Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 673 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 27
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Re: original Borg plan

The original idea was to open season two with the Enterprise discovering the Borg has destroyed the Romulan Empire and the crew discovering that the Romulans found a way to destroy the Borg cube

The crew were to run into more Borg and would need to figure out how the Romulans destroyed the first cube
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

The writers were doing so well in season one then they just seemed to not care any more. This and voyager season three are really some of the weakest seasons in Trek

Most episodes were uninspired. And I came away with feeling of Been There Done That, Been There Done That Better

Nothing new. Nothing entertaining .

Dawn and The Breach are pale imitations of TNG The Enemy

precious Cargo a poor rehash of TNG Perfect Mare

Vanishing Point weak copy of The Next Phase/Realm of Fear

Regeneration retread of Q Who and Identity Crisis

The apathy from this season doomed the series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

2.5 stars

For a big event multi parter wasn’t very exciting. Very formulaic only thing that helps it rise above is the inclusion of the Tellarites, Andorians and Romulans

The Hoshi/archer bickering was fun.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Sep 8, 2019, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

I rewatched this the other day I realized it is kind of all over the map as far as the narrative

It starts out about a legitimate investigation with good faith from all parties then decided to pull the rug out from the intriguing conspiracy angle before halfway in turning into a story making Satie too extremely paranoid and Picard too extremely naive before deciding to change course again with Sati turning into an all out villain singlemindedly wanting to destroy Picard for opposing here

The writing left a lot to be desired
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fight or Flight

A question:

I was so excited when Enterprise was first announced. I was in college and I loved the idea of watching a Star Trek series from the beginning as it aired. Enterprise was going to be “my Trek” and fond childhood memories of Quantum Leap and TNG only sweetened the idea.

I stopped watching after Fight or a Flight (I only lasted two episodes!) because I was not prepared for the grim horrors of “corpses on hooks.” That simply isn’t entertainment for me, just nightmare fuel.

Occasionally I’ve played with the idea of trying again, but I wanted to know how dark the show remained without big spoilers. Can someone speak to the tone of ENT overall? I have a feeling it remains about this level, or possibly grows worse.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Minor fun note: I always am amused how near-future stories get some predictions wrong. In this case, it’s tattoo culture. The show suggests that visible (or perhaps all) tattoos are either frowned upon or actually forbidden in the workforce. In reality, we are seeing tattoos becoming increasingly mainstream to the point that many employers no longer require covering up tattoos. I even have been asked casually by acquaintances “so what are your tats?” and they are slightly skeptical when I say I don’t have any.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

My favorite take away here is the very dapper neoEdwardian fashions of the upper class. Jadzia’s hair and ornamentation sold me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Thank you, Springy! I really like this idea. I’ve begun thinking about the practical implications of the replicators, and all kinds of questions about their cost, effectiveness, limitations, effects on behavior. . .
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, Aug 10, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

A question prompted by Kira abandoning her coffee mug on a replimat table: what happens to all the dishes the replicators must create?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Profit and Loss

That’s a lot of passionate face rubbing for two actors in heavy alien makeup. Full props for managing it.

The female student stomps around like she’s 12 and wearing her big brother’s football gear. It’s too deliberate to be accidental. Perhaps to contrast and highlight Natima’s elegance?

Let’s retitle the episode “The Long Goodbye.”
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

So I watched it alone, and then watched it again immediately with a group (within a few hours). It was funny the second time, even though I knew what all the jokes were. For some reason all the empty salt (?) shakers Bashir ran through while gossiping with Dax cracked us up, and then most of the weirdness was funny.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

What a goofy story.
Set Bookmark
Teacher Will
Sun, Jul 21, 2019, 5:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

"Mission: Impossible" didn't do this first. This plot was first used a few years before "Mission: Impossible", in the excellent 1965 film "36 Hours", starring James Garner and Rod Taylor. Set in the first days of June 1944, a few days before D-Day, Garner plays a top ranking US military officer with knowledge of the details of the upcoming invasion. He is knocked out and captured by the Germans. He awakens in an simulated reality, much like Degra does. This simulation is an "American army hospital" in "1950", and he is told that his condition has caused him to forget the last six years. Rod Taylor (in the Archer position) is the "American" (actually Nazi) doctor who "has been Garner's best friend and physician for years", who wants to "help him get his memories back". Actually, Taylor and the other Germans (everyone at the "hospital" is an English-speaking Nazi) are trying to get Garner to reveal the details of the invasion. They know it will come in the next two or three days, but they need to know the exact day and location. Will it be at Calais, Normandy, somewhere else? This is all set up very early in the film, and openly revealed to the audience from the opening minutes, so I haven't ruined any twists or surprises. I highly recommend this film. Has anyone else here seen it?
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Enterprise to be revamped as 'ultimate' reality series

Star Trek: Shock et. al. (Hehehe)
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jul 11, 2019, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

The only thing I liked in this episode was Bailey freaking out and yelling “he’s doing a countdown!” Otherwise snoozy. It really is too slow, and Balock is supposed to be cute and charming but instead is creepy and uncanny. I’m surprised how warm the reviews are!
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Jul 9, 2019, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

My brother will die in the near future of cancer and, at his request, we’re watching Star Trek together anytime he feels up for it. About 70% of what we’ve watched together so far has been new to me. Generations was our most recent viewing.

I saw it in theaters as a teen and adored it. This was only my second time ever to watch it and I remembered many specific scenes from a single viewing 25 years ago. I would say it has visual and emotional impact, to be able to do that.

