Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 414 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 17
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 8:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Not exactly groundbreaking but EXTREMELY well directed. Almost cinema quality Wrath of Khan level of technical achievement. Very good!!!

I almost wish they didnt bother cutting back to Janeway/voyager, and kept the focus entirely on the prisoners. Would add to the claustrophobia and mini movie feel IMHO.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 5:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Out of all the new trek still enjoying this one the most. Its basically The Orville animated series.

I agree w everyones criticisms of the show but I can still enjoy it for what it is. It doesnt offend me or disgust me like Picard or Disco often did.

Biggest thing they need to change is Mariner. Be8ng Rick lite doesnt work on this show for many many many reasons. The Moist episode is her best characterization yet though. And showing her flaws vs the Riker standin was also a momwnt she actually worked as a character
Set Bookmark
BRIAN
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Show is actually OK i think this is the first Kirtzman show I can actually enjoy and seems vaguely star trek. Making the man girl Mariner a Rick ripoff was a horrible idea though. Just doesnt work for multiple reasons. Its basically an Orville ripoff.which is rly odd to say. I kind of wish they would try less hard to be funny tbh.Less jokes and more low key humor might work better
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Aside from that I thought I’d add that this was a very good episode... perhaps if Enterprise had been more focused, not necessarily totally serialized but focused the way DS9 was, around Volcan politics in episodes like this, it could have turned out better. It just seems laughable to me today that the Suits at Paramount thought they could squeeze out another episodic Star Trek series at this point... Voyager was shaky enough but to start a whole new series while continuing to insist it maintain an episodic nature so that viewers could see episodes out of order? Paramount killed the golden era of Trek with that requirement... yes it worked incredibly well (I think TNG may hold a record for most money made from a TV Drama) while it lasted with TNG but that was where there were fresh pastures...
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

When watching this episode I was provided with a good way to articulate what I found wrong with T’Paul... and that is that she should have been played more like V’Lar. I always found T’Paul, unlike other main character Vulcans (Spock and Tuvock) to be played too robotically, more like an Android than a Vulcan. V’Lar does a good job of showing how Vulcans, despite being beings that dramatically emphasize logic, are still “people” (I would have said “still human” but of course that wouldn’t have worked).
Set Bookmark
Brian Graff
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

I just saw this - never having seen it before.

It has to be the worst episode ever of any of the series - horrible acting, nonsenesical story, just putrid.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

One thing that I think Star Trek writers overestimate is the need for something to be natural in order to be appreciated. I say this because often we hear “but it isn’t real” as a reason for rejecting something tempting (like Picard rejecting the Nexus in Generations). Similarly here we are supposed to believe that this girl would much rather have her powers go away and things go back to normal, vs becoming like a Q (and learning all of their knowledge of the universe). But no, we are supposed to think that she would rather be an ordinary human. Perhaps some people would, idk, but after they showed her coming to enjoy using her powers I didn’t buy it when she said she just wanted this to end. I know the human condition in Star Trek is much better than it is for us but still think about what she is turning away... she could never feel pain, make herself feel euphoric (manipulation of your own brain chemistry), be able to get anything you want and on top of that Learn cosmic truths about the nature of existence... but nope, for this episode to work the way it does she has to want to be a normal girl again. That is “jumping the shark” to me... way too much of a reach. It’s funny how TNG’s writers decided normal humans would react to a god like entity like Q... and the answer is treating the entity like it is a pest or something you just want to go away lol. Personally I’d treat Q with way more respect.

... but that’s not how Q is supposed to function in TNG. As far as the show is concerned it is best that Q functions as it does because it needs that given the way they want the characters to react to Q, it’s funny how the show insists humans would show no wonder or awe at a being with god like abilities and knowledge and comprehension of things far beyond what Our feeble mortals can understand. But to me TNG is almost like Sci Fi Fables or something, and I like and accept it for what it is. Still though it shows how Star Trek can be overly humanistic in having its characters treat what is basically a minor diety as though it is an annoying pest lol. Sorry I don’t but it, but when I maintain my disbelief it does work well within the context of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

3.5 stars. This is enjoyably dreamy and eerie, and accomplishes very well what it sets out to do. I realize it may not be everyone’s cup of tea but this is an example of just how tight of a production TNG was... if a similar episode was attempted on Voyager it would have probably been one stat lower but on TNG the characters and acting are all so excellent that it (the writing is of course good as well) that it frequently is enough to boost an episode by .5 to 1 Star compared to how it would have turned out on Voyager (and its hard to compare to DS9 since this just isn’t the sort of thing it did).
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

In January 2019, commenter Ashley wrote:

++"I was enjoying the show, then I realised:

Where are the masks to prevent people breathing in the virus?

