Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Boris Zakharin
Tue, Jun 21, 2016, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Changing Face of Evil

You know, the way the Dominion suddenly does everything in its power to undermine the alliance with Cardassia while seemingly oblivious is a bit too convenient. I can understand bringing in the Breen to help win, and to give them some Cardassian space to appease convince them to join, but to whose benefit is it to lose Cardassian territory and the forces defending it to the Federation? After all, Cardassia is the heart of Dominion space in the Alpha Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Boris Zakharin
Sun, Apr 3, 2016, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

@Peter G,
There is no evidence that the Dominion has been back to check up on them. As long as they lay low on their own planet and/or don't bother the Dominion, they are probably safe. The Jem'Hadar may or may not come, which is better than the certainty of a slow extinction of the entire race.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Thu, Mar 25, 2010, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

I liked this episode too, but why does this seem like it would have been better as a Voyager episode? Having this mysterious station in the Delta Quadrant where no one from the Federation will ever stumble across it again works better with this plot than the logical question of "why is there no subsequent mission to study or destroy the thing?"
Set Bookmark
Boris
Wed, Mar 3, 2010, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

This episode has one of the best endings in all of Trek. It's up there with DS9's "Sacrifice of the Angels".
Set Bookmark
Boris
Thu, Sep 11, 2008, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

I was mistaken in saying SciFi cancelled the series rather than Ron Moore.

The ratings for Season 4 have been better than Season 3, but not at the levels they were for the miniseries and first two seasons. I'd say that the ratings are as relatively high as they are due to the remaining audience knowing that the series will be axed and wanting to see as much of the show as possible while it's still in production.

Paradoxically, though the ratings aren't what they used to be, the show has become more popular among the fans who still view it.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Fri, Sep 5, 2008, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

I understand the desire and need to tell different stories with each season. It was executed well on series like "Angel," "DS9," and "B5," but not so well on other series, like "Alias," "Smallville," and "Lost."

IMHO, the concept and execution of many episodes in BSG Seasons 3 & 4 hasn't been up to snuff. I feel that the producers lost direction in Season 3 after the opener and found their focus only after SciFi decided to make Season 4 the last. But several of the episodes in the first half of Season 4 strike me as being sloppy in spots. I am also dubious about the Armageddon direction that Ron Moore and gang are taking the Colonials and Cylons in.

BSG's ratings have eroded a bit over the last two seasons. Among the remaining audience, many fans are still satisfied with the series. But many viewers are also dissatisfied. I fall into the latter group.

http://www.borislayupan.com/
Set Bookmark
Boris
Mon, Apr 21, 2008, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Coming into Season 3, I had completely trusted Ron Moore and company. As it unfolded with its ups and downs, I found myself surprised, disappointed, and skeptical of the producers.

BSG is Moore's and company's baby to play with, but as an honest viewer, I call things as I see 'em.

When I think the show does something good, I'll say it. When I think a mistake was made, I won't gloss it over. But it's not worth getting my blood pressure up neither since it's entertainment in the end.

I want BSG to finish on a strong note, but I don't have the same trust I used to have in Ron Moore.

I do feel he'd be several orders of magnitude better to helm the upcoming Star Trek film than JJ Abrams, though. Too bad that's not gonna happen.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Sun, Apr 20, 2008, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

The only tidbit we have about the 13th tribe so far is the probe that a Cylon base ship picked up and got infected by in Season 3, which was visited by Baltar.

Putting in a faction that split off from the 13th tribe could be interesting if they held lore/artifcats with navigational markers the Colonials and Cylons would need to continue the search for Earth.

Anyhow, it's not gonna be done (except maybe in fan fiction).

Lee's new role as a Quorom delegate is the twist among the Colonial storylines I've enjoyed the most so far.

Kara is back to her overly dysfunctional self at the moment. I see Moore starting to have Kara mirror Sisko's Season 7 absorption into his role as the Bajoran Emissary. I feel we need to see more of that. It'd also be nice to see a flashback of Kara flying over Earth after she was "killed."

I'm also dubious about the payoff when we finally learn who the fifth Cylon is.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Sat, Apr 19, 2008, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Hey Occuprice,

I heard about the SciFi execs "persuading" the BSG staff to put in standalone episodes. It's one of the many ways in which networks wreck their own content. What I fault the BSG staff for is the conceptualization and execution of the Season 3 fillers, which to me were melodramatic and had low stakes. Showrunners can hurt themselves, too, without any help from the networks. Ex: "Alias," "Lost," and "Stargate: Atlantis."

