Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 54 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Gooz

I have commented on this topic in previous episode threads but will do so again here since it has been brought up in such a nasty manner. Disparaging someone for their weight is inappropriate and mean-spirited, not to mention counter to the spirit and message of Star Trek, especially TNG. Say what you will about the acting, the writing, directing, having to pay (or in your case illegally download) to watch these shows. But attacking someone’s body and appearance is wrong and only contributes to what I view as the decline of our society.

I applaud these aging actors for appearing as they are, save Brent Spiner who’s character required de-aging. None of them went on unhealthy diets to slim down or got work or Botox to look younger. They presented themselves as they are. None of them appear the same as TNG season one. Hell, they all ages by season 5! But that’s how we all are! We all change and age over time.

So criticize the production of this show all you want, Gooz. But making personal attacks is uncalled for and only makes you out to be a sad, nasty person.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 12:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Q returns in another lackluster outing that actually breaks from the usual problems of previous episodes but still has new ones. Unlike most season one episodes, “Hide and Q” actually has pretty decent pacing and features some strong dialogue between Picard and Q and Riker and Q. The premise is sound and for the first three acts the episode is heading towards success.

But then the wheels come off as Riker breaks character and allows power to corrupt him. Even with as little characterization to this point as there is, I’m not buying it. Yes, the death of a little girl is tragic but should it really be enough to send Riker off onto a power hungry show? Again, I don’t buy it. Sadly the premise is squandered. Q doesn’t lose because Riker proves he has the will to overcome temptation but instead because the crew has to reign Riker back in. Had Riker not done his show for the bridge crew and instead just left the ship, Q would’ve won. Altogether not handle the way it could have been.

🖖🖖
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

“The Battle” is a flawed but enjoyable entry that gives further insight into Picard’s background as well as establishing his tactical prowess that, to this point, has mostly consisted of him surrendering. The Ferengi are better used here, with most of their more annoying hijinks kept to a minimum. However, the crew doesn’t come across too well. First, Crusher takes far too long to figure something is suspicious about Picard’s insistent headache, which inexplicably start before the Stargazer is even revealed. If the orb is what is causing his headaches, how does it do so long distance?

The flashbacks to the Stargazer battle are both haunting and fun, however the pacing of the third act seems odd. If the point of all of this is for the Stargazer to destroy the Enterprise, why is no actual battle taking place with no exchange of weapons fire? Of course, it’s up to The Boy Wonder to outsmart his own crew and save the day, which makes them look even worse once again.

“The Battle” is fun but it could have been so much more.

🖖🖖🤟
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I believe someone asked they made Picard 94. As I recall Roddenberry envisioned Picard as being around age 60 when TNG began. I vaguely recall this also being mentioned in the Encounter at Farpoint novelization. Patrick Stewart’s age has no impact on the character’s age and him being gray and bald was a benefit. Hey, it’s better than casting someone who was 60 and really would’ve been in their 90s by now!
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Where to begin? Absolute trash. While not the season’s weakest, it’s down there. This episode suffers from not knowing whether it’s a campy romp or a serious analysis of the Prime Directive. Had it stuck to either one of these instead of starting with one then switching to the other, it may have been better. The Edo are too campy to take seriously and their one law makes little sense especially when being enforced by these people.

The greatest potential lies in the debate over the Prime Directive. There is some valid substance here but unfortunately by the time we get to it the episode is too far gone.

🖖
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

There’s something about the tone of “Lonely Among Us” that I find to be unpleasant. It’s hard for me to put my finger on but I’m left with a bitter taste in my mouth after watching it. Normally I’m a big fan of scores by Ron Jones but I think I find this one to be his weakest.

The episode is slow and boring. There’s not much going on and it takes the crew far too long to act when they realize Picard has been possessed. Shouldn’t there be some Starfleet regulation that allows for this scenario? Instead, Riker, Crusher and Troi tiptoe around the issue and allow themselves to be manipulated by an obviously possessed Picard.

