Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 58 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 17, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

Slapstick nonsense with some real heart - as usual. The mostly touching friendship and camaraderie between and among Tendi, Mariner, Rutherford and Boimler continues to work successfully amidst the madcap, well, cartoonishness of the rest of the show. The Tendi/Boimler angle this week was nice, and I liked how Tendi is genuinely excited by the (very Trekkian) science and exploration opportunities afforded her on the Cerritos. Tendi is the standout character for me.

As so often with LD, however, the problem is not its Trekkian heart, but its jarring execution. The achingly contemporary language that will age by next year, or the tedious *bleeping* swearing - particularly excessive in this episode - which still seems out of place in Trek, and the constant puerile double entendres that aren't even funny. Then we have simple silliness in the service of an attempt at visual comedy, such as the idea that there's a souvenir shop on a Starfleet ship. Absurd.

Nevertheless, the humour *can* work: I smirked at 'the Redshirts - we're invincible' speech (obvious, but worth it), and the idea of a Pakled spy, who then floats past the viewscreen having mistaken an airlock for (yes, puerile again) a toilet. And Freeman being mistaken for Janeway.

All in all, not bad. I'll watch next week.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 1:04am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

@Jeffrey's Tube

Yes! I found the skant joke quite clever and nicely unexpected too.

Also noticed that when Mariner put on her white dress uniform, her sleeves were rolled up (as always with her). While presumably an obvious breach of dress uniform protocol, it was a nice touch in-keeping with the character (that or they simply re-coloured an existing arm template... although given the attention to detail in LD I'll go with the former).

Isn't the white footwear on the Cerritos (which continued while they had the dress uniforms on, incidentally) meant to be a reference to the white footwear inadvertantly seen on Bashir in TNG's 'Birthright'?
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Wed, Sep 15, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Really enjoyed this. The premise of being stranded on an inhospitable desert planet trapped on the other side of a wormhole-like anomaly with a time distortion was inventive enough for me, but obviously the Tuvok-Noss relationship was what made the episode.

I've always been a massive fan of Tim Russ' (for me) consistently perfect portrayal of Vulcan rigour, but he truly outdoes himself here. Utterly outstanding. Lori Petty does an excellent job as well - and that final farewell scene in the transporter room is astoundingly well-played by both. There's that one moment, when Noss reaches out only to retract her hand in sudden realisation, that is sublime in how much it says with so little. Perfect.

I have two very minor criticisms about the rest of the episode that I cannot shake. Firstly, Paris comes across as thoroughly obnoxious in browbeating Tuvok into confessing the feelings that Paris states Tuvok has. It becomes one long invasive, distasteful harangue of Tuvok - let Tuvok have his privacy, good God!

Secondly, it seemed a little unethical to me that Voyager didn't attempt in any way to rescue the other stranded aliens. Of course, they'd been repeatedly attacking Tuvok, Noss and the Doctor - but at the same time they're all abandoned to be crushed to death with nary a qualm. It just felt wrong.

That side, a great episode with an engaging plot, intriguing characterisation and a very moving ending. I was afraid the writers would kill Noss off, and I was pleasantly relieved they didn't indulge in such lazy, forced tragedy cliché. The actual ending was all the more memorable and meaningful for being so bittersweet and, well, logical. Top work from Russ, Petty and all involved!
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sat, Sep 11, 2021, 11:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

Didn't feel there was much to this beyond an extended chase scene (which was very well animated) and the exponential duplication of the Doopler guest.

That said, LD continues to work hard on building up good relationships between its main characters (Mariner/Boimler, Tendi/Rutherford). This can be a little too saccharine and try-hard to be entirely convincing, but it's usually done well enough. It's hit and miss, but lands at times.

As always, a nice parade of references and at least one laugh-out-loud line ('Your pagh is weak and it disgusts me!'), but also, again, unnecessary and detracting puerility in some of the supposedly comedic dialogue.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Outstandingly impressive special effects in this episode, with some particularly well-conceived and executed shots such as the perfectly-timed photon torpedo from orbit intercepting the 'missile' launched from the Delta Flyer, and the shot of the ocean planet from Janeway's ready room.

