Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 211 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 9
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Nov 24, 2018, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Fifth Season Recap

I know I'm in the minority but I think the writing became significantly worse in season 5. The whole show seemed to lose its direction, and feel. I think the showrunners recognized it late through the season and seized upon "the dominion war" as a fix, and it only really recovered with the season finale. My wife and I both agreed, that upon re-watching season 5, the quality of writing was a significant departure from all that came before. I'm not super knowledgeable about what went on behind the scenes in season 5, but I'm willing to bet they lost some good writers or changed out a bunch of people.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 3:27am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Act of Contrition

Did anyone else not find it a blatent problem with the plot that in any reasonable society Star Buck would not have been the person to judge her own boyfriend in his flight test? It didn’t seem to be a secret relationship. Either way even if nobody pointed out the conflict of interest if she had any degree of wisdom or professionalism she would recused herself from being in the position of judging her lover. Sorry to rain on an otherwise good episode but I couldn’t get this past me... didn’t mean to sound like a lawyer criticizing the episode (even if I am a law student).
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sat, Nov 17, 2018, 5:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

> If only Captain had said "I love it when a plan comes together" it would have been a near perfect homage. <

I was a little disappointed that they weren't able to spring Lt. Barclay from the mental hospital, but the shuttlepod did an awful lot like a GMC van, and I could've sworn I heard Ms. T'Pol said, "I pity the fool who tries to attack this mining colony."

Also thought it was a nice touch when they replaced the usual opening credit song with, "Today, still on their mission from Starfleet, these Terrans survive as explorers of space. If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire.....the Enterprise."
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Fri, Oct 26, 2018, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Yanks,

Yeah theres def a handful, McCoy in the pilot and Scotty shows up eventually. But in contrast to Discovery its handled way differently and way less prevalent. Its also usually less about nostalgia and even when they do throw in the references they typically do a new spin on it.

@Omicron

Yes unfortunately an accurate read on their business decisions. The brand name of Star Trek seems to be in full zombie mode. At least Orville is around to hold the torch for now.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 9:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Startrekwatcher

Excellent point about not rehashing TOS on TNG. Upon rewatching it I was struck about how genuinely new it is in both tone and content from TOS. Such a contrast to DISCO which mentions Sarek and Spock and Klingon and mirror universe as often as possible without introducing much new. If they don't improve soon there will be very little to even remember from this show.

It reminds me of Fords quote that is he gave the people what they said they wanted, he would have made a faster horse.



Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Wed, Oct 24, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Really conflicted about DISCO. The cast really is great and the crew could be something special. The characters of season 1 were all well done. I hope Lorca and the klingon-man come back somehow.

But the plot was awful, recycled, unfocused, and more soap-opera than anything approaching sci-fi or trek. This Red Angel stuff unfortunately seems like more of the same.

I'm all for letting the show improve tho. Season 1 of TNG wasn't very good... however there were real sci-fi writers behind it and Gene Roddenberry to at least give the show a direction. With Alex Kurtzman in charge of the properties I really fear there is no actually sci-fi oriented brain behind these shows... it's just random Yale writing graduates recycling the TV Tropes they were taught in college and doing "character studies" as though thats the only kind of television or fiction that can exist.

Sad to say that I have more hope for the Orville Season 2. Or maybe happy? In that at least there will be Black Mirror and Orville to satisfy television based science fiction for the near future.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Excellent episode, probably 4 stars from me. I love most of the emissary episodes, but I enjoy that sub genre of sci do.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 9:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

Yes! That was the biggest flaw this film had (IMO). They beat the borg too easy at the beginning of the film and it just felt like a quickly, sloppily thrown together setup for the rest of the film.

That was a shame. They could have done something more plausible and in line with the high quality of the rest of this film and it wouldn't have felt so cheap and implausible.

It was kind of hard for me to really enjoy the stuff they did to "fix the timeline" because the reason the borg chose to alter the timeline in the first place didn't make a lot of sense.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Well, having just gone and watched the whole series through for the first time, I have to say that I'm glad I wasn't watching when this was in it's initial run. They really betrayed the people who watched this series and waited all those years for a payoff that feels almost cruel.

