Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 30 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 6:46am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

Clearly these Millennium Gate folk never played SimCity...
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

I've been doing the Star Trek Chronology Project, and I gotta say: this episode loses some luster, especially after watching the DS9 finales.

I realize I'm years late to the convo, but I can see how 21st century viewers (like John up there) see this as really dated. But that's viewing it through the lens of NOW, outside the context of when it was written and aired, twenty years ago.

And there always seems to be the issue of writers telling stories based of their personal experiences, leading to anachronisms. A view of the 24th century, written by someone who came of age in the 1970's.

Add all those gaps up, and yeah, some dissonance is gonna happen. The 2010's were not the 90's were not the 60's, and none are gonna have the same outlook on 2374 or whatever.

Consider: the gap between Voyager airing and present day is now as large as the gap between TOS and TNG. Some cracks are bound to start showing in the social and cultural norms of the era.

In 1999, this ep comes across as a bittersweet tale of unrequited affection, a nice My Fair Lady homage.

In 2019, (to me) it starts to look and feel a bit like a hokey 80's sitcom plot. Or Daphne and Niles Crane IN SPACE.
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 2:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Disease

Wow, 2031 is only 12 years away now.

Nice Disney prediction, Jammer!
Set Bookmark
CJB
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Watching this episode from 2019, some of it feels like it's not aging well.

"Voyager partitions its harddrive, creates a new MedTalk AI app, and argues about deleting the wiki article about vivisections."
Set Bookmark
CJB
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

As much as I liked the creepy visuals, I wish they'd done more with it than just having "Larry" Tuvok (as we call him) and Seven yelling MULDER!!! and SCULLY!!! at each other across a chasm.

Also, I had to chuckle at some of the "convenient" framing of those Sickbay shots.

The Doctor, with Picardo really selling the concern:
"Seven? Are you okay?"

Seven, with Ryan crushing it conveying the distress:
"Please help me!"

Seven's Boobs, filling up 1/4 of my screen:
**HEAVE*HEAVE*HEAVE*HEAVE**
Set Bookmark
CJB
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

Coaxial Drive, I snicker and make jokes every time I hear it.

"Coaxial is failing!"

" Shunt power to the Blu-Ray conduits, and re-route the signal tto the HDMI relay!"

"I can't get an RCA cable lock!"

"Computer, access Special Features Audio Commentary, authorization Kim-Four-Seven-Delta-Berman, enable."
Set Bookmark
CJB
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 4:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Ten years worth of arguing about rights, repressed memories, false accusations, and rape. All from a Voyager episode that aired twenty-one years ago...

I think we can all agree, we are a LONG ways away from a 24th century utopia at this rate. :-(
Set Bookmark
CJE
Sat, May 12, 2018, 6:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

I seem to be going against the grain here, but I think this is actually one of Voyager's better episodes. It delves into a theme that TNG rarely got right (except perhaps in Hero Worship). I think it was Levar Burton who said that he wished TNG explored the aspect of having family aboard the Enterprise more, and I think this is an episode that does that very successfully. It's not meant to be an action adventure; it's an examination of a child's life aboard a starship, with all the wonder and risk that entails. The fact that Samantha dies or survives is not the point; the situation allows us to get to know both Naomi and Neelix, and this is a rare case where the writers really get Neelix right. For me, the reset button isn't pushed at the end of this episode; Neelix, Naomi, and Samantha have a real character arc. I thought this was a theme worth exploring.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Sat, May 12, 2018, 5:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Oh man... easily Voyager's worst episode... worse than Threshold.
Yes, I said it, and I meant it.
This could have been a Chakotay-development episode, i.e. delving into his past, why he joined the Maquis, his passion for anthropology, his relationship with his heritage, his family, and his friends, (and maybe a bit about boxing). Instead, we get a boxing episode with aliens who make no sense. I guess this is comparable to Twisted, but that episode preserved the sense of mystery and developed the crew's relationships. The Fight spent 45 minutes doing nothing.
At least Threshold developed Paris's character.
Set Bookmark
CJB
Sat, Apr 7, 2018, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Hey, an alien race that can only communicate by punching Chuckles in the face?

I'm all for it. :-)
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Something that HASN'T changed, sadly; the outrage at the perception that an attractive white woman can get whatever she wants, at the expense of a man's self-worth and reputation.

I remember being super angry at that kind of idea in the 90's; but I was also a hormonally-charged, socially-inept and sexually frustrated teenage virgin at the time.
Set Bookmark
CJB
Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 4:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Just a thought: If Kovin lives in a society where even an accusation of misconduct will destroy his business, why is he so poorly equipped to defend himself?

It feels like Russian dash cam scenario, where you want incontrovertible proof of all interactions.

Like others here, I think VOY tried to do a "your memories of trauma can deceive you" story, but fumbled it (as usual). And in the process, they accidentally wrote a prescient allegory about the current climate of "believe victims" and "false accusations."

We should all try to remember that twenty years ago, victim-blaming and false rape were not the headline grabbing hotpoints they are now.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 12:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

Amazing... Michael McKean is just the best. He makes the clown charming, morbidly funny, and terrifying. The lighting, pacing, and script are great. A nice foil for Harry, the Doctor, and Janeway.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Alliances

A fun action piece, and an interesting dilemma. Unfortunately, Janeway's resolution to it is uncharacteristically simplistic.

