Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,611 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 65
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I tend to not take sides on the production side of things because, at the end of the day, it's mostly a dispute about money and we aren't really in a position to say who is right or wrong there. I'm definitely not a fan of Berman, but I can imagine Farrell asking for a huge pay increase during her contract negotiation too.

As for the Sisko/Dukat thing, I can see where Fenn is coming from, especially since they've given a lot of nuance to Dukat over these six seasons. He's not always about Sisko, and he's not even always a bad guy. There is a sort of narrative here where loss upon loss and disgrace after disgrace finally gets to Dukat and he basically goes mad, blaming Sisko because he's not even thinking clearly. And sure, since Sisko's closely orbits Dukat's failures he's as good a target as any.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 9:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

“From what I hear, she didn't even want to leave outright -- her hand was forced, again by *a certain exec*.”

I thought Farrell wanted to do Becker and still appear in the seventh season as a guest star but they couldn’t agree on her compensation so it didn’t happen. Is there something else?

I agree with you mostly that Dax’s death wasn’t handled well. That they have to make her pregnant in the episode to *up her importance* is kind of an insult to the character. I do like the impact it has on Sisko, however, and I think they develop that angle fairly good.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Be careful what you wish for.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 9:58am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

There’s a difference between a character having flaws and being consistently written. In “Frasier”, the character Roz is constantly chasing sex over commitment. It’s a character flaw, but it’s a consistent one and we learn to respect Roz despite the flaw. Janeway’s flaw is that she’ll follow the Prime Directive only to service the plot. We don’t know from one episode to another which way she’ll lean on the Prime Directive, because it depends on the author that week. That’s a writing flaw.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:42am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Jammer wrote:

“Perhaps the oddest thing about Star Trek: Picard is how it almost makes Star Trek: Nemesis into essential viewing.”

Yeah, I was a little surprised how much they used material from this and ST:2009. They even went through the trouble to reference “Blue Skies”. I think there’s enough introduction material for newcomers not to get lost, at least.

“How did (Maddox) know a 30 year old painting that Picard kept at the archives and that nobody accessed Picard asked the computer?”

Data and Maddox kept correspondence, which was mentioned in “Data’s Day”. It wouldn’t be surprising if Maddox was interested in seeing Data’s artwork.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 2:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Yanks, what I mean is while there might be some Romulans who would be open to Federation aid, there were probably still factions not happy with it. We've seen Romulus be very divided before, as far back as "The Defector".

Anyway, it's just a guess. :-)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Yanks wrote:

"I'm thinking that maybe Maddox got a little over-zealous, which is consistent with him in MoM, and causes this whole thing?"

First off, I agree that Maddox probably spearheaded the research that eventually reaches the wrong hands. Still, I think Maddox gets a bad rap. Was he really a bad guy in "The Measure of a Man"? Making more Datas does seem like a noble endeavor - one that Data was also interested in, might I add. Also, that episode closes with Maddox more or less agreeing with Picard, so it doesn't seem like he'd be plotting his revenge in a lab somewhere.

"Why would the Romulans instigate this when they needed the Picard led evacuation effort?"

Because they're Romulans. The Klingons did the same thing in TUC when Praxis exploded, remember?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 12:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

@Fenn

"I also wanna say that Vic Fontaine is also kind of terrifying. He can just... drop into other people's holosuites? And somehow get access to the comm?

Is this guy gonna be the next Moriarty? Is DS9 gonna get re-recaptured by the Dominion and then fought off singlehandedly by a lone holographic lounge singer?"

They brought this up on treknobabble, and it is funny how sentient Vic seems. Maybe making Moriarty-level holograms is no longer a big deal and people like Felix can just crank them out? If the EMH is any indication, Starfleet doesn't have any respect for these holo-people, either.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:59am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I watched the Wil Wheaton bit and it sounds like the writers are semi-competent. One thing they mentioned that people are discussing here was that Picard’s resignation was more of a bluff to get Starfleet to back down from its position on Romulan aid. When they didn’t, he had to go through with quitting.

So, can we wager on future events? It seems pretty obvious, given the Romulan infatuation with technology and Machiavellian gambits, that the synthetics who started the Mars incident were Romulan-instigated.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I'm not going to write up any reviews until season 1 finishes, but I thought it was interesting. There's of course some jarring action moments that feel more like NuTrek, but overall I felt the episode was fairly slow and thoughtful.

Incidentally, Picard referenced Dunkirk, which was a French city and an initial German target during WWII. Germany halted its advance to conserve troops, and the allied forces were able to evacuate 330,000 people. Okay, enough history. :-)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

Just found his comment about it on his blog. Looking forward to them!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 10:39am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

Hey Jammer, are you going to be reviewing the Picard series?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jan 22, 2020, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

The concept for this episode is pretty bold. Let's take a controversial piece of history which victimized a group of people and show them instead as the aggressors. Unfortunately, the execution is lacking.

