Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 339 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Imagine there are two patients, both in need of a heart transplant to live. One of them has a lethal disease that will kill him in just a couple years. The other patient does not have the disease and will likely gain decades of quality life years with the new heart. There is only one heart available. Which patient should get it?

This episode initially asks us to judge the relative utility of saving a race that will eventually die out anyway, versus doing nothing. It then seamlessly transitions to asking us to consider the larger question of whether we should even be concerning ourselves with the first question in the first place. And I think that's where a lot of people fell off the train. The first question wasn't really answered. But the second question was. They decided not to answer the first question, because they couldn't. Not that time, not that place.

That non-answer is what really threw people off this episode. But I urge those of you in that category to reconsider. My enjoyment of this episode does not hinge on the decisions made. If it does for you, I suspect you are too close to the material, and not seeing the big picture. Take a few steps back and re-watch it. Try not caring whether they answer the question or not, and just enjoy watching them wrestle with it. It's the journey people, not the destination.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Disagree, I thought this was a good episode. Your vision for what "could have been" on Terra Nova, is definitely the more predictable scenario. I like how they didn't go that direction. They did something different, and, while it didn't succeed wildly, at least it made me sit up and think. The idea of an isolated colony of humans converted to subterranean life after a natural disaster is a good one. I would have liked to see a thriving and complex society down there too, it would be fun. But I think the more realistic scenario is the one we got. Humans completely isolated on a planet with few supplies and forced underground. Do you really think they would have come up with the type of underground society we saw in the caretaker, in just a couple generations? Those types of societies take thousands, maybe tens of thousands of years to evolve.

I do agree that the novans should have gotten better dialogue.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 9:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Really strange to focus on Ezri so much. I actually quite like her but shes being over used in this final season. Also Im sorry but I totally can't buy her acting turn as a "badass". We also simply haven't seen her on the show enough to care about an "alternate" version.

Really strange episode that dips into Discovery or Nemesis territory of badness.... simply on the basis of how lazy the writing became about hoping between the different universes. Its boring and lazy and starts to destroy the fabric of the setting and the show.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Wierd and boring episode. I actually quite like Ezri and I think its an interesting solution for Jadzia actress quitting. This backstory for her makes no sense though. Her whole character is that of someone overwhelmed with the depth of experience suddenly granted to her. To have her be the trust fund kid of a mining mega corporation makes no sense to me.

Also to make this a sequel to the really good Obriend film noir ep is just bizzare and the episode cant seem to figure out whether to focus on Ezri or OBriend. Also... it does a terrible job of being a sequel or making any sesne unless you remember the intricate details of the previous episode. The woman that was murdered in the episode doesnt even appear and its frankly strange OBrien cares to this degree about this woman when his own marriage is clearly on the rocks all the time.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

This two parter was garbage and this episode simply awful. I usually like Siskos Acting but he was dreadful in these two episodes.

DS9 also really strains credibility with their world building. So wait... Siskos dad just loves running a restaurant? I guess for no money. And he loves peeling potatoes? What? Im not following. I guess DS9 makes explicit that “real” food is better than Replicated food but..... I thought the whole point was that we don’t need to grow food in a post scarcity society. How many farmers are needed in this future? Are there factory farms? Or all small homegrown farms?


What was the point of the violent commercial cliffhanger of Sisko getting stabbed if they heal him in like two second after it happened?

I guess Sisko is both an awful son and father, dragging around his elderly dad in the desert?

Just wierd all around. Im glad the series has improved since this ep.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Watching the show for the first time in 2019, I was really starting to lose interest by the end of season 6 and the awful Star Wars wanna be two parter that started this season. Im glad theyve had a great run of episodes and diving back into the Dominion War in a less silly and more intelligent way.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Trip holding up the slice of white bread and asking "Have you tried this?" is one of my favourite moments in Star Trek.

Otherwise - yeah, fine but unremarkable. So, sure, two stars. Worth watching the white bread moment, though.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

>"Unfortunately, the allegory is too preachy and pretentious and fails to say anything except in the very broadest of terms."<

Sometimes, messages need to be preached, and sometimes the broadest of terms are required for it to be heard.

++++

>"Prejudice has many troubling shades of grey that this story fails to acknowledge."<

True point. But this was broadcast in an era where MLK had recently been assassinated and where only six weeks earlier Star Trek had aired the first interracial kiss on US television, to the dismay of some regional censors.

