Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 6:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

@Elliot

Long-time lurker on this site and always found your comments incredibly insightful. You've certainly expressed what I have always found problematic about DS9 and distilled my fondness for Voyager (which was previously inexplicable to me).

Just curious to quickly ask if you have ever watched LOST.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 6:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

I'll keep this short, because that is really all this episode (really, any episode with a Seska scheme) deserves - too much stupidity from the crew to be enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Sep 25, 2017, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Caught the premiere last night, and the show certainly looked pretty. It also had some interesting concepts. As opposed to others, I found Michael to be a rather compelling character - she is clearly conflicted to some degree (her humanity versus her Vulcan training) so I look forward to further exploration of her background. The Science Officer was also unique and entertaining. I liked Michelle Yeoh, but found it hard to get invested in her character when I knew that she would be kicking the bucket soon.

My issues with the show so far are as follows:

1. Continuity is out the window. I honestly am confused whether this is supposed to be in-continuity for the Abrams-verse or the original universe. Certainly seems much more Abrams to me.

2. The Klingons makeup. HATE it. Too heavy, too fake. Yuck.

3. The Klingons motivation. "The Federation are too nice. Me fight them." Unless I missed something (which is possible).

4. Lens flare. Please...just...stop.

5. CBS All Access. No thank you. See you on Netflix.

Lots of comments comparing this premiere to the prior Trek outings. While I agree that Farpoint was a very weak episode, at the time of first airing I seem to recall that most fans enjoyed it rather than hated it. I will grant that the reaction was more akin to "Yay, new Star Trek!" than to the quality of the episode itself, but that is my recollection.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Sep 11, 2017, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I'm in agreement with many of the other reviews in that I found the show unoffensive, but ultimately uninspiring. There were a few chuckles, a few more awkward pauses and several more, just, sloooooow moments. I'm a patient sort, so I'll give it another chance, but I'm not hopeful.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 3:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I just watched this episode for the first time and I thought the main part was awesome. About Suder, what I got was: You know Deanna Troi lost her empathic powers only temporarily. Now imagine the Betazoid who never had any empathic powers, who perpetually sees other beings (including, even, himself) as flat, with no dimension whatsoever. (This is what I get when asked if he had any feelings on the matter, Suder says, "Nothing.")

Being as such, I think that for Tuvok to have experienced the extra impact of the meld (struggling even more than usual for a Vulcan to suppress those violent thoughts), Ensign Suder had to have just enough telepathic ability to imprint (or trade) that violent tendency for more self-control. Also, thinking about Suder's punishment makes me think that executing him would have been too easy, so just keep him in isolation under armed guard would be more of a real punishment for him.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Fri, Sep 25, 2015, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Just finished watching this episode, and have to commend (as Jammer does) that final shot of Picard. So much emotion, so much conveyed without a single word being spoken. Compelling.
Set Bookmark
Peter Bradfield
Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 2:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I agree with some who have said the biggest problem with this episode was that this should have been Voyager's first two-part episode with Sharon Lawrence's Amelia Earhart being an unintended and even unwittingly first true protagonist to Janeway in the Delta Quadrant -- perhaps even giving us shades into how Janeway would have to deal with Seven of Nine.

Just imagine if much of the the crew had wanted to stay on the planet -- with an actual view of that city -- instead of trying to get back to the Alpha Quadrant via some things Earhart says that she didn't intend or were taken out of context by much of the crew? I think that would have made a much more interesting story as well as good basis for Voyager's first two-parter, instead of waiting for season 2's finale and season 3's opener.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Thu, Feb 27, 2014, 8:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

I absolutely hated this episode. It felt like watching some silly Disney show where everything happens to work out perfectly in an absurd yet predictable set of events.

How on earth could Starbuck fly a Cylon ship that she has had NO experience with so well that she could out perform Apollo? Cmon people, she's like kicking organs and tentacles and somehow out flying the second best pilot in the squadron? It's so ridiculous. I can usually look past plot holes and silly things but this is way too overboard. It just blows my mind how people can look past such blatant fairy tale writing and not see it as something that makes absolutely no sense.. even in this sci fi world. I wish Apollo shot her outta the sky.

Set Bookmark
Brad The Phat
Mon, Oct 1, 2012, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

I haven't watched this movie in many years, and honestly I have no desire to. I just wanted to say that, even though it's horrible for a movie to take such a cheap route (IMO), I was always under the impression that the movie was Kirk dreaming.
Set Bookmark
Brad Rock
Fri, Jul 20, 2012, 1:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

That line at the end got me, caused a combination of getting misty-eyed and laughing out loud. I didn't think another tolerable Neelix episode would ever happen.
Set Bookmark
brad
Mon, Jun 18, 2012, 7:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Worf saved ds9. Now is where the series starts to be really good.
Set Bookmark
Brad G
Mon, May 14, 2012, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: The Miniseries

I still remember when I heard about this series in 2003. At the time, I decided I'd skip it, since I didn't care for the original BSG.

But a friend asked some of us over for a movie night, to watch this Miniseries shortly after it aired. He was really well-versed in good sci-fi, so we trusted him. Boy am I glad I took him up on the offer! BSG nights at his house, and those friendships, became some of my fondest memories of the decade.

