Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
castlerook
Thu, May 13, 2021, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

Seriously, this episode should get 4 stars solely on the basis of the two scenes with "holodeck Kira," in which we clearly see Nana Visitor channeling her aunt Cyd Charisse, and doing it very well.
Set Bookmark
Luiz Castanheira
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

The ship inside The Nebula = Calypsos Discovery
Set Bookmark
Cas
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 2:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

In this episode, Janeway says she hates time travel stories. Probably explains why she acted completely miserable in Time And Again, that season 1 episode about the Polaric accident. The way she acted throughout that entire episode, it was like someone was holding her at gunpoint and telling her to deliver those lines!
Set Bookmark
Luiz Castanheira
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Jammer does what he wants with his free time...

I neve quite understood why he reviews Orville though... That one I think is a dreadful show... If I want Berman Trek I will watch the hundreds of episodes on Streaming... Orville makes no sense at all to me..

Why not review The Expanse instead?

Why not review Ricky & Morty?

Why not review ... ?

I can go on forever and never think of Orville... Strange...
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, May 5, 2020, 2:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Turnabout Intruder

I have to laugh at the SJW who call sexism because Starfleet doesn't have female captains. Hello, the Federation is a MILITARY organisation. In all societies in all ages, it's men who go to war, with a few capable and heroic women thrown in, but nevertheless, a man's business. Because women are smaller and weaker and many many many of them prefer a comfortable home and children, to going off to dangerous and possibly fatal expeditions. Besides, we want people promoted due to capabilities not due to gender, to fill out quotas. Everybody who thinks the military would benefit from more women (by the way, I am one) should watch Redonkulous Can't Cut the Mustard on Youtube.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, May 5, 2020, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I was reminded of this woman with The Final Frontier, did anybody else notice the similarity between this actress and the woman they met in the prison camp?
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

"Arena" is a classic, and the best part is, having seen this episode then watching Galaxy Quest. When the captain is fighting the Rock Monster, Guy shouts, "Can't you make a rudimentary lathe?" and I lost it, too funny.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Accidentally or otherwise, this seems to be about the flamebaitiest episode of Star Trek. The Internet Tough Guys (tm) come out in force for this one! Which is fascinating in its own right, and not, I think, to the episode's credit.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 2:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

How are you calling this and the Cage pilots? The pilot is The Menagerie, with a different captain. Later made into episodes featuring the old captain in flashbacks.
Set Bookmark
MaraCass
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I have thoroughly enjoyed your reviews, but I am floored you like TLJ. You're an English major and a sci-fi story expert, and you give this plot-hole-ridden suckfest more than half a star? It wrecked all the lore, uses the Force illegitimately, and is heavily SJW politicized -- the men in this movie were all physically and verbally abused by women! The horrid just will not cease.
Rey is a Mary Sue and her action figures aren't selling, that should tell you volumes. I think you need to watch the Mauler reviews and adjust that score.
And since I'm writing anyway, P.S., it's spelled, "dialogue" :)
Set Bookmark
lucas
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I hace a question: why is Will decker the captain? I assume that scotty is the first official but in the crew remains sulu and uhura both liutenants in TOS. somebody has a in/out universe explanation? thanks
Set Bookmark
Casey Argall
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trills are parasites and would never gain entry to the federation.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Yeah, you can't really pull "now that your existence has proven inconvenient to us, we have decided that your personhood was never even real!"
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I think people tend to forget the interesting moral issues raised towards the end of the episode and not the something like full act of technobabble at the beginning. This could have been a classic if there had been more space for the latter and less of the former.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

Many people seem to have trouble with the fact that Picard seems convinced that Ardra is a con artist from early on. I think that the episode justifies this reasonably well through this exchange:

RIKER: Could she be another refugee from the Q continuum?
CRUSHER: For that matter, could she be Q?
PICARD: Q would never bother with contracts.
TROI: Or economic forecasts.
PICARD: I noticed that too, Counsellor. I had the distinct impression of in the presence of a flim-flam artist.

So the episode acknowledges that there are powerful entities who could do what Ardra is doing, but that their motivation is likely to be different (earlier Ardra asks for "a full census of the population, with emphasis on productivity and economic forecasts"). So Picard intuits from the situation that this is probably a mortal alien using technologically in specific ways to pose as a godlike being, and runs with that intuition, which turns out to be correct.
Set Bookmark
Circasian
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Solid Voyager issue episode, one of the times it tries to be TNG and more of less succeeds. I don't think I understand the title, though. None of the players in the episode's moral dynamic are human (save for half of Torres, I suppose), and if it's a commentary on the alienness of the alien attacker, it's a weak thing to focus on. Not a big deal, however.
Set Bookmark
Luiz Castanheira
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

The Control from the Future sent The probe... The vĂ­rus hacked Airiam and was working with its present counterpart... A temporal loop comes from It...

