Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The franchise developed "Lost" syndrome - just shrugging and cutting characters and threads they didn't know what to do with.

Snoke, Phasma, and Holdo being the two most obvious ones. So much buildup, so NOTHING revealed about either one of them before they're just randomly killed. Nothing interesting done with them whatsoever. I gotta give credit to Gwendoline Christie for still being able to act like crazy using just her voice and one eyeball, but...massive disappointments, both of them. Also, a very unceremonious exit for Ackbar. He deserved better.

The plot structure was weird. Way too much filler. The whole mutiny and casino subplots were pointless and easily circumnavigated by sensible decisions by the characters. Rey dropped out of the entire latter fourth of the film after being its heart and soul. Bizarre.

And I'm also left without any idea what's the gripping impetus for another movie. Empire Strikes Back at least gave its sequel a strong reason to exist (i.e. the recovery of Han). VIII just gives us a vague "rebuilding a rebellion", even though the First Order seems all but dead itself at that point.

Just sloppy writing.

There was certainly potential. The long, drawn-out pursuit could have been really affecting and the transports' destruction did get me going. The Kylo and Rey dynamic was awesome. Yoda's appearance and his decision to destroy the Jedi texts FELT right, even though I thought Force ghosts couldn't "interfere".

But there was so much squandered. The more I think about it, the more I hate it.

Ugh.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

EPISODE VIII TRAILER REVIEW
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/02/27/star-trek-discovery-to-premiere-by-early-fall/

Discovery to premiere "by early fall".

So, January 2018 then. ;)
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

No date offered.

I think we're officially in development hell.

I figured out a while ago that all this "subscription lets us do graphic stuff we couldn't on networks!" and "sci-fi sucks on networks!" is really just studio-code for "we're going to have a gay character and he's going to be kissing men". I wonder if that was a source of conflict between the various parties.

But between them putting it behind a paywall and the Axanar studio, I can tell you I have no intention of supporting Discovery. Moonves is just putting forth a token doomed effort so he can go "See? Nobody wants it!" and dodge further criticism.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Wed, May 11, 2011, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

"Geordi should've just gone around engineering kicking Data in the face..."

Possibly the funniest thing you've ever written, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

I was glad to see Spock given a dignified storyline with both emotional heft and far-reaching political implications. The "holoroom" was a lame ending, but I could have imagined so many unfitting story vehicles for Spock to return in. (Of course, Nimoy probably would have turned them down.)
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

"THAT delivery was very orderly."

This episode was one big wink.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.