Do they know nothing about disease prevention ? They must be wanting to get Sick! Even in this “barbaric “ century we know that masks stop air- born viruses.

This blunder destroyed the whole episode for me. It is silly “, silly, silly!"++


I'm just going to be over here in this corner......drinking and sobbing, in no particular order.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

While whistling past a graveyard, Jammer to wrote:

++"The "race against the clock" is not a particularly effective part of this story, because we all know DS9 is not about to become a floating morgue." ++

Haha, yeah, I mean, the race to get a vaccine out before the virus becomes deadly is just......well, I mean, it's just--okay, sure, they had to convert additional quarters into an overflow hospital ward as the entire medical staff is overrun......but it's pretty obvious the station won't just become one giant morgue, to the point where they have to start digging mass graves just to keep up with the death and destruction, because, well......what kind of horrendously bleak future would look like that, huh?!

Additional negative stars to this episode for some of the other outlandish parts of the episode.....like the bar owner who pompously declares himself to be an "essential service" in the middle of a quarantine, how the one open business in the economy makes a huge profit while everything else is shut down by delivering goods to people that they cannot otherwise access while the station is shut down, the people who ignore the quarantine restrictions and go out to the bars and clubs anyway because they felt fine thereby inadvertently spreading the virus to everyone else far more rapidly and causing it to mutate, the small business owner so single-mindedly desperate to complete his shipment that he fights against the quarantine orders thereby things worse and ends up blowing up his own ship while taking nearly half the station with it.


DAMN, DS9! How is it a quarter-century later, and your episodes are somehow getting even MORE relevant than ever?!
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, May 27, 2020, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

... and finally, in reference to Skywalker’s post above about his perceived lack of respect for rank in Star Trek and this episode specifically (from his point of view as a current military officer)... well all your points would certainly be valid, IF Starfleet was supposed to work like a modern military and have similar protocols. Clearly, however, that isn’t that intention... it a deliberately made less militaristic than real militaries of today and the past, probably as a sign of human evolution and less need for such authoritarian measures. There is a line in season two of TNG, a line that I disagree with but definitely shows Rodenberry’s intention towards Starfleet, where Picard goes so far to say “Starfleet is not a military organization” when he is protesting the Enterprise being ordered to hold a battle simulation/competition.

Now I think that statement is objectively wrong, as clearly (and made more clearly by DS9 and even future TNG episodes), Starfleet does carry the responsibility of essentially being the Federation’s armed forces, “military”; it defends against foreign aggression with force, launches attacks during war, and in DS9 we even see that it has dedicated ground troops/marines. However what we can take from that statement is the significant intention of the creators/writers to show that Starfleet should not be seen as simply analogous to a modern military organization. For one point they do missions of exploration or scientific/astronomical research far more than military missions. It’s like a mix of “explorers“ (what Picard and Riker describe themselves as in that episode, as opposed to “naval “officers”), scientists, and military, in a time when humanity is explicitly described as being more evolved and closer to being a utopian society.

