Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 78 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Bob
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 7:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Loved the episode and the change of tone half way through was really well done. Got dark quickly. 4/4 for me, my favourite episode of the show so far.
Set Bookmark
Dr Bob
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 8:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Ron Jones’s soundtrack sounds like he
Took liberties with the soundtrack from
The movie ‘Patton’.
Set Bookmark
Dr Bob
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Exclaimed Kirk “Pull the plug Spock”! Lol!
Still using 20th century terminology!
Set Bookmark
bobdabuilda
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 7:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Dudes. This episode was so sad. Janeway tries to bend the prime directive yet somehow leaves the replicator and ferengi gadgets on the planet which the populace is seen using on the final act.

Great job janeway. Now these guys got technology of at least 2000 further than they got in that place. Also it's not like it's her job to police the delta quadrant for all we know the borg, kazon, vidians, trabe could all set shop on this planet.
Set Bookmark
Dr.Bob
Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 3:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

@damien , like others before me, I couldn’ Agree more! I would expect this to be the second episode of the first season and even then, maybe a star or a half. A high school junior could have written this for an English class!
Set Bookmark
Bob
Thu, Feb 1, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Have to agree with others about Lorca. I thought he was fascinating, and then they just made him some moustache twirling comic book villain in the final episode.

The other thing that has always bugged me is how on earth does the MU Terran Empire even function? It's literally chaos. People are killing each other while on active duty, it's completely self defeating. Even the Klingons only resort to this for honour reasons. There is no way the Terran Empire would actually be a functional empire with the culture it has.
Set Bookmark
Dr Bob
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Love Geordi’s comment to Barclay regarding his acting “skills “ in the beginning. “ Just think Reg... only took 8 weeks!” LMAO!
Set Bookmark
Bob
Tue, Dec 12, 2017, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Shannon
"I think we are getting two concepts confused here, faith and religion. I felt the episode was more of an allegory on how the latter can be corrupted and perverted due to sinister motives, like power."

What? The episode was not about that at all.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Fri, Dec 8, 2017, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

This is a rehash of a Blink of an Eye. Albeit a good one, and an enjoyable episode. However I hope they make something original at some point.
Set Bookmark
Skabob
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 8:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I should maybe clarify what I meant. If he had been dead only 15 or 20 minutes, they could have had some technobabble explanation that let the Doc revive him, like he did that one from 'Emanations'. Instead of having him dead for 18 hours and using nanoprobes.

It would still be nonsense, but easier to swallow nonsense, that doesn't involve Seven performing a miracle.
Set Bookmark
Skabob
Sat, Dec 2, 2017, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

I really hate that VOY introduced borg nanoprobes. They become a panacea, and this is probably the worst example of it in the whole series. They could have just made him dead for 15 or 20 minutes or something and had the same episode without making nanoprobes into resurrection robots. Which they never use that way ever again, of course.

This would have been a 3 star episode without that nonsense.

So 2 1/2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 2:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Loved it. Lorca is such a fascinating character and the cliff hanger is certainly interesting. I'm thinking Mirror Universe.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 2:34am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

I enjoyed this episode. In fact, in many ways I'm enjoying this show more than Discovery.

I thought it was quite interesting to have a species that has such strong pheromones it overpowers people. It's actually quite effective from a biological point of view.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

do we really need to derail this into Orville vs Discovery again
Set Bookmark
Bob
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 8:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

Am I the only one that thinks Lorca is currently the best character on the show? He is hard to read and his motives remain a mystery. Would love for the show to shift focus onto him, I also enjoy the acting for Lorca. He's played very well.

He reminds me somewhat of those renegade captains/admirals from TNG. It's interesting to see it from another POV.