I didn't find the plot as engaging; I simply couldn't shake it reminding me of SeaQuest DSV (I didn't particularly dislike SeaQuest, by the way, it was just not what I expected from a VOY episode and it threw me) - but I agree it was a decent enough Paris episode, and that it was a nice nod to see the Delaney sisters at long last.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 2:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

It struck me when re-watching this episode that it also came rather soon after the somewhat similar Changeling infiltrators on Earth arc of DS9. A couple of years by broadcast dates, according to Memory Alpha.

Apparently the original pitch didn't have any of the political and military infiltration and shape-shifting - 8472 were instead to have been shown to have been the basis of various legends of demons and mythological monsters om Earth. That would have made the episode even more TOS-like.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 10:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

@Shasarak, @Yanks

Agreed. The latter scene was glaringly and uncomfortably peurile.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Sep 3, 2021, 10:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Mugato, Gumato

Didn't enjoy this as much as the previous two episodes, and didn't find it particularly funny (although the hamming up of T'Ana's feline qualities continues to entertain), but decent enough.

Nice to see anbo-jyutsu again, Ferengi using whips (although the *actual mention* by Mariner of 'Last Outpost' was excessive), and the usual parade of other references. For instance, I noticed what looked like a TOS-era retro imagining of the California class as a model on Freeman's ready room shelf. The attention to detail on LD is astounding. Top marks.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 6:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

@Yanks, @EventualZen

I too at first doubted it was Robert Duncan McNeill doing the voice, but it was much more clearly McNeill later on when Boimler is hallucinating and the Paris plate is talking (!). McNeill is credited too.

Someone in another thread mentioned that the audio was recorded at actors' homes due to corona restrictions, so I wonder if sound challenges may be relevant here.

(I noticed as well that it didn't sound like Frakes in Riker's first appearance this season at the end of 'Strange Energies', although it was obviously Frakes in 'Kayshon, His Eyes Open'.)
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 2:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

Another delightfully silly and thoroughly enjoyable episode, with some actual laugh-out-loud moments (most notably T'Ana when she finally got her wooden box). The Tendi/Mariner pairing worked surprisingly well (I've always liked Tendi, and she was used particularly well here), and the scenes with the Orions were particularly amusing; Boimler's obsession with his Tom Paris plate was actually quite entertaining (specifically when the fumes started getting to him), and I unashamedly found myself swept along by the cameo from Paris himself (in a grey uniform! Wonderful!).

The shuttle doinking off the shields was a brilliant and memorable image as well.

LD is very good at playing to its strengths. It's tightly written at times, the characterisation is robust, and this was definitely the funniest episode of this season so far. The pacing was excellent this episode too. I felt the Shaxs/Rutherford story fell a bit flat in comparison to the other storylines, but even that wasn't a failure by any means, just a bit odd.

Well done!
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Mon, Aug 23, 2021, 12:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

@Book R'Mor (I see what you did there!)

'Disagreement - which is all this is- is not a reason to cast aspersions on others’ judgment or character.'

I wouldn't have even responded to Mal01's post if it hadn't been worded as an embittered personalised attack against me excoriating me for things I haven't said or done, *very much* casting aspersions on my judgement and character. I have never seeen Mal01 before, for crying out loud. When Mal01 has an issue with video essays elsewhere, surely he should take that up with their authors at source, not take it out on me or others here? Disagreement is fine and encouraged; using others as a random punchbag is not.

'And now it looks like they are being mocked for using the word “mate,” even though the use may have been innocuous'.

Judging by the type of English he uses, I actually come from the same neck of the woods as Mal01, so I felt his usage of 'mate' here to be condescending - hardly innocuous. I probably shouldn't have bitten, you're right, but see above about the belligerent presumptions Mal01 was making, which I got in the neck for some reason. It didn't help that I read his attack first thing on a Sunday morning, I'll admit.

'As a lifelong Trek fan, who tries to judge each episode by what is on the screen, I do not really feel comfortable expressing my opinions on this site, which is why I write only occasionally.'

I understand, of course. I'm far from a regular commenter here myself. But people are free to say what they wish here, within the commenting rules. The debate here is very good.

