Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 625 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 25
Set Bookmark
Rebecca
Tue, Oct 29, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

I don’t remember anyone ordering you to “summarily toss aside his contributions” - so that comment seems like a defensive straw man. I am afraid you are ignoring my point.

Tiger Woods is immaterial to this discussion. He is a celebrity who whacks balls around; he has no pretensions to moral stature. The men I name are famous for supposed moral stature.

Mohammed has been regarded by billions of people as God’s right hand. That his personal behavior and sayings have resulted in tragic abuse of billions of women throughout history, is waved aside.

MLK and Gandhi both strutted around claiming to be liberators. But they were perfectly happy to keep some of their fellow people in chains for their own pleasure and power. And today, plenty of females and children in India, and plenty of African American women, continue to suffer from what they modeled. “Our hallowed leaders were fine with stomping on women and children; so let’s not worry about their inconsequential chains.”

JFK is regarded as some sort of noble knight who wanted to raise American society to idealistic heights; I know plenty of old folks who sigh and say, “If only he had lived, America today would be so much better!” But in his own home, he created a corrupt and degraded society in which the powerful (himself) felt free to hurt the unpowerful repeatedly and without a second thought.

But what’s worse than their behavior is the universal societal rule that these men deserve knee-jerk hagiography. We are all complicit in agreeing that the abuse of women and children is perfectly acceptable. Women and girls, men and boys are repeatedly trained to swallow this as true and normal, every time a teacher or preacher or newsman or parent sings the praises of these “great men.” I myself was trained to sing the praises of three of them all through school, and understood that I must never criticize them. (My children were trained to adore and emulate and all-but-worship the fourth.) The lesson is pounded in repeatedly: if a saint stomps his boot down on the necks of wives, women, and children, that does not tarnish his sainthood and is not worth a mention. In fact, to even mention it is despicable or ungrateful or blasphemous. And if a saint models the abuse of women and children of his family, then the same behavior is acceptable at all levels of society. If we accept it in our saints, of course we should accept it in lesser men.

I think that when a man’s public pose is completely and repeatedly contradicted by his private conduct - and when his private conduct serves to normalize and give license to widespread similar abuses among his followers - and when even decades and centuries later we speak of these men as our saints, and teach our children to dismiss and ignore the “inconsequential little people” they hurt - damage is done to society. And victims are perennially taught their place.

Picard, in the episode, stood against that. It’s a rare and thought-provoking position to take.

I think that’s important.
Set Bookmark
Rebecca
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

Mohammed did it.
Gandhi did it.
MLK jr did it.
JFK did it.

Not only are all of them revered and their domestic victims brushed aside, but even today those who criticize their abusive treatment of wives and children are called haters (Islamophobes, racists, shrill feminists, etc) for even mentioning the tribulations of these “great men”’s families and girlfriends. Muslims don’t care at all how Mohammed’s Wife Number Eight felt when Mohammed came to her smelling of a dozen other women he had just banged. Black Americans don’t care at all about the feelings of Coretta Scott King or any unrecognized child of their hero. American fans of JFK don’t care at all how much JFK hurt Jackie. We don’t really think of her as a human being who mattered, and we don’t think any less of her husband for how he used her. When pressed, we come up with ridiculous theories - “Maybe she didn’t mind. Maybe they had an understanding. Maybe she was having a hundred affairs, too. Anyway, she could have left him if she’d wanted to.”

I wonder what it must have been like for Jackie K. to know of her husband’s countless infidelities, and confront him in private, and suffer whatever insults he visited on her, yet have no power - and be coerced into acting as his smiling prop and loving helpmate in the eyes of the world. How helpless she must have felt to escape her situation or be listened to by anyone, when all the nation viewed her husband as a wonderful man and called her lucky, and all those around her - the press, the White House staff - knew his behavior and closed ranks around him. How enraged she must have been to be told constantly what a saint he was.

I’m really surprised that this episode gets panned by most people here. Sure, it has its problems, but it tackles a much more interesting human problem than the usual “attacked by aliens” or “warp core breach” plot. Troi, who doesn’t usually get much material beyond ‘nurturing counselor and pretty female’ was awesome in her early scenes when she played the vamp and when she told that ensign to quit whining.

Three stars.

(By the way, if memory serves, a DS9 episode touched on the same issue, though only in passing - with a dead hero of Bajor, worshipped by all, being finally revealed by his long-stoic widow to have been a nasty husband.)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 11:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

@Yanks

She also played the Trill navigator in Star Trek Insurrection.