Makes you really appreciate All Good Things even more. At least TNG went out with a bang. I don't know what this was but it was an insult to Voyager's fans.
Set Bookmark
brian
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

one of my all time favorite trek episodes. Very ambitious and surreal. you can tell the writers are still experimenting with tone and content and i find that very interesting. Not sure what poeple are complaining about the ending for i think they misheard the line.
Set Bookmark
brian
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

A great ep and really new and original for star trek. it almost looked like an episode of The Wire. Very gritty and smart, the hostage situation was extremely tense. I love how in this distoia the cops dont even care they just come in and shoot everyone and peace out winout asking many questions. It predates The Wire but manages to tackle many if the same issues.
Set Bookmark
brian
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 7:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

i am watching DS9 for the first time in 2018 and I found this vision of the near future downright disturbing for its metaphoric similarities to our current present. Tech billionaires who live in isolated bubbles, unaware of the growing resentment and dangerousness of the underclasses. An increasingly apathetic government structure. I hope we can eventually end up in the star trek utopia but I am having my doubts.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Mon, Aug 27, 2018, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

I've always tended to dislike the Klingon cultural stuff in all Trek. Not sure why it always gets such rave reviews. Granted, it's usually well-written and produced. It's obvious they put real time and effort into it. But they could have made any episode of Voyager be awesome with the same amount of effort.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Sun, Aug 26, 2018, 5:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Someone to Watch Over Me

Even though I really feel that TNG is (by far) the better Trek, watching this episode really made me see how awesome Jeri Ryan's acting skills were compared to Brent Spiner's.

I always liked the Data character (a lot) and Spiner did a great job with him but it never felt quite organic. It always felt a bit like Spiner instead of Data. Ryan completely disappears into the Seven role here. It's just so natural.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Sat, Aug 25, 2018, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

My god. How could they have thought this episode was a good idea? I had to watch it but I hope I can purge it from my memory soon.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Fri, Aug 24, 2018, 6:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

@Rom:
"More generally speaking, how the Dominion endured for two thousand years is difficult to believe based on their Alpha Quadrant behavior. They make some very dumb decisions...For example, had they really had the power to hold on to a large Gamma Quadrant empire for so long, they would have known they had to keep their base happy - i.e. the Cardassians. A real-world Dominion, with so much experience, would have kept the Cardassians on their side emotionally and politically - especially the leadership. "

++++

In the Gamma Quadrant, it seems most of the planets they rule simply through fear and might.

Most of the GQ worlds have either an isolated population, or a small federation of systems. The Cardassian Empire seems like the the largest and most powerful independent group they've "conquered" in some time.

Out in the Gamma Quadrant, they don't need to keep anybody happy. If a conquered world tries to rebel, the Founders simply obliterate that world as a lesson to all the others to stay in line.

I suspect none of the other GQ worlds would still have even the military resources the Cardassians have. The Founders would have disarmed their conquered worlds of most of their military weaponry long ago. Any singular world or small alliance that even drummed up enough resources to fight would have been instantly wiped out.

The Founders don't care about keeping the masses happy because they don't have to care. They live far away on an isolated world. The enforcers of their regime are disposable clones they care nothing for. There's no need to play nice with the subjects because they pose no threat. Anybody rises up, smack them back down with vengeance. That was their game plan and it worked well for centuries.

It was less effective on the Cardassians for two reasons:

1) The Cardassians were very still heavily armed and had nearly the entire Alpha Quadrant working against the Dominion at the same time. When Cardassia finally rebelled, all the AQ superpowers were right on the doorstep. If any other GQ world rebelled, with no other outside support--like the combined might of the Federation-Klingons-Romulans AND the wormhole access cut off--they would've just been easily overwhelmed and dispatched without a second thought. There's no reason to keep any other GQ world populace happy.

