Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 19 (Showing 1-19)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Of course you can't.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

How about you don't explain anything and let him do that himself? If you can help yourself, of course.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Peter G

"reviewing" his star rating?

Brian and Mitch make fair points. His ratings are inconsistent with his reviews, if you compare to other Trek series.

@Mitch
"there is not ONE SINGLE EPISODE I would actually want to sit and re-watch again. Not one s-i-n-g-l-e episode, now or any point in the future."

Me neither.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Gil

"“Forget it, Jake, it’s Chinatown.”"

Yep. The writers even said so.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"TNG era Trek and even TOS will initially struggle because the shows before never asked viewers to do this much thinking just to get through a season"

Haha
Set Bookmark
Boura
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Gooz Chos

"and/or 2) Mitt Romney/Pike, Spock, Number 1"

That's the only way I'll be watching a season 3.

I only watched this because of the Star Trek brand but it is not Star Trek. I choose to completely ignore this fantastic looking pile of crap (which is exactly what the writers wanted the rest of the Trekverse to do).

No number of Alan Roi's can convince me otherwise. It never existed.

Screw this rubbish.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Artymiss

"So every Klingon and Kelpian (and Harry Mudd!) etc etc etc involved in the events of the past two seasons will also agree to NEVER speak of Burnham and Discovery and the spore drive etc EVER AGAIN?! How, when, where, why???"

Funny, kindergarten level stuff isn't it?

It's ok though, Discovery was flushed down the big toilet in the sky. It never existed.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh and was just waiting for Pike to turn around after the admiral was vaporised and say "Damn! We could've just had one of the droids close the f**king blast door!!".

He could've at least ordered a red shirt to do the job, surely? The admiral was most qualified to pull a lever?
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I reckon the Discovery getting flushed down the shitter was symbolic.

"Send that stinky floater as far away from Trek canon as possible", they thought. And never tell another living soul.

Now, roll out the proper prequel story... "Spock to the bridge". The Enterprise warping away. The End/Beginning.

That ending might just have been the best part of the first two seasons of Discovery (maybe apart from Spocks ears).

Again, wtf did they make this a prequel, other than to link it to the more popular parts of Trek (Spock, Pike, The Enterprise)? They limited themselves from the outset. It's no wonder it all ended so ridiculously and amounted to a pinch of shit.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

But yeah, how about those production values huh?

X-Wings vs TIE fighters. Too bad this is TREK.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@John Harmon

"And their best shot is “everybody kept it a secret”? That made me actually laugh out loud"

Me too! Gosh that was hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Thomas

"to what end is the complexity? What is its purpose? If it's a story about saving the galaxy and nothing more, aimed at entertaining us, then would a simpler storyline be just as enjoyable as a complex one"

Yep. All of this fluffing around with magic time crystals is dopey and pointless.

If they insisted on making a prequel, I wish they had just based it around Captain Pike and kept it simple. "Where no one has gone before" and all that.

I reckon Anson Mount could've carried that and it would've fit nicely into canon. They could've included Spock that way too.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 1:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

"No more holographic comms. Ever. We promise."

Pukeworthy.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Gil

LOL
Set Bookmark
Boura
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 2:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Alan Roi

What's going on in this show is that Michael Burnham is Star Trek's answer to a question nobody asked.

She can do anything, even make Spock a true Vulcan.

Yes, I'm the one with the blinkers on.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Alan Roi

"Many people are actually interested in seeing how the threads actually play out before making their pronouncements"

Like Season 1? You'll forgive the bitten for being shy this season.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 1:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Agree about The Expanse - great show.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@Trent

"the HORRIBLE THING which Michael did to Spock as a child all those years ago. Turns out - and the series thinks this is a SHOCKING REVELATION! - she WHITE FANGED him"

Thumbs up for the White Fang reference.

@Alan Roi

"complex narrative"

There is nothing complex about this. Is this the best the writers could do?

Also, I can't see how that little Spock kid that was so full of emotion became the Spock we all knew and loved in TOS, just because Michael Superwoman left him. Especially given that Spock said he knew her reasons for leaving.

Again, why did they have to shoehorn Michael and the rest of the nonsense in as a prequel. This show should have just been made to stand on its own merits.
Set Bookmark
Boura
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Cody B

See brian's comment above:

"I am still unfortunately willing to turn my brain off and enjoy this new star trek for what it is. But it utterly lacks in the writing department any real ideas of substance. Which is a shame"

I'm sure Trent still watches Marvel movies (I do).
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.