RIP Stephanie Niznik, thank you for your contributions to the Trek universe.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

How the battle itself could go:

-Shinzon is twenty minutes away from firing the thalaron weapon at Romulus when the Enterprise and other ships warp in and attack. Shinzon cloaks and disables/destroys three of the ships without breaking a sweat, until Troi does her mind thing allowing the Enterprise to disable the cloak.
-The remaining ships are able to damage the Scimitar/destroy two Reman-crewed warbirds escorting it, but ultimately, every Starfleet ship is destroyed except the Enterprise which is heavily damaged, weapons disabled.
-Shinzon prepares to fire on Romulus. Picard orders the Enterprise to ram the Scimitar, taking out the thalaron weapon.
-Enraged, Shinzon still has plenty of conventional weapons and orders them all targeted at the Enterprise. ("Target the Enterprise." "With what?" "EVERYTHING!")
-Picard tells his crew "it's been an honor serving with you", then Donatra warps in, having disobeyed Shinzon's orders, with three warbirds (one of which is commanded by Sela). They save the Enterprise from getting blown to smithereens and take down the Scimitar's shields.
-Picard decides "enough is enough" and beams to the Scimitar with a boarding party of himself, Worf, Data and a bunch of security to capture or kill Shinzon. Epic battle in the corridors, including Data single-handedly thrashing a bunch of Remans hand-to-hand, plus Worf using his bat'leth.
-Shinzon partially restores the thalaron weapon and prepares to use it on the Romulus capital city - he won't be able to wipe out everyone but it will still kill a lot of people. Picard and co fight their way to the bridge. Data plugs himself into the system and shorts out the reactor permanently, but is heavily damaged in the process.
-Picard kills Shinzon in an epic hand-to-hand fight, then accesses the comm system and recalls the Romulan fleet just in time. The Enterprise is victorious once more...
-But Data is heavily damaged beyond repair. They take him back to the Enterprise but even La Forge can't restore him. With minutes left, Data accepts his death, thanks the Enterprise crew for teaching him what it meant to be human, and expires.
-Big funeral for Data as Donatra's warbird tows the Enterprise back to Earth.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 10:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

So I was having a discussion with a co-worker on the merits of the various Trek movies and this one came up. In the middle of the conversation I had an idea for one change that would have made this movie better.

Why not have Shinzon target Romulus with his thalaron weapon, instead of Earth, as revenge for the way he was treated?

Not only does this make Shinzon's motivations make more sense (while obviating the usual Earth-is-in-danger cliche), it also forces Picard to make a choice: save his own butt, or risk his life and ship to help former enemies?

So the story would then go something like this, in my mind:
-Picard is kidnapped, Shinzon take a pint of his blood - one pint is all he needs to begin the regeneration process or whatever, but the operation itself will take several hours. Data rescues Picard and they escape; the Scimitar does not pursue.
-Shinzon diverts the majority of the Romulan fleet away from Romulus by ordering them to attack the Federation. His plan: wipe out Romulus with the thalaron weapon as revenge for how he was treated, then sit back and let the Federation destroy the Romulan fleet. Then he will take the Scimitar and wipe out every last Romulan colony in the galaxy.
-Picard and company figure out Shinzon's plan, and Picard deduces that Shinzon will wait until his operation is complete (say, eight hours) before commencing his plan, firing up the Scimitar and turning every Romulan to stone.
-Picard realizes that by providing his blood to Shinzon (albeit against his will) he will be indirectly responsible for the slaughter of billions. He has a choice to make: continue back to Federation space at max warp to help Starfleet fend off the Romulan fleet and leave Romulus to their fate, or turn back and try to stop Shinzon, helping his former enemies?
-This being Picard, what do you think he will choose to do?
-He contacts Starfleet, however, they're more interested in preventing the incoming Romulan fleet attack and essentially say "too bad for them". However, six Starfleet captains disobey orders and volunteer to help Picard.
-Picard takes the ships back to Romulus, gets there just in time, and attacks the Scimitar. After an epic battle, with some timely assistance from Donatra (and/or Sela) the Scimitar is destroyed and Shinzon is vanquished. (Data's sacrifice is optional)
-The Romulans appreciate Picard's actions, opening a door to a new era of friendship between the two powers.

Thoughts?
Set Bookmark
Macca
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Watched this again on Netflix last night. I didn't realise how long Data and LaForge spend in that Jeffries Tube!

Another one for the fans who would happily watch a whole hour of the crew roaming around, pressing buttons and having a drink at Ten Forward.

