Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"I can tell you why I continue watching it. I accept Lower Decks as a filler mid tier show."

This. As I said in another comment, if you like hanging out in the TNG universe, this show isn't entirely unwatchable. Yeah the jokes can be stupid, and these folks are not behaving as "real" Star Fleet officers would, but there are enough Trek references to be entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 12:58am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Can we also get a post with "Jammer's plans for the review of Star Wars Episode IX" please?"

If you can't say anything nice........ :)
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first episode and it is quite silly, but not entirely unwatchable. For those who want to play in the TNG universe, this could be comfort viewing, with jokes. It's not quite my cup of Earl Grey hot, but I can see why others might like it.

As to Jammer not reviewing it, it's his blog and his life. He kept this thread open as a courtesy, and that's more than he really had to do. He owes us nothing.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Just watched the trailer all I have to say is that this had better be just a product of bad marketing. If the real show is like that, CBS really has a rather low opinion of Star Trek fans. The whole thing plays out as a badly written version of Redshirts. It won't sell any subscriptions, but it might some cancelled.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Nolan

Point taken. 7's personal acceptance of who she is would require some work to explore. On Voyager (outside of the thing with Chakotay, that no one bought) 7 didn't really explore that part of her humanity. She's been on her own for quite a while since then, so there is no telling what kind of exploration she's been doing. While watching her deal with the discovery of her sexuality might interesting, that discovery likely happened years ago. The same goes for Raffi.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent

Well whatever the particular host's gender, the Dax symbiot seemed decidedly male. ;)
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Nolan

I suspect coming out doesn't mean a damn thing in the future of STP. The Seven/Raffi relationship actually makes a great deal of sense to me, as they are both broken people who are very much alone. That has nothing to do with any particular sexual orientation, just the specific choice of partners. Those particular characters just fit together.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Thu, Feb 13, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

I've watched this show for 4 episodes now, and I like what I see. I just wish the story would move along a bit faster. Using almost half a season for setup seems a bit excessive.

This particular episode wasn't bad at all. Yes the Romulan Legolos was a bit much, as were the Romulan Bene Gesserit. On the other hand, the fight with the TOS era BOP was very cool, especially in HD. At least we are now at a place where things can start to actually happen. The quest can begin in earnest.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.