Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 38 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Carly
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

The opening was intriguing but quickly became gross and dumb, with Worf belching crudely over his heaped plate of animal parts.

I don’t mind the wacky DNA science. I mostly mind the tedious expository device of Data and Picard walking slowly from room to room, pointing, describing, and painstakingly explaining the plot to each other and the unfortunate audience.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

Guess I’m alone in liking the transformation of Jean-Lic to Barush.

I was touched by handsome little Jean-Luc’s tragic story of losing his mother and growing up alone in a false paradise. I wanted to hug the kid - until he turned out to be a big-eyed freak, at which point I shrank back in horror and wanted nothing to do with him. I truly expected Riker to flinch and stammer amd rescind his offer. But clearly he’s a better person than I am.

In an instant, I came face to face with how unfit I am to live in the 24th century. That made the whole episode worthwhile.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Side note: I would have eagerly donated my genetic material to the colonists. Am I really the only one who thinks it would be fascinating and fun to have a thousand clones of myself running around on a distant planet?
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Most irritating part of the episode was the portrayal of the put-upon woman (Brenna) who does all the work and organizing and thinking - ie, the actual leading - while the men who call themselves leaders act like (drunken) little boys. Why isn’t she the leader, and why does she dutifully clean up after the idiots rather than deposing them? The fact that she keeps spelling out her disdain for the men while continuing to serve and placate them, doesn’t make her lot any more palatable.

Picard’s polygamy solution was fine until Brenna - unable to envision a society that granted her freedom and equality - reinterpreted his meaning as “three husbands, you say?” and turned her gold-digger gaze on the lead clone. I’m pretty sure Picard just meant to encourage casual or transient partnerships among the colonists. This would be a far more pleasant and flexible way to shake up the genetic pool than shackling everyone in triple-matrimony.

(Assuming that males and females are roughly equal in numbers, the only way to give each woman three husbands would be to form 6-person marriage units of 3 men and 3 women. Emotionally arduous, and genetically confining.)
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Addendum: Better yet, it would have been interesting to see Harry go from delight at his good fortune to a gradual realization that the ‘perfect girl, perfect life back home’ that’ he’s been missing while on Voyager... no longer suit him. He finds Libby seems a bit saccharin, the admirals grate on him, and his parents baby him in a way he used to like but now finds irksome. He chooses Voyager, falsely telling Libby that leaving her breaks his heart - and on his return he wonders whether he’s fit for an Earth life anymore, and whether he even cares if Voyager ever reaches home.
Set Bookmark
Carly
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

The opener was gripping, the middle decent, but the explanation and resolution were shrugworthy.

I would have liked it better as a character episode in which Harry figures out the way back, but is torn over whether to leave paradise. It was strange that he never seemed at all tempted to embrace his situation and leave poor baffled Danny Byrd in his place.
Set Bookmark
Carli
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

Was Wesley supposed to come across as a sneering little manchild in this episode? I wouldn’t mind that characterization. But the episode’s mixed messages baffled me.

The moment when he meets Dirgo and sneers, “Captain?? Of a mining shuttle??” was beyond the pale. His later sneering at the older man’s frailty was just as bad. I expected a payoff in which the rude little snob was forced to recognize his own coddled upbringing and personal shortcomings. But instead, the episode went on to make the experienced Dirgo an idiot, and Wes a brave hero.

Thus the episode seems to say, “Wesley was right to sneer. Wesley is always right, about everything.”
Set Bookmark
Carli
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 6:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

The story would have been more interesting, had we seen a male metamorph being gifted to a female leader.

Ah, but then we’d see a male in the submissive role, ever-conforming to the desires of different females. How unpleasant and disturbing for viewers!

But for a show that prides itself on “examining humanity”, that would have been exactly the point.

This episode suffered from the same sin seen in other “fake-provocative” Star Treks. When Riker falls for a genderless person, she’s clearly feminine and is played by a woman. In the two Trek episodes where Trills ignite a same-sex relationship, in both cases we see two young and attractive women dangled as lovers.

