Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 499 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 20
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 3:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Totally, bros before dead wife hoes.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoQEEh0Z20o
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

@ Luke
As Jammer writes, this is more like X-FIles in a Star Trek setting. That is probably the reason why there is no follow up episode. We never know what happened to that species. Maybe the Federation is now lead by brain parasites...
The Klingon War, The Dominion War are all just in our parasite infested brains.
It is also kind of true that they are a threat but annihilating them seems a little harsh.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Farell's acting improved significantly over time but she started as a model and through that became an actor. Her character was fairly pleasing. A beautiful wise young woman who kicks ass and likes to have fun. Pretty easy to like.
SMG's role on the other hand...
SMG wanted to be an actor from the start and it shows. Her acting isn't great but it is far better than Farell's during the first two seasons. Farell's was so wooden. I watched her acting back then and immediately thought: she must have been a model turned actor.
By the way here is the review from Red Letter media about season 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SHhySoXDcA
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 3:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

So I will take bullet for this one.
I kind of liked that episode back then... hear me out.

What is Jammer's critique
-The relationship stuff isn't interesting.
-Fullerton is unconvincing
-Worf's motivation
-the resolution of the episode (Worf's change of heart)
-the rest of the cast looks silly

My take:
It is not a good episode. No doubt about that.
The relationship stuff is not great and Worf's behavior is overdone.
But I, for example, liked the argument about that juice that make Jadzia's spots itch. Worf thinks that she behaves childish to which she replies: "But I like the taste!" and walks away. I found it cute. Jadzia's knows how to enjoy herself. Being on vacation means acting a little irresponsible every now and then.

Jammer calls Fullerton's argument nonsensical but to my European ears a lot what American politicians say on the state level and for quite some time now on the federal level sounds far more insane and nonsensical. And the argument that we have become too lazy and that the Chinese ahh I mean the Dominion will eat us alive is an often used argument. Real Americans and that kind of stuff.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTB2bA_VwXo :)

Does it make sense that Worf follows him. Kind of. Let's face it Worf often behaves like a single minded idiot, more so on DS9 than on TNG. Plus Klingons are famous for loving it rough. Every time we see Klingons have fun it looks like a nightmare version of Valhalla. Worf in his desperate attempt to be a normal Klingon of course dislikes the very thing that Risa represents: soft and cushy relaxation (and lots of Horgahn sex apparently which leads to a few strange questions, by the way *Cough* state sponsored prostitution *cough*).
I liked the episode because of Character building. We get an important piece of the puzzle why Worf is such a grump. He grew up in a small colony were he was the ultimate outsider, not respected but feared and then he killed somebody in an accident which made him close himself off completely. An incident he apparently never talked about which also underlines his love for Jadzia. His love for her is so strong that he wants to change for her because he knows that he will lose her eventually when she gets bored. That makes it possible for him to share a deeply traumatizing experience. It was also well acted and because the episode was relatively silly before that it hit me even harder.
We also get a bit of world building about the Bajorans. Their break ups are celebrations of things past which fits pretty nicely with what know about this society.
Worf changing teams is too rash, though and Fullerton hitting him makes no sense.
I give it 2 1/2 stars :D

You can throw me on the pyre now...
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jul 8, 2019, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

Thanks Ellen for giving the answer I expected you to give.
This could be a moment for you to rethink your use of the English language.
Using derogatory language is often to the detriment of ones argument.
Admittedly, in Trumps USA it is, I guess, probably encouraged to give into your darker impulses but that doesn't mean you have to.

Anyways, it has been a pleasure. :)
Farewell sweet prince*ss

PS: and please excuse my thin grasp of the English language. It isn't my first language.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Jul 6, 2019, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

@ Ellen
I don't know what your fanboy/fangirl obsession with Baltar is but I highly doubt that anybody can cure you of that notion. But it is early and the press is not producing much worth reading so I will answer you one last time.
By the way, I read how you i another thread equate Baltar's fate with structural discrimination of black skinned Americans. WOW. That is all I'm going to say. Just WOW.

"Dying is not an option."
I guess you don't believe in sacrifice, then.

"To excuse bad plot points by pointing out "this is a TV" is also pretty preposterous."
Again you turn your imagination into knowledge. You wrote " That is the reality." I was just pointing out that it isn't because BSG is not a documentary.