So yes they operate different from how people operate in your military, with less of an overriding military feel governing their interactions, and it’s supposed to be that way in this fictional organization. For example notice how they never salute each other, and how Troy said it would be fine for Picard to be in a romantic relationship with a lower ranking officer (TNG “Lessons”). So while Julian may be even less militaristic than the already less militaristic ordinary Starfleet officer, while that causes a bit of initiate awkwardness for O’Brien it’s also not shocking or anything like it may be in your military. Same with Julian’s behavior towards Kira... Starfleet officers and personal are closer to colleagues than modern military personnel are, even among different ranks (except for times of direct orders). Of course there is still good discipline and adherence to the chain of command; Kira did obey Julian in the end since he technically had the authority to do what he did, and in other situations Starfleet officers almost always professional obey their superiors.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Wed, May 20, 2020, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Just rewatched this with my wife. I cannot believe all the vitriol over this episode. I thought it was a fascinating idea and I did not see the twist coming at all. It was not perfect, the only change I would've made was I think Harry "figured it all out" too quickly. I think it would've been way better if he was fooled until the end.
Overall, a fairly campy story but a fascinating idea and they pulled it off. I feel like people are so overly harsh on this show. If this had been a TNG episode and it was Geordi who got abducted, I think people would've eaten it up.
Set Bookmark
Brian L
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

With the utmost respect, Jammer, I think you were far too charitable in your treatment of the writers making this series "about picard saying goodbye to data."
It was one scene at the end of a very long, labored series, that, while superficially satisfying, I don't think really holds up under scrutiny. First of all, it makes the series over-stuffed. Not only did we have to wiz through a hundred other plot points to get here, to top it off they inject a very heavy-handed scene into the finale that really seems to come out of nowhere.

"I always wished that I could have said I was sorry, that it was you and it wasn't me."

Come on, really? The dialogue is clumsy, written in a strange tense that creates disconnection between the viewer and the events unfolding on screen. And it's fan service--basically, totally meaningless for someone who hasn't seen the TNG movies.

"A butterfly that lives forever, is really not a butterfly at all."

Again, wordy, clumsy dialogue. And, then of course they go ahead and turn picard into a synth. So the butterfly really is a butterfly after all, even if its synthetic. Oh the depth! The magnitude!

Really? You would say this fan-servicey tacked-on finale made the show "about" something? You completely ignore how the writers left loose plot strings frayed all over the place, meandered incompetently all over the place? Relied on violence, gore, spectacle? And somehow one poorly scripted scene between Stewart and Spiner somehow fixes it all?

You are one charitable Trek fan, and I salute you :)
Set Bookmark
brian l
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@wolfstar
"The show just wanted to go "look, some gays" without wanting to put any of the work in of showing an actual relationship. That applies to all the straight characters too."

And, sadly, it also applies to everything else in the show as well:
"Look a borg cube."
"Look a murder."
"Look a horrible future event."
"Look a head getting sliced off with a sword."
"Look someone saying fuck."

They treat the audience like an infant, trying to get them to look in the camera. Snap your fingers, make a funny face, maybe they'll look for a few seconds.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 8:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

“I'm just pointing out a broader dilemma we all face.”

Ah yes, the royal we at work again. Don’t presume you speak for all of us. Or any of us. We can think for ourselves.
Set Bookmark
brian l
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Daniel
"Raffi and Seven holding hands isn't a big, shocking thing. It isn't "in your face". In a series (and franchise) where people have hooked up with members of the other species--often only shortly after meeting, this is an extremely tame expression of affaction. What it is, is a possible avenue for character development and story building. I'm all for normal, and even subtle depictions instead of showpiece "in-your-face" or "to make a point" kind of depictions."

well here's the problem, it's a token "relationship" thrown in with absolutely no background, no buildup, essentially no story. It's probably the most cliche and lazy thing they could have done. "Hey audience, LOOK at THIS! This is where the former borg who desperately wanted to be normal and human instead turns into a vengeful, murdering alcoholic, and finds solace in another bitter substance user who abandoned her family, and now they can HOLD HANDS. LOOK at them holding hands. Isn't TRUE LOVE so beautiful? Aren't we a great writing team? Look how awesome we are."

They did the same thing with Jurati and Rios. Another "relationship" launched after a random sexual encounter that makes literally no sense, with no buildup, no story, and really, no chemistry between the actors (and how could there be when they had no time to build any).

Look, your missing the point. What the writers are doing, is thinking that they can get away with tossing a relationship up on the screen in the laziest way possible. Any TV series where relationships just "start" at random without any explanation or backstory, comes off like the writers are just lazy, or very young, or both. It's tailor-made for a generation of young people who swipe faces on Tinder. "Relationships" appear and disappear at random, depending on the situation. "Stuck on La Sirena for a few weeks? Aw shucks, I guess we should hold hands."

