Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 746 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 30
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sun, Jul 11, 2021, 9:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

It's kind of dispiriting to know that the last appearance of Ray Walston as Boothby is in this steaming pile of an episode.
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sun, Jul 11, 2021, 9:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Juggernaut

I haven't read all the comments here (my apologies if this has already been said), but on a different review of this episode, the question came up about why the away team wasn't wearing environmental suits when they beamed over to the Maalon ship. I mean, wouldn't it make sense, considering the toxic/radioactive levels they were heading into? I know the obvious answer is that it gave the producers a chance to show off Roxann Dawson's body, but aside from playing into some fanboy's fantasies, was it really necessary?
Set Bookmark
Sloaches
Sat, Jul 3, 2021, 5:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

I like this episode. Honestly, the idea Jammer had of Samantha Wildman not surviving the episode would have been a good move. Not that I don't like the character, but it would have taken Neelix in a more challenging direction.
Set Bookmark
Jean Michel
Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 2:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Another BIG THREAT to the galaxy? And this time it's a... it's a... A GRAVITATIONAL ANOMALY! Oh the sheer creativity of this writing team! A TNG/VOY episode stretched across an entire season, that'll work!

Spoiler alert: Michael Burnham saves the galaxy. Or the universe. Or the mirror universe. Or the Q-continuum. Everybody cries.

FFS. Why is that that the only people capable of taking care of a THREAT TO THE GALAXY is this one pathetic starship? There's literally an entire galaxy of civilizations, and there's nobody there that can take care of those threats except Michael Burnham? For crying out loud, why is this universe so small?

Coming season 5 to Star Trek: Discovery: the crew faces a threat to the entire galaxy! And this time it's a... a LAMP MONSTER!
Set Bookmark
Rick Sanchez
Tue, Mar 30, 2021, 3:06pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

The Enterprise stops at Blips and Chitz and Picard plays a game of Roy: A Life Well Lived.
Set Bookmark
Jean Michel
Sat, Mar 6, 2021, 5:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm awfully bit late to the party, first post here, although I've been visiting this page for ages.

I thought I'd chime in with regards to people trying explain away the ginormous turbolift shafts with "warp bubbles" and how the ship might be "bigger inside than outside".

This might be only my impression and a biased one, but I feel that Star Trek has always been about practicality. We know what purpose the holodeck serves. Or the transporters. Or the replicators/food synthesizers. Or how the warp drive works. Discovery is on the opposite side - they invent things that are supposed to look cool without serving much purpose:

- floors at the Starfleet HQ made from programmable matter: WHY
- detachable nacelles. Yeah, "greater maneuverability". In space. No. They just look cool, but they make no sense.
- all the ship at Starfleet HQ sustaining the field or whatever. So basically they can't move?
- ginormous turbolift shafts. What's the PURPOSE of all that EMPTY SPACE? And even IF that space is needed and the ship is indeed using a "warp bubble" to be "bigger on the inside", it still begs the question: WHY. Why would one want to make the ship smaller on the outside? Why would the size of a *starship* matter? Is it easier for parallel parking or what? It makes zero sense in this universe/franchise.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 12:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

This season has been one long exercise in how to recycle ste stories and spin your wheels

Hardly any new movement on the Burn each week

No interesting insight into the 32nd century in any significant meaningful way and no the lip service and that’s really all.It was with Vulcan and Romulans dont count

Instead we get trading post chases, western saloon bad guys, hostage rescues, double crossing brothers, Warmed over bullies with the emerald chain, stake uninvolving romances

This week we get a pointless umpteenth revisit to the mirror universe—an idea that was fresh and intriguing in ToS Mirror, Mirror and that was on the way to wearing out its welcome with DS9 starting with Through the Looking glass. Now we get another two episodes to waste on it after DIS spent several episodes in season one on it. Yawn

And once again the writers are too proud of themselves with these insular fangirl ideas of making the guardian corporeal and human with a door middle of nowhere reading a newspaper. It’s not sublime . It’s not clever. It’s lame. Pretentious. Too cute by a mile
It sadly seems they put more thought in something like this than the script itself

And did we need to really visit the Mu chatacters again when the audience barely cares about the regular weekly cast

I’d call this a loser episode 1.5 stars. This season is a loss. The first three episodes were bores, the fourth was average, the fifth was the strongest but would be just a solid typical episode on TNG or Ds9

The sixth episode another loser. Unification iii was a loser 2 stars. The most interesting part of that episode was on the world building it could have explored but didbt choosing to focus on the. Least interesting aspects and upending the possibility of jettisoning Burnham from the series by having her leave Starfleet bf go off on adventures with Book

The last episode was boring too. So by my count
2 stars, 2, 2, 2.5, 3, 2,2,2. I think I enjoyed enteeprise season two more and voyager season three more which up until discovery and Picard I had considered the worst trek seasons produced.