" You said Adama and Roslin have every right to want to see him dead since he collaborated..."
Again, I don't know if you lack reading skills or have the amusing ability to turn imagination into knowledge. I only wrote that I can understand that Adama wants to see him dead.

" willing to forgive all and every transgression EXCEPT for when it comes to Baltar."
Under different circumstances more trials probably would have happened but people are rare so just get the main perp and convict him and be done with it.

" Plus, blame the stupid masses for voting him in. That's on THEM!"
I guess you don't understand the difference between direct democracy and representative democracy.
Here.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Representative_democracy

"And no leaders dont get executed for less. Not in democracies, only in autocratic shitholes."
Come on. Are you serious?! Read a book for gods sake! After WW2 (and I could certainly find more examples) collaborators were executed in France, Belgium Greece, Norway to name a few.

"But she didnt stay, which begs the question of whether her objection to go based on fear that cylons may attack was ever legit to begin with."
Yes, it was all a ploy to convinces Jesus... I mean Baltar to not go ahead with his election promises. Roslin was lucky that the Cylons actually found them, if not then she would have looked pretty stupid.

" Well then the French were wrong."
I will call France immediately to tell them that!
*phone rings* Hello. France? Yes, it's me. Ahem... Ellen thinks that you shouldn't have executed all those Nazi collaborators... oh yes... ok... no... sure... sure... yes they were traitors...ok... ... but... yeah, I guess.... good point .Ok, Bye.
Sorry. They disagree.

" Umm...yeah. Baltar is impulsive, doesnt think things through and makes bad decisions. That doest make his a genocidal murderer who willingly participated in the end of humanity."
First, it shows that he already collaborated with the Cylons even before the occupation. He helps a Cylon to escape and then provides that very same Cylon with a nuclear warhead which that Cylon uses to kill thousands. With the defense code you can say that he became a traitor just for the money and didn't know that he was giving the codes to the Cylons but here he definitely knew that she was a Cylon and he gave her a weapon of mass destruction. Again, it also shows a pattern of collaboration with the Cylons LONG BEFORE THE OCCUPATION.

" I dont think he is crazy."
Sure, he only has visual and auditory hallucinations but apart from that he is fine.

"Again, he was an unwitting participant to the genocide."
No he wasn't. As explained above. Knowingly giving a nuclear warhead to a Cylon is as far away from unwitting as one can be.
Through the entire show he is exhibiting a pattern of collaboration with the Cylons. Without him Humans would still sip tea in the 12 colonies.

And your last paragraph. ehh... what Humans were executed by Adama and Roslin apart from Gaeta and Zarek who were traitors?

Did you see how I AGAIN went through all of your arguments while you were cherrypicking your way through mine...

I guess it is not a coincidence that your nick here is that of one of the Cylons.
Have a nice one,
Ellen.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jul 5, 2019, 1:28am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

@ Ellen
" Baltar had NO CHOICE but to sign the execution orders. I doubt Roslin would have done anything different unless she wanted to eat the bullet. "
Of course he had a choice. He could have refused. Maybe they would have shoot him. We will never know. Same goes for how Roslin would have reacted which is even more hypothetical because they would have never colonized that planet. Baltar was always a coward.

"And when the Cylons arrived, the colonists were also outgunned and outnumbered. Going down with guns blazing and getting everyone killed may be your idea of successful resistance or heroic, but it is not. Gaius saved these people. Had he refused, the cylons would have just ordered rounds of executions and kept doing it until they comply. That is the reality. "
This is a TV show but alright. Baltar saved nobody but himself, as always. If he had refused and they had actually shot him then what? They would have just found another collaborator.

"Going by your logic, Adama is just as culpable because instead of staying and fighting as you say, he took off leaving those people to die. "
Are we talking about the logic you imagine I have? Because I never said that they should have fought to the death.

"What about Tigh manipulating one of his people to wear a suicide west and get over 30 others killed? he did what he had to do, and so did Gaius. And actually Gaius got no one killed, unlike Tigh and the vigilante team. "
You do understand the concept of terrorism, don't you? That whole suicide bomber sequence was brilliant because back then US Americans thought that suicide bomber was something only crazy Muslim fanatics would do. Turning it around, making the good guys the terrorist willing to do everything was a stroke of genius.
And let's not forget. Baltar is responsible for the Cylons wiping out humanity and so much more.

