Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 26, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I’m watching DS9 for the first time. I’m learning not to read the comment threads as the spoilers are thick and fast! I don’t know anything about a Dominion but clearly it’s as big as an elephant in a kiddie pool later on.

I was genuinely moved by the farewell expression “die with honor” as well as the station’s complicit collaboration with O’Brien’s unorthodox solution. Odo was nothing short of graceful as he slowly, slowly hastened to his urgent duty. We laughed aloud here.

Also, the trumpet in the opening music! Someone play that at my funeral, please.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, May 25, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Did anyone else notice the Star Wars shout-out on Ibudan’s agenda?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, May 16, 2019, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

“Nobody talk about nothing no how while I’m gone! Especially not about how hysterical I’m acting!” /stomps from room, does nails/

Hehehe.

Many heartfelt thanks to Trent for typing up the Asimov/Roddenberry letter.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 12, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This thread seems as good a place as any to thank Jammer, which I’ve been wanting to do for months. Except for about 20 TNG episodes in my youth, all the Trek I’ve seen has been in the past 18 months, with Jammer’s reviews nearby for company. I’ve finished TNG and almost done with TOS and deciding now whether to watch movies or DS9 and Voyager.

Jammer, your reviews are very readable for someone relatively new to Trek. Most of what I’ve found elsewhere seems powered by superfan-lingo, which is fine, but not necessarily hospitable to outsiders and newbies. Here is different. Thank you for your reviews. (Also your general posts and rants, which I also thoroughly enjoy.)
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 12, 2019, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I find this episode much more interesting when I consider the Gorgon as child-lore turned real, in the spirit of Jasper Fforde ‘s Nursery Crime series or Buffy the Vampire Slayer’s “Der Kindestod.” Not nearly as effective as either of those, but still exploring the question “what if that game/story/boogeyman the kids have turned out to be real?”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 5, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

I’m seized with a desire to make a felt infinity egg and slap it on. Who’s with me?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

90 degree head turn: “I want you to hit that button!” Dun-dun!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

@Chris Harrison

“For example, evolution by natural selection may not be discovered because all their hominid fossils would have been left behind on the old planet. What would that do for their culture? It could be absolutely devastating in the long run.”

I teach a whole course which is nothing but unforeseen consequences of political actions taken during the 20th century. And yet . . . “Oh no, not my fossil record?” In the hierarchy of needs, “fossil record” is surely out-ranked by “survival.”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Oct 22, 2018, 1:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

What I cared most about: the peril of the newborn kittens effectively without their mother. Apparently Spot was herself long enough to clean them, at least . . .
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.