Two big issues really stick out for me:

1. The historical reenactment is way too detailed to be believable. I can buy that the Kyrians used a bit of dramatic license to highlight their victimization, but I don't really see the point in adding small talk and needless flourishes like the Voyager crew getting into fistfights when they don't agree. It's too extreme. It feels like this episode is using "historical reenactment" as a framing device for Voyager to ham it up in yet another Mirror Universe episode. I don't have a problem with Mirror Universe episodes, but if that's what the writers want to do with the cast, at least be honest to us about it.

Likewise, when the Doctor fixes the retelling, he's giving information he shouldn't know. His retelling has personal conversations among crew members well out of the Doctor's earshot. How can he possibly know that happened? It strains the credibility of the one person we're supposed to believe.

2. The conclusion leaves out too much story to make sense. Okay, so I get where they're coming from. They're righting a historical wrong which should vindicate a disenfranchised group and lead to peace. That sounds like a good story. But if you think about it, it doesn't make any sense that Voyager would have this much importance considering the nature of the Kyrian-Vaskan conflict. We're supposed to believe that the Kyrians have been oppressed by the Vaskans for centuries and yet they blame Voyager for it? And exonerating Voyager somehow ends the conflict? I can't even imagine how that works. You'd think the Kyrians who have nursed this grudge for 700 years would still cling to their version of history regardless of what the Doctor says. And, even if the Kyrians finally accepted the truth, how does this lead to them forgiving the Vaskans for oppression? It's like the power structure of the roles of these people are backwards, and Voyager is wedged in somehow because Voyager is the name of the show.

There's a good story in here somewhere, where they executed the concept of a living witness bringing justice to the oppressed after centuries. But, I don't see the story brought to life here. 2.5 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 11:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I believe DS9 was a lead in to TNG as part of the syndication deal, so there’s an argument that can be made that VOY was at a disadvantage by itself on UPN. Of course, TNG/DS9 only lasted 1.5 seasons together and I believe Paramount spent a small fortune promoting Voyager as the flagship show to its new network, so that might be a wash.

Not surprised VOY ranked better than TOS on a poll in 2013, though. I don’t think TOS gets enough love by newer fans.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

"Am I remembering wrong, or did Odo not link with Older Odo before the end of the episode?"

ODO: There's something you should know. The other Odo, the one from the planet, came to Sickbay before he left the ship.
ODO: There's something else the other Odo wanted you to know. He was responsible for changing the Defiant's flight plan.

It sounds like Oldo linked after he did the deed. Prime Odo couldn't keep form because of the planet's technobabble, so he couldn't do anything to fix it, either. So Odo's hands are basically clean (assuming one thinks Oldo did anything wrong to begin with).
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 4:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Yeah, Fenn, I think by letting Oldo be the one making the decision and not prime timeline Odo, the writers let Odo off the hook. I can see Kira still having some apprehension that current Odo might become someone who wouldn't listen to her wishes, but by the same token current Odo hasn't done anything like that. And for what it's worth, it seems likely given the change in circumstances prime Odo will turn out completely different.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 1:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

“It's a tremendously selfish action all round -- placing his own desires above that of both the 8000 and of Kira.”

What gives those 8000 the right to live any more than the 8000+ (including Sisko and Cassidy’s son) who will be created over 200 years when the Defiant returns to DS9? I know Odo’s motivations are different, but perhaps the fact that he was so unhappy there shows chinks the armor of ostensible utopian paradise. It’s “The Matter of Time” Rasmussen situation all over again except this time there’s no Picard around to be the voice of reason. Just because they know how our future *might* turn out doesn’t mean they should resign themselves to fate.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 12:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I agree with Peter that there’s no real murder here; it’s more of a “Parallels” type of situation where reality can spin out one path or the other, but no one in the crew can really take some sort of moral high ground and say “this path is best” because — honestly, no one knows. Even the original mirror plan to cause a “Thomas Riker Effect” on the Defiant crew would be dooming those alternate DS9ers to live a life without their family stuck on a planet.

I like the idea of remembering would could be and focusing on how important our choices are. In a sense, Dax really did get the scientific adventure she wanted on the planet but it turned out to be more personally involved than she expected.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 2:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Excellent comment, Halia.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 17, 2020, 6:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

I have reservations with this episode too, and I agree about the murkiness of what was done to Bashir. However, it does turn out to be a pretty good development for the character as we get "Statistical Probabilities" and the Section 31 material from it. Just goes to show retcons aren't always bad.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 17, 2020, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

I don't really understand Jammer's criticism about this episode when he says its missing its aspirations. It's a straight-forward comedy and it should be reviewed on those terms. I suppose there's some major (but really minor) series' plot-progression of Voyager contacting the AQ, but all the details about the impact of the contact don't need to be explained here.