"Maybe Baltar's idea of settling on Caprica 2 was ill conceived."
You might be onto something here.

"Why just dump it all on Baltar?"
Because he knew that it was wrong and how did Baltar govern before the Cylons arrived? Did he really commit to doing good for the people he lead to this god-forsaken rock? No, he was having drug fueled parties with prostitutes? while not giving a shit at all. That only highlights what a despicable person he is. Not only the Cylon occupation, his whole time in office was a disaster of his own making. Leaders got shot for far less.

"And I mean really, I did not see Roslin refusing to leave the ship due to legitimate concerns that cylons would attack. On the contrary, she was making long-term plans like building a cabin etc. Doesnt sound like someone who is scared."
Why would she stay on board of the Galactica. She is no state official, she isn't military. Why should she have stayed on the Battlestar? She is a teacher. Should she teach algebra to Adama? Counting wall panels?? Good people go where they are needed.

"The people you reference who say I was only following orders, i..e Nazis, was very different than being under a military occupation by a hostile power. " I wasn't talking about German Nazis, I was talking about french collaborators. The French killed more than 10000 collaborators, including many of the officials of Vichy France. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89puration_l%C3%A9gale
So only charging Baltar was actually an act of almost baffling mercy.

"Most people cant even stand up to their abusive bosses yet here you are all cavalier about resistance against a brutal military force and think it was oh so easy for Gaius to just say no." Not to blow my own horn to much but we had a vote back in school about who would resist the longest in case of an evil regime taking over and my classmates voted for me almost unanimously. I'm also a corporal of the reserve. So I do know a little about fighting.

"
Finally, Baltar unwittingly gave the defense codes to Caprica 6. He was pussy whipped and self absorbed and likely didnt think much of it. But there is no evidence of intent and that matters."
Well, not really. If you sell an H bomb to somebody who tells you that he/she will only use it to spread love and understanding but then blows up a big city. Are you innocent? No.
He gave away the codes that left humanity defenseless for money which made the genocide possible. But you are right. His intent wasn't to kill 99,99% of humanity. What a hero!

"he gave Gina the warhead because he was Irritated by Roslin's perceived ungratefulness. He didnt give it to her hoping she would use it on the crew."
Oh, I see. The guy who played a major role in the annihilation of humanity thought that Roslin was ungrateful and therefor knowingly gave a nuclear warhead to a Cylon who *gasp* didn't use it for good?!

"He isnt a cruel man or a sociopath"
Well, he is crazy and before the war he was certainly a narcissist.

"Baltar has an ego, true, but that doesnt make him the evil monster who deserved to die."
- responsible for the death of 99,99 % of humanity
- responsible for the destruction of several ships and thousands of people.
- main collaborator with the Cylons during the occupation which killed another 15% of what was left humanity.

No wonder that Baltar estimated that humanity would go extinct in 18 years.
He was still alive.
And nothing is leading to a quicker end of humanity than Gaius Baltar.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 4, 2019, 6:14am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

I guess you never lived under a military occupation. I'm fairly certain that the people in occupied France during WW2 saw it quite differently than you do.
There is a difference between living under an unjust economical system and living under military law, where soldiers can kick you door in at any minute because you have the wrong cousin.
Let us not start a debate about anarchy. That will lead us nowhere.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 4, 2019, 5:12am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

@ Ellen
It is what collaborators always say. I had no choice. I only followed orders. I tried to make the best of a bad situation but what they really do is enjoying a better life than the rest while making it easier for the occupiers to control the population.