'Hate watchers are not on a higher moral or artistic plane than anyone else, they have no superior insight as to the meaning of life, Star Trek, the universe, or anyone else.'

No one that I have seen has ever said otherwise.

Now, I have no wish to become further entangled in a interminable to-and-fro, so let's return to LD. What did you think of this episode?
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sun, Aug 22, 2021, 3:36am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

@Mal01

Thanks for that intense screed, 'mate'. I have no idea who 'the whiners' you refer to are, and I haven't seen the 'hours and hours' of video essays that you clearly have (and get so worked up about). Life and all that.

I made a flippant comment here about PIC (and you're right, I don't like PIC), but since you're so invested in going to forums and social media threads across the internet to let everyone know that you don't like what you think they think, you're more than welcome to get stuff off your chest here. Work away on valiantly crushing all opposition online if it makes you feel better or gives you an ephemeral sense of purpose.

Anyway, 'mate', anyway: back to LD, which is what this thread is actually about (rather than your settling scores with people brazen enough not share your views), did you like the latest episode, hate it, or were you indifferent? The 'toxic fans' seem to quite like it, so that must be a bad thing, right?
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 3:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

@Tidd

I believe you're thinking of TNG S7E08, 'Attached'.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sat, Aug 21, 2021, 3:48am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

@Chrome

By the way, I forgot: the LD uniforms aren't actually the same as the PIC flashback uniforms. So it's even more complicated.

But PIC only takes place in one possible (dystopian, nightmarish, wrong turn) alternate timeline of many anyway... Or may just be a bad dream.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 5:01pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

@Chrome

Good question.

According to Memory Alpha, the LD uniform is a new uniform 'used on California- and Parliament-class starships, starbases, and planetary facilities, while the previous uniform continued to be used on ships such as the USS Titan'.

Behind the scenes, Mike McMahan says it's part of a deliberate reference to the constantly changing uniforms in classic Trek. He claims in a interview with comic book.com (11 October 2020) that he'll be returning to this point later on in LD.

Personally for strict continuity reasons I would have preferred that LD had used the 'First Contact' uniforms throughout, but I understand they were trying to invoke a quasi-TNG aesthetic as in so much of LD. I realise the uniforms they settled are more colourful and in tune with a cartoon style generally, so I don't mind that much.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Aug 20, 2021, 1:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Kayshon, His Eyes Open

Much, much better than the first episode - less hectic, plenty of decent character moments (even Mariner had a few nice touches here), some interesting twists, and even more references than usual. A lot to like.

Extra marks for the inclusion of the Tamarian, the Pakleds, the scenes on the Titan, and Boimler being affectionately called 'Enterprise' for sticking up for the Starfleet explorer ethos. I also liked the camaraderie ('You're a lower decker' or 'He's a real lower decker' or somesuch - I don't recall the exact line) at the end.

More like this, please. Not perfect, but it'll definitely do.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Tue, Aug 17, 2021, 10:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Completely agree with what Jason R. just wrote.

NuTrek is utterly reliant upon the this-time-they'll-change-I-know-it forgiving hopefulness of a loyal, long-term fan base, even as NuTrek gleefully trolls them. NuTrek has no respect for Trek whatsoever, much less for the Trek fan base, whom NuTrek despises.

NuTrek is mindless, nihilistic narcissism: it's all about the stunning and brave crowd's likes on social media, and just as ephemeral. It will age badly, and we'll be left with the mess.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sun, Aug 15, 2021, 4:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

@Tomalak

"It also doesn't even tend to affect the plot very much. Like other Star Treks, the actual plot is about dialogue between the characters and that is what moves things along. So all the madcap spectacles just feel like filler."

It's a pity, because LD is clearly trying its hardest to be a character-based show in the best tradition of Trek: no one can fault LD for having heart. The problem, as you point out, is simply one of balance and the inevitable jarring between this character interaction aspect, the madcap zaniness because cartoon, and the constant fourth wall breaking. LD is trying to have its cake and eat it, and getting said cake everywhere.