A friend of mine knew Jammer in college and introduced me to these reviews. The reviews became a companion-piece as I watches the series. They deepened my appreciation for the best episodes and (usually) confirmed my own suspicions about the weaker ones when they (rarely) came along! Jammer is insightful, and nearly always spot-on in my opinion (my biggest disagreement might be "Final Cut," which I really liked).

Now it's 2012 and I just finished re-watching the series, re-reading Jammer's reviews too. The second time through, I found it even more satisfying and profound than the first. Without that voracious week-to-week appetite for pure plot I get during a good series' run, it was easier to sit back and absorb the larger story arcs, mythological elements, and great acting. Also, amusingly, the occasional slips where its Canadian-ness shows through (typically an oddly pronounced "o" here or there). So charming!

And with the series still fresh in my mind, tonight I came back to the Miniseries, just to compare. It's truly cinematic in scope, doesn't play at all like television. I'm not sure any other miniseries/pilot ever made as compelling of a case for a full series run than this Miniseries.

If I could compare my 3rd watching of the Miniseries to anything, it might be light hearing the opening heartbeat and "Breathe, breathe in the air" of Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon. I hear that, and I know that (no matter how many times I've heard it) I'm about to be in for a great experience.

I guess this was more of a testimonial than a review. So it goes. Thanks for the fantastic website, Jamal!
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, May 8, 2011, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Well, you sure as hell seem to be suggesting as much!
Set Bookmark
brad
Wed, Apr 13, 2011, 8:25am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

Who would want to be the Commander of the Pegasus? 3 down from 3.

Putting Tigh in as commander of the Pegasus would have been a more practical solution than Garner - or maybe it was a political decision to choose someone from within Pegasus to contain dissent despite their ability?


Set Bookmark
brad
Sun, Apr 10, 2011, 8:28am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

Great review, great comments - kudos to max for an excellent analysis, and great episode. Loving this series.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Apr 10, 2011, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Flight of the Phoenix

Good points in the review, though this is the best episode of season 2 so far for me (watching it on DVD) minus the firing range scene. Not worried about star trek comparisons or DS9, as this series stands on its own. besides nothing is really truly orginal anymore.

Set Bookmark
Brad
Sat, Apr 9, 2011, 6:49am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Home, Part 1

The media frenzy scene seems so out of place for a fleet of only 48,000. It's great drama but so misplaced and illogical.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Apr 3, 2011, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Boomer's programming was not to kill Adama, or she would have shot him in the head - surely a cylon would execute its programming it that was the intention?
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sat, Apr 2, 2011, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

Shelly Godfrey = SHE GOD with the first syllables.
Fits nicely into the religious context of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Thu, Feb 10, 2011, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Well, Fenne, it looks like you are right on the money. We just finished watching the Season 4 opener, 'The Way of the Warrior': the Cardassian military gov't has been overthrown by a civilian gov't and the Obsidian Order is functionally gone because of the battle in 'The Die is Cast'. It had been so long since I'd watched DS9 that I had forgotten that plot point.

Still, I think it is weird that the entire Order came along on the assault, but I suppose that's the plot. No doubt there was much more going on behind the scenes that wouldn't have been appropriate to show on DS9 proper.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Oct 13, 2010, 1:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

I think Lee and EP raise good questions about Sisko, Eddington, and Toddman. Why does Sisko get off with a pat on the back?

Well, Starfleet has a history of allowing its officers to selectively disobey or re-interpret orders. Toddman indicates his sympathy for Sisko; it isn't hard to imagine that the Admiral would have made the same choice. More importantly, Sisko returns with major results: namely, Garak and Odo's reports. Now, Starfleet knows that the Founders infiltrated the Tal Shiar, set up a devastating trap, and see the Federation and the Klingons as the next threat.*

In an odd way, Sisko proves himself more fit for his promotion by illustrating that he has the guts and the backbone to be a ship captain.

*But I have no idea why the Founders think that destroying 20 Cardassian and Romulan ships will knock them out of the fight for the Alpha Quadrant.

Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, May 17, 2009, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Yes, I'm surprised they are going to bother to air Virtuality. Why not put it up for download with a nominal fee? They might as well make some money off their investment. Further, those of us who won't be watching the tube on the Fourth might actually get to see it.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I think the Opera House works best as a metaphor. I would not write it off by saying that it only represents the Galactica.

I will try and be short and not expound too long!

In short: the opera house is performance. Battlestar Galactica as a tv show is a performance. The lives of the people on the ship are guided by their past choices/history, by their current choices, and perhaps by an unseen hand (I think that the show leaves the question of determinism fairly open). We as human beings are also guided by our past. There may not be a fate--like Kara says, even if we have one, we wouldn't know--but we can trace our path through the world.

The Opera House reflects BSG as a work of fiction, as a performance, and is a metaphor for reality (both for the characters and for us).

Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 12:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Bah. Again with the imprecise language. I apologize for not double-checking before I post.

"That is the one thing I really applaud BSG for doing..." I didn't mean to imply that that was the ONLY thing for which I applaud BSG. There are many other things I find admirable, too. :P
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Niall:

I wouldn't say the Raptors caused no damage when they jumped out. It looked to me like they blew a massive hole in the side of the pod. You can see the hole again when Adama makes his final fly-by.

That is the one thing I really applaud BSG for doing: they have a host of great "Oh, frak! Are the characters really going to do that?" moments, especially with regard to the starships. Some of them seem unplausible, but all are cool, inventive, and loads of fun to watch.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.