I wasn't in a position to pitch a TV script and Ron Moore and company had already blocked out the stories they would tell. But one idea I had for a multi-episode arc with both serialized and standalone elements used a plot device from the original series: a totalitarian human spacefaring society that the Colonials run across on their way to Earth.

Who's to say the 13th tribe in Moore's reimagined BSG didn't have separations along their voyage to Earth also? With aliens taken out of the equation by Olmos' threat to quit, the story possibilities from interactions between the new humans, Colonials, and Cylons multiply geometrically in my mind. This is certainly something that BSG media tie-in fiction writers can play with when they're trying to think up novels.

Sadly, that didn't occur to Moore and company on their own--except in an alternate reality spawned from the quantum moment of divergence in which the necessary chain of occurences happened for that storyline to be conceived and incorporated by the BSG staff.

IMHO, the Colonial fleet is running out of significant factions who generate interesting episodes. For me, the Cylon Civil War has been the most interesting element out of all the storylines in the Season 4 episodes aired so far.

At best, I'm on the fence about the new show BSG has become. I'd say this is a bit like Dallas on a battleship in space. If the same staff is used for the upcoming Caprica spinoff, I won't be shocked to see some of these same themes used.

I would say that my comment about the foreshadowing of the lack of hope does come from "He That Believeth In Me" and the end of "Razor." Even without the prototype hybrid's warning to Kendra about Kara, I wouldn't trust someone who came back from the dead the way Kara did. I'm with Roslin on her reaction to Kara's ravings about Earth.

Anyhow, as viewers all we can do is watch. Moore and company have the creative freedom (to the extent given them by SciFi) to do what they like with the series.

C'est le vie.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Fri, Apr 18, 2008, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Jammer, thanks for the pointer to the Sci Fi forum. I don't often participate in 'em myself.

misterd, you're right about Ron Moore doing good work in a spoiler hungry, high expectation TV environment.

Occuprice, I count myself as one of those dissatisfied with the current direction the series. My discontent started to take root after "Exodus" Part 1 & 2 and went full blown with "Taking A Break From All Your Worries."

Before Season 3 aired, I happened to speak to David Weddle and Bradley Thompson at a writers meeting on the Universal Studio lot. They said one can't have a war drama without major characters dying. From how Season 3 went, I'd say they wanted to eat their cake and have it.

IMHO, Season 3 wasn't executed as well as it could've been and it's had repercussions, which are driving Season 4 and prompted Sci Fi to withhold approval for Season 5.

I'd expected better from the people who produced Deep Space Nine.

I'm not against dark stories per se, but if things keep going in the direction they're going, we'll go from dark into an abyss.

IMHO, viewers are able to follow dark stories best if there's an indication of hope, which Ron Moore and gang are steadily taking away.

I don't expect everyone to agree with me, but that's how I feel.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Sun, Apr 13, 2008, 6:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

Copy that, Jammer.

I didn't know you didn't want spoilers discussed. I was also working on the assumption everyone knows about them.

BSG's remaining viewers are definitely watching the final season in part to its being the final season. I doubt the producers would've had enough material for a fifth season had SciFi given it to them. And I am distrustful of the producers for manipulating the fans and the cast with their Starbuck resurrection stunt.

Does anyone know of a forum, where viewers can give the producers their reactions?
Set Bookmark
Boris
Sat, Apr 12, 2008, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: He That Believeth in Me

I agree with Durka 35's point about the similarity of Cylons finding Cylon souls in humans as the Mimbari in B5 finding Mimbari souls in humans.

Unlike Michael Straczynski who had the beginning, middle, and end of B5 plotted out ahead of time, I doubt that Ron Moore and his crew have the end of BSG thought out. IMHO, much of Season 3 after "Exodus" Part 1 & 2 was filler. And after the Galactica left the algae planet, the trial of Baltar could've been held with no delay. The filler episodes between "Rapture" and "Crossroads" Parts 1 & 2 were frustrating and dramatically static to me.

I feel this episode was good, but I am dubious of the payoff from the Colonials and Cylons finding Earth when it's leaked that [potential spoiler removed]. If the promo trailer for "Ties That Bind" isn't misleading, [potential spoiler removed].

I'm also dubious about four of the Final Five Cylons being revealed as Colonials, so the wait for the unveiling of the fifth Cylon leaves me ambivalent at best. Starbuck coming back from the dead in a pristine Viper bothers me along with her coming back from the dead.

If I'm not mistaken the producers told Katee Sackhoff to pretend to the world and the rest of the cast that her character had been killed off till she reappeared in the Season 3 finale.