Also I'm done to death with vulcan mysticism. It's been done way too many times already.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 4:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

I like Sisko being worked so up on Eddington because Sisko symbolizes loyalty and a "family man" and Eddington wasn't very loyal. This is probably obvious but I just wanted people to understand that the reason why the director made Sisko scream at Eddington was because he is basically a manifestation of loyalty.
Set Bookmark
Doctor Bob
Fri, Oct 6, 2017, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

The actors who played the Earps and Doc Holliday could have been cast perfect in any movie about the OK Corral!
Set Bookmark
Bobs
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Loved it. Great start to the new series. I'm looking forward to seeing how the emotionally damaged First Officer gets on with her new crew (hopefully the science officer is on it)

Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Wed, Aug 30, 2017, 2:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

@Paul: "Marina Sirtis is clearly the worst actor in the cast (possibly in all of Trek)" - July 6, 2012

Not a chance. Marina is not a talented actress (and she's a dimwitted nutball away from the camera!). But in TNG alone, Denise Crosby, Levar Burton, and Gates McFadden, when at their worst and cheesiest, are all much worse actors than Marina is at *her* worst.

I would vote Denise as the worst actor in all of Trek. MANY of her scenes are cringeworthy. Levar shines frequently, but, oddly, he's also ridiculous and almost unwatchable frequently. He's an enigma.
Set Bookmark
Dr Bob
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 5:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

It seemed to me that at the very end, Picard was sad he never had a family. Just look at his face as soon as Vigo is transported down.
Set Bookmark
Bobby Carly
Sun, Jul 23, 2017, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

This movie is bad.

Not bad because it's slow. (It is). Not bad because nothing happens. (Nothing does). Not bad because there's almost no action, drama, violence, or gadgetry. (There isn't). Not bad because it's boring. (It's painfully so).

It's bad because it's dumb.

(That's also why soccer is bad---not because no one ever scores or fights).

The writing is awful. Very little makes sense, is interesting, or matters.

The acting is atrocious. You liked Kirk in the 60's? Fine. You liked him in '79? Fine. But by the 90's, now you've seen Patrick Stewart...and you can STILL stomach Shatner?? How??!!

Three stars out of ten.

But it's still better than literally any of the Trek, Star Wars, Marvel, or any other high-profile superhero or Sc-Fi offering of the past 10-15 years. Except Ant-Man, which, SHOCKINGLY, was awesome.
Set Bookmark
Bob
Sun, Jul 16, 2017, 9:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

I love you idiots talking about Trump building sanctuaries when it's the ProgLeft creating sanctuary cities to protect illegal aliens without any qualifying factors, so including felons and violent gang members, because the politcians never have to suffer the consequences of their idiot policies like the rest of us do.

Meanwhile all Trump says is a government should tend to its own citizens first, and that gets him labeled literally Hitler. The Progressives are uttetly disassiciated from reality. Trump was the only candidate saying we need to stop waging war everywhere while the Left along with the rest of the GOP seem hellbent on starting WW3 with Russia and forcing our system on a world that doesn't want it.

Historians will one day spit the narme Progressive, amd your decendents will curse you for your pig ignorant idiocy,
Set Bookmark
Bob
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 3:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

It was a fantastic episode until the last 10-15 minutes or so. Wesley and the Traveler... super contrived metaphysical / almost religious nonsense across the board.

I loved the actual main plot though with Beverley Crusher slowly experiencing a loss of the crew and indeed the entire universe at the end, and how she has to deal with it. Is she going insane? She seems to seem convinced she isn't throughout, despite everyone else appearing to believe so from her crew mates.

I feel like this episode deserved a better end!
Set Bookmark
Flamingo Bob
Fri, Sep 30, 2016, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Star Fleet's mission is to seek out new life and establish contact, not exterminate every potentially dangerous lifeform so colonization can go forward. The Klingons killed a lot of humans at first, but a way was found to cohabitate and the Federation was stronger for it.

As for the "prior communication" argument, we have no idea what Lore told the CE about humanity or what kind of impression it got regarding us with him as our sole representative. Marr's actions precluded any chance of clearing that up and, just by the way, made sure humans who encounter another CE lifeform (unlikely that there's only one) in future won't be able to communicate with it to perhaps save their lives. She will be responsible for any future deaths.
Set Bookmark
Dr. Bob
Sun, Sep 11, 2016, 1:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

A reference to this episode in TNG Relics.... "What is it"...... "It is green"!
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.