The Red Angel are our heroes trying to undo The apocalypitic Future Created by Control...
Set Bookmark
Luiz Castanheira
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

I Think It is a waste of Jammer's talents that he is reviewing Orville instead of Expanse... I Just dont understand... Sorry!

The Episode was great. Four Stars for me! The First One to achieve that Mark!
Set Bookmark
Crayton Caswell
Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

This was obviously meant to be a ethical parable: be compassionate, but keep your guard up, because even dumb people can be dangerous and 'clever' when they learn they can get something by force. There is a legitimate point about ethics to be made here.

Of course it's unlikely such a species would exist. And of course it's not a good way to make that point. But the comments here are weird, like the writers understood the downside of certain ethical systems which laymen don't. Star Trek features risk for the sake of humanism all the time; of course this tendency to rush in and help at risk to yourself needs to be deconstructed a bit, and no one here has the least bit of curiosity about it.
Set Bookmark
Cassandra
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 7:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Overall a fairly original scifi premise. The Orville does infinitely better when it executes new concepts instead of ripping off startrek episodes, the exception being Mad Idolatry which was well done.

My only problem is that during their escape, Kelly and Bortus killed several of the guards and destroyed property. Even if the original reason for their captivity no longer applied, surely they should be held on murder charges.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Tue, Aug 15, 2017, 3:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

this episode was a hugely wasted opportunity to explore sloan or probe section 31 and their twisted sense of ethics, or really do anything - anything at all.

i'm also still kind of hoping for some kind of moral examination of this disease that goes beyond a disgusted "its genocide!!" before the show ends but i guess not. as i was watching the episode i found myself wondering if it could really be considered "genocide" against a people like the changelings that seem so single minded and monolithic in thought and action. the 'founders' as a single entity chose to wage centuries of war on a quarter of the galaxy to keep sapient species under their thumb; they often take pains to suggest there is no distinction between the individuals. if all are absolutely dedicated to the cause of waging war for it's own sake against 'solids', attacking all of them seems like simply cutting off the head of the snake with little moral ambiguity in my book.

i had the time to think this because this was around the time the episode "time looped" to pad its running, and literally waste my time, when it could have been addressing something more interesting.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Sat, Aug 12, 2017, 2:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

@Strejda

i thought that was the implication, that sisko's reaction is a direct result of his previous experience. i think this episode would have really benefited from drawing a line between those two points. as it is, sisko's tirade about the dishonest portrayal of race relations in a 400-year-dead nation state on earth just seemed weird to me. it just made sisko seem like he's locked and loaded and ready to explode about this sort of thing.

star trek has always looked to the future but i think there's a fine line between social commentary and clubbing the audience over the head. far beyond the stars walked that line perfectly, and was still at it's heart a very deep space 9 story that slotted right into the plot arc. it was easily a 4-star episode.

anyway, that quibble aside, this episode came together nicely. if you'd told me a month ago when i started watching this show that my favorite episodes were going to be holodeck period pieces set in the 60s, or the ones focused on the base commander's son and ferengi friend, i would never have believed you considering how absolutely dreadful other trek shows have done both the ridiculous holodeck dreck, or kid main characters.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Fri, Aug 11, 2017, 2:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

i was onboard with this initially, but ultimately the script didn't sell me on the idea that joran was was offering any tangible help or unique insights that ezri wasn't capable of on her own as a trained psychologist, it was just a bunch of faff. i also don't recall him being a complete power-killer psychopath murderer in his first portrayal.

they could have done a lot more with this.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

every time i start to get tired of worf, there's a beautiful deadpan line like the matter-of-fact "we will destroy them." at the beginning of this episode.
Set Bookmark
nucas
Wed, Aug 9, 2017, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

i almost hit next episode when i got to this. i tend to find star trek's 'period piece' time travel or holodeck episodes atrocious, often heavy handed amalgams of unlikeable, worn-out cliches. i was very pleasantly surprised by this episode, maybe because it was still ultimately grounded in the mythology of deep space nine. having all the actors here out of makeup, (generally) playing their archetypes to keep the story grounded was nice, as were the occasional glimpses of something more going on behind the scenes.

i was pretty disappointed to see the very first comment on this page was whimpering from a white person that feels slighted, just like any time america's recent past is exposed to critique. these things happened. it's not an indictment of white people everywhere to acknowledge it. grow a spine.

what does it say about these people that ANY time someone tells a story from the perspective of a black person having to live with these struggles, it's supposedly being "jammed down their throat"?
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.