Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 7:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@James the dominion and founders amounted to nothing but mustache-twirlers. Their motivations were hardly developed. Maybe they could have done that instead of the myriad of other filler.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Sun, Feb 21, 2016, 10:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

The writters really enjoy taking the easiest path when it comes to depiction villains. The predictability of this episode just stinks of laziness. While the show attempts to depict the grey areas of life, I just can't get past the comical evil portrayal of the antagonists. Dukat was built up well to a point, but the founders were never shown in a sympathetic light. Hopefully that comes later in the season.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 10:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

Millions are dying in a massive war... Let's go on a fun family trip with children!
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 8:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Man,when that girl was telling Jake about the sun rising on the moon it was sure some great acting. Probably the best funny bad part from season 6.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Tue, Feb 16, 2016, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

Kira is gonzo beyond reason at times. This episode makes me think of the one where that disfigured butler was killing Kira's war buddies. Where that one totally fell flat with the Kira "muh right cuz" ending, this attempts to paint better shades of grey to her thinking.

I cannot express how much I hate her superwoman moments when she just starts clubbing armed guards with her metal fists.

Duet is still the best Kira episode I feel.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Tue, Feb 2, 2016, 6:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Without a scene of the dominion fleet just rematerialing somewhere in the gamma quadrant, this episode is about as satisfying as a wet fart. They could have simply appeared by the rouge planet of the founders and have made an immensely more satisfying episode.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 8:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

Also, I'd prefer a French/Vietnam analogy more, because when the Dominion comes it'd be like the US. Have to make it a more inclusion analogy.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 7:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

That analogy still doesn't address the elephant in the room: why they so primitive. The Bajorans should be more technologically advanced, but the show never gave us a hint that they are. Like do their brains function at a lower capacity to not develop technology at a similar rate to other alpha quadrant species? If their civilization has been around for half a million years I expect their tech to be BETTER than the federations they did have a big heads start after all. It seems like sloppy writing. This is my biggest gripe. If they were a shorter lives civilization I'd buy it, but in the context of the show they should be very advanced.
Set Bookmark
Brockston
Mon, Jan 25, 2016, 11:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

This episode lost me when Kira went back to the old "you killed X million of us line." Hard to see how any portrayal of a race of people being killed by the millions could leave me with nothing but apathy, but I just don't care about the Bajorans. How does a culture that has lasted for 500,000 years just get their butts kicked by the Cardassians and enslaved? Has this ever been explained? Why are they so primitive? How has Bermam left me not caring about space genocide?
Set Bookmark
Brock
Wed, Aug 8, 2012, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

5 minutes in: Okay everyone's evil and terrible at acting...
7 minutes in: alright Hoshi and and Admiral *throws up in mouth*
10 mintues in: Still boring fell asleep trying to watch
15 minutes in: Jammer thought this was better than the last episode? Did this review come from a parallel universe? Is it April 1st?
20 minutes in: Is this going somewhere? Is there even a story, or is it all midsections and "HEY I'M PLAYING AN EVIL ME! GET IT?!"
35 minutes in: Okay this is officially the worst Enterprise has to offer, Jammer must have some nostalgia disease I'm immune to
Finished: Well that was a complete waste of time, oh wait there's a part 2 to this train-wreck? *shoots self*

"Bound" had more substance than this steaming pile of poo poo pasta. For 3 stars I expected something pretty damn great since last week was only a 1 star and it was at least entertaining. I was watching paint dry during the boring parts of this episode, which was ALL of it.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Wed, Aug 8, 2012, 12:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

There is no reason I should like this episode, but I did. It's probably because I've always been fascinated by the idea of Sirens like in "The Odyssey" and other Greek tales.

But just thinking back to Voyager....not even half of that series was as entertaining as this episode. That's a sad realization.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Mon, Aug 6, 2012, 6:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

You know everyone keeps talking about "can't wait for Star Trek to be returned to it's former glory"...what former glory? What are you insane people talking about? I think so many people have built up the old Star Trek to be something legendary that it is not. Mid-late TNG and late DS9 were the only Star Trek worth talking about, and Enterprise does a damn fine job at doing entertaining Sci-Fi. TV evolves and changes, stop living in the past it wasn't as "perfect" as you remember it being.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Mon, Aug 6, 2012, 6:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

* I don't know if

Boy, I really butchered that sentence didn't I?
Set Bookmark
Brock
Mon, Aug 6, 2012, 6:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Haha Jammer your reviews tend to attract the most pedantic cynical commentors I've ever seen. I don't now it that's the Star Trek fan base or a combination of factors. One's things for sure I wouldn't want to go to a party with any of these folks....I'd probably commit suicide just to get away from them.

And to the people saying "Y DON"T DEY JUS GO UNDER?!" Why would a spacial phenomena expand in only 2 directions. Do we live in a 2-D world? No, nothing is restricting it's expansion therefore it will fill space in all 3 directions.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Sun, Aug 5, 2012, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

"...because Linda Park is the sexiest woman in all the Star Trek series"

She looks like a 12 yo girl...eh, whatever floats your boat I guess. Seven of Nine for me, that's a woman (and Jeri Ryan is an awesome actress).

