Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 35 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sat, Feb 6, 2016, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

Anakin's actions are senselessly extreme and never supported by writing, acting, directing - anything!

This is not a 'good' film. Aside from the complete lack of plausible and well-presented character development (there is none), there is in general just a terrible lack of subtlety about everything here. Best of the three just makes it the least worst.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sat, Feb 6, 2016, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

The climax of this film is the highlight of all Star Wars for me. More than anything else, its what I remember about Star Wars and the images, sounds and feelings of those last scenes are what stayed with me from child to adult.

The insertion of the two "no"s is just stupid. The scene is far more powerful with Vader's actions doing the talking.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Thu, Jan 1, 2015, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

It's clear to me that Picard doubts that Ardra herself has these powers, not that any being could have such powers - they've already dealt with Q of course. His skepticism is personal and specific, not philosophical/metaphysical.

Anyway... don't get the 1-star rating at all, this is one rare case in which I don't understand Jammer's opinion. It's a solid and effective, if occasionally silly, TNG episode. Enjoyable and interesting, just a bit lightweight compared to other TNG highpoints.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Dec 14, 2014, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Death Wish

Gosh, voyager wastes a lot of good ideas and good acting by being really stupid. Still, it remains eminently watchable.

Set Bookmark
Caleb
Thu, Nov 20, 2014, 9:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Fantastic episode. One thing I really, really like here is the Nog storyline. THIS is how the Ferengi should have been portrayed more often, for some balance and so it wasn't always negative caricature. It's one of the rare cases in which Ferengi philosophy and spirituality is shown in a positive manner and with some depth.

Set Bookmark
Caleb
Mon, Nov 3, 2014, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sixth Season Recap

"Trouble is, shows like B5 and Lost, all we remember of them is the backstory, now the shows are over."

Can't speak for B5, but Lost? Lost was consistently very, very strong on characterization for the most part.

It's not an either/or thing... you can do strong characterization and strong long-term plotting and serialization.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Nov 2, 2014, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

Man I miss old school FX and creature design. The CGI of Species 8472 just takes me out of it... they don't look real.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Thu, Oct 30, 2014, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

"The writers don't seem to know what to do with Dukat. At times he has wanted to: atone, seek revenge, receive forgiveness, receive vindication, get revenge.. and then at the end he becomes a fire monster who wants nothing more than to kill Sisko."

Completely disagree... well, sort of, that's just the thing... Dukat himself doesn't know who is, Dukat's existensial crisis and continually evolving identity is the point. Most people in life ARE all over the place because most people are not self-actualized, and Dukat's character makes perfect sense in this context, and it's part of what makes him one of the most compelling characters. His "fire monster" act near the end... well, I can see why some people can't jive with it, but for however over the top it is I still see it as a development that works in the larger context. Insanity can indeed be the eventual outcome of an existential crisis that only builds and where no self-actualization or realization is ever reached.

Oh, and 4 star episode for me.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Thu, Oct 30, 2014, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Armageddon Game

Very worthwhile for the O'Brien and Bashir stuff, but I just never bought the motivations of the T'Lani and the Kellerens and the last act felt rushed and kind of silly. Nonetheless, the character stuff is really good, and that last little revelation about the coffee... pretty amusing.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Tue, Oct 28, 2014, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

"2) The whole thing with the Prophets and Pah-Wraiths was STUPID. There is no such thing as an opposite religion. Satanism is not a real religion, it's an urban legend."

I'm replying to a years old comment here, from Matthew, but... this is just wrong. The world of spirituality and metaphysics has a dark side as well as a light side, and both sides have their followers. You don't have to look hard to verify this. Have you never heard of the right-hand path and the left-hand path? Theistic satanism? The occult philosophies of various secret socieities? Do some more research before you act so dismissive of something you are apparently not well-informed about.

And I also just want to speak, in general, to how much anti-spiritual sentiment I see in the comments for reviews on this site... and others. Folks, many times you are just showing your cultural biases and materialist/reductionist indoctrination. There's nothing inherently 'silly' or 'nonsensical' about visions, expanded consciousness, experiences of gnosis, etc - in fact we are talking about centuries upon centuries of human mystical experience, understanding and knowledge when these topics are addressed. I'm quite glad shows like DS9 don't take the simpled-minded "oh its all bullshit" view and spend time exploring these topics that do indeed represent very real phenomena. That's not to say DS9 always did a great job of it, but I'm happy for the attempt.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Really hokey and lightweight, but I gotta say, I really enjoyed it - mostly for the scene with Quark and the Prophets. Silly, but it worked.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sat, Aug 31, 2013, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Dogs of War