Ashame all the money is being wasted on such a ho hum show
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE made Sisko literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
Archer22
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 2:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

It's interesting to see all the criticism of SMG on this site. After ENTERPRISE made clear Archer was the most important human in the history of Starfleet, after DEEP SPACE NINE literally a prophet, after TNG dragged Picard through history as the focal point. I don't see the difference.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 1:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I think 3.5 stars is too high. 3 stars maybe

It certainly is the best episode this season. But it’s got issues—blurry unsatisfying glances when it comes to VFX like the federation ship visual reveal. The chatacters aren’t connecting with me still despite the more effort writers trying to give to them. I don’t like the serialized/standalone style. Hated it on Fringe and other shows

If you’re gonna do serialization-/and for some weird reason the 21st century writers think they made it fashionable when it was being done and done better in the 80/90–then be fully serialized like season one of Heroes or Hill street blues in the 80s etc

Yes you are never gonna beat DiS at vFX but who cares. VFX should be like a spice used to slightly enhance something not to be ladled on thick like gravy to cover over the disgusting meal placed on your plate

And the show still treats “characters” as plot devices like Nhan. Think she is a character then realized just used to move her around like a pawn in a chessboard. I’m sure they’ll kill somebody off nobody cares for after giving them three seconds of screentime this season then expect it to be shocking and sad when it’s not. It’s manipulative and lazy
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 15, 2020, 11:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

I think another issue I have with DIS is it’s too excessive in all it does

Too frenetic. Too much convoluted plot. Too much frenzied action. Everything looks superficial like a vide game in terms of VFX and cinematography.

I was for DIS leaping out of prequel territory but the 32nd century seems too much. Maybe a couple centuries but feels very Remote

Berman and Braga had that concern when developing ENT—that going into future would be too much. I disagree. But some of there concern presents itself with DiS in season three.

Although in better writers hands the idea of “our best days are behind us” could be milked. Afterall I feel that way about not just Star Trek having stagnated under Kurtzman unto unrecognizable drivel that makes one pine for 90s Trek. But also about the decline of our culture and society. Between the pandemic, the polarization of people in large part to social media/internet you do feel a need to get back to basics and recapture what made yesteryear better. But I don’t think these writers are capable nor inclined to tackle something like that via the 32nd century’s Federation


Also I appreciate the nod to Nog but wouldn’t ge have had a ship named after him centuries ago not nearly a millennia after he lived. It’s not like it’s the Nog-J

And as far as the visuals You can barely make out the ships. The VFX I don’t think are better than the vfx we got on ds9-Voy or Enterprise honestly

And I don’t like the whole hybrid approach to trying to squeeze in a standalone story while advancing the arc. Do one or the other. Doing both I don’t like

Did appreciate the tidbit about Terran empire not being visited for centuries and it growing further away from our universe

Sonequa still is awful actress. I know they won’t because they don’t want to be seen as firing a black female lead but they should.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 5:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

I quit watching DIS halfway through season one. Didn’t watch only read what was happening in season two. Was excited for PIC. Watched all of it. Terribly disappointed in that shoe. Skipped LD cause it looked like a horribly unfunny cartoon.

Tried to give DIS a chance with season three when it jettisoned the prequel setting. But ultimately Kurtzman Trek isn’t for me

Even if there are moments or episodes that sometimes give a glimmer of hope shoe can be good it never can maintain or capitalize on it. I’m jumping off again with DIS. I just don’t care about the characters. I hate when the writers try to give them emotional scenes or move the audience when they haven’t done anything to earn those moments

I’m tired of the Mystery Box. It’s long passed needing to be relegated to the ash heap of tv writing.

You just know that when the story reveals all it’s card and everything plays out it’s gonna be a total arbitrary and wholly underwhelming event like the first two seasons. But before we get to that the writers are going to stall, spin their wheels, toy with the audience in such an annoyingly cloyful way.

