode hinging on the differences between Lore and Data. Unfortunately I think it was the latter.

Also, Wesley is annoying as hell. Even more so on rewatches. Feels like they trying ram him down our throats, every season one episode.
Set Bookmark
Chuck V
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 8:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Badly in need of a fight choreographer. Badly in need.
Set Bookmark
Chuck V
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

First off, this opening is hilarious, "Hope ou have a lot of pretty boys onboard, because I'm willing, and waiting...", great delivery! Data is sporting some funky ellow eyes here, are they always like that? how did I not notice before? Some good erie music to accompany the mystery of the raging party. Hopefully this is how Richard Branson will run his space flights.

Next the Enterprise gets the party bug. Hijinks ensue, then Data fucks Tasha, lol. I don't think people realize how epic this is, on the second episode nonetheless. lots of laugh out loud moments in this one for me, "there once was a woman from venus....". Great episode! Five stars.
Set Bookmark
chuck V
Fri, Jun 8, 2018, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Starting the series over from the top. This will be my third time through. Love this forum and Jammers reviews.

I feel this was a good first entry for the series, thank God it gets better! I am struck in this episode by how little Picard and Co want to help Zorn and his people. A big ship comes by and starts blowing shit up, and their attitude is, well they must have done something to deserve this. Q is by far the best part of the episode, always love when he pops in, even if its at sherwood forest. A couple good Picard moments, like when he yells at wesley to get off his bridge. Tell him Picard!
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Thu, Jul 20, 2017, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Mister Experientiality here...

I literally, honestly, and thankfully FELL ASLEEP during this episode. Enough said.
I got about as far as the demand for a cloaking device.

(Yawn) Nodding off just typing about this o...n...e....

zzzz.....
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Wed, Jul 19, 2017, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

I think we're all over-thinking the race thing just a bit much, and tweaking it beyond what's probably more complicated than we as mere fans could assess onscreen.

What --I-- find amusing is that, while DS9 is the most integrated (I think) of the ST franchises, up to and including finally having a regular Black captain, is how many of the Black actors get stuck in Klingon roles. In most modern ST franchises (TNG, DS9, VOY, even *cough* ENT) you see many of the Black actors cast as costumed aliens, notably Klingons. Kurn is a good recurrent example.

Is that just me, or does anyone else notice this?
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, Jul 18, 2017, 9:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

We raise a mug (in this case, of coffee...) to our colleague, Gordie.
Very sorry for your father's health, sir.

Hi gang, Mister Experiential here... And Gordie's post SCREAMS my recurring point about how some episodes that have questionable plots or devices (like the ending...) score major points with fans by virtue of their experiential value.

In my case, this episode sings to me because I'm a fan of Colicos. Not was. Am. And as a previous poster pointed out, this was a swan song for Colicos in the ST universe, as he did pass into StoVoKor not much longer after this ep.

I was/am a huge BSG:TOS fan. Baltar. Nuff said. And in much the same spirit as Gordie and some other posters calling out the "vintage" Klingon characteristics that Colicos mastered so well, I also see a lot of Baltar in this manifestation of Kor, specifically in how Colicos voiced him. Sends chills up my spine to hear that sheer evil accent.

Just sayin'. Experience sometimes help trump mediocre writing. Godspeed Gordie.





I liked Kor from ST:TOS thru ST:NG and DS9. Probably just because I like Colicos.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sat, Jul 1, 2017, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Hi guys, Mr. Experiential here...

NO qualms with the many valid critiques here. I agree with most of them, and can agree to disagree with most of the rest. For starters, it was a lame crock to let Dax tag along.

But I came away from this one a little teary-eyed. because I'm something of a Worf fan for reasons many of us overlook.

As I have reported elsewhere, I love the scenes in TNG:"Family" in 10-Forward with Guinan and Worf's adoptive parents. Her encouraging words to them about what star Worf looks toward for "home" move me to tears almost every time I watch that one, especially since I am an adoptive parent with a little Klingon of my own.

This scene of Worf's "second adoption" into the House of Martok is not quite as touching, but is continuous in the legacy both good and bad that is Worf's. I was moved by it, no matter how contrived it may have seemed, just because of my own experience.

That is all.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, Jun 20, 2017, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

I wonder if the Prophets helped launch the thing. I too thought the ship was a tad far fetched even for Trek.

Here's my real question: Why are so many people here irked by the Bashir/O'Brien drinking scene but just as many fawn over the Picards fighting drunk on wine scene (from STNG)? What's the diffy?

