Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 2:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
'We want a show that will inspire future generations to create a better future….'


Well...why don't people say so?' Actually, I don't think that avid viewers can easily pinpoint what they dislike about ST Discovery, but I think that the majority would agree with your statement...the sentence I set apart especially.


I have to disagree with your last statement, though. I really do think that the writers are trying their best to preserve the essence of Star Trek. It's very difficult; however, because our psyches have been saturated with progressive ideas and knowledge over the past 50 years….and like today's music...it's almost impossible to present the audience with ideas which are original, and not recycled. Fans have become more sophisticated through the sharing of Information and knowledge..through social media...our own man-made Babylon.. using technology we only dreamed of..some of which ironically was introduced on TOS.


But while I think the writers are doing their best, I think that you are right in saying that Discovery hasn't added much in terms of achieving what TOS originally set out to do. The themes seem to be set to: appease rather than challenge….force rather than convince…


So, all that being said...I've noticed that I haven't taken the time to watch last week's episode, and I be honest and ask myself why.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 2:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Artymiss Oops....sorry! Thanks for the tip. I'll take a little more care as to what I post since we don't have editing control over our posts. And yes...it is unfortunate, because there's no room for error.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Tim C LOL Yes, I did! Hence, my response. And Gil was absolutely correct...it was a rant, and in my opinion, worthy of immediate deletion.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 3:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Gil Not only did I get to the end of your rant, but I also re-read it two!!! more times in trying to understand your madness. :)


My conclusion...use the delete function, and always remember...there are other things you can do with idle hands.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Hank At least, one thing that we can agree on is that...after taking time to really digest this Episode because of Jammer's delay, (I hope everything is all right, by the way, is that there is really NOT much there to discuss.


It seems now that this Episode was sort of cobbled together with set pieces to appease the ever cricitical, social media Star Trek audience.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

@Trek fan Everyone is getting antsy, because Jammer's review hasn't come out yet. So, it's all Jammer's fault that conversation here has degenerated. LOL
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Mon, Jan 28, 2019, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Great episode. Felt like a real 'stand-alone' Star Trek...without the overall theme dominating. Really liked the exchange of equipment between Pike and Jacob at the end. Forgot the exact quote, but it made me laugh!


Now to my opinion on some of your posts:
- TOS was probably one of the worst of the Star Trek series. I can only name about seven episodes that I would re-watch. TNG Seasons 1 and 2 were also Nothing to write home about. DS9 got off to a slow start, but watched as a whole, it's probably the best of the lot! What I cannot understand is why everyone wants to go back to something that was not all that great! I'm just not getting it!

- Really sad to watch all the 'tap dancing' when some of you try to explain why you don't Burnham, Tilly, etc. It pays to be honest, because your posts just don't make sense when you try to avoid what's the root of your problem with the characters. I will freely admit that I do NOT like Culber/Stamets story line! So please, for example, drop that Mary Sue argument.

- Minorities are normal people, and choose programs like everyone else. Do you like programs where the protaganist looks like you? Do you choose programs which reflect your beliefs? Would you have a problem watching programs where most of the main characters were not like you? Judging from many of your comments, the answer is a resounding, YES!
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@Jason R, Booming My age? LOL All I will say is that I'm old enough to remember having only three television channels to choose from, and 'fighting' with our television antenna to get reception. :)
I liked Star Trek, but I also enjoyed Fantasy while growing up. I've also written fan fiction. I'm a loner, but a couple of ladies in my office asked me what I was reading. I gave one a Star Trek novel, and she enjoyed it, and the other a Donaldson novel, (Mirror series), and she really liked that!
I can only speak for myself, but I'm a sucker for romance, and, I suspect that women also enjoy the relationship side of Star Trek. I especially loved the relationships between Yar and Castillo, Kirk and Edith, Sisko and Jake, Michael and 'Voq'...to name a few.
The only time I get to talk about my love of Star Trek is on social media. I met a couple of 'gems' along the way. One introduced me to Conan, another to Eddings, Asimov, and Farmer. I attended a Star Trek convention, and I went alone.

@Booming, Omicron Sprechen Sie Deutsch?
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@JasonR, Chrome
I'm female, and I've been a Star Trek fans for decades. I'm not skeptical of the statistics. Characters like Nyota Uhura and Ensign Rand were an Inspiration to me, and I watched Voyager because of Captain Janeway. I especially enjoyed Star Trek novels, The Final Reflection, being my favorite! (If you have not read this book, then please do so immediately!)

Truthfully, I got tired of William Shatner's mug, and I looked forward to episodes which included Spock, Uhura, Chekov..and then came TNG and Captain Picard...again...the minor characters appealed more to me...especially Yar, Guinan, and Worf. As to Voyager, the addition of Jeri Ryan was annoying, because I knew why she was there…(eye roll).


DS9 is my overall favorite. I didn't appreciate it when it first came out. Interesting characters, great story line.

Star Trek Discovery, Season 1, Episodes 1/2 was the best start to ANY Star Trek series. The DS9 introduction coming in close second, in my opinion. Love the Tilly and Burnham characters...also Lorca! And Pike is totally hot! (Yes, I do look!)

For the most part, I think you guys take Star Trek WAY too seriously. As one user put it, (paraphrasing the idea), some of us weren't and can never be nostalgic about the 60's, and can't see any optimism of the 90's...or even beyond.
...and many of your comments mirror the real problems that are occurring in society, at the moment.


So, in short, I'm female, I'm here, and I'm reading! LOL So, if you are interested in my point of view...
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@Hank But you have to ask yourself, 'Why'? Why has the number of episodes been reduced, in general. At least, 20 episodes per season used to be the norm. Besides criticism, production costs and competition have, in all probability, contributed to the reduction of episodes, also. Fact is, the writers are under more pressure than ever to produce a quality product...failure being the proverbial ax.

I miss the longer seasons, and I didn't mind the occasional 'lemons' or fillers, because I really respect the writers, and the difficult Job that they have...especially in the past...to come up with good ideas, to stay within budget over a long season, and to entertain an increasingly hard-to-please audience.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Just face it! Star Trek: TOS is NOT coming back! That exhilarating feeling which some of us experienced, watching the original 'Star Wars' as wide-eyed teenagers...is over! I really feel for the writers, because it's very difficult to please a saturated audience who are searching for originality, ready to pounce when their craving is not sated. And all the criticism, I'm sure, has contributed to the reduction of the number of episodes ...leaving us to enjoy a paltry ten...with longer pauses between series. (The days of Star Trek: DS9 are over, too.) Of course, I'm disappointed at times, but all-in-all, the writers have done their best in keeping us entertained…(and remember)...this is only Entertainment.

That being said...what about this Episode? First, I enjoyed Season 1, immensely!!! And Season 2 looks promising. I really liked the Captain Pike character and the new engineer. And I'm looking Forward to the Twists and turns, which is a mainstay in viewing nowadays. The main thing that I don't like about the series...and many like it...is the obvious push on social...or anti-social issues. Note: We get it.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.