I guess I’m an old fuddy duddy. I’ll gladly admit I prefer the nostalgia of 90s Trek even ENT for all its faults.

At least those shows were well crafted. I liked the writing. They were mostly entertaining. The writers had real life experiences to draw inspiration from to imbue the characters and scripts with that allowed for relateability and resonance. There were fun high concept sci fi notions. The plots felt mostly fresh and held my attention. There was a comfort to those shows. Yes part of that is pure nostalgia. I won’t deny that. Rose colored, feel good days gone by. Soundtrack of my life. Etc etc. but it’s not entirely that either. I think there was a genuine objective quality to them

Nowadays Trek is just flash. There’s no limitations. Studios give kurtzman unlimited budgets. VFX Kets you do just about anything. Writing is an afterthought. I’m tired of the ADHD style and the convoluted storytelling. They include all these disparate parts and force them together by design without caring if they really fit or make sense. The payoffs are long in coming and when they do come they come as a whimper and are totally lame.

I’ll gladly take my old Trek. Whoever can stomach this new crap can gladly have it. I can and have rewatched most of TOS-ENT at least 50 times. I can’t even get through most of a DIS episode of last three weeks.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I think the off topic is a commentary on the quality of the episodes. The episode themselves have nothing to offer so people dwell on stuff that otherwise wouldn’t be given much attention on another show of quality
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 1:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

Sad that a TREE and a CAT have more personality and are more likable than the cast
Set Bookmark
Chekhov
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 4:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

The main beef I have with the primary cast is that I dislike their acting style. It seems unprofessional to me at times - sometimes it feels like their personal feuds and their personal beliefs from real life spill over into the show itself. So far, it’s not as bad as the Latif/Martin-Green dynamic was, but it’s definitely noticeable at times. It ruins the suspension of disbelief for me a lot of the time and will probably date the show in the future.

I thought that the new actors did a much better job across the board. I’m looking forward to getting to know the new characters in the future.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 4:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

This overly expensive Star Trek prequel turned sequel series was the final nail In creativity In the franchise’s five decades long run

alex, What is Star Trek Discovery?
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 1:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

It’s funny. Most trek series had a well defined regular cast. You knew who the main players were. Not so with DIS. It seems they are solely focused on Burnham. Then had a season long guest star they rotate. Then reacting to fans wanting more traditional focus on a regular cast took which were originally intended to be wallpaper and have started throwing a tiny bone here or there to them

For me. It’s not enough. It doesn’t address the underlying fundamental problem that the casting wasn’t great to begin with for most of the characters and the little bit of writing they have gotten doesn’t make them anymore interesting and/or likeable So reunions among the cree carry zero emotional resonance. Big failure on the show’s part

It also hurts other things like the tree hugging or plight of the crew being cut off from their families and what was home and familiar. That should be moving and poignant. Instead it rings empty with this crew because the writers failed from day one to write good characters and interactions so when they come to things like this it carries a punch

Also this plot was tired. Last two episodes had a well trodden outpost/market and saloon. This week borrowing from Voyager Friendship One and ENT’s Terra Nova we get misdirection of the weirdly masked raiders turning out to be humans. yawn
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 7:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

I consider 2 stars out of four a loser episode. No desire to rewatch. Doesn’t inspire me. Does nothing for me. Can’t find anything to applaud the writers for

A 2.5 star episode is average. It either is a mixed bag with some things I liked or enjoyed coupled with things I didn’t like or dragged other elements down. Or it could simply be a fair episode. Doesn’t strive for much but what it does it well enough to hold my attention and be watchable

For perspective. A solid tv series should be getting 3 stars(solid good. Entertaining from beginning to end )most weeks with one or two 2 star episodes and the occasional 3.5 or 4 star episode(. Bring great or excellent

I don’t bother giving anything below 2 stars. It’s like giving an F- what’s the point. It’s a failure matter if degrees don’t matter at that point

I’ve found pretty much the first three episodes of DIS this season to be a waste of time and the studios money. No urgency. No sense the writers have something to say

Contrast to this to TNG where I give most episodes 3 stars and in its peak in season three and four I was giving a larger than would expect 3.5-4 stars to many episodes. Those episodes were consistently entertaining, balanced character and plot well, had right amount of action adventure and jeopardy/tension. And on many occasions while not necessary was appreciated when a philosophical idea or intriguing perspective or bit of sophisticated dialog found its way into a script
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 5:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

I also don’t like how it’s so in the audience’s faces that they and the characters are being led by their noses fromOne plot marker to the next

This isn’t elegant serialized storytelling g that feels organic and natural and the magic of the writers’s hands is pleasantly unobtrusive. No here it’s obvious that the writers in big NEON letters is flashing that “Hey, we contrived this big epic season long mystery and have markers set out and need to get to certain points each episode and we are going to clumsily launch the crew to those arbitrary spots”.