I’ve seen enough Trek to recognize how it smugly claims to be bravely “examining humanity ” - while always playing it safe... and always pandering as hard as it can.
Set Bookmark
CarlosTheFinger
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

If you love DS9 and dismiss the hilarity of this in favour of nitpicking, you have no soul. Easily my funniest episode of all Star Trek incarnations and my second favourite episode overall to The Visitor. I shamelessly rewatch Brunt's descriptions of the motley crew and the holographically simulated rescue attempt on a regular basis. My cap is doffed with ten stars awarded to this Magnificent Ferengi episode.
Set Bookmark
Carlos Anglada
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I'm giving this a qualified endorsement. This is highly flawed, with plenty of logical issues that have piled up through the season — but being logically bulletproof is not the end-all and be-all. Showmanship matters, and this episode has it in spades. This is bold and powerfully executed and makes for quite the ride. And even though individual elements can be easily picked apart, I find that it's still pretty satisfying in the way it ties things together.

===

Yes. A 1,000 times yes.

I will continue to read and enjoy the reviews. However, this will probably be my last venture into the comments section. There's just too much negativity and nit-picking. It leaves a foul taste in my mouth.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Sat, Jan 26, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Yet *another* hour in which we have to sit through one of the main cast members trying to prove to themselves, by using US as innocent-victim vehicles, that they really ARE actors, who, you know, can act, and have range, and do voices, and things and stuff.

J**** effing C*****!!

Patrick Stewart doing his ludicrous Cockney-peasant-with-a-broken-nose-that-never-healed routine a few episodes earlier didn't suffice, I guess. Spiner YET AGAIN had to show us his, uhh.....gifts? Bloody narcissists.

And and awful and boring incoherent total-clusterblank of an episode. What were they thinking?!! Zero point two-five stars.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

The Troi plot was...Utterly...Absurd. It should have been given to us gradually over a five-year arc, with, finally!, completed requirements, tests passed, and a promotion granted. The facts that she's promoted to Commander, and that she outranks Data, and that Data has to call her "sir" are all laughable, and actually damaging to the spirit of the show.

The entire episode should have been the Data story, with significantly more time spent showing us (a) Data slowly recovering, regaining his capacities, and actually realizing that he's regaining them---How DID he recover, anyway? Did his diagnostic and repair routines eventually auto-engage?---and (b) Scientist Data deducing the cause of the illness and concocting the cure. And perhaps even (c) Data continuing to impress (and frighten?) the villagers with his abilities. That would have been fun.

Unforgivably, at the end, the viewer is TOTALLY screwed out of the satisfaction of witnessing the recovery of the villagers and, foremost, the villagers' subsequent shame upon learning the truth about Data and about what actually had been occurring:

-Did Gia, her dad, and the teacher/doctor hold a meeting and offer a heartfelt explanation and debriefing to everyone?

-Was the obnoxious fat blacksmith who years later would buy Frank Costanza's moth-ridden beachwear charged with murder? Did learning the truth and realizing that he had jumped to conclusions and had killed an innocent man who was actually trying to save everyone's lives shatter him to his core and result in him rebuilding himself into a better man?

-Did Gia grow up happy and healthy and name her son Jayden after the noble misunderstood creature who saved her father's life?

-Did the teacher/doctor patent the microscope ($$$!) and "discover" and become her planet's leading scientific mind and authority on radiation?

This episode was very interesting and entertaining, but it could have been so, SO much more.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

The climax is utterly absurd. As others surely have questioned (I'll vent first and peruse after), isn't Riker guilty of employing excessive force against Uta, and therefore guilty of murder? Why not continue to stun her. It clearly was affecting her. Keep zapping until she collapses. Or perhaps direct Worf to enclose her in a containment field. They've done this with other humanoids. And the guy that Uta was trying to kill: why didn't he run away, and why did Riker emplore him to sit still?! And why do most of the gatherers look, dress, and act just like Bender from The Breakfast Club?!
Set Bookmark
Carlos Rodriguez
Sun, Nov 18, 2018, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Wow so much moaning. Personally thought s1 was fantastic if different. Not perfect but what is? I’m a huge trek fan all my life but you know what it’s just a tv show. If missteps happen it doesn’t mean it’s a write off. Looking forward to s2.
Set Bookmark
carl
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Does it both anyone else that Voq seemed so sad about someone taking over his ship? Or that L'Rell would lie to get her way? I remember Klingons as being very direct and violent in conflict. Like, I would have expected a very Klingon Voq to have had a duel with someone trying to take over his ship. Voq just seemed sad. And then for L'Rell to pretend to turn her back on him, only to lie and escape? I would expect a Klingon who wanted to unite all the Klingons to do it in a very Klingon way. This way seemed very human...