This episode was throwing off a very strong Beauty and the Beast vibe (each term being relative of course) and it worked for me. I always find it such a disturbing idea if someone could read my thoughts. 99.9% of the things people conjure up in their brains wouldn't be appropriate to be known publicly. Heck sometimes the things I think even scare me and I say to myself "Where the hell did that come from?!"
Set Bookmark
Brock
Sat, Aug 4, 2012, 12:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Anomaly

Oh my god will you wimpy "Star Fleet ideals" nerd wackos shut up please. You have to remember they are in the Delphic expanse; not only is that messing with there mental stability, but the Earth attack is fresh on their minds. Star Trek doesn't always have to be like Batman, where they always let the bad guy go and that same bad guys ends up just killing more people. That's not how the real world works. That's how ideological idiots think. Some people only respond to violence, because it's all they know.

And I love how everyone here has a Ph.D. in torture and psychology now because one guy read an article and the rest of you read his comment and thought "yea what that guy said". That's the one bad thing about the internet everyone thinks they know everything cause they can google/wikipedia it. *derp*
Set Bookmark
Brock
Sat, Aug 4, 2012, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

I think I know what caused the cancellation of this Star Trek series....the opening song. I mean it was bad enough to start with, but then the tropical samba remix? that was the nail in the coffin :|
Set Bookmark
Brock
Sat, Aug 4, 2012, 10:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Expanse

Why didn't the "death ray of doom test" wipe out San Fransisco (AKA StarFleet HQ)? Oh I know cause then we wouldn't have any more episodes of Enterprise. The End.

But serious Why would you test out that sort of thing? Just f**king Nuke the planet, and kill everything on the surface, don't freaking beta test it and give the good guys a chance to find you. Ugh....bad guys are so bad at being bad.

haha....okay I was just being cynical, I actually enjoyed this episode quite a bit.

And to answer Cloudlane's question...umm it's just a large ditch easily fixed and rebuilt within 200+ years. And did you not just watch the Borg plot hole crapfest? The writers obviously don't care about any continuity at all.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Sat, Aug 4, 2012, 3:47am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Breach

I think someone else noted it here too, but I had a problem with the climbing tech they used....so obsolete, even for 2003. At that time motorized repellers were already invented and used....heck how about a jetpack? or some plasma daggers to dig into the rock? Little obvious things like that bug me when you have warp 5 capable star-ships and matter transporters -- C'MON.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Fri, Aug 3, 2012, 2:40am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I think it's above par for Enterprise, especially considering the string of bad episodes that came before it (still trying to get over your 3.5 of Vanishing point).

Everything about this episode just clicked for me. The plot made perfect sense, the technobabble seemed grounded and realistic, the mystery of the aliens was well thought out and executed, and I loved the vibe of the crew taking shelter and becoming closer (as Archer said "It's like we're camping"). The turning point of the story also came at the perfect time, and I had no idea who were the good guys and who were the bad guys until near the end. Entertaining, suspenseful, with a dash of feel good comradery and teamwork.

I think of all the Voyager episodes that couldn't even come close to the caliber of this episode. Solid stuff in my opinion, and worthy of 3.5 out of 4.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 9:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

In ABSOLUTE agreement with Marco P. This episode and the last deserve the SAME exact rating 1 star, at least in this episode we have someone to challenge T'Pol 's utter lack of acting skill. I'm not sure who wins...it's close but I think Padma wins by a hair.
Set Bookmark
Brock
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 8:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Vanishing Point

Jammer I'm more confused after reading this review than after watching "Threshold"....did you watch the same episode I just did? What so different about this blatant abusive use of the RESET button, a tactic that you scold and use as an excuse to hand out 1 and 2 stars...maybe you just have yellow fever and are in love with Hoshi? her acting was not that superb...it was serviceable at best

I had more fun watching "Threshold" or even the next episode than this steaming pile of poo
Set Bookmark
Brock
Wed, Mar 14, 2012, 12:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Michael "I LOVED this episode because it's science fiction at its best. How I wish more of Voyager was like this: Plenty of action, use of technology, conflict, lasers and phasers, special effects, etc"

You have to be a fucking troll, that is the dumbest thing I've ever read on this site. I didn't realize morons like you even watched Trek.

ANYWAY, the reason "Fury" was terrible was about twenty-fold but the main reason is just the stupidity of the writing. Everything from Tuvok's age being COMPLETELY wrong to the dumb "can't maneuver" at warp bullshit they pulled. The storyline was dumb and ill-suited considering Jennifer Lien's post-baby weight and the execution was even worse and frankly just upsetting. People wanted to see what Kes had been up to and reconnect with old friends/talk to Seven, not that contrived time-travel bullcrap.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.