DS9 is about DS9. It went in different directions and certainly toyed about with the Star Trek universe... good! Or at least, so what? It's fiction. It's an alternate view of the federation, and one that strikes a lot closer to the reality of what civilization and technology actually offers the human race and has done so throughout history. Sometimes it's dumb and mixed up, sometimes it's pretty smart and interesting. Same can be said for most Trek. The difference for me is that the "utopian" Star Trek of Roddenberry, while I appreciate it, is far too entrenched in the myth of progress and the false promises of modernity for me to take much of it seriously as social criticism. Civilization, government, technology, so-called "progress" - if we take history as a pattern, these things do more to destroy humanity than to uplift or enhance human life.

I like that DS9 is at least sometimes informed (seemingly) by alternate non-utopian and non-conformist views of these things. Whereas Roddenberry's Star Trek more often preaches the religion of statism, and continually reinforces the notion of state power as the savior of humanity.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Mon, Aug 26, 2013, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Penumbra

I find Ezri far less annoying than I found Jadzia. In fact, I quite like Ezri.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Mon, Jul 15, 2013, 5:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Things Past

Despite the technobabble flaws, for me this is easily a 4-star episode and one of my DS9 favorites. This is the kind of stuff that makes me understand the DS9 cult - no other Trek series offers morally complex, emotionally and intellectually challenging characterization and storytelling quite like this.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sat, Jul 6, 2013, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Its a pure fantasy episode, I don't see why anyone cares about the implausible techno-babble or other minor details. If you accept the level of suspension of disbelief that the episode asks from you, it's terrific. If you can't, that's fine, but that's a personal subjective issue and not a major fault with the episode- which is touching and absorbing and has a number of valuable (and positive) messages about life and loss.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Aug 12, 2012, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

Best TV show ever? That would be Breaking Bad, in my opinion. That show has floored me, every season. TV has never been that good before. And as much as I love BSG... it's not in the same class to me, not anymore at least.... although the miniseries comes close.

Anyway, as to the episode - GREAT! Beautiful stuff. I wouldn't put it among the *absolute* best of BSG episodes, but still very good, haunting and thoughtful.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Aug 5, 2012, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

I disliked the increased religious/metaphysical/fantasy/whatever element in Season 3, but now I think that's just because Season 3 as a whole was really inconsistent post-New Caprica. The change in tone from a greater sense of realism to a more fantastical emphasis coincided with a general downturn in episode quality. That element no longer bothers me in these early season 4 episodes because the writing, direction, acting and everything else is so strong - it works for me now.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Fri, Aug 3, 2012, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

Wow. If the rest of S4 is as good as these early episodes, it's a great return to form for the show. The end of this episode was gut wrenching.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Very nice episode. For me this felt like a bit of return to form. The Baltar + Baltar scene is gold.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Although the start of Season 3 was great, the New Caprica arc is up there with the best - Occupation/Precipe is wonderful... but starting with "Torn" the show became less engaging to me.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Watching this series a long time after the rest of you... but I sort of agree with Michael, in that I was initially drawn into BSG for it's incredible sense of realism. As the show has become more and more metaphysical, more and more "mysterious"... it's lost some of its grip on me. It's not that I have anything against that sort of tone in fiction - I'm a huge David Lynch fan, I just think BSG worked better when the metaphysical played a smaller role. To me the show peaked *very* early on. The miniseries is some of the greatest TV I've ever seen, and the likes of "33" and "Water" continued that trend. There are various other high points throughout the first two seasons. But starting with season 3, the show has gone from incredibly compelling to interesting and entertaining but not what it once was. That's just my perspective of course. It's still a good show at this point, I just think it's best moments are behind it unless the rest of Season 4 really surprises me.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

"was most likely high off his ass on LCD when he wrote that song"

Maybe, but that really has nothing to do with whether it's meaningful or not.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Mon, Jul 30, 2012, 1:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

I agree with Michael, he is guilty of treason. That said, I love the dude. He's by far my favorite character and I can't help but sympathize with him.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

One of the better episodes of the last several. I don't know that I can call it one of the best of the series, because I've been somewhat put off by the increasing reliance on the somewhat cliched metaphysical stuff. But this episode grabbed me, and the last few minutes are riveting and heartbreaking. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Caleb
Sun, Jul 29, 2012, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Baltar is the only character I really like anymore. Sure he's completely self-interested, but he doesn't have the pretense and self-righteousness that Adama and Roslin seem to constantly exude... oh and everything he says in this episode is true. Go Baltar!
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.