The conclusion is also puzzling. Once Picard beams off the ship, shouldn’t he just be gone? How is it that they’re able to reconstitute his body from energy? It doesn’t make sense.

The subplot featuring alien delegates who antagonize one another to the point of hunting each other around darkened corridors is pointless. It also leads one to wonder why they’re being considered for membership in the Federation in the first place.

Overall, forgettable.

🖖🤟
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

This is more like it! After a decent premiere, a TOS retread, a piece of garbage, and a lackluster episode with embarrassing villains, we finally get an episode with a sense of awe and spirit of exploration. It’s far from perfect, though. Of course The Boy Wesley is the only one who immediately notices The Traveller’s influence on events and is revealed to have a special destiny. The brilliant engineer is cocky, arrogant and very hard to line. And the mysterious dimension where thought becomes reality feels underbaked.

But there’s a genuine sense of awe and wonder that “Star Trek” embodies. The effects aren’t too bad for the time period. And the concept is pretty good even if more could’ve been done with it. Overall it’s a successful outing.

🖖🖖🖖
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

“The Last Outpost”, like many first season TNG episodes, suffers from slow pacing. Much of that can be attributed to a lack of characterization scenes. Everything onscreen is focused on advancing the plot, or cheap nonsensical gags such as the Chinese finger trap. The Ferengi also aren’t very convincing as villains. When they finally do appear in person, they spent almost all their time mouth breathing obnoxiously and refuse to hold still, as though they suffer from collective ADHD.

There is merit in that Picard and Riker each are given opportunities to show that while they are willing to fight, they choose not to fight. There’s entertainment value but there’s not enough meat to the story.

🖖🖖🤟
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

What a truly awful, dreadful episode. It probably wouldn’t be considered so offensive had it been cast differently, however it wasn’t so it comes across as racist. The plot is nonsensical and stupid. The customs and traditions are insipid. And the climactic fight is lame, as well as the solution. Nobody really comes across well here. Easily the worst of the season.

🤟 (which represents 1/2 of 🖖)
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 10:31am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Naked Now

We’re on our second episode and already we’re retreading TOS episodes. One fortunate thing about that, however, is the acknowledgment of the events of TOS’s “The Naked Time”. That’s also a flaw because then it calls for a direct comparison to the original. Unfortunately, it doesn’t stand up to the task.

That’s not to say “The Naked Now” is bad. It’s just not good either. It’s entertaining with lots of lightheartedness but given this is the first adventure with these characters outside of the pilot, we’re not ready to see them acting out of character just yet. We’re given insight into their feelings, yes, but we spend most of the episode watching all the women pretty much get horny while the men get annoyed and frustrated. Fun but inconsequential.

🖖 🖖 1/2
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Not the greatest way to start the series, “Encounter at Farpoint” is thinly plotted with showpieces that are unnecessarily dragged out. The separation and reintegration of the Enterprise serves no purpose other than to show off the ship’s new feature. And there are one too many extended shots of someone looking at the bridge in awe for my taste.

However, the characters are all introduced well and allowed to contribute in some fashion. Q is intriguing with the Humanity on Trial storyline containing promise. Though the mystery of Farpoint hardly lives up to the hype, the aliens are certainly unique and beautiful to behold. A rocky start.

⭐️ ⭐️
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Akiva Goldsman is an executive producer, I believe. So it’s not so much they got him so much as he said he’d do it.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 8:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

If anyone is going to have a redeeming moment it’s Agnes. I don’t see Soji dying because of the rapport she’s developed with Picard. I view her as Data’s heir and so I think she’ll stay. If anyone dies in an act of redemption it’s Agnes.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 7:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Goof

The O’Briens were on DS9, not DS12. There are different DS stations. FIRST CONTACT mentions DS5.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I feel torn on this episode. It felt hurried and not flushed out enough. We finally find this colony of synthetics and learn virtually nothing about them. What do they think of the outside world? Are they scared? Curious? Why is it that they’re so easily swayed into taking action to exterminate all organic life? What are their motives? I understand this new Dahj Android (I forget her name) saw this vision but is there already an underlying mistrust of organic that she feels? How does she feel about her sister being murdered by Starfleet?