The character development in LD is well-intentioned. I don't care much for the flippant nepotism between Freeman and Mariner here, and Mariner is so glib and arrogant about that in this episode as to be unlikeable once again (perhaps that's the point?), but I can see the writers are aiming for an arc in which Freeman and Mariner realise something about themselves both individually and about the mother-daughter bond more generally. (And of course I expect they will portray this infinitely better than how Burnham and her mother were depicted in DIS.)
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sat, Aug 14, 2021, 6:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

@PM

I was pleasantly surprised by the first season of LD, and I actually consider LD to be the only NuTrek worth watching. I do understand your point, and I really am genuinely happy that you're so enthusiastic about LD; I have always liked that each individual Trek series has its own subset of fans.

I genuinely want the second season of LD to be good.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Fri, Aug 13, 2021, 11:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

Too hyper-active in all regards. Although the references to earlier Trek are always welcome, it doesn't work at all well in this episode, which is just a frantic spectacle jumping from one thing to the next. The interplay between the various characters was scattergun and the pacing felt like it was stuck on 3x running speed. Too much happening too intensely. Exhausting to watch.

I grew to enjoy the first season of LD and recommended it here, but this opener is not the place for anyone to start.

Maybe later stuff on the Titan will be better. Didn't sound like Frakes' voice doing Riker, incidentally.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Wed, Jul 7, 2021, 8:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Firstborn

Fair points, @dlpb, @Jason R. Thanks for the responses.

I was indeed admittedly re-watching 'Firstborn' when I first noticed the cranial ridge 'fingerprint' myself, so no, I didn't notice it first time round either. And also no, I certainly don't recall assuming K'mtar was a time traveller, much less a time-travelling Alexander, when I first saw 'Firstborn' years ago. As with Kurn having the same ridges, it's only a nice minor 'a-ha!' detail one spots when watching the episodes again.

The plaster cast of Alexander's cranial ridges was actually in an alternate reality, of course ('Parallels', eleven or so episodes before 'Firstborn'). In that scene Worf did certainly *seem* to emphasise there was some importance to recognising a family member's ridges. That's why it occurred to me. How easy it might be for Klingons to distinguish their own ridges and strangers' ridges is another matter, of course; one that writers wisely never wasted their or our time on.

It's not important, really. Just an observation.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Tue, Jul 6, 2021, 6:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Incongruous shouty caps on 'non-US' in last post due to intrusive autocorrect on my mobile, incidentally. Apologies.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Tue, Jul 6, 2021, 6:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Oddly, I've never actually seen any of these brash, garish plot-ruining previews so often referred to here and in other threads. I saw TOS, TNG, DS9 and VOY via public (NON-US, non-commercial) terrestrial broadcasters and tapings off satellite broadcasters in the 1980s and 1990s, then via VHS, then DVDs, and latterly Netflix, so never encountered them.

These notorious previews do sound horrible though. It's frustrating enough with the guest star credits giving away major plot points (most notably, as others have pointed out, in 'The 37s', but there are plenty of other examples). I could at least choose to not read the upcoming episode synopses in Star Trek magazine in the 1990s.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Sun, Jul 4, 2021, 6:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

Delighted to see LDS reviews and comments. Thanks, Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Bok R'Mor
Thu, Jul 1, 2021, 1:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

An absurdly bad episode for all the reasons mentioned above.

But in addition there were two aspects I did genuinely find impressive about this episode: firstly, the extraordinarily vicious way Janeway sneers at Kim, 'In the meantime I'm suspending you from duty. Go to Sickbay. Let the Doctor have a look at that cut' (vituperous emphasis on 'cut') after ostensibly playing the understanding captain after Kim flips out. I actually liked this a lot; Mulgrew really shows what she can do here.

Secondly, unfortunately, there's a striking TOS/S1 TNG vibe to most of 'Favorite Son' - the premise and plot, the acting, the set, aesthetic and character design, the guest cast, and of course a surfeit of Gene Rodenberry's favourite topics: the importance of a lack of sexual inhibition, of group sex/seduction, og free love in space. I hasten to add that this latter point isn't impressive because it is good, but because of the extent to which it was utterly tone deaf and cringeworthy to watch. Just as those aspects of TOS and early TNG were and still are. At times 'Favorite Son' felt like a pastiche of that.

I pity the cast getting scripts like this and wondering whose turn it would be to debase themselves on screen for an hour.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.