Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Wed, Nov 2, 2011, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Aaron - I'd say the future in front of you is far more pressing than one you can't see or predict. Physicist or not. They don't actually have any answers with regard to the effects of time travel anyway, it's not a very well understood topic even in the 24th century. There's a lot of theory, but how effective is that when you're staring your own descendants in the face?

This episode is built on THAT emotion, not the paradoxes or alternate possibilities. Which is kind of why I like it, and why it's better than most others in Trek.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Wed, Nov 2, 2011, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

The uniform issue pretty much HAS to be intentional, meaning they wanted to tied Bashir's abduction and replacement to a specific point in the timeline. They specifically chose that uniform, fully aware of the implications. Which were probably what Lizzy mentioned, that they play the long con.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Wed, Nov 2, 2011, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

"Conversely, the Bajorans, capable of terrorism and atrocity themselves, to be sure, are the innocent. "


I would call them the victims, not innocent. They were guilty of many crimes done in retaliation.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 25, 2011, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"It's also hard to believe that it would have taken all this time between the nova and the Ent-D finding it for that one person to encounthr the probe. "

Theoretically speaking it should have never been found, floating alone in space. That's like finding a needle in a galaxy-sized haystack...

A good question I don't really want to ask is, where did they get the technology to create such a vivid simulation? They have electricity, or at least electric lights (no powerlines, but they could be buried, using batteries/generators, or transferred wirelessly) but we don't see the com device the wife describes, which seems to be centralized for each village like old timey telegraphs, or anything resembling TV/computers.

Presumably, because the probe is using Federation Standard to communicate with Picard, it used the name of the planet he would understand, vs one the natives would have. Which begs even more questions, best ignored in light of how good this episode is.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 20, 2011, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

Comments have veered into strange territory.

I actually thought this episode had wider ramifications than it did, canonically speaking anyway - I had always connected Hugh with the Unimatrix Zero plotline from Voyager, but apparently the two were never tied together.

TH - a better analogy I think would be, is it ok to place a bomb under the car of a random Muslim to kill a known terrorist, because you know they'll be in the same place later. This is a completely relevant issue today whenever you turn on the news and hear about "collateral damage" from another drone strike over in the Middle East.

Is our moral compass really going to be What Would Hitler Do?
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Wed, Oct 19, 2011, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

This very episode mentions the children's center, and shows a ceramics class being held for kids, not to mention numerous previous mentions of schools and care centers - perhaps you missed all those "suggestions"? The Enterprise is basically a moving small town, which seems natural in the evolution of the Federation.

It's the reverse of the dilemma faced by the scientist in Silicon Avatar, who left her son in the care of friends while she pursued her career aboard various Starfleet vessels, only to have the colony he was at attacked and destroyed by the Crystalline Entity. More importantly, she had to maintain a long distance relationship, and missed a lot of important milestones in his life.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Sun, Oct 16, 2011, 12:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

Were you really disturbed by that priv? That's a bit of a puritan attitude, there's nothing inherently wrong with nudity. She came as she was, and if the episode had any theme it was be who you are.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 7:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

"If Starfleet isn't a military outfit why were Wesley and his friends flying fighters and doing military style maneuvers?"


Those were more likely training shuttles than fighters. I took the whole thing to be simply a show of pride in their training and skills as pilots.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

Jay - that is alluded to earlier when they joke about Data stacking the deck while he's shuffling at Warp speed. He can place the cards in any order he wishes, at any time, he simply doesn't as a matter of course (he also probably knows where every card is while he's dealing, but I imagine he sequesters that information from himself - kind of like playing poker against a computer, the computer knows all the cards, but it's programmed to act as if it doesn't). In the final game, his message was acting on his subconscious processes, hence all the iterations of the number 3 across the ship. Data was responsible for those as well.

This one was a lot of fun. I took it that he Bozeman had catapulted ahead in time, not that it was stuck in a loop for 100 years. It joined the loop at the same time as the Enterprise. Might even have been the proximity of another ship and it's warp field to the temporal whatever that brought the Bozeman forth at that particular moment.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Wed, Oct 12, 2011, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

Bisexuality needed support?

Trek message episodes are rarely subtle (He''s black on the left, and white on the right!), so this one kind of fits into that dynamic, but it doesn't make it any easier to watch. I can totally understand anyone growing up LGBT connecting with the message here, however the writers skip around the issue as it actually applies to the audience. As an adult tho it's groan worthy how ham fisted it all is handled.

Found it funny that after 5 years of basically trying to out-Kirk Kirk, Riker has a sit down with Deanna to explain he's seeing other people.
Speaking of Action Man -

Alien Judge - "These proceedings are closed!"

RiKirk - "I just opened them!"
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

Suicide has been tied to honor in human culture since, forever, depending on the reasons and the methods. It kind of fits into everything else we know about Klingons as it is, and comes up again much later during DS9 with Kurn.

