Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,038 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 42
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

@Chris P

Even if we assumed Starfleet had some sort of “sign away your life clause” when you enlist, something I find hard to believe given the respect to crew’s medical decisions captains give in other Treks, that argument is irrelevant because B’elanna is not Starfleet. She already threw in the towel and joined The Marquis.

When The Marquis agreed to work with Janeway, I’m sure they never imagined they’d be giving away their medical decisions. The problem is Janeway decision to quash B’Elanna’s rights should have some lasting repercussions among The Marquis crew, but it doesn’t - which is just sad.

Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 3:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

@Peter G.

Actually, I was going to give the example of “The Maquis” where the treaty that Picard made, which took some real soul-searching and reasoning with parties on all sides, was essentially dragged through the mud and put out back to be shot. Characters in the DS9 two-parter continually question Federation diplomacy without anyone being a voice defending the treaty. Kira calls the Federation naive and gets no rebuttal. Meanwhile Sisko lies to superiors and blames Earth (God knows why...) and we’re supposed to side with that? I mean I get that tensions were so high in the Maquis situation and that there weren’t any good answers, but that conclusion actively undermines the hopeful message from TNG that even when things look lose-lose there might still be a way forward.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Aug 17, 2018, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

@Peter G.

I’m nowhere as bothered by Sisko as Elliot but I can see where he’s coming from with his critical analysis of DS9 generally. As been discussed, DS9 likes to take ideals from TOS/TNG and really test them to their breaking point. As a matter of intellectual interest that sort of deconstruction itself isn’t a bad thing, but oftentimes in DS9 we get a murky message from an episode. Sometimes it feels like DS9’s writers keep trying to say “Remember that valuable ethics lesson you learned from TNG? That’s hogwash when applied to the real world as you’ll see...”. In other words, DS9 will not only test the lessons of earlier Treks, but they’ll rip those lessons apart. It seems, to me at least, some messages don’t need to be battered around and it’s nice to have a show with some very black and white clear messages for people to learn from. That’s why I think we can learn a lot from DS9 but only if we don’t let it undermine TOS and TNG completely.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

@Elliot

Excellent review, I agree that Bashir and Garak begin to make great representatives for their respective cultures, which I think makes their discussions of Federation versus Cardassian culture all the more engaging.

One thing you didn’t mention that I thought I’d add is that Garak’s implant was effectively a painkiller like Vicodin with the accompanying negative consequences of becoming highly addictive on regular use. I like this touch because it retroactively explains why Garak is so cheery despite his isolation. It’s also a pretty interesting insight into pharmapsychology, which the DS9 writers show a surprisingly adept hand at portraying in this and several later DS9 episodes.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

@Joe

Let’s take sides of WWII out of equation. It’s the 24th century and Picard as speaking as enlightened representative of humanity, whether they be American or Japanese or German. Pearl Harbor escalated into casualties in the millions and ushered in weapons of destruction that brought devastation to our planet on an unprecedented scale. Even if you like the final result of the war, it’s worth considering that there could have been a better, more peaceful resolution to the conflict if players on all sides had the enlightened foresight of Picard in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

“The thing about Trek is that most of the great characters really are synonymous with, and inseparable from, the actor that plays them. William Shatner IS Kirk. Leonard Nimoy IS Spock. Michael Dorn IS Worf. Avery Brooks IS Sisko. Jeri Ryan IS Seven. Robert Picardo IS the Doc. Connor Trineer IS Trip. John Billingsley IS Phlox. And Doug Jones IS Saru.“

That’s your opinion and you’re welcome to it, however some of us still like seeing new Spock stories even though Nimoy passed away. This is no disrespect to Nimoy, I think, who often spoke fondly of Zachary Quinto and his portrayal of Spock. Perhaps Star Trek characters have become iconic enough (at least in America) that they transcend generations and actors.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Yeah, I mean the Trek recycling has been going on for awhile but I wouldn’t lump Spock with the Borg Queen and the like. Also one big difference is that Voyager and Enterprise had to make extremely convoluted scenarios to include TNG characters but given DISC’s time period you’d expect to see a lot of TOS characters naturally.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Well it’s not exactly a shocker considering Burnham’s relationship to Spock. It’s also logical we’d see Spock if we see Pike, I just wonder how much screentime they’ll get.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 10:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@Peter G.