This is one of the times where they should have bashed it out in the writers' room a little harder... like when Ronald D Moore wanted Wesley to stay loyal to his friends instead of Starfleet in "The First Duty" (which would have been more controversial, and more interesting), and when Worf refused to help treat the Romulan patient in "The Defector" (which gave depth to his character, in my opinion).

The ending would have been more effective if Janeway chewed out the Trabe for their act of violence, but maintained the alliance with them. There wasn't much choice... with the Trabe and all the Kazon factions as their enemies, I was surprised they lasted until the next week. As a leader, Janeway would have had to recognize the Trabe alliance as a necessary evil, and grudgingly maintain it. That's the kind of sacrifice that her crew needed her to make, no matter how much she hated herself for it. I thought the Trabe/Kazon conflict was very interesting and should have been developed further.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

It's exciting to see a Vulcan 'unmasked', especially one as closely-guarded as Tuvok. A great performance from Tim Russ, and from one of my favourite actors, Brad Dourif. If you haven't seen HBO's "Deadwood", it's a masterpiece, and Dourif is exceptional in it. And, for once, he doesn't play a psychopath, traitor, or murderer!
Set Bookmark
CJE
Sat, Mar 10, 2018, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Anything that takes Tuvok out of his comfort zone adds depth to him, and these are the only times we really get to know him. It was nice to see his paternal, empathetic side. Unfortunately, this episode is slightly ruined for me by cliché "fanatical xenophobic irrational aliens-of-the-week" whose only role is to obstruct the protagonists.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I have to echo nemo's comments. I feel the same way.

The idea of meeting your descendants, getting to know them, seeing how they live, and having to choose between giving them life or going back to the life and people you love... I wouldn't want to make that choice, ever.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Wow, this episode has a lot of comments! Yikes...

Worf's story about his past really does a great job of explaining why he has been so careful over the past ten years, making sense of his comment in TNG "Yesterday's Enterprise" — "I would require a Klingon woman. Earth females are too fragile." It is a shame that Jadzorf (or Wadzia) ended up being so cliché. When you think about it, a woman with eight lifetimes of experience and a Klingon raised on Earth who suffered discommendation twice should have given the writers plenty of unique material to explore beyond "we fight all the time" and "Worf's jealous".

Initially, in TNG "The Emissary", Worf's relationship was going to be with the Vulcan Dr. Selar (played by Suzie Plakson, the same actress who played K'Ehyler), which would have been interesting. But K'Ehyler was a great character, so it probably worked out for the best.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Wed, Dec 20, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

I love this one. It goes to the root of Star Trek, and it really deepens the relationships between Jake & his father and O'Brien & Bashir. By the way, no one said the sailing ship was made of wood. The only thing that didn't make sense to me was why they had artificial gravity, but the episode was so good that I didn't care. O'Brien and Bashir singing... amazing. "At first, I hated you... and now...now... I don't."
Set Bookmark
CJE
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Always enjoyed this one, and brings back fond memories. The allegory is a little heavy-handed, but TOS never shied away from that. Nimoy, Meyer, and co. made a great team.
The Klingons' behaviour in this film seems more akin to the way it was in TOS, not in keeping with what previous films and TNG had begun to establish. It's not really a complaint, since the plot demanded it.
The Romulans could have been substituted for the Klingons with almost no changes required, right down to sending Kirk and McCoy to Remus instead of Rura Penthe. Valeris could have easily been a Romulan spy, which would have explained a lot. Kirk's personal history with the Klingons makes it essential that they are the main antagonists in this film, but if Star Trek III had gone the way Harve Bennett originally intended (with Romulans as the antagonists) then VI would have worked beautifully that way too.
Set Bookmark
CJE
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Kirk "You would find me a formidable enemy."
Spock "I am aware of that, Captain. I trust you are aware of the reverse..."
Spock to Sulu "I suggest you remember that my operatives would avenge my death. And some of them... are Vulcans..."
The most bad-ass Spock ever!!!
Set Bookmark
CJE
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

Pointless observation: this episode invented the disco cube. Watch until the end...
Set Bookmark
CJ
Sat, Jul 23, 2016, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

Thanks for the review Jammer! I largely agree with most of what you said, but like a lot of viewers, feels a bit too derivative of what came before. I'd go 2-2.5 stars myself.
Set Bookmark
CJ
Wed, Aug 6, 2014, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

I find the battles a bit tiresome at this point. There's a disconnect between the ease with which Federation fleets are rendered useless and the pace of the war. I can't reconcile it. If they're beaten that swiftly, shouldn't this have been over much sooner?

That being said, I enjoyed the way this episode wrapped up. The last few episodes have seen Demar begin to question his allegiance and you finally get to see the result of that conflict. They have obviously pulled out all the stops in closing out the series and it holds up well.
Set Bookmark
CJ
Thu, Jan 17, 2013, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

I was able to suspend disbelief on the technical issues and enjoy the show. It was much, much better than Similitude; I couldn't figure out all that episode asked me to believe. DNA can do anything, and you just had to watch and wonder what it would do next. In this one they laid out some rules for how time travel worked, and they stuck to it. Since time travel isn't a phenomenon in the real world, I could accept Daniels having ability to send them back in time without having details on what they were looking for. One you accept that, the story is nothing amazing, but it was an interesting hour of television.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.