Not enough was done on the Borg cube. I feel Seven’s presence has been minimal and thus Jeri Ryan wasted.

And what about Dr Soong? He seems pretty ready to disregard all organic life. And are we going to see Picard uploaded into this new android to save his life?

I enjoyed the episode which is why I’m torn. There was some very imaginative stuff. I loved the space orchids and thought they were pretty cool. There were some neat TNG-era vibes. I was reminded of the Ba’ku village.

But I’d wished we had seen more androids. This was 45 minutes when the last two episodes ran close to an hour. This episode could’ve used another 5-10 minutes to go a bit deeper. It’s still hard to judge when this is obviously the first half of a larger story.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I gotta add to the commentary on Alison Pill and Jurati. I think that Pill is a better actress as well but also feel her character isn’t as annoying. I believe she’s also more complex, especially given her actions. Does anyone see Tilly acting the same way?

As for holograms....yes, I believe the self-aware holos are sentient but not the others. I would also think that most holos wouldn’t be considered a threat like androids because unless they have a mobile emitter they are less....well, mobile. And also it seems most can simply just be deactivated. I’m curious to know The Doctor’s date which it sounds as though we will learn next season.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Sorry for the double-post but I just remembered to make an observation about a comment that I read earlier today. Someone mentioned something along the lines that fans of nuTrek view the TNG characters working together to solve problems as a bug. In my case, not true. I grew up with TNG. For me, that is and to this day remains STAR TREK. Its optimistic message shaped me. Its acceptance of others has helped me with how I look at others.

If there is one regret that I have with the way the characters of TNG were handled it's that there wasn't more tension between them. Not in the constantly fighting or feuding sense. I'm talking about in the sense of the tension that existed for a time between Kira & Bashir on DS9. While I do believe that depicting people from different walks of life who are totally different coming together and solving problems is inspiring, I also believe that people who have personal differences and yet are able to set those aside to solve problems is equally inspiring.

Isn't that also a tremendous message for Star Trek to broadcast? That even though we have some conflict or problem with someone else that we are still able to moved beyond that and work together to solve problems? Considering the political dynamics of today (particularly in the US) and the hyper-partisanship that exists, isn't that a message that should resonate and be important to share with the world? "Hey, you and I have a difference of opinion on A, B & G but we have a problem that needs to be solved so let's work together". I don't know....maybe I'm just mistaken in the kind of message that STAR TREK can deliver.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Stardustraven, I appreciate your thoughtfulness. I do not recall all of your previous posts however I take you at your word when you say you never mocked anyone. I never directed my original question at anyone specifically because I did not want anyone to think that I was going after/attacking them. Things have a way of spiraling out of control on an online forum where everyone remains anonymous behind their keyboard and thus have no accountability in their every day lives.

Now, whether or not I should have kept my post in such a general fashion is another question. I wanted to hear from those who have a passionate dislike of PIC & DIS and not get into a Hurling of the Insults with someone who felt like I was coming after them. I never addressed any specific comments in order to keep it generalized. Some have expressed their views in more passionate terms than others. Some have said they're done watching yet return. Others, like yourself, don't say that and are clearly waiting for it to "get better" in their eyes.