Let us not forget that Baltar was the main reason the Cylons could wipe out humanity, then he was responsible for an atomic bomb exploding in the fleet and to top this all of he was responsible for the decision to colonize that frozen rock even though he knew and was warned repeatedly that the Cylons could find them which they did because of that very atom bomb Baltar gave to a Cylon. Plus Adama and Roslin all know this but cannot prove it. So, yeah I can understand why Adama wants him dead.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jul 4, 2019, 1:25am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

These are some good shows and movies. :)
I feel the need to mention so that you not stumble into it unprepared that there is a DS9 episode which basically deals with what you are experiencing called "Ties of Blood and Water" (ep 19 se 5). It is a very good but also very sad episode.
Good luck.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@ Jason R.
I don't have a problem with the Sokal hoax because it was one article published by a journal that wasn't peer reviewed (after that it started to peer review) at a different time (90s). My problem is with the idiots who did the Sokal squared fraud. These people did a great disservice to the scientific community in many ways. Even Sokal himself criticized their methods. What they wanted to achieve could have been done with a well made audit study but they didn't bother because this wasn't about improving scientific standards but about publicity. Boghossian, the lead, worked with people like Stefan Molyneux a white supremacist. The pied pipers play their tunes...
People who don't believe in climate change, anti vaxxers and so on (which doesn't really exist in Europe by the way) can point to this and say: See, modern science is just a conspiracy! Even the current US president believes that climate change is a Chinese invention and that has real and dire consequences.
It makes me really angry.
Let's leave it at that.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@Jason R.
"Whether you think Sokal succeeded is ahem academic. " That was my point. I do not think that it is academic, I heard it in several corners of the internet, even on the goddamn Joe Rogan Experience with a million clicks or so and it was always framed in a way to diminish scientific research. Why does this kind of shit always happen in the US?! ... I digress.

I fail to see the connection to what Abrams does. Abrams has an open ended writing style. ok, but how does this make a mockery out of hardcore Star Wars fans? Because Abrams didn't think about what every button does on Darth Vader's suit? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVzc20Bm8Xo

I also think that the anger is misplaced. It is not like Abrams knocked at Disney's door and presented them with a fairly save reboot script. No, it was Disney which just paid 4 billions for rights to Star Wars who needed someone to rescue that sinking ship.
Maybe it was something deeper at the beginning, even though I heard that Lucas mostly made the movies with merchandise in mind, that is why the Ewoks were in there, for example. Just for that sweet merch money which made him a billionaire even before he sold Star Wars to Disney. The hardcore fans in other words just fetishized a product that was created to sell toys. How much shallower can it be? :)
It is strange that people turned Star Wars into this quasi religion.

Star Trek is to a certain degree a different story. I always find it odd when people talk of franchises because when I hear franchise I think McDonalds.
It is a little mystery how something like Star Trek became as successful as it did. Especially TNG. That Abrams got a lot of hate for turning Star Trek into Star Wars is completely understandable but here too it is the studio that finds the director not the other way around. If people want to hate something then that should be Paramount or CBS or capitalism. Not the mercenary they hired to create a product with the highest amount of mass appeal to make money money money.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@ Jason R.
Rant incoming!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV30YwXaKJg
Just to mention it for anybody who didn't bother to look it up. The so called Sokal hoax was a nonsensical article written by a well respected scientist to a not peer reviewed publication. Then there is the Sokol Squared fraud where a few people put a lot of effort into tricking papers into thinking that they created legitimate articles. For that they sent papers to well respected peer reviewed publications, these rejected them. Then they incorporated the critique of those publications and submitted it again and again until they deemed the articles good enough and then sent the articles to less respected publications and out of 20 articles 4 got printed (and 3 more were accepted but not printed). What most people probably don't understand is that scientific peer reviewed publications don't say "this is right" No, it just means "The scientific method is used correctly". In every field we have instances were scientists commit fraud and sooner or later they are found out. Why? Because their findings cannot be repeated. And if they aren't found out then nobody bothered to redo their experiments because nobody cared.
While it is important to refine scientific method constantly, these guys wasted many peoples time and gave the alt-right a nice talking point. And for what? Trying to destroy a scientific field? Smearing the scientific profession in general? Showing that with a lot of effort you can trick scientific publications into printing something? And they did all that without a control group or approval of an ethics board which in this case would have been very important because they are subjecting people (the reviewing researchers) to a test without consent. Doing that without at least approval of an ethics board is a big no no for, I hope, obvious reasons. How would you like it to be tested like a mouse in maze without your consent by a bunch of scientists and then have your name and all published? The head of the group is now under investigation. A thoughtful article about the reasons for the investigation. http://nymag.com/intelligencer/2019/01/is-peter-boghossian-getting-railroaded-for-his-hoax.html
They broke fundamental ethical rules for scientists and delegitimized scientific research in significant parts of the US population. Good job!