Judging by comedy, I think this works really well. Voyager is often at it's best when it's not trying to be serious. Picardo is great, and the Romulan cast was well-performed (there's a TWoK veteran playing the Romulan Commander). Andy Dick is okay, but a bit grating for me. I do tend to agree with Jammer that we get one too many self-congratulatory doctor monologues from the pair.

The ship itself, the Prometheus - which likely is using a touched up Enterprise E set - is an incredibly beautiful backdrop. I liked the tri-body attack pattern which beckons memories of the saucer separation maneuver Riker attempted in "The Best of Both Worlds" -- only more effective. The prototype Starfleet ship oozes with a sense of a post-TNG Starfleet that we didn't get enough of in DS9. Speaking of DS9, the Dominion got named dropped, and they also had those weird commando-type Starfleet officers we see abundantly in "The Siege of AR-558".

There's probably a message here that AQ is not doing much better than the DQ. Like William B mentions there's something about The Doctor that symbolizes that being in the DQ really is making him - and more broadly - the Voyager crew better people. That speaks to the show's theme and I like that. I won't get into the plausibility of the Romulan scheme, although admittedly convoluted, it was just nice to see the Romulans who weren't around very much post-TNG.

I'll go 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 10:53am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

This was an engrossing two-parter and, if nothing else, it kept me watching. We get an interesting take on the quantum mechanics where the Krenim are basically trying to suspend time in the best possible outcome. The Captain Nemo similarities are apparent to most, but the temporal planning concept is also very similar to the Asimov novel "The End of Eternity" -- except that in the Asimov story the time engineers were successful.

Like Jammer, I thought that Kurtwood Smith was great and had an amazing range for a villain. Of course we're supposed to hate Annorax for the atrocities of genocide he commits, but he does make some solid arguments. Smith elevates this by really looking like he believes in his cause.

Unfortunately, this episode loses steam halfway through and I feel like many of the developments discussed get thrown out the window. For example, why cultivate the relationship between Chuckles and Annorax, if Chuckles is just going to turncoat 180 on the plan anyway. Jason R. above mentioned DS9 above in another context, but to expand on that I really think DS9 would've given us some conflict over whether the Krenim were right or not. Voyager's unfortunate black-and-white morality here really takes much of the gas out of this show.

I did like some of the scenes on Voyager, especially the part with Janeway shaking off her wounds and shrugging at the Doctor. The Seven-Tuvok material learning about the chain of command was pretty interesting too. However, the scenes on Voyager become tedious and unnecessary as the story shifts focus completely over to the time ship. We do get a shift to Voyager in the end only for Janeway to show off her action hero wit with such brilliant lines like "Time's up!". Well, at least Schwarzenegger would be proud.

According to Memory Alpha, Menosky was having real issues on concluding the episode. There's one excerpt I found illuminating (quoting Menosky): "We actually wrote this ending even though we didn't shoot it, where time is reset, the weapon is gone; we know what has happened to us through some complication I can't even remember. When we meet up with the next Krenim, Chakotay asks offhand, 'Have you got a colony called Kyana Prime?' And the guy says, 'Sorry, I don't know what you're talking about.' The idea was that time had in fact in some ways punished Annorax. Everything was reset except that. That was denied him, so it was this great, final, tragic moment. That was written and never shot because Rick said it was too complicated, We were tortured with concluding this and Rick said, 'Just plow Voyager into the weapon ship, and reset the timeline, and nobody remembers.' That was the simplest solution."

Still, I think this mostly works and it's pretty entertaining and even thought-provoking for brief moments. Unlike others, the whole reset thing didn't bother me, because well, I expect that from Voyager. I think I will go with 3 stars for a great concept and good acting with some notable blemishes in the writing department.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

See, because the cat is uncontrollable just like the forces of space. Nope, even the analogy isn’t helping. :-)
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

RDM said that they goofed up with Ziyal in regards to the antagonism and made her outwardly nice her pursuit of Garak. I don't know if Garak is being antagonistic here, or just shifty as usual. He's got feelings for her, obviously, but you could interpret this many other ways than the intended romance scene, I suppose.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 2:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

"Destiny" establishes that Cardassians flirt through spirited antagonism. Just one more wrinkle for you to consider. :-)
Next ►Page 1 of 65
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.