"It's so deep".

Please...it's not.
Set Bookmark
brian l
Sat, Mar 28, 2020, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

It had some nice character moments (finally), but the nail in the coffin for me was the "magic device" which is able to create an entire fleet of ships with warp signatures at precisely the moment the plot requires, to give Picard enough time to give his pep talk to Soji. They literally hinged the entire plot and resolution of the season on a magic device that is hand-waived away. I literally burst into laughter and was done with the show in that moment. It was like the writers were subliminally telling us "just use your imagination, pretend this is a good show, just smile and nod."

I also hate what they did to 7of9. Turning her into a confused old lesbian alcoholic vigilante is just asinine, and worse than that is how the writers cannot even figure out how to use her. They just copy-paste her into the script whenever the plot demands it.

All the build up on the borg cube felt like a waste of time they could've used to develop more important characters.

Retconning in a new Soong at the last minute makes it seem like the writers were desperate.

And finally, the division between synths and humans is academic at this point. Soji is basically a human. And now Picard is a synth. And the real synths are a race of extra-dimensional space worms ala Stephen King's "The Langoliers".

Sorry, I'm just not into it. Give me a show where Seven becomes a house-wife in suburbia with kids and then suddenly gets activated again. Give me a show where Picard becomes a xeno-archaeology professor who is obsessed with returning to the dyson sphere and he drags his graduate students into an epic indiana jones style adventure. Give me a show where ANYTHING, PLEASE ANYTHING happens except a retread of the same old science fiction tropes we've been wearing out for decades now.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 3:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Most of this was terrible with a few very bright moments. Honestly we did not need this much buildup for this. Could have been done in an hour. These characters do not know one another well enough to be best buds the way they are here.

I don't know. I kind of enjoy watching this show (In that "something is better than nothing" way) but it was completely unnecessary to sully the legacy of TNG with this slop. I just sat there not believing they wrote this and made it believing they were making good stuff.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Henson

"We already know that there are godlike aliens in the Trek universe that evolved from “lesser” forms so we know for a fact that organic-synth conflict is not inevitable. Unless the Douwd, Organians, Metrons, Cytherians, etc. just complete anomalies that never developed any AI? And they never bothered to warn any of the less advanced races of the impending synthpocalypse? None of the organics that evolved into energy beings bothered helping other organics avoid it? Were the Organians and Metrons just f’ing with Kirk when they implied that humanity can advance to their level thousands of years in the future?"

Well, there is one more episode to reveal any sort of twist. So far, the Borg are just “there” but they represent a hybrid of synthetic and organic life so they still need to fit in to the overall story somehow besides just conveniently having a Cube for defending the planet.

Plus Commodore Oh. I wonder if she has a long ago past with one Section 31 member named Georgiou.

Anyway, as you brought up the Trek universe has so many “advanced” lifeforms, it’s hard to keep up on all of it. This has to be where Picard gets his mojo back and saves the day. So far there have been fleeting moments but he’s still nowhere near the stature he once was.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

At this point, I'm just gonna change my "Wait and see" mindset to "This ain't Trek and this ain't never gonna be Trek and whatever this is, it's also not even good and I'm only gonna keep watching because I've already watched this much of it"

I'm gonna pretend that Patrick Stewart is playing an alternate universe version of Picard where Picard just pops into existence as an old man and doesn't know anything about Star Trek. This Picard also has all the video files of DS9 and Voyager stored in his mind where TNG also doesn't exist. This is mostly Picard taken out of TNG and inserted into everything that came after TNG. Which was also not Star Trek. It was sometimes good and often terrible (Voyager was mostly terrible and ended in exactly the kind of way you'd expect for a show that was a cheap knockoff of Star Trek). At least DS9 was good.

This is Patrick Stewart in space. He barely even knows he used to be Picard. It must be the brain tumor. This show would honestly work just as well without him. Except nobody would be watching it. Which I guess is the only reason he's there.