Everything feels contrived and the namedropping or the familiar species feel like pawns with the writers having no clue as to lovingly and affectionately put them to use in the story other than in a “let’s throw a dart at a trek race or character this week and see who we dump into the script

Also as evidence the writers have too much money and not enough talent or good sense is the fact the stidio gives the show money to film in an exotic place like Iceland So I’m thinking the writers are going to want to do justice to a locale that’s oft mentioned and never seen or visited but not done so in the epic fashion it deserves and with which a larger budget will allow

No. What we get is a mundane western and outpost setting. Why couldn’t this be filmed on a soundstage? Did any of this really deserve Iceland ? The studio should have told Kurtzman and Paradise when they asked to go film in Iceland something along the lines of what Weyoun once told Jake The Writer—you keep writing and we will keep reading and leave it at that.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 2:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

2 stars again.

This season is just more of the same with differ Ent window Trappings. More stalling. Not much but lip service paid to world building and status of the alpha Quadrant. Earth didn’t feel alien like it should with a millennium having passed

Everything feels like mechanical contrived plotting. Nothing organic. Just a push to the next plot point or next episode
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

What this fan wants is to be entertained. DIS doesn’t have to be deep or say something profound. These writers don’t have the life experience or mental capacity for that. I’d also like a better cast of actors and better written characters.

I’d like the show to fire Sonequa. She’s an albatross. Horrible actress with awful delivery.

And a little imagination would be nice. How uninspiring is it to recycle western settings. Smuggling. Ship crash. There’s no high concept. There’s no imaginative thinking outside of the box. It’ is just rote
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 24, 2020, 11:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

The problem is the new series aren’t generating any sort of emotional reaction. There’s no investment in the characters or their plights or jeopardy they find themselves in. Scenes don’t slow down to breathe to let you get engrossed in them or the people featured or any kind of human reaction. Because the actors aren’t that great. The characters are cyphers. The writers don’t imbue them or the dialog or the scenes with any kind of insightful or relateable human moments. It’s all mechanical and to serve the bigger mystery and arc which themselves are so badly plotted and clockwork like in just going through the expected motions

It sparks nothing but indifference. kurtzman Trek is hollow. It’s as artificial as the green screens and overdone VFX.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

I can’t stand Burnham. And Book’s Cat is a much better actress than Sonequa martin

Frankly the cast could have been jettisoned. They’re all uninteresting cardboard cutouts. If the writers are smart they’ll do two things. One create and introduce more interesting characters played by better actors this season who can slowly replace the current cast. And two lean hard into world building. There’s fifty years of built in love for Andorians, Tellarites, Bajorans, Vulcans, Klingons, Cardassians, Romulans etc. shifting to large scale Focus on Trek civilizations along with history and inter species dynamics of the 32nd century would help tremendously
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I think Kurtzman is an awful writer and show runner. He has no talent. It’s astonishing anyone hires him let alone gives him control of a franchise like Star Trek

He has no grasp on the basic fundamentals of what makes good writing. His writing is convoluted, filled with gaping plotholes. The pacing is dizzying. You can’t enjoy a battle or action scene cause it’s moving to fast. You need to stop and watch it in slow motion to folks what’s going on

He has no idea how to write a satisfying payoff. He is more concerned about Toying with the audience and on structure and playing with the linear format than he is with well developed ideas, interesting characters, thoughtful relateable moments. He basically throws everything including the kitchen sink at the wall and sees what shit sticks. Some decent ideas aren’t fully realized or utilized. He feels that everything must be connected even if there really isn’t a good reason to connect them. He plagiarized other people’s work. Just look at StarTrek. into Darkness. He says homage I say wholesale lifting of meyer’s film.

Fringe was another hot mess filled with fantasy and unbelievable psuedo-science, emotionally uninvolving romance between the two leads. It was a poor man’s inferior The X/Files.
Next ►Page 1 of 30
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.