Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 90 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Mar 4, 2021, 2:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

@Booming
why is that a problem? Not every show needs to be clever and try to outsmart its audience
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

I just like the show as an action serial. ....serials inspire the original film and now SW goes back to that. The stakes are always clear.. and even more personal than many of the films. A kid can get as much enjoyment as an adult can.

Maybe everyone is trying too hard to hate it. Believe me, I HATE the SW sequel trilogy, but I think this series feels both nostalgic and a welcome return to the Galaxy.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 7:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 2: The Child

I love this episode. I expected to like this series because.. it's Star Wars.. but I did not expect it to have the sense of whimsy it had. I remember when it aired, I didn't have high expectations.. but I was so taken by how well that opening action sequence with the jawas was. It was certainly a gift for me, because Jawas were always a favorite of mine. Jawas exemplify the kind of humor Star Wars excels at.. just humor from the funny sounds they make of the way they behave.

But the best thing about this episode is what we learn about Mando. I'm NOT talking about his background and history and all of that that most people want to know now now now. But this episode tells us about the Mandalorian himself, his skills (taking out a few guys at once in the cold open) and his limitations.. he can't take down the jawas. We learn about his patience, and his ability to learn and work together with others.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 8:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
Food replicators are definitely better than food resequencers. My point is that ships cannot waste resources.. even molecules.. which individually are not dirty or clean, can be resequenced by these machines
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 8:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@booming
from ENT.. 'Breaking the Ice"
ARCHER: Thanks, Hoshi. Here's one from Molly McCook. 'When you flush the toilet, where does it go?' That sounds like an engineering question, so we'll ask Commander Charles Tucker, our Chief Engineer. Trip.
TUCKER: Pause it, will you?
(Hoshi does.)
TUCKER: A poop question, sir? Can't I talk about the warp reactor or the transporter?
ARCHER: It's a perfectly valid question.
(Tucker nods at Hoshi to resume recording.)
TUCKER: The first thing you've got to understand is we recycle pretty much everything on a starship. That includes waste, and the first thing that happens to the waste is it gets processed through a machine called a bio-matter resequencer. Then it gets broken down into. Hold on.
(Hoshi pauses recording.)
TUCKER: They're going to think I'm the sanitation engineer.
ARCHER: You're doing fine.
(The recording is resumed.)
TUCKER: So the waste is broken down into little molecules and then they get transformed into any number of things we can use on the ship. Cargo containers, insulation, boots, you name it.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 5:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I meant "space is so vast"
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 4:25am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Jammer from your review
"Maybe I haven't paid enough attention this season to the arbitrary technobabble around the dilithium shortage, but it seems like the issue is that everyone is too slow when it comes to traveling at warp, when it really should be range — not speed/time — that is the limiting factor."
In Trek, these are basically the same, no?
Space is so fast that you need warp to get anywhere. The faster you are the more things that are in range

Did I just miss the obvious? what are you saying with this bulletpoint?
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 8:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

What is the difference between Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man, REALLY?
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 8:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Chrome

I guess the answer would depend on whether or not the swallow was in fact African or if it was European?
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 7:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I just miss when star trek had tension, wit, charm, and a sense of adventure. Like.. will the Romulans break the treaty. or.. should we interfere with the society's development. Now they are just ramming current hot-button political identify politics down our throat.. and not even through the use of arms-length allegory the older shows did so well.. and the whole thing is being wrapped in a wet blanket of crying and melodrama.. and the bow is a mary sue that can do anything and always expects to get her way

this travesty can continue is that it so "correct" in its inclusivity and it pleases all the blue check marks. People that criticize the storytelling can just be called racists, misogynist, or bigots just because the show has protected itself from any attacks

And why is this show so ugly. Like serious.. dark purple is the ugliest color for storytelling in history. The sets, the shadows and the uniforms are all dark purple.. and they go into the future and even the people on earth are wearing that same color. they go to a holodeck unbound by the limits of the imagination and we see how limited the imaginations of the writers are. And the Emerald Chain villain cannot act act.. her aunt argot Kidder was one of the greats.. but this lady got acting lessons from blocks of wood
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 3:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

THERE IS A POST CREDITS SCENE
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 2:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Dave @ MN

I meant to add: happy h9olidays to you as well. i don't have any kids so the holidays are pretty low key for me. Might watch Tenet again
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 2:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Matt W

After watching the episode I thought it might also be that officer to which the title refers to. OMG he was so great. "WHAT's YOUR NAME, OFFICER."

hard to believe this 35 minute episode contains everything I love from from action, to Star Wars fanservice and worldbuilding.. but most of all just a great damn story.. with actual character development. I never imagined I'd be seeing this
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Dave in MN

Nice.. I heard that they resumed but I didn't know all those specifics. As a Trek fan in his 40s I really love the show.. it's like watching "new reruns".. I love the crew, and that they shoot it like TNG.. and yet it's not weighed down in cynicism. I just really enjoy spending time with the crew and "living" on that ship. That would be incredible if Hulu wanted more episodes but not sure how rigidly planned the season is. Maybe they can do another couple of stand-alone bottle episodes like "Deflectors" and "Lasting Impressions" (both excellent episodes form Season 2)) that really develop the characters.