Chuck
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Mon, Jun 19, 2017, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

Something I haven't seen people address head-on yet on this thread....

The specifics of the Cardassian / Bajoran treaty being negotiated deliberately called for the return of all Cardassian hardware/property to Cardassia. Might that have implicitly meant, from the Cardassian perspective, to include the Station itself?! You don't see this addressed point-blank, but the legate's verbiage makes me think they were trying to get the language into the treaty so at SOME point, Cardassia could use that verbiage to reclaim the Station from the Feds.

Please comment....
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, May 30, 2017, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Mister Experiential here again....

I see that the elders of this council have spoken again! I too am regularly moved to tears by this episode, as my own life, even as a post-college adult, is filled with redemption stories!

I loved the Sito subplot. Two distinct points make this grown man cry every frackin' time I view this ep.

One: Worf and the sparring session. When Worf "concedes" that the test is unfair and lectures Sito that she should act on that, I get choked up. I always enjoyed the character of Worf during the first run of this show (while I was in grad school...). My best friend was just like him in character. That probably added to it. Seeing Worf's soft side peek through the chain mail once in a while was always refreshing, and occasionally very moving -- like this example here, and like his chat with Guinan about his parents in Ten Forward (in "Family"--another tear jerker for me).

Two: Picard's initially reaming Sito a new one, followed by his response to her 'standing up' to him ("May I speak freely?" "Please do") When Picard recoils with his revelation that he indeed requested Sito be assigned to him because he thought she deserved a fair chance to rebuild her career. Boom. Tears.

Old Codger here, but damn proud of it.




On a somewhat lighter but more annoyed note, I'm in the crowd that was originally taken aback by Beverly's school-girlish approach with Ogawa. But I also remember years of criticism that so many of ST:NG's characters were puppet-like and flat. Give a character some depth, and then get slammed for it? May be depth you don't like, but then hey, that's real, flawed people for you. I saw good and bad qualities (if these were real people in a real work relationship--and they aren't...) in their girly-girl behavior, but again, giving the characters leeway to be who they are, it flew....
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Mon, May 22, 2017, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Regarding Trip's acrobatics. No. Just no. That is all.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sun, May 21, 2017, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Captain Experiential, here. I am rather liking the development of the relationship between Shran & Archer. Plotholes be damned. It's heartwarming to see their friendship strengthen with each stressor they conquer together.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sat, May 20, 2017, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

Episode reviews and political drama aside -- was it me, or did anyone else think that this episode was rather similar to TOS "LIving Legend" minus the Pegasus?

That is, think of the original series' "The Living Legend" where the Galactica goes after Gamoray alone.... that's what this episode really kinda is.

Still loved it. Still a lot of fun.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Wed, May 17, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

I'm with mitty on this one (go back up to 2012...). I was in my first year of graduate school, and also in one of my favorite eras in life (look back over some of my previous reflections on other episodes). I was rather worried about whether I'd even get IN to graduate school, so Wes' story scored experiential points with me. (PS, I got in...)

I'd otherwise just as soon toss the Boy out of an airlock, but this one story saves him, most likely due to the experiential relevance.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, May 16, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@RedSportsCar:

Yes, Troi was one of those non-family elements of community that stands out to me. One expects family members (Robert, Worf's parents, etc.) to stand up and defend/support their own, but it's even healthier when the circle gets wider than family -- Louis for one example, and his opportunity for Picard to step outside Star Fleet should he desire (yeah, right). Troi was another; she reached out to Picard as you so aptly point out, and to Beverly. Guinan really scores points with the Rozhenkos, and with Worf himself. I'm a big Community guy, and this episode nails it.

It's interesting the Ronald D. Moore wrote this episode... I'm reminded of BSG's "Flight of the Phoenix". that episode follows the same "community" theme and drew tears from me the first time I saw it. (Okay, the first several dozen times...) Moore didn't write it, but still, I wonder whether there was influence of this sort.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Mon, May 15, 2017, 2:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

Sometimes an episode may be mediocre to good, but not great. But for some viewers, an episode perceived as average by some, gets carried over the top by experiential influence.

I am one of those viewers.

"Family" was early in the 1990 seasons, just after BOBW II. Without getting too soapy here, 1989-1990 was a high point in my life; a period of "rest" that came after some very tough years. That's what this episode was for Picard in many senses, so it grabbed me up by the heart strings.