2) The Cardassians hadn't been subjected to Dominion rule for more than a few years. The only way the Founders could gain their initial foothold in the Alpha Quadrant was to at least pretend it was more of a military alliance than a pure subjugation. In the GQ, there's no need for alliances or agreements, the Dominion just conquers. Once a generation or two of isolated subjugation passes with no hope in sight, the will to fight back wanes.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Thu, Aug 23, 2018, 7:10am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

FWIW, the writers of Voyager are mean enough to kill a little girl's mother in a shuttle crash so I was a little worried. I figured she'd make it but I was prepared to cry.

This one wasn't terrible. OK. So the shuttle crash thing is horribly overdone in Voyager but it's been done far worse than this.

Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Thu, Aug 23, 2018, 5:01am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

Don't understand why starships don't just have a giant replicator onboard so they can just make more shuttles the same way they do everything else. Replicate them. Not build them by hand.

I suppose that wouldn't make very interesting viewing.

Paris - "Let's make a badass new shuttle"

Janeway - "Computer, create a brand new badass shuttle"

"Poof"

Computer - "Done"
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

While watching the episode all I could think was that the Terra Prime group was a racist bunch of radical isolationists and its name loosely translated to "Earth First". The name seems to have been borrowed for Trump's "America First" movement...
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 21, 2018, 12:03am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Affliction

I loved the explanation of the Klingon augments as to why the they looked human in Kirk's time. In the DS9 episode "Trials and Tribulations" where Worf avoids the explanation by saying that Klingons don't discuss the issue, its notable that O'Brien and Bashir ask him if its due to "genetic engineering" or maybe a "viral mutation" and the writers of Enterprise actually take both ideas and combine them into the actual explanation...awesome!

Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

To me the worst part about this episode is the scope/context of it... when the ship’s movement is impaired, suddenly Troi’s Empathic senses are shut off. While Dr. Crusher did say “there may be a connection I don’t know” regarding the Enterprise’s propulsion dilemma and Troi’s loss of ability, considering they didn’t have Troi hit her head or anything, of course you would assume that the two are connected. The way Troy and the crew react is sort of out of scope and out of context to the whole situation. There is a crises currently affecting the ship that may have caused Troi’s loss, so should she be expected to continue duty? No, sense loss is traumatic. She should have relieved herself of duty due to the trauma of her sense loss/until it returned after the situation ended. But the show wanted for its character drama to have Troi presuppose that the loss will be permanent rather than the much more rational “let’s wait until we get out of this crazy anamoly before jumping to conclusions” approach.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 1:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Since when does the warp core ever eject when they try to eject it? I can only think of one time in Voyager (so far) when it actually worked. It almost never works in any ST series.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I have to admit. As much as the Neelix character annoyed me at first, Ethan Phillips really did a fantastic job all through the series. It certainly wasn't his fault the character was a little annoying. It was the way the character was written. I doubt anyone could have done a better job with the material than he did.

Sometimes you have to see some bad acting to appreciate the talent it takes to make even an annoying character completely believable.
Set Bookmark
Brian_C
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scorpion, Part II

I just saw this for the first time. Been a ST fan for many years but am just getting around to making my way through Voyager. So far, I have to say that I've found Voyager really hard to stomach at times. Compared to TNG and even DS9, Voyager feels like a cheap imitation of Trek most of the time.

I mean, honestly, I believe the acting in Voyager is better than DS9. I didn't like Avery Brooks as an actor at all. Kate Mulgrew is much better in actually making her character believable. That's to say I believe she did the best she could with the material they gave her. The writers often failed to give these actors the best material.

These two episodes were very interesting but the writing still just was very shoddy (IMO). The TNG borg episodes just flowed so much better and they wisely didn't stretch credibility too much by examining the specifics of the borg too much.

As menacing as the new species was supposed to be, I just wasn't buying them as meaner than the borg. I also didn't buy Voyager saving the borg. I don't know. It just felt like it was written by a teenage fan instead of professionals.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Wow. I just saw this episode for the first time and I can't believe how awful it was! I mean, Voyager was never as good as TNG and TNG had a couple of not so great Q episodes but even the worst of them was better than this crap!
Next ►Page 1 of 9
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.