I adored it again. I was never bored for a second and I loved the great variety of settings. To find that so many fans found it “middling” or worse baffles me. There were a few interesting continuity objections I hadn’t considered - like the inconsistent speed of the Nexus and back-and-forth uniforms - but otherwise few of the criticisms seem to affect me. Annoying emotional Data, Kirk fistfighting only to be buried under a cairn, the gorgeous lighting, the odd dice roll of Chekov, Scotty, and Kirk as The TOS characters, the counseling scene, the Christmas scene, they all made sense to me.

And now a small confession: I had to choke back sobs when the little girl dropped her teddy bear. For work, I read about and summarize political and social crises of the 20th-21st centuries (torture of dissenters by the Taliban, for example). When she lost her bear unexpectedly just when she most would have benefited from its comfort, it suddenly symbolized for me all the people who I read about who suffer from shared traumatic crises, like Chernobyl or Tiananmen Square or Daesh. Was it handled with finesse and grace? No, the film work just then was definitely on the clunky side. But because of my background, I was affected.

Obviously, mileages vary.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

We’re watching as much Star Trek together as possible at my brother’s request as he has an incurable cancer. This was last night’s selection as we had extended family over for the Independence holiday, and we thought it was the most accessible of the movies we hadn’t seen recently. It is maybe my third time to see it, my first as an adult.

We loved it, even though the set-up had to be explained to family.

We all agreed: the opening music sounds like it was written for a Christmas movie. The end music also, to a lesser degree.

Why can whale song be heard through space? What’s the medium the sound waves are traveling on?

Someone earlier said Jillian was too ditzy to be credible. I was on the lookout for ditz, but didn’t see it. I just saw passion for the whales.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Thank you, Booming and Lupe. He wanted to introduce Dad to Firefly, so that’s “their show” and we’re watching some TOS, DS9, and the feature films as he has interest and energy. It’s slow going so we might do as much as a film a day, or 1.5 eps (he falls asleep easily).
Set Bookmark
Chess
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

As my brother declines in his cancer, we’re watching Star Trek together at his request. Most of it is new to me. This was tonight’s selection, and the first time I’d seen it.

He hadn’t seen it since 1989, in theaters. He said, “The first third is tolerable.” With this endorsement, I suggested any number of alternatives, but he was firm. Onward.

Uhura’s dance scene was sadly undignified and also an unbelievable plot device. “Yoo-hoo, boys, looky this way.” Someone earlier said “Roadrunner cartoon” and this smacked of it.

Most of the jokes weren’t terrible but the delivery was off. They were too self-aware.

The bald dirt farmer in the prelude: When Sybok said “I don’t believe you would shoot me for a field of empty holes,” and the farmer said “it’s all I have,” that was a powerful moment for me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

My brother is succumbing to cancer and he’s asked me to watch as much Star Trek as possible with him, within the limitations of his energy. This was tonight’s selection. It was my first time to see it.

“Greek tragic cycle” came to mind. Wrath of Khan and Search for Spock seem to have a similar relationship to one another as, say Oedipus Rex, Oedipus at Colonus, and Antigone. The “operatic” description in Jammer’s review resonated with me.

The theft and loss of the Enterprise was fantastic cinema.

I adored Saavik’s deep compassion and capability.

The actor playing the captain of the science vessel around Genesis did not sell the character.

Imagining the torment endured in solitude and confusion by infant and very young Spock was hard on me.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 8:45am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

My brother will die of his cancer soon, but whether that days or months is not clear. He asked me to watch as much Star Trek with him as he has energy for. I’m seeing nearly all of it for the first time in recent months.

We watched this movie last night, and except for the creepy brain slugs, it was very enjoyable. I didn’t know this was the movie where Spock died so it was a relative surprise.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Just watched for the first time yesterday.

Is there an explanation - either in-universe or movie-making reasons - for the oddball costumes? They were so beige, so . . . truthful.

If the answer is in the most recent fifty comments, I despaired of reading all of them and finally jumped to the comment box myself.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Journey's End

3 stars. Another in a small group of season 7 episodes that was pretty solid and felt like TNG

TNG didn’t have a lot of things to revisit before it ended but Wesley returning was one of them.

I liked the way his arc wrapped up and I found the characterization believable and true to life with regards to his overachieving then burnout

I also liked seeing Native Americans brought into the 24th century and a little bit about them and how they exist in a future setting. It felt very fresh and interesting. Plus it set up the fact that we knew that year that the first officer on the next series Voyager would be Native American

Another thing the episode had going for it was the feel of interactivity between TNG and DS9 in settong up things for VOY.

Overall a good interesting episode

Another
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sun, May 26, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I’m watching DS9 for the first time. I’m learning not to read the comment threads as the spoilers are thick and fast! I don’t know anything about a Dominion but clearly it’s as big as an elephant in a kiddie pool later on.

I was genuinely moved by the farewell expression “die with honor” as well as the station’s complicit collaboration with O’Brien’s unorthodox solution. Odo was nothing short of graceful as he slowly, slowly hastened to his urgent duty. We laughed aloud here.

Also, the trumpet in the opening music! Someone play that at my funeral, please.
Set Bookmark
Chess
Sat, May 25, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: A Man Alone

Did anyone else notice the Star Wars shout-out on Ibudan’s agenda?
Next ►Page 1 of 27
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.