When I learned the writers were trying to humanize the Klingons, I thought they meant figuratively, like they were trying to flesh out the Klingon species with more nuance. Voq's and L'Rell's reactions don't seem like nuanced Klingon reactions at all - they just seem like human reactions, which makes the Klingons as a race a shallower concept, not a more fleshed out one.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

@Paul: "Marina Sirtis is clearly the worst actor in the cast (possibly in all of Trek)" - July 6, 2012

Not a chance. Marina is not a talented actress (and she's a dimwitted nutball away from the camera!). But in TNG alone, Denise Crosby, Levar Burton, and Gates McFadden, when at their worst and cheesiest, are all much worse actors than Marina is at *her* worst.

I would vote Denise as the worst actor in all of Trek. MANY of her scenes are cringeworthy. Levar shines frequently, but, oddly, he's also ridiculous and almost unwatchable frequently. He's an enigma.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

This movie is bad.

Not bad because it's slow. (It is). Not bad because nothing happens. (Nothing does). Not bad because there's almost no action, drama, violence, or gadgetry. (There isn't). Not bad because it's boring. (It's painfully so).

It's bad because it's dumb.

(That's also why soccer is bad---not because no one ever scores or fights).

The writing is awful. Very little makes sense, is interesting, or matters.

The acting is atrocious. You liked Kirk in the 60's? Fine. You liked him in '79? Fine. But by the 90's, now you've seen Patrick Stewart...and you can STILL stomach Shatner?? How??!!

Three stars out of ten.

But it's still better than literally any of the Trek, Star Wars, Marvel, or any other high-profile superhero or Sc-Fi offering of the past 10-15 years. Except Ant-Man, which, SHOCKINGLY, was awesome.
Set Bookmark
Ross Carlson
Fri, Mar 24, 2017, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

Recently re-watched this episode, in my top 5, and realized something that's always bugged me. Clemens mentions Mr. Whitley from the geological survey and Data says he doesn't know the man's name but he talks with several people in that office. Given the time period he was in certainly he would have been introduced by name or at somepoint he would have learned the names of everyone in the office. Name plates, on pieces of paper, conversation, etc. He'd only have to hear it once and he'd remember it perfectly forever. The way they play it and the line written would be more like a human would have probably heard it and just didn't remember as that'd be very common for anyone other than Data.

Anyone else notice this??
Set Bookmark
Ross Carlson
Fri, Jan 6, 2017, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

I was a music major in college and have played saxophone for 30 years, as such I tend to get really annoyed by faking instruments, etc. in films and television. That said I understand it's something that just has to be done, you can't always cast a piano virtuoso for the role of Darren. That said she does an acceptable job in faking the piano, not over playing her body and facial expressions. Picard also does an acceptable job with his penny whistle flute, again not over doing it. The same goes for Data who as always does a great job at faking the violin. What does really bug me about Lessons is the total gibberish Picard says to Darren after the concert. "during the second arpeggio in the first movement, I noticed that you played an F minor chord instead of a diminished D" - what? For the non-musicians reading this that's just a bunch of musical words crammed into a sentence. First as a classically trained pianist she wouldn't be improvising in a piece like that, you'd be playing it exactly as written. The only place you'd be taking some personal liberties would be with the tempo and emotion of the piece. Then for Picard to hear the difference in a single minor and diminished cord is laughable. Had Darren made that kind of substitution each time she played an F minor cord maybe he's notice that, maybe. Again for the non-musicians there is but a single note difference between the two cords, in fact it's not even a full note/tone - it's a half tone as an F minor chord would have an A as it's third where a D diminished would have an Ab (A flat) as it's 5th - so in simple terms the difference in sound of those two chords 1 time in a piece would be absolutely indistinguishable to any human ear.

