Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 3:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

You just know that by the end of season 5 Burnham is going to be the new president of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 1:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Colin Lindsly

I did watch a couple of LD, and thought it was nice for what it was, but it just wasn't for me, and that's OK. As for SNW... it's from the same people that made DIS and PIC. I think it's a bit naive to expect something different, but we'll see.

@Booming

It's kind of sad. I really want a Trek show that I can look forward to watching, with well-crafted sci-fi stories, ethical dilemmas, and reasonable people working together to solve it. A show that makes me believe that the world can be a better place. But I guess things are what they are.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 12:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Chris L.

"I will wait until Season 4 is over and some season reviews are in before I decide to continue watching."

I said the same thing after season 2, and I have no doubt in my mind I made the right choice. And I will be passing on PIC S2 as well. Pointing out the numerous flaws of these shows is like kicking a dead horse. I give up. Kurtzman broke me.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 9:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Jason R.

That would make sense, in a sad kind of way.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 12:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick

Definitely not a perfect show, but enjoyable. The bad episodes are on the same level of bad VOY. Some are ok, others you can just skip when rewatching.

And best of all, if you just want to take a break from all this over-the-top drama, ENT will satisfy you.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick

All these debates about the current season of DIS made go back and rewatch Enterprise. I never hated the show as some fans do, and found myself enjoying it quite a bit. Maybe it's because it follows the old Trek formula: we have the caption, the crew and the ship on a mission of exploration. Especially liked how they made the Vulcans the antagonists, I thought it worked quite well.

The triad of Archer-T'Pol-Trip is good and Phlox is a far more interesting doctor than Beverley Crusher. Hoshi and Reed could have been better developed. Mayweather was just there, with nothing to do.


Shame it got cancelled, as it was clearly improving towards the end of the fourth season.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

C'mon people... everybody has different opinions on different topics. If it doesn't involve STAR TREK, how about just ignore the post you disagree with?

Jammer's comments section is the only Trek "forum" I frequent precisely because every other place is either absolute love for the new shows or absolute hate. We have healthy discussions here, but every time someone brings up politics, it gets derailed.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick

I guess the question is: where Discovery not part of the Trek franchise, would so many of us be watching? Better yet, would it have reached a third (and supposed fourth) season? I believe the answer is no.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Booming

I get the feeling that the writers don't like the idea of the federation as it was presented on what we may as well now call "Peak Trek" (from TNG to ENT).

And i must confess that season 2 was the breaking point for me. I'm skipping through some parts of some episodes just to keep up with the posts here, which are far more interesting than the show itself.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 6:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Booming

I'll keep watching while I wait for the current season of The Expense to end before I start binging it. Thanks again.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Dec 23, 2020, 5:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

With the poor reception that this season is having, and especially this two-parter, I really wish they'd just drop the whole idea of a section 31 show.

With these people on the helm, I'm pretty sure that they will fail to make a decent show with the very likable Pike on Strange New Worlds, so imagine what they would do to an unbearable character like Georgiou.

I really can't tell what I dread more at this time: Section 31 Season one, or Picard Season two.


@ Booming

Thanks for bringing Another Life to my attention. Just watched the first episode last night, I can't believe they renewed this for a second season. No wonder Discovery is on its way for a fourth.

@Chrome

I have no doubt that there is far more thought put into it in this comment section than in the writer's room.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 4:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I guess the whole trouble with NuTrek is the notion that they can make a big franchise out of Trek, as Disney did with Marvel and Universal tried (and failed miserably, with Alex Kurtzman BTW) with The Mummy in 2017.

Trek is just too niche for this type of endeavor. It is made for nerds, let's be honest. It has endured because of the loyal fanbase it has (the vast majority in the US). When they start adding these new elements like over-the-top drama, violence and action, they alienate the old fans like myself, while becoming lost in a myriad of much better shows.

And by now we may just face the fact that Trek just isn't special anymore. It has become a failure that has been desperately kept alive so they don't have to admit CBS All Access is a failure.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 2:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Booming

I see them as two different types of show. The Expanse is what Discovery wishes it was. Mandalorian is just a blast, fun like the original trilogy was.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 5:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@AMA

Disney just nailed it with the Mandalorian. Heck, it even made me curious to check out the new Marvel shows, even though I don't really care about superhero movies.

But yeah, while new Trek fails time after time (for me), at least we have some good options. Mandalorian may be over for now, but season 5 of The Expanse just dropped on Prime Video.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 9:12am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

I'm really enjoying Thr Mandalorian, something I never thought I would say before watching it. Just goes to show that in the right hands, there is hope for the future of our favourite franchises. As for Trek, I'm afraid is going to take a little longer.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Just one quick note about Netflix:

I watch a lot of Trek on Netflix, and I haven't seen a single thing about the new season. No ads on the front page, no notifications, nothing. I had to do a search to make sure they released the episodes. Weird.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Man, this year has been tough and depressing enough. I'll wait for jammer's take on this season before watching.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Sun, Aug 23, 2020, 8:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Temporal Edict

@Booming

Here it is, timecode 45:10-47:00

https://youtu.be/W3xlTCnvNj8?t=2712
Set Bookmark
Burke
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 3:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Envoys

CBS just posted the first episode for free on Youtube:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HzRGqvRK8U#action=share


This and the fact that no international distribuitor was announced hints at the lack of interest for new Trek, in my layman opinion. Outside our little bubble here, few people even know about these new shows. And if there isn't a consensus even among the fans, then really, are these shows making any money at all? I get that "netflix paid" and "amazon paid", but they might not be so willing to pay more if the viewership numbers aren't good, as the fact that Netflix passed on Picard would suggest.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 9:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: Second Contact

I guess my problem with LDS is that i just don't care for the type of humor on these adult animations of the past decade. I'lle give the exception to South Park and Rick and Morty, wich are on a whole different level from Family Guy and such.

But i am happy to say that it is not bad, it's just not for me. At least it doesn't insult my intelligence like DIS or depresses me like PIC does.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 8:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: General Discussion

I have tought for a time that what Trek really needs to appease the old fans is a low budget limited series/movie, maybe set entirely on a bridge of some federation ship, dealing with some diplomatic/first contact situation somewhere. No over-the-top SFX, no battles, just talking, rationalizing, dealing with situations that makes us think on what we would do. Get some true sci-fi writers and let them do the work. Give us plain old boring science fiction. Please.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: General Discussion

I must admit i have completely lost interest in the upcoming Trek shows. I'll be passing on this and the new seasons of PIC and DIS as well.

All the great episodes and stories that i love are still there, on streaming, ready to be enjoyed. And that is enough for me right now.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 6:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I'm currently binging for the first time the Battlestar Galactica remake, and kicking myself after each episode for not having done it sooner. What an amazing show. Watching this righ after the Picard finale is such a big contrast, it made me realise that i should stop watching things i don't enjoy anymore just for the sake of the franchise.

Also recently rewatched Lost, and i got to say, if you have you remote in your hand, and skip all the pointless flashbacks/forwards, the just is still pretty good, even the last couple of seasons (hey, even the time travel stuff is good).

The Expanse i've only seen the first season so far, i will finish it once i'm done with BSG.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Nick

That is a very peculiar list. I'd put PIC and DSC below ENT, but to each his own.
Set Bookmark
Burke
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 11:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent

It could be said that they discovered immortality in the episode Rascals. A transporter malfunction transforms Picard e al into children, but with their memories intact.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.