End of rant.

*coughs* ok were was I... ahh *Goldbluming for a while" yeah ahhh I think a lot of people here dislike Abrams for his participation in the rebooted Star Trek movies which I completely understand. Abrams is not good at creating cerebral stuff which made him perfect to resurrect Star Wars which as far as I understand it is just a copy of Flash Gordon and a bunch of Cliff notes scrambled together by Lucas. Star Wars to me was always style over substance which is JJ in a nutshell. More fantasy than science fiction.
As Jammer mentions: He does character stuff very well and Ryan Johnson does not.

And about Lost. I liked it but I jumped ship during season three because at that point it was pretty clear to me that to most meaningful character stuff was done and the mystery was going nowhere. I also have stated my distaste for Lindelof who is the ultimate mystery box creator.

There are different writing styles. Some write with a clear goal other write it open ended to see where the writing process takes them. Both styles and the endless grey area between them have up and downsides.

I'll end it here because the rant has exhausted me...
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I really liked the The force awakens.
It had some great performances and I found the story engaging. It had some weak story elements like the new republic which only exists to be destroyed. It is definitely not flawless.

Ok, so Abrams set up a few mysteries without really knowing where to go with it.
What were these mysteries. Who is the Snoke? What is Rey's backstory? What happened to Luke Skywalker? Was there something else?
A talented screen writer could have easily done something with that but Ryan Johnson for some reason decided to do this whole "subvert expectations" thing which totally worked. Nobody expected that but subverting expectations isn't a good thing in and of itself. You have to replace it with something else not just nothingness.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Jul 2, 2019, 8:23am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

You think that Rogue one was the second best Star Wars movie.
Why?? The characters were all the bland and boring.
In a review it was called the best fan fic star wars movie.
I strongly advice that you watch this review and change your opinion about everything immediately! :)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kc2kFk5M9x4
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I'm very sorry. :(
I wish you two all the best
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jul 1, 2019, 3:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: The Captain's Hand

And wise and beloved Gaius Baltar ruled for many years and the people were full of joy and the harvests plentiful.

The end.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Immunity Syndrome

@ Peter G.
Is this true?
I know that women get fatigue fractures, for example during very long marches, far more often but I never heard that they had less efficient circulation?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Having a black woman as a bridge officer. Something that was probably borderline (or actually) impossible during the 60s is bold. Interesectionality and all. A white woman in the 90s as captain far less so.
On the other hand culture is about cues and seeing a competent woman leading a ship changes perceptions.
Oh and I wasn't big on Voyager, Janeway was one of the few things I liked, other here may know it. Weren't the Kazon sexist?
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Guys it is so simple.
In Star Trek as in society it goes
- white dude, white dude, black dude, white woman, white dude, white dude.
a gay guy probably slipped in there somewhere. No way of knowing.
Easy :)
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Of course I know about "the Chek" but I grew up after the beatles so f*** him.
You know like the Rock... I can already see him telling it to the warp drive...
I need a tall guy with muscles not a dwarf with a fancy haircut.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

I have to comment on that because if we are talking about dumping characters and yes I'm totally drunk with okish reason then I think they should have replaced Scotty with a hot hunk. If I want to see a fifty year old guy with loooots of make up I move to Amsterdam.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Jun 22, 2019, 8:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Because this popped up in the comment stream I read the review again.
It is a delight.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 1:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Peter G. is more or less correct.

I was in the military a long time ago and an officer cannot just waltz in and say: I have the highest rank. Everybody has to follow my orders.

Nog wasn't commissioned to take over the Valiant.
In other words an officer with the rank captain doesn't have power over every lower officer everywhere. Even a four star admiral cannot give an order to the lowest solider if that soldier is in a unit that isn't under the command of that four star admiral.
Chain of command. ;)
Set Bookmark
Booming
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

Sorry Dave I would, as always, be swift and brutal but I have a hard time seeing the screen because my eyes won't stop rolling.
Also let's not forget the Riker maneuver
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVIGhYMwRgs

A man who "presents" himself that way certainly has no problems down there.

But Dave because you asked I issue my most severe warning
https://i.imgur.com/QJWAc3J.jpg
Next ►Page 1 of 20
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.