This episode was written for an audience that was still struggling with (and often against) the concept that "Segregation = Bad"

There are absolutely shades of gray to be explored....1969 was not the time or place for those. Hard to dive too deeply into nuance with an audience that barely understands or accepts the basics.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

Watching these episodes through streaming services in rapid succession is jarring....

KIRK: "Hey Bones, this indigenous woman and I just had some stones thrown at us. I'm a little banged up, but apparently none too worse for the wear. Stay with her. Do what you can."

*McCoy scans Miramanee, discovers she's carrying Kirk's child*

(30 Minutes later)

MCCOY: "She had bad internal injuries, Jim. "
KIRK: "Will she live? "
MCCOY: "No."
KIRK: "No? No?!? Wasn't it just 2 episodes ago where you successfully surgically reattached Spock's brain after it had been stolen from his skull?! And now you're telling me you can't heal a woman with a few internal injuries sustained from some rocks."
MCCOY: "Do you want to explain to Starfleet Command how a woman on an alien pre-warp pre-industrial civilization ended up birthing your child?"
KIRK: "I'll love you, Miramanee. Always."










MCCOY: I swear that's honeysuckle I smell.
KIRK: I swear that's a little orange blossom thrown in. It's unbelievable. Growth exactly like that of Earth on a planet half a galaxy away. What are the odds on such duplication?
SPOCK: Astronomical, Captain.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Okay - do you people not remember original series Vulcans? Who, for instance, use fights to the death to get out of arranged marriages? Paragons of logic and virtue they never were.

And, this was by far Travis' best episode. Perhaps the only time the actor correctly emoted the scene. Anyone wants to slag this episode over Travis' treatment, I got your Kal-if-fee right here.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Jeez, the number of people looking for any excuse to trash Enterprise episodes is staggering. Like, if you hate it that much, just don't watch.

The episode established very explicitly after sunrise the temperature was going to get to ~170 celsius. The Enterprise couldn't have beamed down water. It could've beamed down steam, but i ain't sure Trip would've liked it.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Opening the show with a harmonica solo when it already has the most hated theme song was a brave choice.

Otherwise ... very thing gruel, but better than I'd expected, given I'd seen Jammer gave it zero stars. It's only zero stars if your Star Trek scale goes from 4 stars (Tapestry, Far Beyond the Stars, Body & Soul, etc) to -4 stars (The Child, Code of Honor, Profit & Lace). Otherwise, it's worth a star.

And I thought Lakshmi's acting was on point for the role ... it's just the role being what it was.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Jeez, a lot of people criticising the writers for messing with Star Trek lore when they know little of Star Trek lore.

Vulcans aren't emotionless, they're probably the most intensely emotional humanoids around. They learn to suppress and control their emotions because they're essentially useless otherwise. Think, perhaps, of Picard's breakdown in Sarek - the vulcan emotions totally overwhelm a human who is usually in great control of himself. The kind of meditation, memory suppression, etc. seem exactly like vulcans as we've known then. Field of Fire also comes to mind on that front.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

So, on the one hand, this episode ain't great. A few moments did work for me (I liked the chainsaw ritual, for instance, and did laugh at the makeout funeral), but overall there ain't much substance here.

On the other hand, the number of people who apparently watch every episode, reader Jammer's reviews of every episode, and need to comment about how every episode is the worst episode of Star Trek ever (math doesn't seem to check out there) is astonishing.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

uugggghhhhh this was a real drag

At least have Molly go back in time to some interesting civilization that has something to do with the Prophets or gives her some ability or perspective or something. or ANYTHING.

Its preposterous that such a child would survive in an unpopulated planet and even if hse somehow did she would be INSANE. Like even crazier than on the show. It would be un-filmable and this ep almost was as is.

And then the ending is just the thing they should have tried right away, except molly does it herself and somehow thats OK. wtf????

I hope this show picks back up soon. This was a drag....
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

The number of people who apparently feel this episode was ruined by leaving the line "The transporter room was destroyed in the explosion" on the cutting room floor is surprisingly high.

And I agree - Romulans here isn't lack of imagination or retreading or failing canon. It's really obviously setting up the Earth-Romulan War, which is a precursor to setting up the Federation. Enterprise probably *has* to have an Earth-Romulan War storyline.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Yeah, I have to echo the sentiments above: This is plausibly the best episode of Enterprise (though I myself prefer In a Mirror, Darkly).

