Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

A question:

I was so excited when Enterprise was first announced. I was in college and I loved the idea of watching a Star Trek series from the beginning as it aired. Enterprise was going to be “my Trek” and fond childhood memories of Quantum Leap and TNG only sweetened the idea.

I stopped watching after Fight or a Flight (I only lasted two episodes!) because I was not prepared for the grim horrors of “corpses on hooks.” That simply isn’t entertainment for me, just nightmare fuel.

Occasionally I’ve played with the idea of trying again, but I wanted to know how dark the show remained without big spoilers. Can someone speak to the tone of ENT overall? I have a feeling it remains about this level, or possibly grows worse.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Minor fun note: I always am amused how near-future stories get some predictions wrong. In this case, it’s tattoo culture. The show suggests that visible (or perhaps all) tattoos are either frowned upon or actually forbidden in the workforce. In reality, we are seeing tattoos becoming increasingly mainstream to the point that many employers no longer require covering up tattoos. I even have been asked casually by acquaintances “so what are your tats?” and they are slightly skeptical when I say I don’t have any.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

My favorite take away here is the very dapper neoEdwardian fashions of the upper class. Jadzia’s hair and ornamentation sold me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Thank you, Springy! I really like this idea. I’ve begun thinking about the practical implications of the replicators, and all kinds of questions about their cost, effectiveness, limitations, effects on behavior. . .
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

A question prompted by Kira abandoning her coffee mug on a replimat table: what happens to all the dishes the replicators must create?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

That’s a lot of passionate face rubbing for two actors in heavy alien makeup. Full props for managing it.

The female student stomps around like she’s 12 and wearing her big brother’s football gear. It’s too deliberate to be accidental. Perhaps to contrast and highlight Natima’s elegance?

Let’s retitle the episode “The Long Goodbye.”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

So I watched it alone, and then watched it again immediately with a group (within a few hours). It was funny the second time, even though I knew what all the jokes were. For some reason all the empty salt (?) shakers Bashir ran through while gossiping with Dax cracked us up, and then most of the weirdness was funny.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

What a goofy story.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Enterprise to be revamped as 'ultimate' reality series

Star Trek: Shock et. al. (Hehehe)
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

The only thing I liked in this episode was Bailey freaking out and yelling “he’s doing a countdown!” Otherwise snoozy. It really is too slow, and Balock is supposed to be cute and charming but instead is creepy and uncanny. I’m surprised how warm the reviews are!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Jul 9, 2019, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

My brother will die in the near future of cancer and, at his request, we’re watching Star Trek together anytime he feels up for it. About 70% of what we’ve watched together so far has been new to me. Generations was our most recent viewing.

I saw it in theaters as a teen and adored it. This was only my second time ever to watch it and I remembered many specific scenes from a single viewing 25 years ago. I would say it has visual and emotional impact, to be able to do that.

I adored it again. I was never bored for a second and I loved the great variety of settings. To find that so many fans found it “middling” or worse baffles me. There were a few interesting continuity objections I hadn’t considered - like the inconsistent speed of the Nexus and back-and-forth uniforms - but otherwise few of the criticisms seem to affect me. Annoying emotional Data, Kirk fistfighting only to be buried under a cairn, the gorgeous lighting, the odd dice roll of Chekov, Scotty, and Kirk as The TOS characters, the counseling scene, the Christmas scene, they all made sense to me.

And now a small confession: I had to choke back sobs when the little girl dropped her teddy bear. For work, I read about and summarize political and social crises of the 20th-21st centuries (torture of dissenters by the Taliban, for example). When she lost her bear unexpectedly just when she most would have benefited from its comfort, it suddenly symbolized for me all the people who I read about who suffer from shared traumatic crises, like Chernobyl or Tiananmen Square or Daesh. Was it handled with finesse and grace? No, the film work just then was definitely on the clunky side. But because of my background, I was affected.

Obviously, mileages vary.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

We’re watching as much Star Trek together as possible at my brother’s request as he has an incurable cancer. This was last night’s selection as we had extended family over for the Independence holiday, and we thought it was the most accessible of the movies we hadn’t seen recently. It is maybe my third time to see it, my first as an adult.

We loved it, even though the set-up had to be explained to family.

We all agreed: the opening music sounds like it was written for a Christmas movie. The end music also, to a lesser degree.

Why can whale song be heard through space? What’s the medium the sound waves are traveling on?

