Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 109 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I really enjoy and want to see more of every single character on this show EXCEPT the two that keep being given most of the screen time. That is a frustrating place to be in.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 5:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Jammer:

"But we do live in hope, do we not?"

"Of course. How could we do anything else?"

- Garak, "Millennium"
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Mon, Feb 26, 2018, 5:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Well, 1701-Z...the HISHE parody came out, but it went in an entirely different (though equally awesome) direction with the whole kamikaze ship thing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCB8DUGpYQQ
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

"Want to sign my petition for Jammer to write his review of The Last Jedi before Episode 9 comes out?"

I laughed.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The franchise developed "Lost" syndrome - just shrugging and cutting characters and threads they didn't know what to do with.

Snoke, Phasma, and Holdo being the two most obvious ones. So much buildup, so NOTHING revealed about either one of them before they're just randomly killed. Nothing interesting done with them whatsoever. I gotta give credit to Gwendoline Christie for still being able to act like crazy using just her voice and one eyeball, but...massive disappointments, both of them. Also, a very unceremonious exit for Ackbar. He deserved better.

The plot structure was weird. Way too much filler. The whole mutiny and casino subplots were pointless and easily circumnavigated by sensible decisions by the characters. Rey dropped out of the entire latter fourth of the film after being its heart and soul. Bizarre.

And I'm also left without any idea what's the gripping impetus for another movie. Empire Strikes Back at least gave its sequel a strong reason to exist (i.e. the recovery of Han). VIII just gives us a vague "rebuilding a rebellion", even though the First Order seems all but dead itself at that point.

Just sloppy writing.

There was certainly potential. The long, drawn-out pursuit could have been really affecting and the transports' destruction did get me going. The Kylo and Rey dynamic was awesome. Yoda's appearance and his decision to destroy the Jedi texts FELT right, even though I thought Force ghosts couldn't "interfere".

But there was so much squandered. The more I think about it, the more I hate it.

Ugh.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Wed, Nov 1, 2017, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

When Jammer's best-reviewed episode is the one where all the characters keep dying horribly over and over, the show can't be all that good.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 4:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Just saw it, finally. Some thoughts:

* This show is designed for those who entered the franchise through the Abrams door. Whatever their words to the contrary, they clearly went "F it" when it came to continuity in production design and in-universe tech, and they don't really care what we think of them for it because GOTTA KEEP THE NEW VIEWERS. Understandable. But it WILL pull veteran Trekkies out of the immersion every once in a while. We have intelligent computers and insta-emergency forcefields in the pre-Kirk era, but Burnham has to go for an EVA ride because they can't scan an asteroid belt?

* It's nice to see Trekkian characters acting and talking more like real people, instead of the bizarrely paced, stentorian dialogue that marked the earlier series. Go watch a TNG episode and then this. The difference is enormous.

* Visuals are terrific, as expected. The cost of this kind of production suggests that CBS' decision to place the series behind a firewall must have SERIOUSLY paid off, given that it's already been renewed for a second season.

* Sonequa-Green and Jones are also terrific, to nobody's surprise.

* It's a little off-putting that the entire first two hours of the series exist almost solely to create Burnham's guilt and lack of trustworthiness. Sonequa-Green's certainly strong enough to convey it, but it still feels like the entire intrigue and purpose of the series await to be...well, DISCOVERED, har har. This premiere could have benefited enormously from taking a handful of the "arrival on Discovery" scenes shown from the end-of-hour trailer and integrating them into the end of "Battle", instead of slapping the trailer on while showing a kid T'Kuvma getting bullied before he gets shot in the back.

* Gamma Hydra, worker bee, and General Order 1 are nice subtle nods to the nerds, even if the writers feel free to toss aside other canon when it suits them (like Klingons gathering their dead).

* I didn't buy the Shenzhou being totaled. Everyone looked way too comfortable standing around holding conversations after the battle had left her adrift.

* I liked the telescope. At least there's SOME imagination here.

* The title scene is dumb. And way too evocative of Fringe.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sat, Sep 30, 2017, 4:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

I wonder how long it will take Adrianne Palicki to realize what she's doing to her career and start begging Seth to write her off the show.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm still hung up on the part where they're making me pay for my Star Trek.

Get off my lawn!
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Sep 15, 2017, 9:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

It would appear that CBS has embargoed reviews before the first day of airing.

Normally that's a sign that they don't have a lot of confidence in the product.

A hopeful interpretation suggests that there might be spoilers so crucial to the format of the series (i.e. perhaps Discovery is from another time - kinda been my hope) that they don't want to risk it getting out.

But I doubt it.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

EPISODE VIII TRAILER REVIEW
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Fri, Mar 31, 2017, 1:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/03/31/breaking-rainn-wilson-to-play-harry-mudd-in-star-trek-discovery/

Now it appears Harry Mudd is going to be in the new series.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Tue, Mar 7, 2017, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

@Yanks

Watched the video. Still don't agree much with the idea that its placement on All Access betrays a lack of confidence on the part of CBS. As I've said before, it's more likely code for "our gay character will be regularly kissing men", which fits with the earlier "stuff we can't do on the network" comment from the showrunners.

Isaacs is a good casting, though he'll get flak from the inclusion crowd for being the fourth male white captain.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/02/27/star-trek-discovery-to-premiere-by-early-fall/

Discovery to premiere "by early fall".

So, January 2018 then. ;)
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Despite my praise, I will say this...

If "Rogue Two: The Bothans Who Died to Bring Us This Information" becomes a thing, I'm boycotting the franchise.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Truth is, all - CBS access, Klingons, time period, etc. - will be forgiven if they can just make a good show.
Set Bookmark
Brandon
Mon, Jan 23, 2017, 4:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Gag me.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

No date offered.

I think we're officially in development hell.

I figured out a while ago that all this "subscription lets us do graphic stuff we couldn't on networks!" and "sci-fi sucks on networks!" is really just studio-code for "we're going to have a gay character and he's going to be kissing men". I wonder if that was a source of conflict between the various parties.

But between them putting it behind a paywall and the Axanar studio, I can tell you I have no intention of supporting Discovery. Moonves is just putting forth a token doomed effort so he can go "See? Nobody wants it!" and dodge further criticism.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.