Last year, the producers made such a big deal of killing off major characters, only to kill off secondary ones and bring Starbuck back in the season finale. I had a feeling she'd come back, but I thought it'd be in Season 4. Starbuck's resurrection strikes me as a dramatic cheat and a manipulation of the fans and the rest of the cast, who were upset at the revelation.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Mon, Dec 10, 2007, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Till I learned the plot details, I'd thought that "Razor" would concentrate on Pegasus from the Cylon attack to its finding the Galactica and the fleet.

I figure that because the fourth season is the last, the producers are trying to cram as many stories as they can into production, hence the mixed storylines in "Razor."

C'est le vie.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Thu, Dec 6, 2007, 10:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Hi Jamahl,

Thanks for sharing your perspective.

The shifts between the present and flashbacks were a bit jarring since the two storylines didn't directly complement each other. For better or for worse, it seems that "Razor" was produced with a mandate to tell the story of Cain and Pegasus at the expense of the film's dramatic story integrity.

And I went in unconsciously expecting new insights on Cain's character, too. I suppose that the producers didn't feel they had more light to shed on Cain and just concentrated on giving the viewers Cain in all her glory.

"Razor" is definitely a quality production, though.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Wed, Dec 5, 2007, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Thanks for the low down on the DVD version. I hope to rent it from a video store myself.
Set Bookmark
Boris
Tue, Dec 4, 2007, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

I picked up on the... undertones in Gina's line "You're not my type."

Personally, I feel that the BSG producers could've gotten more mileage out of Cain's relationship with Gina if they showed us a scene, say, Gina delicately picking herself free from Cain's unconscious arms and out of the Admiral's bed to hack a command database in Cain's quarters. The telemovie was definitely a condensed affair. I wonder what, if anything, the DVD version will add to the relationship?

The point on Cain's lesbian relationship with Gina making the Cylon attack personal is interesting. Taken in conjunction with the fact that the Cylons killed her family and left her an orphan by the end of the 1st war, Gina's betrayal is icing on the cake.

If Cain's hatred of Cylons in general and Gina in particular led the admiral to order the executions of civilians in blind anger (I didn't make that association at all), that'd indicate to me that she's a very volatile person and acts without insight.

In "Resurrection Ship, Part 1," she stepped back from a shooting war with Adama over Helo and the Chief, though, when she got the telemetry that Starbuck/Kara gathered on the Resurrection Ship's fleet while flying the Blackbird (too bad that stealth viper was splashed).

There aren't HUGE gaps in Cain's character portrayal, but they do raise eyebrows in my case.

My take on Cain ordering the civilian executions came from the rationale she stated a couple times in "Pegasus": As a flag officer in time of war, she has wide ranging authority to take sweeping actions and military needs outweigh all other considerations. (I'd expected her to state it for the first time in "Razor" and was surprised when she didn't.)

And I felt that Cain being an orphan led her to rationalize that suffering is a part of life and it cut down on her ability to empathize with the suffering of the civilians her crew was plundering.

It's a rare story that hits 100% on character, plot, etc. "Razor" is much, much better than normal TV/film fare.
Set Bookmark
Boris Layupan
Sat, Dec 1, 2007, 9:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

Hi Jamahl,

I came across your site a few weeks ago and am enjoying the reviews. If you decide to post some thoughts on SG 1 and Atlantis, I'll read 'em. =)

It's my pleasure to post a pre-review comment on "Razor":

Being hyped as a tele-event on Sci Fi for months, I found "BSG: Razor" to be more of a souped up season 2 two episode parter rather than a feature extravaganza. But by BSG standards, that's really good.

Two storylines were combined here: the first days of Lee Adama in command of the Battlestar Pegasus--with the backstory of Admiral Cain and the Pegasus spoonfed in--and an encounter with the Protectors, a force of active original mechanical cylons, and the hybrid organic cylon they were protecting. Admiral Adama almost stumbled across the cylon organic experiments 40 years earlier on the tail end of the 1st Cylon War in the recent SciFi miniepisode series (November 2007) on a young Bill Adama.

I won't go into too many specific plot spoilers here so much as speak on general story points and character developments.

Personally, I feel that Season 2 was the highlight of the new BSG series with Season 3 (especially the second half) being a disappointment. I want the the producers to prove to me and the rest of the core viewership who're left that Season 4 will be up to snuff.

That said, "Razor" fit the tone of Season 2 perfectly and added another magnitude of drama to that chapter in the series.