Someone earlier said Jillian was too ditzy to be credible. I was on the lookout for ditz, but didn’t see it. I just saw passion for the whales.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Thank you, Booming and Lupe. He wanted to introduce Dad to Firefly, so that’s “their show” and we’re watching some TOS, DS9, and the feature films as he has interest and energy. It’s slow going so we might do as much as a film a day, or 1.5 eps (he falls asleep easily).
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

As my brother declines in his cancer, we’re watching Star Trek together at his request. Most of it is new to me. This was tonight’s selection, and the first time I’d seen it.

He hadn’t seen it since 1989, in theaters. He said, “The first third is tolerable.” With this endorsement, I suggested any number of alternatives, but he was firm. Onward.

Uhura’s dance scene was sadly undignified and also an unbelievable plot device. “Yoo-hoo, boys, looky this way.” Someone earlier said “Roadrunner cartoon” and this smacked of it.

Most of the jokes weren’t terrible but the delivery was off. They were too self-aware.

The bald dirt farmer in the prelude: When Sybok said “I don’t believe you would shoot me for a field of empty holes,” and the farmer said “it’s all I have,” that was a powerful moment for me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

My brother is succumbing to cancer and he’s asked me to watch as much Star Trek as possible with him, within the limitations of his energy. This was tonight’s selection. It was my first time to see it.

“Greek tragic cycle” came to mind. Wrath of Khan and Search for Spock seem to have a similar relationship to one another as, say Oedipus Rex, Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone. The “operatic” description in Jammer’s review resonated with me.

The theft and loss of the Enterprise was fantastic cinema.

I adored Saavik’s deep compassion and capability.

The actor playing the captain of the science vessel around Genesis did not sell the character.

Imagining the torment endured in solitude and confusion by infant and very young Spock was hard on me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 8:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

My brother will die of his cancer soon, but whether that days or months is not clear. He asked me to watch as much Star Trek with him as he has energy for. I’m seeing nearly all of it for the first time in recent months.

We watched this movie last night, and except for the creepy brain slugs, it was very enjoyable. I didn’t know this was the movie where Spock died so it was a relative surprise.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Just watched for the first time yesterday.

Is there an explanation - either in-universe or movie-making reasons - for the oddball costumes? They were so beige, so . . . truthful.

If the answer is in the most recent fifty comments, I despaired of reading all of them and finally jumped to the comment box myself.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 26, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I’m watching DS9 for the first time. I’m learning not to read the comment threads as the spoilers are thick and fast! I don’t know anything about a Dominion but clearly it’s as big as an elephant in a kiddie pool later on.

I was genuinely moved by the farewell expression “die with honor” as well as the station’s complicit collaboration with O’Brien’s unorthodox solution. Odo was nothing short of graceful as he slowly, slowly hastened to his urgent duty. We laughed aloud here.

Also, the trumpet in the opening music! Someone play that at my funeral, please.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, May 25, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Did anyone else notice the Star Wars shout-out on Ibudan’s agenda?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, May 16, 2019, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

“Nobody talk about nothing no how while I’m gone! Especially not about how hysterical I’m acting!” /stomps from room, does nails/

Hehehe.

Many heartfelt thanks to Trent for typing up the Asimov/Roddenberry letter.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 12, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This thread seems as good a place as any to thank Jammer, which I’ve been wanting to do for months. Except for about 20 TNG episodes in my youth, all the Trek I’ve seen has been in the past 18 months, with Jammer’s reviews nearby for company. I’ve finished TNG and almost done with TOS and deciding now whether to watch movies or DS9 and Voyager.

Jammer, your reviews are very readable for someone relatively new to Trek. Most of what I’ve found elsewhere seems powered by superfan-lingo, which is fine, but not necessarily hospitable to outsiders and newbies. Here is different. Thank you for your reviews. (Also your general posts and rants, which I also thoroughly enjoy.)
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 12, 2019, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I find this episode much more interesting when I consider the Gorgon as child-lore turned real, in the spirit of Jasper Fforde ‘s Nursery Crime series or Buffy the Vampire Slayer’s “Der Kindestod.” Not nearly as effective as either of those, but still exploring the question “what if that game/story/boogeyman the kids have turned out to be real?”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 5, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

I’m seized with a desire to make a felt infinity egg and slap it on. Who’s with me?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

90 degree head turn: “I want you to hit that button!” Dun-dun!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

@Chris Harrison

“For example, evolution by natural selection may not be discovered because all their hominid fossils would have been left behind on the old planet. What would that do for their culture? It could be absolutely devastating in the long run.”

I teach a whole course which is nothing but unforeseen consequences of political actions taken during the 20th century. And yet . . . “Oh no, not my fossil record?” In the hierarchy of needs, “fossil record” is surely out-ranked by “survival.”
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.