I cannot wait to go back. I watch every episode of Discovery, but I often am left cold.. but following an episode of Disco with an Orville episode cheers me up .. they didn't reinvent the wheel.. but they just brought me back

Thanks for the good news!
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

"Do they have a code clearance?"
"It's an older code, sir, but it checks out."

Sounds like the same organization that would make a scanner like this.. especially with more stormtroopers than they can possibly file paperwork for
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 4:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Dave in NM
the above message is my reply to you.

Also, happy holidays,..
Love discussing this nerdy stuff
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 4:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Yeah,.. I've thought about it a bit. The original SW film was made a while ago.. as was 2001 A Space odyssey.. and though these films have obvious advances over us, anything about information processing is more primitive. The Empire and even the first order have very simple little diagrams for their radars, like when Finn and Poe escape together in a TIE. Despite how ubiquitous the tech is in SW, I've noticed (at least in the original films and the sequels.. this was kind of worked against in the prequels) almost none of the technology really improved the quality of life. They still lived rough lives.. things like shipboard computers still depended on blinking lights etc. I noticed that Fett had to press like FOUR buttons, including one above his head, to release his Seismic charges. Perhaps the New Republic is putting serious work into developing their databases, they want to track all of their prisoners, and keep good tabs on loyal systems in order to not lose everything they gained from the destruction of the Empire proper.. which is why the two X wings cops didn't have too much of problem pulling up The Mandalorian and the Razor Crest earlier this season.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 8:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Mike C
I like Adira I suppose (particularly before the scene in this this episode) .. so no it's NOT my actual position. I was just saying that the show has set itself up with so much baggage.. so many eggshells someone has to walk .. so many word games people have to play.. to make sure no one is offended before they can just state how they might feel.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 7:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Jammer's point in the last couple of full paragraphs is dead on. The Adira thing needs to be addressed. I just imagine this scenario..
I join a Trek group or message
Let's be hoenst with how this would go:
Imagine me joining this group.. and saying, as my first post,.. "the new season is ok.. but I think Adira sucks as a character." Then I press enter and wait for responses. I guarantee you you and I both know how well that would go over and the kinds of names I'd be accused of being.
Yet back in the 90s I got on a similar board and said "I like the new season . But Ezri sucks as a character ". Totally different.

This is because there is so much political baggage attached to every aspect about this show.. and the show uses this to protect itself from criticism.. it forces those that might lodge a legitimate complaint about the show to actually add a bunch of qualifiers ("I have nothing against non-binaries" or "I have nothing against POS") before they can even get to the core of their complaints.. and this HAS to make someone happy.. but it softens things way to much.
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 9:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

@Dave in NM
The scan works like a Captcha today.. it doesn't verify who you are.. just that you are a human and not a robot. When Fett said he couldn't go in, it's because he is exactly like a clone which they phased out. The reason Dune and Fennec couldn't go is that the ISB is actively looking for Fennec and Dune is actually with the New Republic. But there are legions of stormtroopers.. and the implication is that the technology (in terms of information processing) isn't as good as our tech today (just like the rear-view monitors on the Juggernauts look like old VCR footage) .. so the database is just checking mainly to see if you are a "human" and not a clone
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 6:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

I watched it again.. Burr is so damn good. Like I know almost nothing about him, but his timing, his delivery.. it's really good. And his facial expressions throughout the mess hall scene.. just so damn good
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 9:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

Note to Rian Johnson.. everything that you TRIED to do with DJ and failed, they succeeded here.. and even with that they managed to cram more and BETTER action (as well as more nuance) in 35 minutes than Rian got in over two and a half hours. but it just shows how you write SW and how you don't as this episode was nailing what Rian was trying for with DJ but failed!!!!

I'm not familiar with Bill Burr.. I heard he is mainly a comedian. Let me tell you.. even if Mayfield represents the only type of character he can play, I've seen actors with less range than one character succeed. He was absolutely fantastic in this episode. Not just funny (though his "you think?" line was perfectly delivered and hilarious) but he was very nuanced. The moment he made the decision to save Mando and therefore Grogu even if it meant that he might die was so perfect.

The more I think about this episode, the better it gets. The writing, the performances. Even the action. I love how when Cara and Fennec are shooting troopers at the dam, the camera follows them a while as they fall. These are movie-quality shots. I also love the shot where Mando throws the thermal detonator, and when it explodes, it blows him back.. all in the same shot
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 9:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

The acting across the board in this episode was so absolutely terrible .. only the Guardian of Forever guy (Car) seemed to be giving just the right performance
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 2:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

@Robert H
Of course it's plot convenient, but Boba Fett wanted them all to be equal before their chat.. and the jet pack could mean Mando could leave at any moment.. (this was before the Empire showed up)
Set Bookmark
CaptainMercer
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 3:26am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

@Jammer
It's not exactly that Fett was overrated.. it's just seeing him in 1980 standing so mysteriously.. (who was he? Why did he have cooler armor than anyone else? Why did Vader respect him? How did he catch Han?) and realizing that what you didn't know about him made him interesting.. and fluke accident or not.. RotJ might not have done any favors for him.. (the writers were mainly concerned with tying up the main plot) , he was still a badass to use kids at the time and still was for a long time
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.