It was great seeing Admiral Cain again, and awesome to see the events alluded to by Colonel Fisk in "Pegasus." We're tied into Pegasus' past following the Cylon attack that obliterated the Colonies and the "Present" of Season 2 through the character of Kendra Shaw. For those who want to know, the survivor count hints at the time of "Downloaded."

Watching Kendra go from raw aide to ruthless soldier under Cain's guidance is spellbinding to say the least. And watching her butt heads with Starbuck as Lee's new XO is a treat. Being
"Cain's legacy," she wouldn't hesitate to do what Tigh only dreamed of in putting Starback in her place. It would've been interesting to see how her and Starbuck would've gotten along is she hadn't been killed off at the end (more on that later).

Seeing Lee command in his own right was a pleasure. I can only imagine what would've happened had the the producers decided to not have the Colonials settle on New Caprica and set in motion the events that led to Lee sacrificing the Pegasus. This "what if" of Lee's development as a battlestar commander tantalizes me.

Cain was what we expected her to be: equal parts hero and villain. Sequences that show us Cain as a girl who was left an orphan by the 1st Cylon War weren't shown with the telemovie. But they're part of the extended version on the upcoming DVD (12-4-07). These sequences help us understand why Cain turned out to be a military die hard who sees herself as an unflinching weapon. A razor (though she was holding a folding knife at one point while imprinting on Kendra in a dramatic speech). Seeing Starbuck holding the knife following Kendra's death hints that she's the current holder of "Cain's legacy" (which doesn't bode well for the remnants of humanity in Season 4). What I don't understand, though, is why Cain didn't have the nerve to go through with her assasination plan of Adama in "Resurrection Ship (RS), Part 2," but she shot her former XO (who she'd served with for years) in the head with his own weapon without a blink. What accounts for Cain's sporadic flashes of humanity (in "RS, part 2") and hesitation? Something that I missed also was why Cain was so inflexible in pursuing an attack on a cylon station against odds of 4 to 1 when she'd assured her command staff in private that she wouldn't waste lives and resources on "a mad quest for revenge." Either this is inconsistent character development or Cain was lying to eveyone--and herself.

The fact that Cain was revealed to have a relationship with Gina, a version of organic cylon model number 6, didn't have any impact on the story and could've been omitted completely. Something not dramatized on the telemovie, but I'm sure will be included in the DVD version, is the torture (beatings and gang raping) of Gina. These events will show how a Nazi fascist state comes into being on Pegasus under Cain's aegis in contrast to the morally grey, but still humane family atmosphere that Adama preserved on Galactica.

The Protector cylons were pretty lethal for outdated models. The impression given is that there was one base star's worth of them, but it's mentioned once that a "fleet" attacked the Pegasus at one point. A slip I'm sure. The scene with the three cylon fighter pilots and a "By your command" line was priceless. When Kendra leads Starbuck and on team onto the old base star to rescue some human hostages, I found myself wondering how they could find their way around, how many cylons were guarding the vessel, and why all opposition on the ship had vanished as Kendra got a warning from the hybrid about Starbuck being the "destroyer" of humanity just before Kendra nuked the ship.

The warning about Starbuck from the hybrid nicely foreshadows one of Season 4's main issues. I'm still on the fence about that, though. I wondered why the hybrid offered Kendra the heads up? It indicates to me that this particular model wasn't such a bad person. And I wondered why the Protectors didn't seem to be taking orders from the hybrid?

Kendra blowing herself up tells me that she feels remorse about what she did as a soldier under Cain's command, but her taunting the hybrid "You should be afraid" struck me as insensitive and contradictory. But then she's human--and flawed. So where's the line between humans and organic cylons?

At the end, Adama tells Lee that without him, Tigh, and President Roslin keeping him honest, he might've done some of the same things as Cain. I can see Adama being darker, but not going quite the same route as Cain. For one thing, Cain ignored and then shot her former XO, Colonel Belzen for not following questionable orders. Belzen was the closest thing to family and a conscience she had. Adama shooting Lee, Starbuck, Tigh, Helo, the Chief, etc is unthinkable.

All in all this is a strong episode, tele-event, what have you. "BSG: Razor" was meant as an entree for Season 4, which was originally scheduled to air on Sci Fi in January 2008, I believe, but was pushed back to at least April 2008 because of the bloody WGA strike. (Hopefully the studios and networks will see reason before too long.) I expect it'll have to hold us over for a while.

I wanna give "Razor" a 5 out of 4 stars, but I'd say it rates more like a 3.95.

Boris
http://www.borislayupan.com/
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.