I never thought of Dukat as representing Cardassian interests as much as self-interests. To be sure, he sells out Central Command when the civilians revolt and then he sells out the civilians to the Dominion. I suppose Damar is a better example of a war hawk patriot, but then he isn’t really relevant until the Dominion has fully embroiled the AQ in war. At that point in the series there isn’t a peaceful path forward for Cardassia.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Aug 12, 2018, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@William B

“I had mostly felt that Central Command largely didn't expect to be able to build up enough for a war for a very long time.”

I was watching “Journey’s End” the other day and I think your sentiment here is consistent with the actions of the Cardassians in the episode. Indeed Gul Evek de-escalates the situation and explains that he’s already lost two sons and doesn’t wish to lose his third to war. That brief statement indicates that Cardassia has neither the manpower or the will for another full-scale war.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Aug 11, 2018, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@wolfstar

I understand the point you’re trying to make, but I’m not sure the studios are trying to fill all the demographic holes in the manner you suggest. Every series and film since Voyager has tried to recapture Trek nostalgia, so I don’t think that alone will be enough for a new series to succeed. On Jammer’s blog now, there’s an interesting discussion going on about how the new show needs to take more risks than Discovery to be a great Trek show.

Also, I think you’re underestimating the staying power of TNG. There are millenials on this board who watch and enjoy it just like older viewers watched TOS reruns back when TNG was airing. Some Trek shows are timeless and Stewart will likely attract a broad spectrum of viewers.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 8:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

“The Picard series will be aimed at Trek nostalgists”

We don’t even know that much. It’s set to take place in a time after TNG, presumably decades later considering how much Picard’s actor has aged. Romulus is gone. That timeframe is uncharted territory.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Aug 8, 2018, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I’m just curious what capacity Stewart will be involved. Is he just playing a character, or will he direct some episodes? I’d be especially happy if the latter was the case.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Aug 6, 2018, 11:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

I don’t see any reason not to discuss politics per se, and both sides are making good points here. It’s just that absolutely none of these points are brought up in this episode. Anyway, I wouldn’t care if Dwight Schultz owned a million guns, drove gas-guzzling cars, and imported all his clothes from China, this is still an amazing episode and its mostly due to the range of his performance.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Aug 2, 2018, 7:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

“The producers of Voyager, it's been written, have said their aim was to create stand-alone episodes so the casual viewer could tune in and follow without having to "catch up." This insults the intelligence of the casual and the dedicated viewer. What research did these people conduct that showed that a) there was a dedicated following of casual viewers (an oxymoron by definition), and that b) this audience would only, and did in fact only, watch episodes that were completely self-contained with no acknowledgment of the larger Voyager universe?

I suspect the answer is none. I suspect the writers were simply too lazy to care about anything remotely resembling serialization. ”

Surely Paramount was trying to dumb down Star Trek for the UPN demographic. If your Trek show is couched between shows like Clueless and WWE Smackdown, you don’t want to lose that audience with complex arc-spanning Sci-Fi. At least that’s what the strategy apparently was until UPN went under.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Family

@Peter G., William B

“Family doesn't just show a man coming to terms with assimilation, but in a way portrays the dangers in a people of becoming entwined with their technology and allowing it to change them. The lesson here is that the Borg aren't just a threat from outside, but from within. The Federation itself is in danger of becoming lifeless and dependent if it lets that happen going forward. ”

While I do agree there’s a message here about Picard getting back to simplicity away from technology in order to find himself, I think the message was more balanced about technology than you suggest.

For starters, there was a moment where Picard was considering abandoning space altogether and living a different, perhaps simpler life near his family helping Louis with his sea exploration project. Ultimately this plan was rejected by some gentle nudging by Robert, implying that Picard would be running away from his technological dreams in space.

Another, perhaps more important, point is that the episode shows that Picard’s visit also has an impact *on Robert*, who originally seemed bitter with Picard’s life decisions which abandoned family tradition. The ending sequence where we see René dreaming about adventures in stars, wanting to follow Picard’s path, shows Robert’s apparent change in attitude when he says “Let him dream.”