If I had been viewing this when it first aired, they would have had me convinced that Worf was actually going to die, they played that right to the end.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

I say that as someone who lives in a community that's had it's own fight with something similar, eminent domain, and a local government that decided it was in it's best interests to take privately held homes and businesses and sell them to a larger corporation, so that it could expand it's operations in the area. People were offered above market prices for the property, but many, many of them objected. And I understood, and in many cases supported those objections. On the one hand is a balance sheet, the other people's lives and livelihoods. I know which I'd choose, but then again I'm not in business or politics.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Did you miss all the episodes of TNG where settlers refused to leave their homes even when facing imminent war/death/destruction/assimilation? Some chose to fight, others to face certain death. That's an old theme. Well played out with the Maquis, IMO. They had complete justification for their actions, were they supposed to simply walk away from their homes because the federation chose to withdraw? I guess it's a fundamental difference in attitude that probably manifests in other ways politically and socially. The decision that's right for the Federation isn't necessarily right for the individuals it's going to most affect. Sometimes the needs of the many are outweighed by the needs of the few (or the One).
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

I imagine their intent was more to warn other Cardassians not to support Damar, by showing all the consequences of rebellion. Damar knows the Dominion, so a hostage situation would have been pointless, but finding and murdering his family will give anyone else second (third, fourth, eleventh) thoughts. It's an old tactic, actually, clearly one the Cardassians used against Bajor as well.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

How well equipped is the American army for fighting guerrilla tactics/urban warfare? Could we become Al Qaeda overnight, if the country was being occupied? The Cardassians almost always fought from a position of strength, that can actually work against you when you find yourself as the underdog, since most of your strategies revolve around all that superior firepower and technology. The Bajorans did it for decades, of course they'd have a thing or three to teach.

She wouldn't train any troops, either. She's training the officers, who would trains NCOs, who would train troops, within their cells.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

Hence the title, the CHANGING face of evil.

Of course it's contrived, it's fiction. Made up to tell a specific story.

That being Kai Wynn choosing to finally accept that which she has always considered anathema, whilst the Cardassians grasp at potential salvation. Wynn's reasoning is wrong because of the consequences to others, and the fact that she either dismisses those, or deludes herself into thinking people will be better for it, all so she can empower herself further. How else is that supposed to be depicted?
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Tue, Oct 11, 2011, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

I would imagine they see many different futures based on the various decisions people make in the present. Also there's a difference between telling someone what they're supposed to do, and allowing them to find the path on their own. Easier to be convinced by experience and circumstances, than by a mandate.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Mon, Oct 10, 2011, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

That's because Kai Winn has never sacrificed anything for anyone else, only others to pursue her own goals. She's delusional and harboring feelings of persecution over what are usually justified reactions by others to how disgusting a person she can be.

The Cardassians did what they did for the betterment of their entire race (both joining with the Dominion, and rebelling), Wynn is doing it, and has always done it, for the betterment of Wynn. That she has managed to convince herself this equals whats good for Bajor is simply just another symptom.

Seemed pretty dynamic to me.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Mon, Oct 10, 2011, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

As I understand it, replicators play a huge part in the makeup of the holodeck, so the food is probably real, in so much as any of the ersatz edibles are.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Sun, Oct 9, 2011, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Well Trek is at least consistent when it comes to eugenics and the attitudes of the in universe humans, which probably has more than a little to do with canon history, mainly the Eugenics Wars.

Also with regard to DS9 they weren't forbidden to join Starfeet because they were "too" smart, but because the Federation did not support eugenics or genetic manipulation, nor did it want to reward those who broke the law, fearing it would encourage others to do the same just to keep up. Which again, harkens back to the experiences earth had with augments.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 6, 2011, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

Odd to dismiss something as psycho-babble that's actually common and observable, especially in children (and at times much more severe than this). Then again other posters who liked this episode are doing the same thing to Alexander's burgeoning kleptomania and pathological lying, traits that shouldn't be surprising in an adolescent dealing with the death of one parent and the perceived rejection by the other.

Playing them back to back is a pretty glaring error, tho it's not the first time two story of the week episodes in a row shared similar themes explored with different characters.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 6, 2011, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

Agree with other commentators, that this 2 parter failed to cash in on it's lofty premise. By the end almost nothing that has happened mattered, which while find for the normal run of the mill episode, stands out glaringly during a min-arc featuring one of the faces of the franchise. Missed opportunity.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Thu, Oct 6, 2011, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

@Kevin

Where is it ever said that everyone uses Starfleet ships? Not everyone in the Federation is even in or contributes to StarFleet, and each member planet maintains a civilian fleet (and undoubtedly a military presence, since SF isn't a "military organization", more like the UN), not to mention what I imagine is their version of commercial airlines, to facilitate interstellar travel unrelated to starfleet activity.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Mon, Oct 3, 2011, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Was a lot harder to kill this thing in Star Trek Online.
Set Bookmark
Captain Tripps
Mon, Oct 3, 2011, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Definitely a 3 star ep for me. It's a classic mesh of disaster movie vignettes, nothing wrong with breaking out a well worn trope, as long as you throw some fresh wrapping on it (such as popping off Data's head and carrying it around the ship). Stoic guy has to deliver a baby? How hard was that to see coming? I still bet it had people chuckling.

I'm not exactly sure how a review is supposed to be objective either. Other than the technical aspects of the production, or perhaps the originality (or lack of) in the storyline, isn't a review basically describing what you liked or didn't like about something? Was it fun? Was it entertaining? Was it boring and predictable? Does it accomplish it's own goals?

Those are highly subjective. It's all based on opinion. Which I totally get scaling between shows, if you think a series is generally subpar, good episodes seem great in comparison.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.