What really bugs me the most about things like this is just ask a damn musician to not only review your line of dialogue but to help you write it. There are many things that Darren could have done with the piece that Picard could have commented on in a believable way. "Your phrasing after the coda was great", "the dynamic range in your playing was very elegant", etc. Finally the worst part of something like this is Riker IS a musician! He's played trombone since school, when we see him play trombone he really is playing trombone (save for the time he's playing with a quartet and his birthday party but that's simply for technical reasons - he does a fine job faking it as he really plays). Why the writers would have run that past Frakes and/or he (Frakes) wouldn't chime in during the episode to say "Uh, that's stupid dialogue, try this instead".

I'm sure I'm in the minority that gets bugged by this, it's just so avoidable a mistake that I've never understood it since it's so damn easy to prevent it.
Set Bookmark
Carlos Danger
Thu, Jan 21, 2016, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I have rarely disagreed more with a Jammer review. Attack of the Clones is, IMO, one of the worst movies ever made. There are almost no redeeming qualities to it...the only one I can think of is the sound effects in the Jango Fett/Obi Wan space battle. Anakin is not a likable character, the romance is ridiculous, the fight scene at the end is Exhibit A for the case of "Less is More" when it comes to CGI usage, Yoda's fight scene exists solely to be Yoda's Fight Scene...etc, etc.

I agree with the above comments about TPM as well. TPM is not a good movie, by any stretch of the imagination, but I think with a few script rewrites and some competent directing, it could have been a pretty good movie.
Set Bookmark
Carl
Mon, Feb 9, 2015, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

Kotas and Moonie; You might be better off watching any other television show ever produced as they are less Bajor-centric than Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.
Set Bookmark
Carl
Fri, Feb 6, 2015, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Scott wrote:

"Now Bajorans learn that since the beginning of their existence until quark went into the wormhole the wormhole aliens didn't know about earning profit."

You're forgetting that the wormhole aliens don't exist in linear time. They might be learning about profit 'now' but they had just as much access to this knowledge in Bajor's past as they will do in its future.
Set Bookmark
Carl
Wed, Feb 4, 2015, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I think that Jammer must have been really grumpy when he watched this episode. His criticisms are all valid but there is a lot which is great about 'Civil Defence' which he didn't mention. My personal favourite moment was when Gul Dukat ordered tea from the replicator and the turret disappeared and then re-appeared after he took the tea.

This was one of the episodes which I was most looking forward to rewatching during my second viewing of the series. I am surprised that it is a season 3 episode, to be honest. I was expecting it early in season 2. I also was unhappy this time around that the plotline in Ops ended so abruptly with no real resolution to Dukat's part in the story.
Set Bookmark
Carl
Wed, Jan 14, 2015, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I've decided to start watching TOS on Netflix and this was my first episode. I'm primarily a DS9 fan with a guilty love of Voyager. I wasn't expecting too much from this early episode as I'm sure that it gets a lot better like most series do and so I was very happy with 'The Man Trap'.

I was really impressed with the dialogue, especially the sizzling scene between Spock and Uhuru near the start. It's a lot better than most of the dialogue on Voyager or TNG.
Set Bookmark
Carl
Sat, Jan 10, 2015, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I thought that this was a really good comedy episode. I loved the scene where they mocked the use of technobabble on Star Trek - when Icheb called Neelix out on what he had said because it didn't make technical sense and he responded with - "the technical details aren't important".

I thought that episode made excellent use of both Neelix and the Borg children. I also loved the fact that Harry Kim was able to flex his 'senior officer' muscles, for once, in the mess hall scene. He did a really good job of taking charge.

Janeway's habit of talking to the ship was clearly something invented by Neelix to spice up the telling of the story. I'm pretty sure she talks to her replicator in other episodes but not the other systems in the ship. I thought this was a nice touch in this episode given that the framing narrative made it valid.

As was the case for Zarm, it seemed clear to me at the end of the episode that the power had been shut down to reduce the risk of dissipating the new nebula.

Jammer! Don't forget that you hated 'Bride of Chaotica!' - and with good reason. This episode is far more charming and more humorous.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.