So while Picard may have been able to recover by shedding technology I think there’s also a message that Robert deep down does admire his brother’s life work, to the extent that he wouldn’t mind his son ending up like Picard.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 23, 2018, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I’m fairly sure the Doctor was operating under orders of Janeway and/or whatever Starfleet protocols involving transporter mishaps and would’ve searched for a way to reverse the procedure regardless of Tuvix’s wishes. It kind of goes without saying that if the actual Tuvok and Neelix were around, they’d expect the Doctor to do as much as he could to help them.

I suppose the episode could have gone as far as to have Tuvix say “I’ve thought this over both from Tuvok and Neelix’s point of view, and their combined memories tell me that they’d prefer you left us together.” But the episode is already stretching credulity with how seemlessy Tuvix operates, so I’m glad they didn’t go that far.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jul 20, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Ah, more action-movie Trek. Pike as captain looks like it could be interesting, though.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 16, 2018, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

“Then of course Picard and Data acting out of character. Picard is bemusingly insistent on leaving it all behind and not wasting more time investigating the incident, and Data of course attempting to murder an unarmed man (and then lying about it).”

It seems like you’re throwing out details just to prove your point. Picard only left soon after Data’s disappearance because he needed to decontaminate the water supply of the colony Fajo sabotaged. As for Data, he was forced into a situation where he had to kill to stop Fajo. Defending yourself from kidnap is one of the few you times you can legally use lethal force, and self-defense is a far cry from murder.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jul 6, 2018, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

@JerJer

The poker games are always momentary diversions that subtlety speak about the episode. Also, is it really so unbelievable there would be poker in the 24th century? It’s one of the things I could see easily surviving even the most hectic wartime on Earth.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

"Change the ending. Giving Alixus the moral victory doesn't read as complex antiheroism, it makes the villagers seem even dumber than before. Moreover, the strong moment of Sisko making a public display becomes totally pointless. If NO ONE was going to react to this move, especially after learning that Dear Not-leader had been lying to them for a decade, what was the point? Yeah, I know, DS9 wants to be the anti-Trek Star Trek, but so far, it only seems to accomplish this dubious end by giving incredible leniency to credulous fools."

I'm not a fan of the ending from a personal politics standpoint, but I think it's to the benefit of this episode's message that the villagers would continue living their Neo-Amish lifestyle. I think the reaction of any sane person to this ending would be "are they seriously going to keep acting the way Alixus championed after it's revealed that she betrayed them all?" which is good and what the writers want. Their have been cults historically that continue even after their leaders have been exposed as frauds, so there's a bit of historical reflection here.

That said, I do agree that Sisko's message should've benefited someone on the planet more than this episode shows. In the end, the gesture is more for the audience's benefit. Sisko is a hero to us because of his actions, but he's not really a hero to this village, at least, not from their point of view.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jul 3, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

It's a good movie but it's far from perfect. And really, would you rather every comment be "4 stars, brilliant!" without any discussion?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

“I have a nit: Kelsey "knows" that "Mot" is a Starfleet officer because he has a combadge. Doesn't *everybody* on the Enterprise have a combadge, even the civilians?”

The combadges are Starfleet issue and civilians typically don’t get them. Otherwise, surely Guinan would have one.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jul 1, 2018, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

"I agree wholeheartedly that having Smiley pose as O'Brien would have made Hard Time a much better episode. The chief is too often made to look like a sucker, imo. It would have been perfect to have everyone see Miles acting even more weird after his punishment."

But that would ruin the whole concept that a long time in prison could change a loving and caring family man into an isolated nut job. The MU is already overused in this show, why just throw it in randomly to avoid developing aspects of the main cast?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jun 28, 2018, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

@William B

Yes, you bashed this one pretty hard before but I don’t think it’s totally undeserved. I decided to watch this again on a whim last night and I couldn’t get over your observation of how funny it was that Fullerton just showed up at Worf’s quarters without Worf showing any prior interest. The dude must’ve really done his homework on Worf, because it comes across as if he’d been watching the first fifteen minutes of this episode and knew Worf was primed to receive his message.
Next ►Page 1 of 42
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.