Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 87 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Fri, Mar 7, 2014, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

While it certainly wasn't a wonderful episode, I would never say it was "the worst episode in more than two years." If nothing else, it was watchable. I can recall a couple of others that weren't even that.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Feb 6, 2014, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Given how this entire season was inspired by the events of 9/11, I suppose an episode like this was inevitable. True, Star Trek has had hijackings before, but I don't recall offhand any of them being at the hands of "suicide bombers." It seemed to me that Archer was put in a real predicament here: turn over control of the ship or we destroy it. Going along with the demand while looking for an opportunity to take back control seemed like the logical course of action.

I thought these religious extremists were portrayed pretty realistically throughout most of the episode. Given their point of view, some of the things that Enterprise had done would have indeed seemed like sacrilege. The exception, of course was the 9 days vs. 10 days thing, which just seemed silly. It certainly didn't ruin the episode for me, though.

I'd give this at least 2 1/2 stars, maybe three.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Feb 6, 2014, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Personally, I've always been a sucker for ST time travel stories. Was this one of the better ones? Certainly not, but I still enjoyed it. Sometimes I think people think to hard about these episodes. I just sit back and enjoy the ride.

And Jack (comment above mine), you're taking seriously a remark that's supposed to be humorous.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Wed, Feb 5, 2014, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Hmm, seems like most people either loved this or hated it. Personally, I liked it a lot. It's too bad that so many allowed their dislike for the premise to color their enjoyment of the episode. I found it very moving. Easily three stars at least.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sun, Feb 2, 2014, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

I wasn't expecting much going into this episode, so it was a pleasant surprise that I found it quite entertaining. Certainly not one of the season's best, but it was an enjoyable change of pace from the ongoing Xindi arc. I certainly didn't find it at all boring, as Jammer did. (The only episode I've found boring this season, to date, is Extinction.) I'd give it at least 2 1/2 stars.

Cloudane said, "what has happened with this review is over-analysis."

I agree.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Fri, Jan 31, 2014, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

Good episode. I was also reminded quite a bit of Beauty and the Beast, particularly at the beginning. As the episode moved along, it ultimately went in another direction.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Wed, Jan 29, 2014, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

I guess I enjoyed this more than most. Perhaps not quite as good as Anomaly, it was still worlds better than Extinction. And unlike that latter episode, it moved the ongoing plot line along quite nicely, I thought.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Tue, Jan 28, 2014, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Jammer said, "Extinction" plays like a bad Voyager episode."

LOL, that was exactly what I was thinking after watching it, before I logged on. Such a disappointment! I really enjoyed the first two episodes and then we got this clunker. :(

Nebula Nox said, "Wow... aren't the actors embarrassed?"

I was embarrassed for them.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Wed, Jan 9, 2013, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

dan,
Are you sure you're talking about the right episode? Sounds like you watched "The Visitor" on DS9, not "Once Upon a Time" on Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sat, Oct 27, 2012, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

Zane314 said, "The b-story with the rock climbing ... ... was extremely skippable, and I did skip it!"

But, if you didn't watch it, how do you know it was skippable?
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Tue, Aug 21, 2012, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Judgment

Very much in agreement with Jammer and with Paul's first paragraph. (And while what Paul says in his final paragraph is true, this is nonetheless a staple of Star Trek and was the vision of Gene Roddenberry.)

All in all, a very satisfying episode. Hertzler was awesome, as usual.

And everybody needs to inscribe Jammer's parenthetical comment in stone, so far as Enterprise is concerned: "In all fairness, how original can your prequel material be?"
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I guess I'll have to be the one dissenting voice here. I enjoyed this episode quite a bit - actually, a lot more than I expected to. It was certainly a welcome change of pace from the usual aliens of the week, who look just like us except for some facial prosthetics. I liked the uncertainly about their intentions, the sense of helplessness on the crew's part and the sense of foreboding.

I also must disagree with those who had a problem with Enterprise destroying their ship. Sure, they were "only trying to save themselves," but at someone else's expense. Don't forget, they attacked Enterprise, not the other way around. As far as I'm concerned, this was a simple matter of self-defense.