But hey. This is a show that tried to expand on the idea that Data had to be destroyed because Brent Spiner was tired of playing him. I mean, that's probably what it really was. The idea that androids don't age so he couldn't keep playing him only works if you have the worst writers ever. I guess nobody could think of a plot twist that would make data able to plausibly age. It's not like a Star Trek writer never brought Spock back to life or made alternate universes where Tasha Yar was never killed by an oil slick or anything.

Why don't we just bring Luke Skywalker into the picture now and complete the clusterfuck that is this show?
Set Bookmark
Brian L
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@kukalaka
"Aren’t holograms synths too?"

YES. Thank you for bringing this up. Every time someone brings this up, it gets hand-waived away. STP itself completely ignores this problem. I'd like to explore the idea behind this more.

People forget that the fear of AI and synths is really just a proxy for a generalized fear of technology. The overarching theme in most all "dangers of AI" story is that humans start on a path of self-destruction the moment we begin to transcend our biological niche. Humans have been afraid of the changes we ourselves are undergoing for all of human history. That's why we keep on re-telling this doomsday story to ourselves, over and over again. The idea that our technology will one day destroy us has become cliche to the nth degree.

At its root lies fear, and this is the reason why I object to its use in a Star Trek show. Star Trek has always been a show about defying and resisting fear of the unknown, and fear of the future. The reason Trek resonates so deeply with us, is that deep down we all know the only way to avoid destroying ourselves is to to precisely that--to defy and resist fear while going forward. "To boldly go."

And so the best thing a Star Trek show could do, the most defiant and daring thing, would actually be to show us a future where synthetic organisms are widespread and relatively benevolent. A sort of modern-day "Roddenberry's box" for the writers. No "our own tech kills us" scenarios. You have to come up with something better than that.

If ST:Picard ends up giving us a novel, creative take on this story, for example if they end up having the advanced AI save us from some other threat we never anticipated, or god forbid, ourselves, I'd drop my popcorn and give a standing ovation.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Mar 14, 2020, 1:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Trent, thanks for your perfect explanation for "why we still watch" and what we are hoping for. I didn't realize just how much of a "workplace" show Trek can be. It totally is! But it hides it well. Regardless, I think TOS, and then TNG, showed an entire generation of kids how to work together as a team. I imagine that must have some kind of concrete effect in the real world. Unfortunately, in the real world, people are a little less perfect. And in some ways, I think those shows set us up for massive disappointment when dealing with real people. Still, there is real value to those early lessons, and I think Roddenberry knew that.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 12:36am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

@Captain Jon
we watch because we love Trek and we want it to be good. We are waiting for it to get good. And if we don't feel like it is cutting it, we say so. We have valid reasons for not liking new Trek series. I have given credit where credit is due, for the odd well written episode, but overall in my opinion, nu-Trek suffers from a deplorable over-reliance on exposition, clunky dialogue, questionable plotting and pacing, and a dependence on slowly unfolding mystery box formats. I believe other series have done the "serialized sci-fi drama" format much better, DS9 and BSG to name two, and they did much better from day one. All told, I've only enjoyed about 10% of the Trek that has come out post-Enterprise. Whereas prior to that, I enjoyed over 70% of it.

And here again, you not so subtly imply that we don't like nu-trek because "its not perfect". Here's a tip, don't do that. I'm an intelligent adult, and I don't toss things in the garbage because they aren't perfect.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@MidshipmanNorris

Both Riker AND Troi chastize Picard for not understanding Soji. He doesn't mind that Picard is going about this on his own, but he gave him a word of warning about teenagers. Like Tommy D. said, I'm not sure what's so hard about this.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

As far the arrogance thing goes, Riker was calling Picard arrogant in the context of not being ready to deal with a teenager. That's fairly consistent with Picard not being able to handle Wesley or those kids on the Disaster-Enterprise at first too. Sopan Deb of the NY Times is a basketball reporter, so he's not exactly a big Star Trek aficionado like Jammer or Zack Handlen.

"Come on, jammer. Out with the review, I wanna hear your opinion about the best episode since Enterprises fourth season"

He's out there crusading for Daylight Savings Time. Let the man be!
Next ►Page 1 of 17
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.