As it is, a couple people seem to have taken my attempt at civility in the wrong manner I have thought that I was attempting to intimidate or shame them into not sharing their opinions. So perhaps not addressing any one person or any one comment specifically was a mistake. I don't know.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@bencanuck

I'd like to add onto your observation about the TNG crew's vocabulary use. Did Data not say "oh shit" in Generations? What about Riker saying "bastards" in Insurrection? And when Lily calls Picard a "son of a bitch" in First Contact, did he act aghast at such a term being used in his presence? No, he continue on with his work and tried to brush her aside. With the medium of a motion picture, the writers were able to take more liberties with the cursing. I'm sure that if the rules of TV in 1987-1994 had been similar to today's that we would have seen a bit more cursing on TNG.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Wolfstar, thank you so much for your thoughtful response! That is the kind of insight I’m looking for! To know what goes through someone’s mind as they watch these shows. Thank you very much!
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Sen-Sors

That is all I am asking. I'm only seeking confirmation. I wish to only discuss opinions and if I have questions ask them. That is all I have done. Thank you very much.
Set Bookmark
Captain jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:42am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Brian,

There is no subtle implication intended. None at all. I stated my purpose in asking my question. Now I feel my intent has been misconstrued as an attack. It is not. It is an attempt at an open discussion without people taking things personally.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Whoa whoa whoa! I’m not trying to shame anyone! I made perfectly clear what my intentions were when asking my question. It’s my right to do so since I’m curious. I even said everyone is entitled to share their opinions. I’m not seeking to intimidate anyone into silence. To suggest otherwise is misleading. There is no sarcasm. No malice. Only curiosity. I wish to only have a discussion.

There are those who have voiced only negative opinions, nothing positive. People who say they are done and yet return. I’m only curious to know what keeps them watching. Those who identify both positive and negative aspects seem to have a genuinely open mind and aren’t out to trash these shows simply because they can. They are making genuine critiques.

I am not here to troll, to shame, to bully or intimidate. We live in a free and open society where we can express ourselves. I only wish to learn from those who have different opinions.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

To those of you who absolutely despise this show as well as Discovery,

This is not intended in anyway as trolling or mocking. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I respect that even if I disagree with it. "Picard" and "Discovery" are not perfect but neither are any of 90s-era Trek. TNG started horrendously bad, DS9 was consistently great but had its fair share of clunkers as well (I'm looking at you, "Let He Who Is Without Sin..."), VOY was inconsistent and ENT was mostly weak. As I've said before, I think that PIC and DIS are suffering from first/second season jitters but that PIC is now gaining momentum going into its finale.

However, having said that, I know there are people who just are not buying it (well, actually you're PAYING for it). You come here and you voice your opinions, your displeasure, you rip into choices. That's all fine and good. But my question to you is this; if you don't like nuTrek so much, why not just stopping watching it? Why come here and rip into it? Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I'm just curious about your choice to continue to watch something that you continue to be so awful.

Everyone has a different standard of what they continue to be good Star Trek. But no one can dictate to anyone else what is good and what is not and no one should ridicule or mock someone else for their opinion. It is all subject to one's own opinion. I'm not right but neither are you.

So....why do you still watch? Are you waiting for it to meet your standard for what you consider to be good Star Trek? What other reason would you have other than you're waiting for it to get good or because it's Star Trek? I'm just curious and trying to have a civil discussion about this.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I know that the first half of the season is considered weak especially in comparison to the first episode and these last few. While I enjoy the early episodes, they certainly are more flawed. However, I find them to be necessary. Those episodes laid the groundwork and the backstory. And now we’re seeing the payoff both in regards to plot and character.

Had they condensed the season to 5 or 6 episodes I think we’d be complaining that the pacing was too quick, that things were moving from one thing to the next too quickly to get from A to B to C. With 10 episodes they took their time and allowed things room to breathe. I like that. I enjoy a good slow buildup as long as there is payoff sporadically spaced throughout. Yes, things could have been done a little bit better with those early episodes but keep in mind the how long each 90s Trek series (especially TNG) took to get their sea legs.

I also would like to point out that Patrick Stewart’s performance has changed over the course of the season. It’s always been strong but I felt like in the first half of the season we were watching Patrick Stewart. It wasn’t until that final scene between him and Seven in “Stardust City Rag” when we actually saw Jean-Luc Picard and he hasn’t left ever since. Just as the writers needed a chance to find their footing, so did Stewart.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.