I don't get the people who want Blalock spilling emotion around like a drunk juggling a dozen bottles of beer. Early in season 1, her acting was a little clunky, but by this point it's pretty much perfect (apart from Travis, everyone seems to have settled nicely into their roles)
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

So, of course having been a ~20 year old man when this first aired, I might've been a little titillated by Hoshi getting her shirt off, but Enterprise is a somewhat equal actor here.

I don't understand how people don't get when Enterprise is always trying to get people into their underwear, it seems like a pretty obvious attempt to make the show more visceral/primitive; an attempt to present the people in a way that's more animal/less evolve/less intellectual. Bring it closer to our reality as present day humans who still rely a lot on instinct and such. How successful it is varies, I guess, but the decon chamber et al. are messier, embodied, in a way that brings them closer to ourselves.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jeez, the number of people who feel every episode must be zero or four stars is staggering. It's a bit of silly fun, that's never truly epic, but has some fun moments, a little bit of character stuff for our trio - I like watching them figure out how to work together, even without dialogue, etc.

It's probably two, two and a half stars. Fine, not great, but not remotely terrible.

I kinda get the impression across all the series that the Ferengi pirates are supposed to be kinda dumb losers; those who couldn't hack it in the world of business or whatnot. So it all fits and makes sense to me (and really, with the Ferengi technologically way ahead of humans, why are you raiding a human ship unless you're kinda dumb and scraping the bottom of the barrel?) - the TNG Ferengi play out pretty much the same way.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I have to say, I thought a Trolley Problem with Genocide on one track, and the eternal enslavement of an entire race on the other on the other was sufficiently unsubtle (in the traditions of Star Trek) that anyone would get it. But, here we are, with a huge number of Star Trek fans asserting it's fundamentally unethical not to take up the White Man's Burden without even questioning whether you're doing the right thing.

And, of course, the episode is incredibly unsubtle about the point that it genuinely doesn't know what the right course. Archer looks at the damn camera and says as much.

Of course, Next Gen having been made when it was, it's unsurprising it and the subsequent Treks take a hard line anti-Colonialism stance. And since in practice humanitarian aid bleeds incredibly easily into colonialism. If you're really, truly ignorant of all of history - even today, we ask "Do we send humanitarian aid to a famine, knowing most of it will end up in the hands of a brutally violent authoritarian government, and keep them in power, even as it mitigates some of the famine?"
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 9, 2019, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

"With the gradual dying of some of the older ones, why did the ones who were left behind devolve so drastically? Perhaps due to the radiation? I don't think that was made clear. "

This flawed understanding seems to be the basis of so much of the criticism. The episode makes it very clear that nobody over ~5 years old survived the poisoning, so the dropping of tech, the English with a lot of odd modifiers, etc. all make sense.

It is a little repetitive and slow; it's probably tough to move it along faster and not get criticised from a "You arrive at a planet full of people who think you tried to genocide them, they instantly trust you" angle. Maybe more Novans could've slowly won over one by one to make it slightly less repetitive? More Novan-Novan interactions figuring themselves out? I do like the space travel is new and difficult and we don't know what we're doing mood it's setting for early Enterprise. But ... a bit on the slower and thus boring side.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, May 11, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

oh my gaawwwddd. this is terrible schlock. I dont understand how this show went from Pale Moonlight to then two of the worst episodes in the franchise. I hope this is not a sign of the quality of season 7. zero stars ugh.
Set Bookmark
BRIAN
Sat, May 11, 2019, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

This one was kind of silly and shows how important the ghost of Gene Roddenberry was. People now like to criticize Roddenberrys no conflict edict, but it at least made Star Trek unique and interesting. This sort of tired rom com sitcom episode wouldnt have been the center of an episode in his heydey. Not much science fiction to be found here and not a lot thats interesting to me tbh.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

^^^
well put but it still sounds like apologizing for a very poorly conceived scene.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh I've read the stars explanation page long ago. But then, if they don't mean anything, why do you have a star rating system? Are we meant to skip 1 or 2 star episodes? Because that doesn't seem right. I always recommend people watch all of a good series, even the bad episodes.

The star system seems especially irrelevant with the new serialized format of Discovery, and that's probably all I was picking up on.

Like, are there people out there choosing which discovery episodes to watch based on how many stars Jammer doles out? :)
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.