Three stars.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Fri, Aug 17, 2012, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

I guess I'm just weird. When I've been well entertained for an hour, with good acting, special effects, etc., I'm not likely to say I wasted my time.

I'll agree that it was an average episode, and nothing really special, but is that really so terrible? Do they all have to be classics?
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I meant to mention above, it seems that this mysterious spaceship was a genuine TARDIS. :)
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Cloudane said, "A nod to Doctor Who? It's bigger on the inside, it time travels."

Hard to imagine that it isn't. :)

And, of course, to find out what *really* happened to the missing Zefram Cochrane, one needs to watch TOS episode, "Metamorphosis."

www.jammersreviews.com/st-tos/s2/metamorphosis.php

I found Future Tense to be a fun and foreboding episode. Three stars is about right.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Tue, Aug 14, 2012, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cease Fire

Jammer said, "It's gotten to the point that I wonder if the problem is not the material, but the reviewer who is tired of some of the material."

No offense, but I do think that may be part of it. Not that we've had a lot of gems this season, but I read your last few seasons worth of reviews on Voyager, and I think comparable episodes tended to be rated a bit more highly. At least, I don't recall a long chain of 2 1/2 star ratings there.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sun, Aug 12, 2012, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

While I can certainly see the parallels to Darmok, quite honestly, that episode didn't come to my mind as I was watching this. What it *did* remind me of was the DS9 episode, "The Ascent." www.jammersreviews.com/st-ds9/s5/ascent.php

In both episodes, the characters had to carry the communication equipment to the top of a mountain, because something was blocking transmission on the surface level. In this episode, the temperature was ungodly hot; in the other it was ungodly cold. Quark and Odo didn't come to blows, but they at least claimed to loathe each other. And before the episode was done, they had to work together to meet their common goal. Yep, sounds pretty similar to me.

I guess the one thing everyone can agree to is that the episode was derivative. It certainly wasn't a bad episode, but it was nothing to get really excited about either.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Wed, Aug 8, 2012, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I'm offended... not by the episode, by the review. I don't think I've ever seen anyone overreact so much in my life. This might not have been a gem, but it was eminently watchable and entertaining as well. Both "A Night in Sickbay" and "Acquisition" were much worse episodes and I could name several others that were no better.

Nor did I have a problem with the guest actress's acting. I think people are reacting negative to the personality of the character she plays and transferring these negative feelings to the actress instead. For shame.

I'd probably give this two stars.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sun, Aug 5, 2012, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Perhaps no forethought was given to eventualities like this because of a sense of imperviousness or naiveté on their part. Hopefully an important lesson was learned here.

An entertaining, though somewhat flawed episode.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Fri, Aug 3, 2012, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Eh, it wasn't anything special, but it was nowhere near as bad as some of you make out. Certainly much better than last week's episode.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

The only thing this episode succeeded in doing was making the captain look like an absolute idiot. Surely the writers had to be drunk when this episode was put together.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 10:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

I notice that Jammer gave both this and last week's "Minefield" three stars. That seems about right in this instance; I liked this episode a lot. But it just goes to reinforce my belief that Minefield was rated too high. Dead Stop is a much, much better episode.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Sat, Jul 28, 2012, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Not bad, though I did think the story dragged a bit. Personally, I don't think it was nearly as good as Shuttlepod One. I probably would have given it two stars.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Thu, Jul 26, 2012, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I'm heartened to see the many positive comments, because this has always been a favorite episode of mine, one that has long stood out in my mind (in a good way) when I've totally forgotten so many others. I just watched it again for the first time in years and it has lost none of its charm. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
Captain Jim
Tue, Jul 24, 2012, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

I thought Jammer was much too harsh in this review. As he and others have said, it's not that unusual for the second half of a two-parter to not maintain the same level of quality as the first. Jammer's disappointment was so profound, I think it impacted his objectivity in this case. This episode was three stars at least.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.