One of those specific heart strings for me is found in community. "Family" is largely about community for many of our main characters (Picard, Worf, and others), sometimes beyond relatives. Picard's welcome home, the instant job offer, etc. all catalyzed by people he had relationships with even though he was very much the stoic loner on the surface.

In both 1989 and 1990 I attended a couple of very warm and very emotional informal reunions with old friends from college, so in that same context, this episode resonates heavily with me. The straw that breaks the camel's back, for me, is always the parting scene between the Picard brothers: Robert-- "This is a little of the '47. Do not drink it all in one place. And try not to drink it alone." It's not uncommon for me to quote along with Robert, and if I'm not crying already, the "try not to drink it alone" finishes me off, without fail. Even in current years, the nostalgia of those two years still empowers this episode to draw blood.

Another tender spot for me is during Guinan's little chat with the Rozhenkos in Ten Forward. I always thought this exchange mildly sweet / touching through the years, since Worf always kept his adoptive parents at a distance (due to his discommendation, supposedly). Later in life, I would BECOME an adoptive parent myself...Guinan's words took on a whole new meaning, and a much sharper set of teeth. That's the experiential factor I'm talking about. I've got the bite marks to prove it.

I would never call the production or plot or whatever outstanding in its own cinematic right, but the experiential buttons in me that it always pushes without fail get it four stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Mon, May 15, 2017, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

Just some random responses. Having fun reading through this board:

@ tara -- I sadly concur, but sometimes you have to suspend all intelligence to enjoy a forum, movie, TV show, whatever. That is by no means meant critically (of you or of STNG) -- I find this unavoidably true with a lot of Hollywood today. I am a (real) scientist, so I tend to dissect the science of anything purporting to BE scientific. There are STNG eps that I DETEST because of the bogus science within. The only way to bypass that is simply to disengage and take what entertainment comes my way, even as comedy if I must.

@N - LOVED your May 3 entry. Seriously, can't read that one-liner without audibly cracking up!
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sun, May 14, 2017, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

With all the very-justifiable references to The SIxth Sense, and to the VOY episode "One" (which, yes, this was a second-rate ripoff of...) I'm kinda surprised that so many commentaries overlooked another classic sci-fi scene that was spoofed at least twice in this episode....

Take the wormhole on the left back to 1979....

As Phlox is roaming the corridors calling for Porthos, imagine a similar scene on board the USCSS Nostromo. Samuel Brett is similarly skulking through the bowels of a similar ship where most of the crew is nowhere to be found, calling out "Here kitty kitty...." His fate is sealed not by a Vulcan but by a stowaway Alien...you know the rest....

Or perhaps most of you are a touch young to remember that one....

Once again, borrowing plot lines. I tire of this...
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, May 9, 2017, 11:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

All these years, and all these comments, and I see that someone called out the re-used Voyager... but no one caught the refitted Dyson Sphere from "Relics" (ST:NG)?
It's a re-used or very ripped off model....
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Tue, May 9, 2017, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

The years-long review / judgment of Tripp and/or the Cogenitor's Rights argument aside, I was turned off by another issue altogether.

This whole tri-sexual argument, together with the "downplay" of the third party (the cogenitor in this case) has already been done before. Once again, Star Trek has used its own legacy to get away with lifting shit out of other TV shows, hijacking it, with almost no real homage to the original.

One need go no further than the "Alien Nation" series of mid-1990s to find this exact concept, even down to the Binnaum (the Tenktonese version of the cogenitor) who was also saddled with what appeared to be an under-educated or under-appreciated image. The only real difference between the cogenitor of ENT vs. the Binnaum of AN fame was that the Binnaum, while relatively "dumb" in appearance (Albert was at a menial job with the police department) was in fact a revered figure in the religious rites of the Tenktonese.

Our Vulcan ambassador buddy, Gary Graham was in fact an alumnus of Alien Nation the Series (not the movie...). Me almost wonders if this story line was affected by his presence in some way....
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sun, May 7, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

Anyone else think that the alien ship in this one vague resembers a BSG:RDM Cylon Raider? Just a thought.
Set Bookmark
Chuck
Sat, May 6, 2017, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Review activities aside, this episode had the faint aroma of "Face of the Enemy" and/or "Data's Day" (ST:NG) The whole idea of transporting a ranking officer or dignitary for unknown but semi-nefarious purposes... once again, we play "Spot the Plot Ripoff".... ah, nostalgia....
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.