This reminds me of Twisted from Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Thu, May 16, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

At least we're not tearing ourselves to shreds over Game of Thrones too.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 6:53am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

Star Trek's first 'Treehouse of Horror' episode. I'm sure this would have been followed up in Season 8.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 1:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

DS9 Worf wouldn't have let that happen.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 5:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I'm glad they all had their Maquis/Terran Rebel outfits ready to go.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

They could have beamed away from every dangerous situation except for that pesky ion storm, cave covered with strange minerals, system lock out, forgetting about the transporters on the shuttles, bad guy taking comm badges...
Set Bookmark
Peccath
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 2:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Wow... It required a lot of willpower to sit through this STD episode. Just horrible. I had never heard of Short Trek before, and based on this episode, I'm not sure if I even want to know more about it. My comment here doesn't contribute anything to discussion on this episode, but neither did this episode to Star Trek franchise.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Science Fiction TV recycles plot ideas and themes frequently (time travel paradox, evil twin, body switching, long lost parent/sibling, etc.)

I'm not saying this is a bad thing necessarily. You could make an argument that TOS did all the sci-fi plots back in the 60s.

The thing that I find annoying about Orville is that McFarlane and Braga seem to start with an episode of TNG they want to 'do'. They then re-write the TNG episode to fit the Orville setting and characters.

I find Orville reasonably watchable but I can't shake the feeling that I've seen it all before. I don't get that feeling when I watch Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Another TNG rip off. Second Chances explored this idea in a more interesting way and it was original in the 90s.

They did a good job of making Kelly look younger and the twist at the end was a nice idea - if it goes anywhere.
Set Bookmark
Lt. Broccoli
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Just wanted to note from one of the first comments up there by Rahul, Burnham's father is not the guy from Calypso. Burnham's father is actually Sonequa Martin-Green's real-life husband Kenric Green. The guy from Calypso was Aldis Hodge.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 5:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

So the actress who plays Vina is Melissa George.

She is an Australian most famous for her role on the soap Home and Away.

The name of her character: Angel
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 2:00am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Hey, an original story!

Good boy Seth.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Another boring TNG knock off.

The premise and themes of this episode have been done to death.

Another edition from the pre-teen McFarlane fan fiction archives.
Set Bookmark
Macca
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:46am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Another boring TNG knock off.

As soon as we caught sight of the aliens dressed as Nazis I knew the concentration camps weren't far away.

I'm glad we've all been able to experience the fan fiction McFarlane wrote when he was twelve.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Sun, Jan 20, 2019, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

Yeah cat storyline was horrible filler. It's not even a B storyline line, it's literally a C storyline. The Ferengi are still annoying idiots. After their initial encounter, we never hear from them again, which is again, more padding as they weren't necessary to the story at all. Horrible B storyline. Then the main storyline. I hate episodes being overly preachy and especially Geordi's line at the end "there's still enough time to fix this" BARF. Obviously that is a stab at us to get more involved in the environment, protect the earth. Won't be revisiting this episode anytime soon.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

Pretty boring episode. Very hard to watch it through all the way but it got done. Won't be revisiting this episode anytime soon. Unfortunate too as I always think Martina is attractive as hell.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

This was definitely one of the most bizarre episodes I've seen of not just Star Trek TNG, but star trek as a whole. Weird that Picard kissed a dude. Picard should have introduced him to the concept of "pain" after that.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

Most body count I've seen in a while. Most of the thieves died in barium sweep and the last one exploded. Pretty hardcore.
Set Bookmark
McCoy, Leonard McCoy
Thu, Jan 10, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Aquiel started off as a pretty interesting episode. I was invested in the whole mystery of who done it, but it left a lot of unanswered questions and was a let down in the revelation. It didn't explain why the Klingon captain took the subspace communcations. What was in those communications that was so important? Then the revelation that it was the dog who was another organism was lame. Ok so let me get this straight: Roche goes to the outpost, but he isn't really Roche. He tries to attack Aquiel but she escapes. I guess he turns into the dog instead? Lame
Set Bookmark
Peccath
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 4:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I totally agree with Jammer's review here. Maybe because I expected for the worst due to comments in the previous episode's review...

Anyway, today is the day when I've finally seen every episode of TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY, and ENT thanks to Netflix and many wasted hours within the past few years! :) (You can add the first season of STD to that list as well...)

I guess I could watch the Animated Series next. Too bad Jammer hasn't reviewed (or even watched?) them :(

So, big thanks to you, Jammer, for this website and all of you who have shared your points of view here as well! It's been a pleasure.
Next ►Page 1 of 25
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.